ProtonPowder

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ProtonPowder » May 16th, 2022, 11:59 pm

Kronik wrote:
bluefete wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:Section 45: - Where the state can thief your land after 16 years is what people should be concerned about.

this IS concerning

Very much so because they could stall you for 16 years (via no assessment) and then thief the land.

45. (1) Any land which for a period of sixteen years has
been unoccupied and unassessed, and upon which during such
period, no taxes have been paid, shall be liable to be forfeited to
the State.

(2) The President may, by warrant under his hand,
reciting that such land has been unoccupied and unassessed for a
period of sixteen years, and that no taxes have been paid thereon
during such period, order that such land be forfeited to the State,
and thereupon such land and building shall be forfeited
accordingly and shall vest in the State in absolute dominion,
free and discharged from all rights, estates, interests, equities,
and claims of any other person.

(3) The President shall not issue or sign a warrant under
this section unless the Board has first certified under its hand that
such land has, for the full period of sixteen years next preceding
the date of such certificate, been unoccupied and unassessed and
that no taxes have been paid thereon during such period and
unless the Commissioner of State Lands on such certificate has
caused a notice to be published in the Gazette and in one
newspaper published on at least three occasions and circulating
in Trinidad and Tobago that unless any person can show good
cause to the contrary before a date to be mentioned in such
notice, and which shall not be earlier than twenty-eight days after
the issue of such notice, such land will be forfeited.

(4) The President may decide upon any claim which
may be made to any land which may be advertised as so liable to
forfeiture, and may make such order in relation thereto as he may
think fit.

46. (1) Any petition for the re-grant of any land
forfeited under this Act, or of any interest therein, or for any
allowance in respect of any right or interest in any such forfeited
land sold, shall be addressed to the President and shall be
delivered to the office of the Commissioner of State Lands.

(2) The President may, where he thinks fit, refer a
petition under subsection (1), to the Commissioner of State
Lands or the Board, Appeal Board or other person with
directions to report thereon.

(3) The person to whom any such petition is referred
may take such evidence as he may think proper in order to enable
him to make his report.

(4) Evidence under subsection (3) may be given either
viva voce or by statutory declaration.
Re-grant of
land forfeited.
MINISTRY OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AND LEGAL AFFAIRS http://www.legalaffairs.gov.tt UNOFFICIAL VERSION
UPDATED TO 31ST DECEMBER 2016
Property Tax Chap. 76:04 25
LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
L.R.O.

(5) In the case of evidence given viva voce the witness
before giving evidence shall make the following declaration:
“I declare that the evidence which I have given in this
matter shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but
the truth.”.

(6) Any witness who, having made such
declaration, makes as part of his evidence any assertion as to any
matter of fact, opinion, or belief which is false and which he
knows or believes to be false or does not believe to be true,
commits an offence and is liable on conviction on indictment to
a fine of five thousand dollars
So are they doing land assessments right now? I know they had stopped doing it a long time ago

more or less continuously for the last 4 years

death365

Postby death365 » May 17th, 2022, 3:25 am

The issue I'm having is that somehow collection of household taxes are more important and urgent than business. Kinda reminds me of the famous quite from animal farm.

"All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others"

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 17th, 2022, 4:46 am

death365 wrote:The issue I'm having is that somehow collection of household taxes are more important and urgent than business. Kinda reminds me of the famous quite from animal farm.

Exactly why not commercial land first or at least the same time

I hope the opposition challenges in the court based on this

Seems very unfair

I heard that Imbert was begged by his ministry to start with commercial but he refused

Also understand that the PP government planned to start with commercial

Postby timelapse » May 17th, 2022, 6:55 am

PariaMan wrote:
death365 wrote:The issue I'm having is that somehow collection of household taxes are more important and urgent than business. Kinda reminds me of the famous quite from animal farm.

Seems very unfair

I heard that Imbert was begged by his ministry to start with commercial but he refused

Opposition not going to fight anything that makes sense.They choose the most dotish of things to make a scene about.Like their leader, lacking substance.

Postby bluefete » May 17th, 2022, 1:20 pm

PariaMan wrote:

Seems very unfair

Initially, commercial property was going to be the first to be taxed and residential land would be last. That was the plan.

Imbert is a businessman - do the Math!

How many times do I have to tell people - this PNM government is for the rich, by the rich and of the rich? Prime Minister Dr. The Unhonourable Keith C. Rowley openly said so.

Poor people can go to hell.

Postby 88sins » May 17th, 2022, 7:41 pm

I want to see what they gonna say when years after they start collecting this property tax people still hadda deal with the same conditions or worse that said property tax was supposed to be used to fix.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 17th, 2022, 7:51 pm

88sins wrote:I want to see what they gonna say when years after they start collecting this property tax people still hadda deal with the same conditions or worse that said property tax was supposed to be used to fix.
These guys have zero shame

The promised news about reduction in prices for hybrid by mid may .

Nothing

They just gave us something to hold

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » May 18th, 2022, 11:27 am

I raising my rent 100%

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2022, 6:50 am

Rayden6 wrote:I raising my rent 100%

You won't be the only one increasing the rent, but 100% is a bit much.
I know some people who already planning to increase the rent on their units, but they mostly going to increase them by 30-40%.

Because a thing that some people don't think about, is that not long after these well-dressed ticks implement this property tax, they going to start targeting landlords for income tax based on income earned from rental properties. When that happens, immediately everyone will increase their rent by at least 30%. Tenants are the ones who gonna bear that load whether they like it or not. And the first thing they gonna say is "d landlord too wicked to raise the rent so much so sudden", not thinking about what caused the landlord to have to do it.

Mark may words, it coming. I just hope allyuh ready for it when it reach.

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2022, 2:31 am

I know some people who already planning to increase the rent on their units, but they mostly going to increase them by 30-40%.

Because a thing that some people don't think about, is that not long after these well-dressed ticks implement this property tax, they going to start targeting landlords for income tax based on income earned from rental properties. When that happens, immediately everyone will increase their rent by at least 30%. Tenants are the ones who gonna bear that load whether they like it or not. And the first thing they gonna say is "d landlord too wicked to raise the rent so much so sudden", not thinking about what caused the landlord to have to do it.

Many peeps NOT increasing rent cause they are fully aware of the economic situation .

30% is pure greed ! But Rabbit have to eat ah food too :D

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2022, 9:56 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Many peeps NOT increasing rent cause they are fully aware of the economic situation .

I know people who will increase the rent by the cost of the property tax. But some real wicked.

For example, if the tax is $1200.00 per year, some landlords will prorate and increase the rent by about $100.00 per month.

Others will increase by $1,200.00 per month!

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2022, 7:06 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Better you study how you going to pay the rental for your hovel, and stop deluding yourself into thinking that it won't go up.

If I have a property, that I paying 12000 a year for to the bank, and I make 12000 a year on it in rental income to pay the bank, the state says I have to give them 3000, plus 3% of what they feel I making in it, understand, the bank ain't going say "OK, we go take less"

Postby RedVEVO » May 21st, 2022, 6:33 pm

bluefete wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

I know people who will increase the rent by the cost of the property tax. But some real wicked.

For example, if the tax is $1200.00 per year, some landlords will prorate and increase the rent by about $100.00 per month.

Others will increase by $1,200.00 per month!

Yes that seems about correct :D

Some peeps have supplementary income.

Rabbit manure can be sold as premium garden fertilizer for anywhere between $35 and $55 a pound.

So you always have $$ for the Bank :D

Postby bluefete » May 21st, 2022, 8:22 pm

I hearing commercial properties can get exemptions from Property Tax from Imbert.

Not de exemptions dey giving de small man that yuh have to pay when yuh dead, eh. Proper exemptions for de 1% and financiers.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 23rd, 2022, 9:35 pm

bluefete wrote:I hearing commercial properties can get exemptions from Property Tax from Imbert.

Not de exemptions dey giving de small man that yuh have to pay when yuh dead, eh. Proper exemptions for de 1% and financiers.
First stage is residential only . No plans were announced for commercial

That's the issue

Residential will therefore be subsidizing commercial for the foreseeable future

That there is the problem

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 23rd, 2022, 10:57 pm

bluefete wrote:I hearing commercial properties can get exemptions from Property Tax from Imbert.

List of exempted bodies are in the back of the 2018 amendment and section 16 of the 2009 act
http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/a2018-06g.pdf
https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /76.04.pdf

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2022, 2:30 pm

The Commissioner of Valuation wishes to advise that the verification of property data is currently ongoing in the communities listed and will continue until 23rd June 2022.

See the notice for details.

Postby Dave » May 29th, 2022, 5:11 pm

Let the games begin!

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2022, 5:47 pm

we vote for dat.

imagine, a dwelling house, that doesnt generate income, is to be charged to support services for other properties that DO generate income.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 29th, 2022, 9:30 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Greed or not, I realized people are willing to pay for nicer amenities, better security features, indoor washer/dryer units, A/C and on site car park. There will always be demand for better apartments.

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2022, 9:36 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Greed or not, I realized people are willing to pay for nicer amenities, better security features, indoor washer/dryer units, A/C and on site car park. There will always be demand for better apartments.

Correct - But the peeps with an apartment - converted out house -next to rabbit manure farm too greedy ! :D

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2022, 12:26 pm

You stay right there ketchin yuh rass in your little one room hovel and study who greedy and don't study how you paying the rent for your little one room hovel you can barely afford.

If rent hadda raise, it hadda raise.

Postby gastly369 » May 30th, 2022, 12:36 pm

88sins wrote:You stay right there ketchin yuh rass in your little one room hovel and study who greedy and don't study how you paying the rent for your little one room hovel you can barely afford.

Vevs have lots of mula
Just check Sunday lunch thread.....

Postby bluefete » May 30th, 2022, 12:52 pm

Thanks for this.

I clearly remember some part of the Act, some time ago, clearly stating that the Minister of Finance could give exemptions from PT.

This is separate and apart from the listed exemptions in law.

I will keep looking because I must find it.

EDIT: I think I may have mixed it up with the Income Tax Act.

ProtonPowder wrote:

List of exempted bodies are in the back of the 2018 amendment and section 16 of the 2009 act
http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/a2018-06g.pdf
https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /76.04.pdf

Postby De Dragon » May 30th, 2022, 9:42 pm

gastly369 wrote:
88sins wrote:You stay right there ketchin yuh rass in your little one room hovel and study who greedy and don't study how you paying the rent for your little one room hovel you can barely afford.

Vevs have lots of mula
Just check Sunday lunch thread.....

Maybe he need to spend less on "lunches" and more on the hovel's rent :wink:

Postby bluefete » May 31st, 2022, 7:58 pm

Finally found it:

Allyuh see this right here, dis go be real bacchanal:

16. (1) All land in Trinidad and Tobago is liable to
taxation under this Act, subject to the following exemptions:

(e) land of a designated class that is declared by the
Minister to be exempt wholly or partially from
taxation under this Act;

Wait for it. The Minister is the Minister of Finance! Do the math.

Left foot, right foot, leh we go!

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2022, 8:24 pm

dem done make loopholes to allow them to exempt them and their people from the start. that's nothing new.

I hope allyuh understand, is ALWAYS the small man who gets squeezed, and they not going to stop until what's left of the working middle class is made extinct.

Postby bluefete » June 1st, 2022, 7:45 am

88sins wrote:dem done make loopholes to allow them to exempt them and their people from the start. that's nothing new.

I hope allyuh understand, is ALWAYS the small man who gets squeezed, and they not going to stop until what's left of the working middle class is made extinct.

Nail on head there 88sins, nail on head!

When they could seize your property after 16 years of non-payment, yup. The law allows for this to happen by them not placing your property on the system.

Real people will be bawling when the true effects of that law takes place.

Postby Dave » June 1st, 2022, 8:20 am

The opposition will call them on that if any exemptions are made.

Postby bluefete » June 1st, 2022, 9:07 am

Dave wrote:The opposition will call them on that if any exemptions are made.

What opposition? If anyone of them applies and gets an exemption from Imbert, they not saying a peep.