Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby hover11 » January 31st, 2022, 8:00 pm

Next time they mean business lol
FB_IMG_1643673613775.jpg

Postby st7 » January 31st, 2022, 8:51 pm

hover11 wrote:How on GOD'S GREEN earth can the government own the property when you have a deed in your possession. Ppl on here like to talk what they don't know. Unless the definition of deed changed recently and I am completely unaware.

the earth is mostly blue and god is man made 8-)

Postby st7 » January 31st, 2022, 8:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:You have the equitable interest. Government has the legal interest.

Don't pay your installments na.

he have 5000 set aside... he ballin with that 2013 salary lol

Postby hover11 » January 31st, 2022, 9:11 pm

st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:You have the equitable interest. Government has the legal interest.

That 2013 salary is still 5 figures after tax and other deductions but carry on

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2022, 9:13 pm

I could never take on anything he say after what he tries to portray about having no worries and then realizing them messages in my inbox was from him and how he was crying and looking to a random person on the internet begging for extra judicial money retrieval .

And then wanna play prim and proper and law abiding on the forum.

Kix yes

Postby De Dragon » January 31st, 2022, 9:14 pm

st7 wrote:

He get that from de car man? :lol:

Postby st7 » January 31st, 2022, 9:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I could never take on anything he say after what he tries to portray about having no worries and then realizing them messages in my inbox was from him and how he was crying and looking to a random person on the internet begging for extra judicial money retrieval .

And then wanna play prim and proper and law abiding on the forum.

Kix yes

lol hoss rel kix yes

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 31st, 2022, 9:21 pm

how much people you all think didn't submit?

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2022, 9:59 pm

hover11 wrote:How on GOD'S GREEN earth can the government own the property when you have a deed in your possession. Ppl on here like to talk what they don't know. Unless the definition of deed changed recently and I am completely unaware.

Ask that them that question after you read the act and see the part where if you don't pay it they have the legal right to kick you out of your house and sell it without your consent or signature.

But what you really should be asking is...

If you paid for something and you supposedly own it and have documentation that proves that you own it, why do you have to pay an annual fee to the state be allowed to keep what I already paid for? Because let's not forget, they already have it in law that if you don't pay they can seize and sell your your property to recover the tax you owe them.

And/or

If the state can legally take possession and dispose of an asset that you lawfully bought or built and already paid taxes on, simply because you don't pay them a tax to be allowed to keep what you paid for, can you really say that that property is actually entirely yours?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 2nd, 2022, 6:47 pm

Ask that them that question after you read the act and see the part where if you don't pay it they have the legal right to kick you out of your house and sell it without your consent or signature.

If you paid for something and you supposedly own it and have documentation that proves that you own it, why do you have to pay an annual fee to the state be allowed to keep what I already paid for? Because let's not forget, they already have it in law that if you don't pay they can seize and sell your your property to recover the tax you owe them.

And/or

If the state can legally take possession and dispose of an asset that you lawfully bought or built and already paid taxes on, simply because you don't pay them a tax to be allowed to keep what you paid for, can you really say that that property is actually entirely yours?

Eminent domain?
I think a lot of countries have this loophole built in to the law to serve the interest of the govt.

Postby j.o.e » February 2nd, 2022, 6:50 pm

So y’all ok with paying the original land and building tax or don’t want to pay any tax ? Just asking

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2022, 7:10 pm

I don't like the idea of the tax considering how shitty our government services are here.

Roads
Water
Police service etc

And then you seeing them taking our tax payer money and wasting it on high rent for buildings they not using. On highways that collapsing into the sea etc

Postby 88sins » February 2nd, 2022, 8:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

And/or

Eminent domain?
I think a lot of countries have this loophole built in to the law to serve the interest of the govt.

Not eminent domain, more like non-consensual civil forfeiture. Eminent domain is something else altogether.
How that law is written, if you don't pay said tax the state retains the legal right to seize your property and evict you at your expense and sell to your property to recover the property taxes you owe them.

So, if the state can dictate that you owe them money simply because you bought or built a property to live in, and they can take it from you and make you pay for the costs affiliated with them taking it from you, it begs the question, did you ever own that property?
With that in mind, the answer feeling and looking very much like a resounding no. So, technically, with this iteration of this property tax legislation, nobody owns property, and everybody is practically renting from the state, and your rent is valued by how much money you spent on acquiring and developing and upgrading your property.

But the people vote for dat.

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2022, 9:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I don't like the idea of the tax considering how shitty our government services are here.

Roads
Water
Police service etc

And then you seeing them taking our tax payer money and wasting it on high rent for buildings they not using. On highways that collapsing into the sea etc
One red female minster already said they will take house tax money and fix red government areas.

That's the level of bull 5hit we dealing with

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 3rd, 2022, 12:28 am

j.o.e wrote:So y’all ok with paying the original land and building tax or don’t want to pay any tax ? Just asking

Dont mind paying any tax once the system is working for the people.

Friend of mine in the UK pays around 300 GBP in council tax per month (their local gov property tax)

This is steep but he has access at his city council office to see where every single pence was spent. He also sees the value he is getting for his tax dollars spent.

Transparency, Equity and maintenance of civil liberties are things our governments have and continue to fail at.

Postby 88sins » February 3rd, 2022, 3:27 am

j.o.e wrote:So y’all ok with paying the original land and building tax or don’t want to pay any tax ? Just asking

It ain't that simplistic.
Part of the problem is the serious lack of accountability,. You paying a tax and you have no idea where it is being spent, or on what, but if history has taught you nothing else, all you know is that your tax dollars are not going to be used to bring any benefit whatsoever to you, your property, or your community, and nobody will be able to show you where your money is going. Its done that way intentionally. That in and of itself is utter nonsense.

Another issue is, they want to tax you on your property simply because you worked and made the best usage of your resources, and you have some of the finer things in your property. Things that you probably already paid taxes on when you acquired them. Never before have I ever heard of property taxes being assessed and levied anywhere based on things such as what type of flooring and ceiling you have, or if you have ac, or if you have electricity and running water. And they are asking these very intrusive questions because these rat-sodomizers are looking for any way they can to make you pay more to be allowed to keep what is yours.

But this is what this nation of idiots chose, so let them have it.

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2022, 5:18 am

Part of the problem is the serious lack of accountability,. You paying a tax and you have no idea where it is being spent, or on what, but if history has taught you nothing else, all you know is that your tax dollars are not going to be used to bring any benefit whatsoever to you, your property, or your community, and nobody will be able to show you where your money is going. Its done that way intentionally. That in and of itself is utter nonsense.

Another issue is, they want to tax you on your property simply because you worked and made the best usage of your resources, and you have some of the finer things in your property. Things that you probably already paid taxes on when you acquired them. Never before have I ever heard of property taxes being assessed and levied anywhere based on things such as what type of flooring and ceiling you have, or if you have ac, or if you have electricity and running water. And they are asking these very intrusive questions because these rat-sodomizers are looking for any way they can to make you pay more to be allowed to keep what is yours.

Morning, hope this helps,

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=how+are+build ... sed&ia=web

From Investopedia:
How are Property Taxes Calculated?
Your property tax bill is based on the assessed value of your property, any exemptions for which you qualify, and a property tax rate.

Assessed value is the dollar value assigned to a home or other piece of real estate for property tax purposes. It takes into account the value of comparable properties in the area, among other factors. In many cases, the assessed value is calculated as a percentage of the fair market value of the property.
Assessed value takes into account the overall quality and condition of the property, local property values, square footage, home features, and market conditions. Many of these judgments are based on computerized real estate data for that neighborhood and the surrounding area.

Postby bluefete » February 3rd, 2022, 6:29 am

NOTE: In the USA, the government agents do the work! The citizens do not have to do the government's work for them.

From the USA:

An assessor, hired by the local government, estimates the market value of your property—which includes both the land and structure—after which you receive an assessment. (In some jurisdictions, the assessed value is a percentage of the market value; in others, it is the same as the market value.)

The assessor may come to your property, but in some cases, an assessor may complete property assessments remotely using software with updated tax rolls. Your local tax collector's office sends you your property tax bill, which is based on this assessment.

In order to come up with your tax bill, your tax office multiplies the tax rate by the assessed value. So, if your property is assessed at $300,000 and your local government sets your tax rate at 2.5%, your annual tax bill will be $7,500.

Give the assessor a chance to walk through your home—with you—during your assessment.

https://www.investopedia.com/articles/p ... x_tips.asp

Postby 88sins » February 3rd, 2022, 7:03 am

Redman wrote:

From Investopedia:
Your property tax bill is based on the assessed value of your property, any exemptions for which you qualify, and a property tax rate.

Assessed value is the dollar value assigned to a home or other piece of real estate for property tax purposes. It takes into account the value of comparable properties in the area, among other factors. In many cases, the assessed value is calculated as a percentage of the fair market value of the property.
Assessed value takes into account the overall quality and condition of the property, local property values, square footage, home features, and market conditions. Many of these judgments are based on computerized real estate data for that neighborhood and the surrounding area.

It doesn't help.
We all know how taxes are calculated.

What I want to know from you is, are all the houses in your neighborhood identical, do they all have the exact same finishings and are they all kept in the same condition? And where in that little blurb did you see any mention about the finer details of people homes being used to calculate their properties values?

If you want you can continue attempting to justify nonsense, but don't be too surprised when you realize it eh wukkin

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2022, 7:20 am

Redman wrote:

From Investopedia:

It doesn't help.
We all know how taxes are calculated.

What I want to know from you is, are all the houses in your neighborhood identical, do they all have the exact same finishings and are they all kept in the same condition? And where in that little blurb did you see any mention about the finer details of people homes being used to calculate their properties values?

If you want you can continue attempting to justify nonsense, but don't be too surprised when you realize it eh wukkin

You said you've never seen.
Investopedia shows you that the condition of the house is a part of the assessment.
They call it house features.

Investopedia has shown you for the first time that
the established Logical process is to get details for said assessment.

Congrats you've seen something YOU said you've never seen anywhere, despite it being everywhere.

Postby 88sins » February 3rd, 2022, 10:01 am

:roll: boi, you hadda be either an ass, or a marble, or an ass with a marble in it.

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2022, 10:46 am

88sins wrote::roll: boi, you hadda be either an ass, or a marble, or an ass with a marble in it.

In the space of one post youve gone from 'Never seen anywhere' to 'knowing how taxes are calculated' :D
At least you learned something.

Well done.

Postby redmanjp » February 3rd, 2022, 12:13 pm

Hey is there an an online link to the Return form? My mom wants me to make copies of the form she got but if its available online it wont be necessary. i went to https://www.finance.gov.tt/divisions/valuation-division/ but not seeing any forms.

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2022, 1:17 pm

It also shitty that if you scraped and saved to make your house nice and comfortable you have to pay more taxes.

Don't like the idea of random low level government workers being allowed to walk into persons houses to inspect as well.

Gives alot of opportunity for them to gauge houses and their security systems/ dogs etc and send back criminal elements to do a robbery

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » February 3rd, 2022, 1:31 pm

So in summary what you all saying is that places like Morvant/Laventile/Beetham/Sea Lots/Enterprise, where the housing structures and conditions remain the same for almost 100 years, will have to pay less tax than areas such as Bel Air/Palmiste/Gulf View, or places like Debe and Barrackpore that house sizes/material improved over time?

And to top it off, the same people from the Morvant-Enterprise are the ones coming inside your female child's bedroom to "inspect"?

Hhahahahahaha

PNM 2050 in you MC.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 3rd, 2022, 2:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:Hey is there an an online link to the Return form? My mom wants me to make copies of the form she got but if its available online it wont be necessary. i went to https://www.finance.gov.tt/divisions/valuation-division/ but not seeing any forms.

https://valuationdivision.gov.tt/home/

Postby 88sins » February 3rd, 2022, 2:20 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:It also shitty that if you scraped and saved to make your house nice and comfortable you have to pay more taxes.

Don't like the idea of random low level government workers being allowed to walk into persons houses to inspect as well.

Gives alot of opportunity for them to gauge houses and their security systems/ dogs etc and send back criminal elements to do a robbery

according to the resident pnm lickbottomologist that's normal

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2022, 2:38 pm

Toting is for pissant chirren.

What is normal is valuations based on data collected.

This morning you didn't know that.
It's ok...you've shown progress.

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2022, 2:41 pm

Larry Howai promised in at least one budget that they intended that by 2017 they will start to implement

Land is the biggest asset in the country....regardless of who is in power that sector needs to be regulated.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 3rd, 2022, 3:47 pm

If the system is flooded with fake online submissions?