Renounce Citizenship

Postby Gem_in_i » June 30th, 2016, 8:26 am

Anyone ever renounce their T&T citizenship?

Nautilusus

Re: Renounce Citizenship

Postby Nautilusus » June 30th, 2016, 8:56 am

What power compels you?

Postby j.o.e » June 30th, 2016, 9:25 am

If you do that yuh hadda leave trinituner and go on some other fackin forum eh ..... Know what yuh doing

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 30th, 2016, 9:28 am

Op, tell whoever sent you, you didn't get true.

Re: RE: Re: Renounce Citizenship

Postby K74T » June 30th, 2016, 9:36 am

mark2.0 wrote:Op, tell whoever sent you, you didn't get true.

So she get false?

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2016, 9:37 am

No sure, but I knew Stokely Carmichael was banned from returning to Trin by the PNM.

Mr Ture was banned from Trinidad and Tobago in 1970 by a black-led government which feared he would further the islands' own "Black Power" revolt

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/215245.stm

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2016, 9:47 am

https://www.google.tt/#q=citizenship+ac ... and+tobago

Just read the act on TT citizenship.
16. Renunciation of citizenship.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 30th, 2016, 12:22 pm

I read all that. I have the form etc. I just wanted to know how long it takes to get approved.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 30th, 2016, 12:24 pm

So many persons bad talk T&T and no one did it yet? :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » June 30th, 2016, 12:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:If you do that yuh hadda leave trinituner and go on some other fackin forum eh ..... Know what yuh doing

:skurred:

JF.K

Postby JF.K » June 30th, 2016, 1:46 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:So many persons bad talk T&T and no one did it yet? :lol:

What's the benefit of this though?

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2016, 1:58 pm

when you take the US oath, you're required to give up all other citizenships.

Naturalization Oath of Allegiance to the United States of America
Oath

"I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty, of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen; that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law; and that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God."

https://www.uscis.gov/us-citizenship/na ... es-america

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2016, 2:04 pm

did he ask about denouncing his US citizenship? TT & the US are very different places

Postby dougla_boy » June 30th, 2016, 2:46 pm

SMc wrote:did he ask about denouncing his US citizenship? TT & the US are very different places

ent...man mubeb going back Guyana or Surinam or something

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 1st, 2016, 11:11 am

maj. tom wrote:when you take the US oath, you're required to give up all other citizenships.

For what reason though would a person have to take this oath and for what benefit is it to the individual?

Is this a requirement to get US residency, citizenship or something?

Postby maj. tom » July 1st, 2016, 11:33 am

well... yeah. It says so right there "Naturalization Oath of Allegiance to the United States of America"

Why? That's what the US government requires of their citizens. In case of war and drafting I expect.

Dual Nationality is a different thing.

chippy

Postby chippy » July 1st, 2016, 11:56 am

I once renounced my Throne. I Am No Longer The Prince Of Zamunda.

Postby Gem_in_i » July 1st, 2016, 2:57 pm

US dont recognise dual citizenship. As you see with the oath. But many people keep both T&T and US passport and citizenship and tht is not an issue.
In certain cases the US will require you to legally renounce citizenship from another country. Or some people willingly do it on their own.
Today I found out tht more people than I thought have or are going through the renunciation process.

Postby mero » July 1st, 2016, 3:01 pm

Find S_2NR real quiet these days. Like he finally leave