Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » November 23rd, 2021, 5:06 am

3 useless, mindless, pnm parrots, at least 1 of which has shown to have dangerously close to no ethics whatsoever, with the other two willing to do literally anything to get a foot in the door in local politics.

I good, I eh need no more bs from useless irrelevant arseholes.

Postby matr1x » November 23rd, 2021, 5:36 am

I will tune in I want to hear what the old whore has to say

Postby timelapse » November 23rd, 2021, 7:06 am

Anybody did theirs already?I need some help with a joint ownership property

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 23rd, 2021, 9:06 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:This is really inconveniencing us property owners who live abroad, especially if they require upload of front and side photos of the building, WASA bill, etc.

On my next trip back I am going full-fledge paperless billing for all utilities. Getting family members to do anything is costing me $$$, especially with Christmas right around the corner. Trinis boy. Sigh.
How you paying your bills and maintaining your house if you living abroad..

death365

Postby death365 » November 23rd, 2021, 9:08 am

timelapse wrote:Anybody did theirs already?I need some help with a joint ownership property
It's all the names and contact info on the form but each section have to fill out the question separate, photocopy of q6.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » November 24th, 2021, 2:29 pm

End November let's see if they get half the country to full out this BS tax....hope not, renters going feel it automatically.

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2021, 3:22 pm

Rayden6 wrote:End November let's see if they get half the country to full out this BS tax....hope not, renters going feel it automatically.

Civil Disobedience in dey MC

Postby The_Honourable » November 24th, 2021, 3:49 pm

The Valuation Division has not yet received the required 200,000 Valuation Return forms which are needed to proceed with the implementation of property tax.

"The current exercise is being driven and led by the Valuation Division. The information I have from the Valuation Division is that on the previous occasion approximately 127,000 returns were submitted for residential properties.

“So far, on this occasion, approximately a further 55,000 forms have been submitted. When disaggregated, we have determined that of that 55,000, about 7,000 are resubmissions and approximately 37,500 are residential.

“The total number of returns for residential properties at this time is 165,000. According to the law, we have to get to 200,000 before the process of implementation of property tax can commence."

"As a consequence, the Valuation Division is carefully monitoring the situation and an appropriate decision will be taken at an appropriate time."

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/imbert- ... n-deadline

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2021, 5:09 pm

Excellent.
If yuh don't fill out the form, they can't do shite

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 5:14 pm

They gonna charge you a $5000

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 24th, 2021, 5:15 pm

If you die from COVID-19 are you still required to fill out the form?

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2021, 5:31 pm

timelapse wrote:They gonna charge you a $5000

I'll pay the fine. In 5 cent pieces, and I am not leaving without my receipt, and afterwards

I STILL EH SUBMITTING SQUAT

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 24th, 2021, 5:34 pm

wtf wrote:If you die from COVID-19 are you still required to fill out the form?

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 7:07 pm

DMan7 wrote:
wtf wrote:If you die from COVID-19 are you still required to fill out the form?

Not really nah,given a choice
What's the difference between a hooker and Colm Impsbert?
A hooker will stop fvking you when you dead.

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2021, 7:19 pm

timelapse wrote:They gonna charge you a $5000

I'll pay the fine. In 5 cent pieces, and I am not leaving without my receipt, and afterwards

I STILL EH SUBMITTING SQUAT
Same I done set aside the 5k , I refuse to do someone else's work and complete that form along with taking the pictures of my home

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » November 24th, 2021, 7:58 pm

We have to make a stand and don't full out this form it's very wrong,having paid vat etc on building materials,tax when property is bought...why the don't just adjust the current L&B tax?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 24th, 2021, 8:41 pm

L&B tax was repealed 12 years ago, it does not exist

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2021, 6:16 am

Yuh want property tax? Time to done away with stamp duty.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 25th, 2021, 12:34 pm

Scenario: according to an article, govt is about 35k forms away from reach the 200k mark which would allow for initiating the process.

Does this mean that only those who submitted will be paying?

What happen to other households?

Is it wise to say that I could face a one time fine of 5k as opposed to taxes for a lifetime? Last I saw, there is nothing to suggest you can be fined more than once.

Maths not mathsing

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 25th, 2021, 12:55 pm

wtf wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:This is really inconveniencing us property owners who live abroad, especially if they require upload of front and side photos of the building, WASA bill, etc.

On my next trip back I am going full-fledge paperless billing for all utilities. Getting family members to do anything is costing me $$$, especially with Christmas right around the corner. Trinis boy. Sigh.

Family paying on my behalf.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 25th, 2021, 12:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Scenario: according to an article, govt is about 35k forms away from reach the 200k mark which would allow for initiating the process.

Is it wise to say that I could face a one time fine of 5k as opposed to taxes for a lifetime? Last I saw, there is nothing to suggest you can be fined more than once.

Maths not mathsing

I think they need at least that quota to start the process, so anyone who did not submit will still be subject to paying a fine of up to 5K. Curious to know if they don't meet the threshold what will happen to those of us who already submitted.

I think this is the beginning of an overhaul process in trying to hold every citizen owning land/property accountable. The government must generate additional revenue somehow.

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Ttec has a online portal where you just need to type in the bill number and use any credit card to pay it.

That's besides the service where you can go in and register to have it automatically paid.
So if right now you want to pay a bill you just need to type in the account number and it will show the amount and you can pay it

Wasa you can sign up online and do the same thing

You don't need to go in to do it
AbstractPoetic wrote:
wtf wrote:

Family paying on my behalf.

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2021, 1:53 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Scenario: according to an article, govt is about 35k forms away from reach the 200k mark which would allow for initiating the process.

Maths not mathsing

I think they need at least that quota to start the process, so anyone who did not submit will still be subject to paying a fine of up to 5K. Curious to know if they don't meet the threshold what will happen to those of us who already submitted.

I think this is the beginning of an overhaul process in trying to hold every citizen owning land/property accountable. The government must generate additional revenue somehow.

When u brought your land you paid stamp duty,
When you brought your building materials you paid vat.
When you installed your AC your paid Vat.
You planted fruit trees and did a good land scaping, you have to pay extra tax

How much taxes must you pay for shoddy to little services received?

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2021, 1:57 pm

Maths not mathsing

FINANCE Minister Colm Imbert said on Wednesday his ministry has received 165,000 completed valuation forms for residential properties, out of the 200,000 needed to reach the 50 per cent threshold required by law in order to trigger collection under the Property Tax Act.

Dont submit , Civil disobedience

Val

Postby Val » November 26th, 2021, 3:18 pm

I don't think it is disobedient to not bow to bullying tactics.

How about showing exactly what the public will gain from these taxes? If it's going in someone's pocket with no benefit to the wider populous, then I prefer to keep my money thank you.

Reduce PAYE or increase the PAYE yearly threshold which will benefit the lower income earners, and the multiple property owners who are generally better off can surely pay a little property tax to offset that.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 26th, 2021, 4:54 pm

personal allowance was raised twice in the last few years

From 60k to 72k, then to 84k

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 26th, 2021, 5:15 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:personal allowance was raised twice in the last few years

96K next and when?

Postby 88sins » November 26th, 2021, 6:45 pm

The bulk of the working population takes home less than 5k/month. Many weekly and fortnightly paid persons, and several government workers included, take home about 1k/week. So that tax allowance does nothing for those people.

Yuh kno, I asked this before, and nobody answered, so imma ask again.
Would it be so terrible a thing to simply abolish property taxes entirely? Considering that the people showing that they DON'T want it, and the state can't really show how the taxpayer benefits from it.
And don't say it can't be done, it's been done in several other countries.

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2021, 8:11 pm

The bulk of the working population takes home less than 5k/month. Many weekly and fortnightly paid persons, and several government workers included, take home about 1k/week. So that tax allowance does nothing for those people.

Yuh kno, I asked this before, and nobody answered, so imma ask again.
Would it be so terrible a thing to simply abolish property taxes entirely? Considering that the people showing that they DON'T want it, and the state can't really show how the taxpayer benefits from it.
And don't say it can't be done, it's been done in several other countries.
ProtonPower is singing for his supper.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 26th, 2021, 8:12 pm

stating facts without spin

keep crying