Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » October 19th, 2021, 5:23 pm

To overflowing

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2021, 6:27 pm

88sins wrote:To overflowing
Trinis stand for nothing and are cowards. They really don't understand freedom and should live in North korea

death365

Postby death365 » November 19th, 2021, 9:45 am

So I'm fulling out the form today...

It's not as complicated as people made it out to be. The deadline is still end ah d month right ?

Postby Dave » November 19th, 2021, 9:48 am

It still is. I sense an amnesty in the making with this.

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 9:59 am

death365 wrote:So I'm fulling out the form today...

It's not as complicated as people made it out to be. The deadline is still end ah d month right ?

Wait till you see how much you have to pay

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 10:01 am

Dave wrote:It still is. I sense an amnesty in the making with this.

If you have leepay floors and walls , how does that count ?

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2021, 10:15 am

A general number would be .11% of Valuation, thats using a R&P valuation from last year.

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2021, 10:16 am

hand-laid ornate artisan flooring and wall decor....that's super premium

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 10:35 am

hand-laid ornate artisan flooring and wall decor....that's super premium
Wat de mudda

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 10:38 am

Redman wrote:

A general number would be .11% of Valuation, thats using a R&P valuation from last year.
11% or 0.11% of annual rentable total value?

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2021, 10:54 am

it is 3% OF Annual Taxable Value.

The Annual Taxable Value is 90% of the Annual Rental Value

Rental rates are about 3-5% of your Building Valuation say 1M
5%of 1M=50,000
Therefore ATV of 4.5% of your valuation = 45,000
Tax is 3% of 45,000=450x3=1350
or .135% of the 1M valuation.

5% Rental value is higher than market rents -best I can find.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 19th, 2021, 11:27 am

Even if the tax was small, the government made you a tenant of your home. You can't ask the government for assistance to purchase land and build a home but when you manage to do so the government wants you to pay tax and consider yourself a tenant of your home.

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 1:04 pm

Wraith King wrote:

Even if the tax was small, the government made you a tenant of your home. You can't ask the government for assistance to purchase land and build a home but when you manage to do so the government wants you to pay tax and consider yourself a tenant of your home.

I have no problem paying tax as other countries have similar.

The problem I have is the level of little to no service and the manner when you have to deal Council personnel to get anything done.

This government shows no care for citizens and service is missing

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2021, 1:09 pm

Redman wrote:it is 3% OF Annual Taxable Value.

5%of 1M=50,000

If this is the case then I don't see problem paying those rates .

However I have a major problem of where that money goes and how it is spent and what level of service I receive.

I cant pay that rate and a massive pot hole is in front my driveway

Postby Gladiator » November 19th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Wraith King wrote:

Is better the Jamat tax you for protection... at least you would get protection in return.

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2021, 5:27 pm

5%of 1M=50,000

However I have a major problem of where that money goes and how it is spent and what level of service I receive.

Bai, they ever tell you that they care about the pothole in front yuh house?
The plan behind this tax is simple.
Even though you bought it and live in it, it DOESN'T BELONG TO YOU.
So, to keep living in it, you are forced to pay an annual tax, calculated on items in that property that you already paid tax on before, and you have shouldn't have any expectations that the money you paying should benefit you.

So they like it, so let them have it

Postby De Dragon » November 19th, 2021, 9:55 pm

5%of 1M=50,000

So, to keep living in it, you are forced to pay an annual tax, calculated on items in that property that you already paid tax on before, and you have shouldn't have any expectations that the money you paying should benefit you.

Exactly, every single thing that went into your home was taxed, and now Impsy and he stupid boss JUHN Scarfy want to tax you again, send your money into the CF, and t'ef/mismanage/piss it away

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 20th, 2021, 5:39 am

5%of 1M=50,000

Exactly, every single thing that went into your home was taxed, and now Impsy and he stupid boss JUHN Scarfy want to tax you again, send your money into the CF, and t'ef/mismanage/piss it away

I'm certain the majority of persons who vote doesn't know what the CF is. Politicians can do as they please because citizens allow them to by giving away their power to them. Politicians are employees of citizens but in Trinidad there is a mentality that politicians are the masters and citizens the peasants.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2021, 5:46 am

Is what the people want. So, give them what they want.

Postby meccalli » November 20th, 2021, 6:02 am

Postby matr1x » November 20th, 2021, 6:31 am

You'll own NOTHING.
You WILL be happy.
Or ELSE.

that's what the sign really means

Postby Redman » November 21st, 2021, 8:07 am

5%of 1M=50,000

It's always been the rate ....since your days of raising the rent.

Postby zoom rader » November 21st, 2021, 9:06 am

Redman wrote:

5%of 1M=50,000

It's always been the rate ....since your days of raising the rent.
And the pothole still remains

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2021, 9:24 am

the money going towards paying ferris and he fadda in laws rent

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2021, 10:22 am

all-animals-are-e992f8ff3c.jpg

Postby 88sins » November 21st, 2021, 10:26 am

So, you spend a cool $1.6M to buy a property, plus stamp duty, VAT, etc to upgrade and maintain, that you will be taxed for annually, that you MUST PAY, whether you can afford to or not, otherwise it WILL BE TAKEN FROM YOU. And for your tax dollars, you getting absolutely nothing.

This is what this population of idiots voted for with a smile, for a free $10 jersey and a catchphrase ditty. All because the masses too dotish to realize, whether they vote for red or yellow, or green, all of them see them as the brown sheit heads the masses truly are

Postby zoom rader » November 21st, 2021, 12:06 pm

88sins wrote:So, you spend a cool $1.6M to buy a property, plus stamp duty, VAT, etc to upgrade and maintain, that you will be taxed for annually, that you MUST PAY, whether you can afford to or not, otherwise it WILL BE TAKEN FROM YOU. And for your tax dollars, you getting absolutely nothing.

This is what this population of idiots voted for with a smile, for a free $10 jersey and a catchphrase ditty. All because the masses too dotish to realize, whether they vote for red or yellow, or green, all of them see them as the brown sheit heads the masses truly are
A cont tree filled with cowards and slave mentality

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 21st, 2021, 1:07 pm

This is really inconveniencing us property owners who live abroad, especially if they require upload of front and side photos of the building, WASA bill, etc.

On my next trip back I am going full-fledge paperless billing for all utilities. Getting family members to do anything is costing me $$$, especially with Christmas right around the corner. Trinis boy. Sigh.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 21st, 2021, 1:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
wtf wrote:If you don't fill out the form is $5000 in yuh tail.
Don't take chain up from no politician. Them ain't paying no fine for you.

Consider the following, then ask yourself two simple questions.
200000 property owners in trinidad
50000 submit the bs return.
150000 refuse and don't.

You really feel that they have the resources to track down and fine 150k people (some of whom may not be in the country)? They had just over 100K ganja cases and realized they eh have the court capacity to pursue them all so instead opted to decriminalize weed, that was actually one of their main reasons.
And even if only 50% of those fined don't pay it, you feel they have the resources to pursue, prosecute and incarcerate everyone?

Anyway, you all run along and submit your documents as your elected masters told you to.

They can, though.
They'll prob put some sort of hold on the property that will keep accumulating and you won't be able to do any business with or on the property that requires any state approval/bank letter/other legal doc

I think that's exactly what the plan is. Don't get me wrong - I think accountability is needed, but not like this. Imagine, squatters have to file too.

Postby The_Honourable » November 22nd, 2021, 10:57 pm

For those interested

Chaguanas Chamber of Industry and Commerce

Dear Stakeholders,

You are invited to join us live on Conversations with the Chamber-themed, Property Tax, and its Implications on November 25th, 2021 at 10 am.

We hope that you would take advantage of this opportunity to join us live and have your concerns addressed at this FREE session, provided for the benefit of the business community and the general public.

To participate in this session, kindly click the following link:

https://chaguanaschamber.org/conversati ... lications/

Should you require further information, please contact our Secretariat at +1 (868) 671-2242 or +1 (868) 477-3444