Re: The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby iarmd1 » April 16th, 2018, 11:33 am

When I reach home I bought it this month from abroad it’s a amcrest

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » April 16th, 2018, 11:36 am

src1983 wrote:
d.d.s. wrote:^ Need some help as well. Got it on my phone and able to view it with the wireless where the system is connected. Outside of that, no luck viewing it remotely.

Is the ip you using starting with 192.168.??
Yep

src1983

The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Postby src1983 » April 16th, 2018, 11:43 am

This won’t work, you will need to login via your external ip (if static)

When you see home open your browser and google search whatsmyip

Do not post number here

Also you will need to port forward if the local access is

192.168.0.10:80

Go the the dvr and change port to eg 8181

Then go to your router and forward port 8181 to 192.168.0.10:8181

When completed your local access should be

192.168.0.10:8181

Your external access should be

Xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8181

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 29th, 2018, 5:42 pm

Have a swann dvr.
The problem I am having is it is not passing boot up screen Ie on start up is says ' loading swann " then beeps and screen goes black and after about a minute it repeats the process.
I replaced the adaptor wit a new one , with adaptor connected to unit and unit on the voltage is over 12.5 volts.
I disconnected all cameras , remove the hdd and same issue.
I checked the voltage on the coin battery , it is over 3V.
I can't even get into the setup screen since it is not booting up.
Any idears people

Postby skylinechild » April 29th, 2018, 7:58 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:Have a swann dvr.
The problem I am having is it is not passing boot up screen Ie on start up is says ' loading swann " then beeps and screen goes black and after about a minute it repeats the process.
I replaced the adaptor wit a new one , with adaptor connected to unit and unit on the voltage is over 12.5 volts.
I disconnected all cameras , remove the hdd and same issue.
I checked the voltage on the coin battery , it is over 3V.
I can't even get into the setup screen since it is not booting up.
Any idears people

usually the constant rebooting is when you have a failing / failed hard drive installed.

replace hard drive with a new unit and power on and see if it still does the same thing.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2018, 5:17 am

Is hikvision 1080 a worthwhile system ?
I have an old setup and want to upgrade

Postby skylinechild » May 1st, 2018, 8:13 pm

pugboy wrote:Is hikvision 1080 a worthwhile system ?
I have an old setup and want to upgrade

whats the actual specs of the DVR ??
what area are you trying to cover.?
what type of camera connectivity does it offer ? ( BNC type IP based)
does it offer compatibility with your current analog cameras as well as the newer digital ones ( hybrid DVR)

scabs

Postby scabs » May 19th, 2018, 1:19 am

Anyone bought the lorex wire free systems from pricesmart that comes with the rechargeable battery packs? If so, any reviews?

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » May 21st, 2018, 12:39 am

I installed an arlo pro 2 system from amazon. Works well enough

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 21st, 2018, 9:58 am

iarmd1 wrote:When I reach home I bought it this month from abroad it’s a amcrest

Amcrest iz rebranded Foscam.

Earlier Foscams had ridic firmware issues.

kstt

Postby kstt » July 5th, 2018, 7:39 am

Which company would you recommend to install a CCTV system with both Cloud and DVR storage? Must be neat and professional? Contact information? Location?

Postby Rovin » August 9th, 2018, 12:26 pm

so i doing a check on amazon & i seeing a brand name ZOSI

seems like alot of ppl using it maybe cause of price ?

is it a good brand ?

i know alot of local ppl was using hikvision , they still using that or it have something better out now ? ........

jsr

Postby jsr » August 9th, 2018, 2:09 pm

who can fix a dvr for a cctv... seems like mine has a problem

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » August 9th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:so i doing a check on amazon & i seeing a brand name ZOSI

seems like alot of ppl using it maybe cause of price ?

is it a good brand ?

i know alot of local ppl was using hikvision , they still using that or it have something better out now ? ........

Zosi brand will work just like sannace,annke,zmodo,etc.. Its not the best in terms of quality of the cameras but they do work

In my experience Hikvision/epcom have good products and work without any issues.They go from 1080p right up to 4k. Save yourself the headache and go with these brands if you can or import a better known brand like lts,GW or dahua.

killercow

Postby killercow » June 24th, 2020, 12:37 pm

I'm looking at purchasing the following system:

https://www.amazon.com/LaView-Channel-Business-Security-Surveillance/dp/B07CH7P8HB

Can anyone provide any feedback / reviews / recommendations on it? Thanks.

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2020, 12:52 pm

if you can afford try and get a minimum 4mp system and more importantly check if the cameras are wide angle because most kits come with very wide angle cameras which tend to be more focused in only a particular section of the viewing area

Home Security

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Many people are using DVR or cloud based IP cameras around our home.
Seeing some like Wyze that have much lower prices than the competition - a Wyze 1080p cam is US$20 and no subscription is required. Compare that to Nest at US$130 plus a monthly or annual subscription.

There's also new tech in home security coming out all the time
Check this flying home security camera

originalbling

Re: Home Security

Postby originalbling » September 25th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Also see they have new solar powered flood lights that sends you alerts if triggered or you can turn on with the app etc.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082JYQN7X?re ... _rsfl&th=1

The Ring wifi cameras are a bit pricey tho

Postby aaron17 » September 25th, 2020, 1:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Many people are using DVR or cloud based IP cameras around our home.
Seeing some like Wyze that have much lower prices than the competition - a Wyze 1080p cam is US$20 and no subscription is required. Compare that to Nest at US$130 plus a monthly or annual subscription.

There's also new tech in home security coming out all the time
Check this flying home security camera
I aint interested unless it is armed.

Postby maj. tom » September 25th, 2020, 1:38 pm

i don't think that flying home camera drone is real... yet. It's an Amazon R&D project.
And development has a huge hurdle to overcome with FAA and FCC approval to regulate such a device where users will obviously abuse it/break it.

Anyways, Verge has been asking some valid questions about that concept: https://www.theverge.com/tldr/2020/9/24/21454943/amazon-ring-always-home-cam-drone-security-biggest-questions
My favorite being: "How does it map your house, anyhow? Where do those pictures go?"

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 25th, 2020, 2:13 pm

I have the Wyze cameras, sense kit and bulbs and they all work flawlessly together for a smart home system and with Alexa. Security will only be in the form of notification from the sensors which you can configure to suit you.

Their cloud video is going to a subscription service in a few months so it's no longer free.

I use Amcrest IP cameras which record continually on DVR and micro Sd as well as sends email with pics on motion detection. Didn't feel like paying for cloud video.

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2020, 3:59 pm

I have a couple of Sengled cameras that screw into lightbulb sockets. Pretty good for my purpose, which is to know if there's any movement downstairs
30 sec vids when motion is detected. They stay in the chinese cloud for 24 hours
Not the best system in the world, but suits me well enough

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2020, 5:34 pm

what allyuh using for basic door/window intrusion etc ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 25th, 2020, 5:58 pm

pugboy wrote:what allyuh using for basic door/window intrusion etc ?

I have Skylinknet but will be moving to Ring alarm soon. All rely on internet for push notifications so be aware of that limitation.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2020, 6:05 pm

how is the battery life on those sensors ?

i use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors. the wireless sensors use cr2 batteries which last a few years

Strugglerzinc wrote:

I have Skylinknet but will be moving to Ring alarm soon. All rely on internet for push notifications so be aware of that limitation.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 25th, 2020, 6:31 pm

pugboy wrote:how is the battery life on those sensors ?

i use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors. the wireless sensors use cr2 batteries which last a few years

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Door/window sensors use AAA and the Motion sensors use 9V. Usually once a year i get low battery notifications. Sensors not waterproof if that's a consideration.

Going to change to Ring because the Skylink app is rubbish and annoys me daily and the company gives no feedback to complaints on their forum.

Right now I'm considering just adding more Wyze sensors because they're very cheap and do the same thing and they work flawlessly.

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Failure.
A masked bandit will snatch dat and pelt it on the ground and give it one good stamp and yuh eh seeing squat after tgay, meanwhile he takes the next 3-5 minutes to rob your ass.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2020, 7:38 pm

alarm should still go off but you still need to have physically secure windows, doors etc

88sins wrote:Failure.
A masked bandit will snatch dat and pelt it on the ground and give it one good stamp and yuh eh seeing squat after tgay, meanwhile he takes the next 3-5 minutes to rob your ass.

Postby nervewrecker » September 25th, 2020, 9:38 pm

I keep a sign inside that imma cannibal, once you inside you on the menu.

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2020, 12:41 am

nerve boi me eh even need a sign. I eh keeping a yard full of predators for shits&giggles

A spranger come in my yard some 9-10 years ago to raid the chennete tree when nobody was home, seeing as d rottie was tied he did feel like he was safe. Poor bastard had no clue that fella used to buss quarter inch chain for kix. Short story shorter, I meet a crowd at my gate and pieces of the poor mook all over the place when I reach home. Apparently he jumped the fence like about 10 minutes before I reached home. I sure that was the longest 10 minutes of his life. Police and ambulance reach like 3 minutes after me. After I locked up my boy, tey6ask a few questions, one play dotish and threatened to shoot my boi but in the end all they did was take him and go. I went in d station, answer a few dotish questions and a few pertinent ones, and that was that. Nuttn came out of it after that. Can't blame the dog for defending it's territory, or the owner for having said dog for that purpose. Only one at fault was the chupid spranger, and to this day I does still say he was very lucky the others were locked up in the kennels and is just big boy alone he had to deal with.