The Courier Association of Trinidad and Tobago (CATT) is contemplating taking the government to court over the recently implemented 7 per cent online tax, which it describes as nonsensical and unfair.
And, CATT president Paul Pantin says there has already been a decrease in shipments as both customers and businesses are unhappy with the new tax.
The tax went into effect on October 20 and applies to goods shipped via air freight.
Responding to questions via email, Pantin said the Association's aim is to have the tax repealed.
But he remained tight-lipped on when court action will be filed, saying only that the couriers are keeping their options open.
He said couriers are still unclear as to how the tax is to be applied and it is causing some confusion.
“As usual there isn't clear guidance to the Customs officers, and too much individual interpretation on how this tax is to be applied. The onus has been placed on the Couriers to decide what the tax is applicable to, and then the individual officer, plays judge, jury and executioner thereafter. We need a complete overhaul of Customs, and proper implementation of the existing taxes. What we don't need is another tax and more confusion.”
Pantin said online shopping is a growing industry which needs proper regulation rather than new taxes.
“The Minister mislead us with bogus figures on online purchases, with unsubstantiated figures, as an excuse to go after the only growing business in Trinidad. Instead of trying to regulate it properly and move the country into the 21st century, his myopic view of the economy will kill it.”
And with decreases in shipments, he said ultimately the State will lose too.
“CAL and TT Post will lose revenue as a result, so the end result of the tax will be negative to the government and to the country.”
Pantin expressed dissatisfaction with the lack consultation with couriers before the tax was implemented.
“The Minister should have consulted with us if he was truly interested in helping the country,” he said.
“We as a population need to remind our politicians (on both sides) that they work for us, the country of all, not just a few.
He added that the tax had implications for many people and small businesses who utilise online couriers for more than just purchasing “shoes and clothes”.
He said persons now have to shell out 7 per cent more for medical supplies, lifesaving drugs, car parts for foreign used cars, farm equipment and parts, school supplies, books, teaching aids etc, which many purchase online.
hong kong phooey wrote:Dear Mr Simpson.
No
The Colon is the leader of the Pmn. Do you really think if he went up as leader, the Pmn would be in power.
Our PM is just a figure head.
make meh care wrote:This not only applies to taxes it goes for every aspect of the country. We economy done dead and they have no clue what to do as a government. But nobody would not say nothing now as with this government but if it was another party they would cried wof ,sheep and everything else. Wait this property tax hit the fan and then see the splatter it will make on everyone.
Trinispougla wrote:make meh care wrote:This not only applies to taxes it goes for every aspect of the country. We economy done dead and they have no clue what to do as a government. But nobody would not say nothing now as with this government but if it was another party they would cried wof ,sheep and everything else. Wait this property tax hit the fan and then see the splatter it will make on everyone.
Breds de recession is ending in the third quarter of next year. Every economists is saying so. Come with some facts instead of making these nonsensical emotional statements that you can't substantiate
Trinispougla wrote:no problem
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2016 ... -next-year
TIL Trinidad and Tobago has only one economist.Trinispougla wrote:Breds de recession is ending in the third quarter of next year. Every economists is saying so. Come with some facts instead of making these nonsensical emotional statements that you can't substantiate
bluesclues wrote:So when they say the recession end. What that mean?
Our currency will go back to 6.20 to 1?
We will get pay raises and an increase in the minimum wage?
We will see a reduction in the cost of food and fuel?
Any or all of the above?
What's the bottom line? A temporary rise in the oil market that will offset concurrent quarters of decline. That is all it is. And now long will it last before we back min recession again?
Miktay wrote:Diversification by Gubbament decree iz bound 2 fail.
What do bureaucrats know about diversifying an economy? not a whole lot.
We have traditions of viable alternate industries that have been overshadowed by oil and gas.
For example Carnival. But the last time I checked it was just 3% of GDP. And some of that iz supported by govt spending.
Diversification originates from the people.
eliteauto wrote:Miktay wrote:Diversification by Gubbament decree iz bound 2 fail.
We have traditions of viable alternate industries that have been overshadowed by oil and gas.
For example Carnival. But the last time I checked it was just 3% of GDP. And some of that iz supported by govt spending.
agreed, lots of private sector CEPEP mentality, no innovation, no ideas just more of the same old while complaining about no Government stimulus (aka high capital projects for contracts). Our private sector is lazy
Slartibartfast wrote:eliteauto wrote:Miktay wrote:Diversification by Gubbament decree iz bound 2 fail.
agreed, lots of private sector CEPEP mentality, no innovation, no ideas just more of the same old while complaining about no Government stimulus (aka high capital projects for contracts). Our private sector is lazy
Kinda hard to be an entrepreneur with little disposable income and I already have to work Monday to Saturday and free overtime just because of how the job market it.
Entrepreneurship doesnt mean you have to be technologically advanced or have free cash...or free time.
but youve gotta experience/understand/solve a problem. what problems can u solve? are people willing 2 pay u $ 2 solve the problem? Everybody has problems.
I can give u a couple local examples if u need specifics.
If you talking about local companies that already established then I agree. If you talking about regular middle/lower class citizens then I don't cuz the majority I know already working hard and not prepared to risk it all in a poor economy like the one we have right now.
Again no problem with that. everybody has a choice.
Of course there are success stories of people that come from nothing and tried hard and got through but there are far more stories of those that didn't. And with the way things are now, when ordinary folks run the numbers they realise that above all else they can't risk not being able to pay their bills.
Yes. Pareto principle. 80% fail. 20% succeed. But what of the 80% who fail. do they give up & return to the salaried world? or try again? some try again and again and eventually succeed. Otrs realize that self employment iz not their thing and go back 2 the salary world.
But go on and blame it on the "lazy" citizens when our own prime minister running out of countries worse than us to compare us to, even when we blessed with such an abundance of a valuable natural resource.
No. Not lazy. Lazy people are better described by FM economists as having a preference for leisure activity. Again nothing wrong with that. Its your time. Your life. Choose how u want 2 spend it.
BUT if u like liming it doesnt make much sense 4 u 2b envious of those who sacrificed their free time to earn more.
You cant have ur kiss cake and eat it.
The thing is, the natural resources of the country belongs to the citizens. Yes.
The people in power are put their by the citizens because they are supposed to be those best fit to manage our natural resources as well as run the country. No. the people in power are the most popular. Thats democracy. The majority rules.
If you have any business with a product that you know has an expiry date won't you diversify? Yes if ur thinking like a businessman. Bureaucrats however rarely think like businessmen. They dont have 2. We let them get away with slackness
If they people managing our resources are saying they are unable to do anything of worth with it then why they heck are they even there? Again its a popularity contest. We get the gubbament we deserve.
I say it's not the people that are lazy but the government. They have it too easy. Yes. Big Gubbament iz mostly about fooling the people.
They don't have to innovate as long as oil is there. Most bureaucrats dont have a track record or enuf fire in they belly 2 innovate.
They supposed to work hand in hand with us to provide a good environment to foster entrepreneurship. But what they doing?... stuffing their pockets and raising taxes...Supposed 2 iz correct. But they dont. Thats the fallacy of Big Gubbament. The bureaucrats over-promise and under-deliver. Why? Cuz real leadership iz hard. And we...the people let them get away with that. Cuz we like it so.
Elite and Miktay come back when allyuh have a better excuse.
Slartibartfast wrote:Well looks like we in agreement with most of the points I stated. The problems seems to lie with the government. Now tell me what are people like me (who don't support either party) supposed to do.
Ur beginning 2 see the fallacy of Big Gubbament. And that iza start. 2 continue on that path iz 2 avoid interaction with Gubbament and its cartels as much as u can.
Impossible 2 avoid them totally. But deliberate avoidance and/or toleration iz my approach
To make things even funnier, once things continue going as planned I should be making it alright it 10 years time once I continue doing what I doing. But the thing is, my most profitable route is also the least innovative. There are lots of things I can and I will try to innovate along the way but I know that although they will propose good solutions to ongoing problems, they won't get me anywhere and would be more of a personal endeavour (sorry cant give details until I figure out the whole IP thing).
Yeah. I doh blame u. Plenty men looking 2 huff ideas io coming up with their own. And FYI Intellectual property iza product of Big Gubbament & the legal cartel
The thing is that the atmosphere in Trinidad does not support entrepreneurship and innovation. Not in the aggregate. But we have tremendous pockets of creativity and innovation in our country.
It supports dishonesty and corruption. Of course. Big Gubbament and its cartels are all essentially a collection of rackets: the education cartel...the banking cartel...the legal cartel...the medical cartel etc.
But the largest racket iz Big Gubbament.
Why u think u have 2 know somebody 2 get most things done in T&T? Thats a nefarious symptom of Big Gubbament.
Now tell me, what significant differences do you think a few extra million from taxes going to do us in an economy dependant on oil? The only innovation that will take place is avoiding taxes and the only new "entrepreneurs" would be the corrupt ones able to facilitate it.
Yep. But it doh mean u have 2 go along with it. U might not be able 2 stop it. But most people can work around the bureaucracy. Btw that's one area of innovation: how 2 achieve something worthwhile in spite of Big Gubbament.
Time for allyuh to stop blindly blaming the general population when you know the government is the problem. Big Gubbament iza problem. But people have the power 2 change them once ever 5-6 years. But we always get more of the same. Not just locally. In most of the world. Most elections are a two horse race. One horse iz black with white stripes. The other horse iz white with black stripes. Can u tell the difference?
eliteauto wrote:entrepreneurship isn't for everyone, I see a lot of excuses and passing the buck. The biggest hindrance locally is financing not government , lots of people are content to do the minimum and whine, some are prepared to put in the work. Links and nepotism helps but many push through without those, it's all about how badly you want it and how patient you are
Slartibartfast wrote:You missed the point. The fact is that entrepreneurs, unless they are already big players or a 1 in a 100 lucky break, are not rewarded for the work they put in as much as those that are corrupt. If you only knew the amount of construction companies I came across where the people in charge don't even understand basic things like how water affectsports concrete etc. I even had to show a managing director/ site supervisor how to read a grain size analysis graph. At this was on a $10mil project that I know he got cuz he was giving a kickback to a qs in a certain state enterprise.
Our government actively promotes and rewards dishonesty and corruption.
Tell me, how do we award and promote innovation here? What can I, as an ordinary citizen, do to promote it. Anyone can point out a problem, let me see you "innovate" a solution.
Miktay wrote:eliteauto wrote:entrepreneurship isn't for everyone, I see a lot of excuses and passing the buck. The biggest hindrance locally is financing not government , lots of people are content to do the minimum and whine, some are prepared to put in the work. Links and nepotism helps but many push through without those, it's all about how badly you want it and how patient you are
Financing izan excuse IMHO. Plenty people started small fm their home and built a sustainable business.