Sat Maharaj - RIP

Censorship Equals Dictatorship

Postby RedVEVO » January 15th, 2020, 3:08 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/state-t ... 3084a634f3

“I’ve in­struct­ed the state’s at­tor­neys, to take an ur­gent and im­me­di­ate ap­peal and asked for an ex­pe­dit­ed hear­ing at the court of ap­peal for this par­tic­u­lar mat­ter,” said Al Rawi in a press con­fer­ence yes­ter­day.

Al Rawi said while he ac­knowl­edged the call for con­sti­tu­tion­al re­form made by Jus­tice Seep­er­sad in the judge­ment, he said the law still had an ef­fec­tive us­age in our post-monar­chy democ­ra­cy.

“This case sim­ply en­cap­su­lates where we are as a so­ci­ety be­lieve where the line ought to be drawn. It is im­por­tant to re­mem­ber that free­dom of ex­pres­sion has lim­its,” he said.

No ! No ! No !

Are we a communist society ?

In Trinidad the People must be free to have unlimited freedom of speech .

Where is this undemocratic behavior coming from in this small island for the first time ?

We are slowly destroying the People's voice when so many things are wrong in Trinidad .

Tuners list them .

Re: Censorship Equals Dictatorship

Postby matr1x » January 15th, 2020, 5:40 am

They turning here into Venezuela

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 15th, 2020, 7:11 am

good thing about the privy council is that they hand down judgements quickly

let it reach them as fast as possible, that way the state would have to shut up and listen

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 7:32 am

i warned you all about this jack arse government .

Freedom of speech is always is always abused when PNM in Power .

Arse Wari should focus on discrimination and race hate laws rather than giving people limited speech .

Who remembers the Green paper that PNM wanted to shove down peoples thorax ?

Postby Ben_spanna » January 15th, 2020, 7:45 am

Zoom- why do you still choose to reside in Trinidad then? im curious! or is it that you actually cannot leave as you DO NOT qualify to get PR anywhere else?

zoom rader wrote:i warned you all about this jack arse government .

Arse Wari should focus on discrimination and race hate laws rather than giving people limited speech .

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 8:15 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Zoom- why do you still choose to reside in Trinidad then? im curious! or is it that you actually cannot leave as you DO NOT qualify to get PR anywhere else?

zoom rader wrote:i warned you all about this jack arse government .

I live here cause

1. I Born here and so have my ancestors for the last 500 years
2. No old creole not running me out from my country
3. I have lots invested here
4. Its better to deal with police here rather than get harassed from white cops, they kill back ppl in USA and Jail them in UK
5. I don't have stupid laws and fines to deal with .
6. I have never applied for any PR, my former employers all wanted me to.
7. I prefer to contribute to change here than any white country .

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2020, 8:35 am

spanna wan revoke ur citizen ship. he wukin immigration.

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 8:38 am

sMASH wrote:spanna wan revoke ur citizen ship. he wukin immigration.
Never had and I advoid going to usa at all cost

Far better counties to visit out there.

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2020, 8:39 am

screw 'muricah!!!!
akalakalakalakalalaka

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2020, 9:15 am

Faris wrote: "It is im­por­tant to re­mem­ber that free­dom of ex­pres­sion has lim­its”

I doh care for the AG, but this is sense.
Freedom of speech is not enshrined in our constitution (is it?, cite source), but even in the US Freedom of speech does not mean zero consequence.

Even in the US, the consitutionally guaranteed FoS has caveats: https://www.loc.gov/law/help/freedom-ex ... ompsum.php

Postby Dizzy28 » January 15th, 2020, 9:31 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Faris wrote: "It is im­por­tant to re­mem­ber that free­dom of ex­pres­sion has lim­its”

Freedom of speech is not enshrined in our constitution (is it?, cite source), but even in the US Freedom of speech does not mean zero consequence.

Even in the US, the consitutionally guaranteed FoS has caveats: https://www.loc.gov/law/help/freedom-ex ... ompsum.php

Be that as it may our Sedition Law as it is seems very open ended and prone to abuses based on the whim and fancy of officials of the day.

Actually its much like other laws of this land where interpretation is left up to the practitioners.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2020, 9:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Be that as it may our Sedition Law as it is seems very open ended and prone to abuses based on the whim and fancy of officials of the day.

Actually its much like other laws of this land where interpretation is left up to the practitioners.

I also agree with you and the rest of the world about the sedition law.
But I was tackling the open-endedness of the freedom of expression train of thought. :)

Postby Dizzy28 » January 15th, 2020, 9:46 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

But I was tackling the open-endedness of the freedom of expression train of thought. :)

Ahhh ok.

I disagree on limiting free speech. Apart from being the check and balance for an obviously corrupt global political system that favours the elites over the common man its would allow the racists and bigots and general haters in society to eventually show themselves. Closeting them helps no one as they still going be they way they are but in the background.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2020, 9:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Ahhh ok.

I disagree on limiting free speech. Apart from being the check and balance for an obviously corrupt global political system that favours the elites over the common man its would allow the racists and bigots and general haters in society to eventually show themselves. Closeting them helps no one as they still going be they way they are but in the background.

I also disagree with censorship on the whole, my point was free speech does not mean zero consequence.

Can't go shouting fire in a crowded theater and expect zero consequence

Postby De Dragon » January 15th, 2020, 12:20 pm

Arse-Wari has been a little too persistent in his defence of an obviously poorly drafted piece of legislation. No where have I seen him say, or call for amendments to be proposed to eliminate the potential for abuse of the law. He seems hell bent on using it to silence critics of the PNM only.

Postby rspann » January 15th, 2020, 12:23 pm

I want him to silence zoom rader. All the way up to the privy council.....

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 12:24 pm

De Dragon wrote:Arse-Wari has been a little too persistent in his defence of an obviously poorly drafted piece of legislation. No where have I seen him say, or call for amendments to be proposed to eliminate the potential for abuse of the law. He seems hell bent on using it to silence critics of the PNM only.
He should be focusing on new discrimination and race hate laws.

But his people abuse these every day so its not in his books

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 12:33 pm

rspann wrote:I want him to silence zoom rader. All the way up to the privy council.....
I have a rum cork piper lawyer who can beat arse wari on any case

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2020, 1:15 pm

rspann wrote:I want him to silence zoom rader. All the way up to the privy council.....

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2020, 1:18 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » January 15th, 2020, 4:10 pm

Anybody know of ANY case Warry win when he was in private practice .

People say he was Mital's buddy buddy .. and then when Mital left TT people real suffer ..

And they still suffering due to no severance benefits etc.

And when last time a sedition law breaker really succeed in Trinidad !!

Ole talk censorship IS dictatorship !!

Trini like talk talk talk

BUT now you are called a sedition law breaker and is jail !!!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 15th, 2020, 4:13 pm

That's no boast... Beating arse wari on a case is like running in the special Olympics, you might win but you're still a retard

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 15th, 2020, 4:15 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

People say he was Mital's buddy buddy .. and then when Mital left TT people real suffer ..

Arse wari is a lightweight lawyer, his only skill is conveyance and affidavit, put him against RLM and he go boil down like bhaji

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2020, 4:16 pm

ek4ever wrote:

Arse wari is a lightweight lawyer, his only skill is conveyance and affidavit, put him against RLM and he go boil down like bhaji
So he a cut and paste lawyer?

Postby RedVEVO » January 15th, 2020, 4:23 pm

Every day is Warry Warry Warry ..

US fighting people in the Middle East in their OWN country and when they fight back they are
terrorists ..

TT people give ole talk and ask why Gov't not doing a HYMC thing to revive TT economy and when
they talk they are sedition law breakers ..

Censorship equals Dictatorship ..

rebound

Postby rebound » January 15th, 2020, 4:38 pm

Ent JP does do that?
ek4ever wrote:

So he a cut and paste lawyer?

Postby RedVEVO » January 16th, 2020, 1:19 am

Every day our freedom is taken away ..

Last year the demonization was a scam ..

People do not trust the Banks .. and keep $$$ @ home

linton

Postby linton » January 16th, 2020, 7:11 am

^^ Dude, the word is demonetization.

Postby maj. tom » January 16th, 2020, 7:17 am

nah what Redcyat really trying to say is that he have demon in he chuffyhole.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 16th, 2020, 7:22 am

like allyuh forgot about a year ago when some man got fedup of the crime and spoke out against this government and spoke who he wished would be the next victims and ended up being arrested for speaking his mind.