The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Re: The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby Chimera » April 24th, 2022, 7:27 pm

Kenjo wrote:Is there a standardized price for installations besides cost of trunking etc ?for labour
Industry standard is $300 per camera labour

Thats for basic install with trunking or conduit on a flat house.

If its a 2 story or very long runs or you have to use scaffold etc its very different

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2022, 7:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Kenjo wrote:Is there a standardized price for installations besides cost of trunking etc ?for labour
Industry standard is $300 per camera labour

Thats for basic install with trunking or conduit on a flat house.

If its a 2 story or very long runs or you have to use scaffold etc its very different

Thanks !

matix

Postby matix » April 24th, 2022, 8:36 pm

agent007 wrote:^^Lorex N4K2-88BB-1 8-channel Fusion NVR System with 4K (8MP) IP Cameras and 2TB HDD - $749.99 USD on their website.

Check yuh pm

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 24th, 2022, 10:41 pm

Kenjo wrote:And buy a crimper ?

Yeah.
Is something like this I buy.
Around same price but the RJ-45 plugs had about 5 different colors.

I know some might say $300-400 is high for something you only going to use les than 20 times before it pack away.
But it would make sense if you have other uses for it (beside cctv). I have to use mine regular.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 25th, 2022, 7:44 am

How effective would a red/black candle with some good pothounds be instead of these security measures?

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2022, 8:14 am

cctv is NOT a security measure,

it is a measure to help investigate incidents or possible incidents

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 25th, 2022, 9:02 am

Re: CCTV is not a security measure

Effective CCTV is a security measure. Look at the public CCTV they have in metropolitan centers all over the world. The PTZ cameras assist in putting criminals behind bars.

What we need are public CCTV Cameras in our towns and highways and main roads. If you live in a community get a friend who with the blessing of the neighbors install IP cameras at strategic points on the block or street.

Display of movement vs knowledge of movement.

The thing is camera is one thing but what motion alerts can it send and who is viewing makes a difference

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2022, 9:46 am

yes, if you have ppl monitoring real time and ready to act

Postby supercharged turbo » May 25th, 2022, 3:59 pm

I need to watch back 7 days of footage on a Hikvision DVR.What's the quickest way to do that without skipping a second?I think the fastest is like 16x without skipping.If I have it on 32x,it fast forwards in increments of 3 seconds and 64x is increments of 6 seconds.

Postby Chimera » May 25th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Copy that file to a pc and look at it lol dont run that back tru the dvr.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 12th, 2022, 8:01 am

Guys have a system to install. I need
Trunking
Electrical boxes
Video balun
Cat 5 cable. It's better to buy a box? Anybody have selling?

Who have the best prices now

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2022, 8:19 am

make sure you getting pure copper cable and not copper clad aluminum

matix

Postby matix » July 12th, 2022, 9:58 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Guys have a system to install. I need
Trunking
Electrical boxes
Video balun

Send me a list of everything you need and I’ll send you the prices.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 14th, 2022, 3:36 pm

matix wrote:
nismotrinidappa wrote:Guys have a system to install. I need
Trunking
Electrical boxes
Video balun

Send me a list of everything you need and I’ll send you the prices.

Off the top of my head
25 3/4 trunking
12 octagon box with blank cover
6 pair video balun
6 male and 6 female power connector
1 box cat 5 cable

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 14th, 2022, 5:57 pm

If you have outdoor rated cabling you don't need any trunking, might even save you some money. Also if you have to go down the Trunking road the best option would be to install PVC conduit instead with flexible conduit for the corners.

The hardest part of Camera installs is the physical setup of the cameras using the conduit / trunking, drilling etc... The easiest part is actually the configuration of the devices which a child can even do with setting up of the DVR / NVR with 4 / 8 / 16+ channels.

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2022, 6:50 pm

conduit and proper boxes is the better way to go, and seal the boxes good with silicone to avoid water getting in

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 14th, 2022, 7:48 pm

I want the trunking. IMO it's very neat and extra protection for cable

Postby st7 » July 14th, 2022, 8:08 pm

yeah go with trunking. if you could with installing pipe (and could bend it like beckham) go thru. or hire somebody who good to do it.

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2022, 8:28 pm

make sure cameras not high as them
bandits wear caps and dark clothing so shadows the face
tbh them bandits not afraid of cameras at all

Amit

Postby Amit » September 17th, 2022, 1:42 pm

Look for some help to portforward to my router
Internet :digicel
Once I’m connect to the same network at home I am able to view from my phone

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » March 7th, 2023, 1:42 pm

Need some advice on cctv systems. I currently need one at an off site location which doesn't have internet access but has power. I saw those cameras which screws up in a bulb Socket but it's labeled as wifi camera.
Seeing that it has a slot for a memory card would I be able to configure at a location with internet, then install at site?
My intention is to record footage and only review when needed.
What's your thoughts/suggestions?

Re: Home Security

Postby goalpost » March 26th, 2023, 10:25 am

What are your guys experience with the Wyze??

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2023, 11:11 am

they work pretty well for what they are
occasionally you might need to reboot one of it somehow loses signal
i have about 8 around house and
couple on eagles outside

convenient viewing app

Postby gastly369 » March 26th, 2023, 12:03 pm

Looking to upgraded soon had the old 1080p hikvision about 8 years working flawless since.

Will go with the newer colorvu 8mp cameras 3840 × 2160 resolution and probably a ptz depending on ptz cost

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2023, 12:53 pm

is it just a swap of the cameras or dvr needs to upgrade also ?

gastly369 wrote:Looking to upgraded soon had the old 1080p hikvision about 8 years working flawless since.

Will go with the newer colorvu 8mp cameras 3840 × 2160 resolution and probably a ptz depending on ptz cost

Postby gastly369 » March 26th, 2023, 2:42 pm

pugboy wrote:is it just a swap of the cameras or dvr needs to upgrade also ?

gastly369 wrote:Looking to upgraded soon had the old 1080p hikvision about 8 years working flawless since.

Dvr power supply will need to upgrade as well..and welll new wires ends etc as 8 years cable going to be issues.. So basically entire new system and install

Postby 88sins » March 26th, 2023, 5:39 pm

gastly369 wrote:
pugboy wrote:is it just a swap of the cameras or dvr needs to upgrade also ?

Dvr power supply will need to upgrade as well..and welll new wires ends etc as 8 years cable going to be issues.. So basically entire new system and install

Yeah, essentially an entirely new installation. Ptz cams use more power than stationary units, and the wiring after so long may be a little iffy.

A good silent alarm system is something else to consider. Even moreso if your cameras are small/well concealed.

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2023, 6:22 pm

Put up a few signs saying "trespassers will be shot ".

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2023, 6:22 pm

correct, cctv ain’t stopping bandits
alarm or dogs is best option to raise alarm

Postby Dave » March 26th, 2023, 6:43 pm

I got some TP link cameras recently. They have a built in alarm. While it isn't ear piercing by any means...in the middle of the night if triggered it would be noticeable. Just need to be wary of any stray animals that can also trigger it.