Four Fire Officers electrocuted during flood rescue

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2016, 2:45 pm

Seems as they moved the ladder to rescue people from the maxi taxi stranded in the flood water on the bus route in Barataria, the ladder came into contact with the high tension electrical wires and they were electrocuted.

They are alive and being treated at Mt Hope.

3971343a-71c0-4b74-9825-759e6d4c442e.jpg

2bb44ca4-9075-45d7-abff-5284e2437f84.jpg

1236bc92-40f1-4e0e-877b-2da8635956dc.jpg

https://vimeo.com/185855454

I really hope they are ok :(

baigan

Re: Four Fire Officers electrocuted during flood rescue

Postby baigan » October 6th, 2016, 2:46 pm

That's sad man :(
Hope they're alright

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2016, 2:53 pm

If ur electrocuted it means u died by electric shock..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 6th, 2016, 2:57 pm

^
electrocute
verb
past tense: electrocuted; past participle: electrocuted
injure or kill (someone) by electric shock.
"a man was electrocuted on the rail track"

wow :shock:

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » October 6th, 2016, 3:09 pm

Sorry bout that but, why they just didn't drive unto the bus route, that tender can handle water just above the wheels.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 6th, 2016, 3:18 pm

^^maybe they didn't know that

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » October 6th, 2016, 3:21 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Sorry bout that but, why they just didn't drive unto the bus route, that tender can handle water just above the wheels.

cherrypopper wrote:^^maybe they didn't know that

^^ may be seeing how high the water is around the maxi, they didn't want to risk it. Remember wrecking a fire tender costs $6m

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 6th, 2016, 3:23 pm

zagie

Postby zagie » October 6th, 2016, 4:28 pm

priority, SOP is self preservation because you cant help any one if you your self will become a causality yourself, officer priority was to protect the fire men first and supervise the men, and the area suppose to be cordoned off no vehicle traffic, what is the purpose of having a structure set in place and we not following it but we doh like to follow procedure in trinidad, just look at possible causalities on that scene just because the scene open to the public and ah still dont understand why the ladder so high was it a high angle rescue, too much factors under looked, hope my fellow workers good

Postby bluefete » October 6th, 2016, 4:34 pm

Was in a bus that was right in front of all this drama. Thank God they are okay. But some serious re-training is needed.

Postby pete » October 6th, 2016, 4:42 pm

L200 man reflexes saved the guys life. 1/2 second slower and would have been terrible.

HSA

Postby HSA » October 6th, 2016, 4:55 pm

Moment guy was elec....

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 6th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Dam boy that is a real tragedy. ... rip

zagie

Postby zagie » October 6th, 2016, 9:35 pm

pal dont spread that info if u aint sure cause the last word like five minutes ago was he under observation

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 6th, 2016, 10:04 pm

Real sad there....but these officers suppose to be educated and skilled to.looked out for these things.....safetywise......

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » October 6th, 2016, 10:15 pm

"Allyuh help him, Ohh emm gee,... doh move im doh move im doh move Him, call de ambelance!" :D :D :D

Postby K74T » October 6th, 2016, 10:30 pm

There is no confirmation of the fireman passing away.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 7th, 2016, 1:26 pm

pete wrote:L200 man reflexes saved the guys life. 1/2 second slower and would have been terrible.

same ting I saying

just a few inches away from the man head

Kronik

Re: RE: Re: Four Fire Officers electrocuted during flood rescue

Postby Kronik » October 7th, 2016, 3:19 pm

thelem wrote:Sad to hear. But that area was supposed to be isolated from electricity knowing the situation of the dangling high tension wires.

Hmm. They probably overlooked it as their priority was rescue attempts.

Why would they isolate an area because of flood? There were no dangling high voltage wires, the ladder became energised while they were moving it near the wires. Breeze could have blown the ladder close enough to the wires that due to the high amount of moisture on the men and ladder, they became a good conductor. And the current jump to the ladder which I'm sure is aluminum and not fiberglass like what T&TEC uses.

I guess in the situation, as much as you try, you can't cover all your bases and respond quickly, some shortcuts must be taken

Just my 2¢

Postby De Dragon » October 10th, 2016, 6:27 pm

Poor assessment of the scene. Before you even approach you're supposed to do a scene assessment. You cannot help or assist if you yourself are a casualty. Either their training was poor, or they didn't follow it. There is a set distance to be from high voltage mains, whether personnel, or equipment. The distance increases as the voltage increases. Even that truck was parked in the wrong position.