Re: What type of spider is this?

Postby shogun » January 6th, 2022, 12:08 am

gastly369 wrote:
K74T wrote:Bump

20220105_085302.jpg

What type is this?
Ent this the ones that have tesla level acceleration?

And accelerating/jumping right in your direction when startled too. Pure nightmare fuel.

Postby aaron17 » January 6th, 2022, 5:15 am

Why the eff i am in this thread? I scrolled without watching any pics tho.

Postby timelapse » January 6th, 2022, 5:08 pm

stev wrote:*sets PC on fire
So you're afraid of spiders...
Tell me more

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 7th, 2022, 10:11 pm

aaron17 wrote:Why the eff i am in this thread? I scrolled without watching any pics tho.

Same lmao

I went to wash some clothes earlier to see one big mfer upside down on the glass cover for the machine just chillin.

End up washing some stuff in a bucket and call dat george for the night :/ Will deal with that on a new day, lol

toscati

Postby toscati » February 8th, 2022, 2:09 pm

I saw this spider at Mt St Benedict today
Anyone know the name?
And if it's dangerous?
20220208_070200 PS.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2022, 2:36 pm

toscati wrote:I saw this spider at Mt St Benedict today
Anyone know the name?
And if it's dangerous?
20220208_070200 PS.jpg

Golden Silk Orb Weaver
It's been there in that spot weeks now

toscati

Postby toscati » February 8th, 2022, 2:48 pm

Anyone know the name?
And if it's dangerous?
20220208_070200 PS.jpg

Golden Silk Orb Weaver

Thanks for the name!

Postby gastly369 » February 9th, 2022, 8:08 am

Anyone know the name?
And if it's dangerous?
20220208_070200 PS.jpg

Golden Silk Orb Weaver
2 orb weaver some some kinda white some
IMG_20190829_113111-01.jpg
IMG_20190829_131633.jpg
IMG_20190829_104742.jpg

toscati

Postby toscati » February 9th, 2022, 12:19 pm

Yeah, lots of variation!
Feel much better walking past it now that I know it isn't dangerous Lol

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2022, 12:25 pm

dem 4kers lookin even more creepy than regular shape spiders ....

Postby rollingstock » February 9th, 2022, 4:47 pm

Anyone know the name?
And if it's dangerous?
20220208_070200 PS.jpg

They harmless, had some in my yard bigger than my hand.

VII

Postby VII » December 14th, 2022, 10:35 am

https://i.postimg.cc/Z53hRYB6/20221214-100528127.jpg
(Having trouble posting pic)

I hate these with a passion, i think its a huntsman, they look like they deliver a nasty bite, can anyone confirm ?

Give me a snake or 100 tarantulas any day over one of these, and I have probably encountered a 100 or more (tarantulas) at home in Glencoe over the years, as much as 8 in one evening but they're sweethearts compared, easy to catch, easy to coax , easy to tame, and their bite is nothing more than a bee sting..

But these seem real sinister ,they move real fast and frenitic also when encountered , and their external surface looks kinda reptilian even the texture, a nightmare.

The only local spider I hate as much or more is a big velvety wine red one just as sinister looking or even a lil more, with slightly different proportions a bigger wasp type abdomen and thorax etc with some disturbing features at the rear end.. ..
Last edited by VII on December 14th, 2022, 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » December 14th, 2022, 11:23 am

^^^ like e jink out ur shandy & leff d cover orrr ...... :lol:

level some baygon, bop, sheltox etc in e mc .... :twisted:

VII

Postby VII » December 14th, 2022, 12:00 pm

Lol he done dead already there since yesterday, watch how he belly suck een, like he shyte it out, saw some fluid matter under him, . ....I used a small stick to stretch him out for illustration purposes..lemon scented det did the trick in seconds !!

Rovin wrote:^^^ like e jink out ur shandy & leff d cover orrr ...... :lol:

level some baygon, bop, sheltox etc in e mc .... :twisted:

Postby maj. tom » December 14th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Brown Tropical Huntsman Spider.

I now reading how it have a Brown Widow spider in Trinidad. And it can be as painful or even possibly deadly (allergic reaction) as any other infamous Widow Spider.

There are two poisonous types of spiders in T&T, the Brown Widow (Latrodectus geometricus) and the Sac spider (miturgidae), but she explained that it is very unlikely that a healthy adult would die from their bite: all spiders bite but they use different types of venom and most of them have just enough to kill small prey like cockroaches.

Female brown widow spider, Latrodectus geometricus.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.390343.d58f60a05d

Oh damn this same UWI professor interviewed in the Guardian article died in 2020 of an allergic reaction! RIP https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jo-Anne_Sewlal

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2022, 1:35 pm

Watch nah, big man ting.
Nothing does scare the crap out of people like when you up to your neck swimming up a river gorge, and a big blasted spider literally running across the surface of the water and jumps on your face.

VII

Postby VII » December 14th, 2022, 1:49 pm

I learned the same thing today about the brown widow while looking up local spiders ! And the lady, I was wondering if she died because of a spider bite?

Saw the bit about her dying due to some allergic reaction but nothing about it being from a spider bite. How ironic and unfortunate would that be with her affinity for spiders since a little kid then becoming an expert in the field then being killed from a spider bite !

That would make a serious true story movie, documentary etc...

maj. tom wrote:Brown Tropical Huntsman Spider.

I now reading how it have a Brown Widow spider in Trinidad. And it can be as painful or even possibly deadly (allergic reaction) as any other infamous Widow Spider.

There are two poisonous types of spiders in T&T, the Brown Widow (Latrodectus geometricus) and the Sac spider (miturgidae), but she explained that it is very unlikely that a healthy adult would die from their bite: all spiders bite but they use different types of venom and most of them have just enough to kill small prey like cockroaches.

Female brown widow spider, Latrodectus geometricus.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.390343.d58f60a05d

Oh damn this same UWI professor interviewed in the Guardian article died in 2020 of an allergic reaction! RIP https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jo-Anne_Sewlal

VII

Postby VII » December 14th, 2022, 1:59 pm

Anyone knows the name of the big velvety burgundy/ wine red one with the fat abdomen I'm talking about ?

Looking for pics but haven't seen any..

Postby shogun » December 14th, 2022, 2:10 pm

Is this the same as the local sac spider?

VII

Postby VII » December 14th, 2022, 2:29 pm

Watch nah, I don't think people have any idea the amount of spiders we have here yinno...man I tolerate (remove/chase) the regular small ones , the lil friendly jumping ones of course, and even the big clumsy house spider with the stripe and the pink toe tarantulas , even the orb weavers .

But pal you see dem frigging huntsman and similar and de big dark red ones I mentioned and some small yellowish ones that look like miniature huntsmans it's death sorry, also and then some other small yellowish ones with spiral set kinda legs nah! Gimme a macajuel encounter anytime instead !!!

And lately I've been discovering lil spider bites about my body after I visit my workshop, I know them because they like a little solid lump and dry up from the inside, and you may scratch them a day or so after and the whole pices of skin just goes with the scratch..and I believe it's from them same small yellowish ones I mentioned..I believe they came with some stuff I moved from a house on a mountain in the west, close to Glencoe but Glencoe don't even have them...but I noticed them in that other house, you don't feel the bite when they bite you, you may feel a lil web around your face etc and notice a slight itching on the spot but no sting ..

timelapse wrote:Watch nah, big man ting.
Nothing does scare the crap out of people like when you up to your neck swimming up a river gorge, and a big blasted spider literally running across the surface of the water and jumps on your face.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 14th, 2022, 3:02 pm

Duane, I do not like this thread

pls delit

Postby gastly369 » January 21st, 2023, 12:33 pm

What spider is this? .... 4ker hit me a bite

Outa everything scorpion snake centipede(held all these in hand) etc... I hate mc spiders and hadddd to get bite ontop that from one :/
IMG_20230121_122922.jpg
IMG_20230118_142153.jpg

Postby maj. tom » January 21st, 2023, 1:26 pm

I doubt it too venomous to lead to any medical episode, but if there is bad swelling and itching just call your doctor and ask what to do. Venom allergy at most.

Postby gastly369 » January 21st, 2023, 4:25 pm

maj. tom wrote:I doubt it too venomous to lead to any medical episode, but if there is bad swelling and itching just call your doctor and ask what to do. Venom allergy at most.
We safe so far was 3 days ago lol

Postby timelapse » January 21st, 2023, 4:37 pm

How's your Uncle Ben?

Postby MaxPower » January 22nd, 2023, 8:16 am

With great power…

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2023, 10:00 am

Hell to the nope

Postby Rovin » March 22nd, 2023, 10:41 am

looking like a spider & a crab made a child ...

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 22nd, 2023, 10:54 am

Spider crab, some teknoman.madness there

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2023, 11:28 am

eff that ! fire bun this ched! :onfire:
Australia again!