Re: The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

Postby matr1x » March 18th, 2022, 4:33 pm

Since the big blackout, their service has been horrible

Postby aaron17 » March 18th, 2022, 4:50 pm

U sure is not the amount of ppl stealing phone lines? Everywhere I see lines just dangling.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 18th, 2022, 5:21 pm

Are there any alternatives to Amplia for internet and landline?

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » March 19th, 2022, 12:04 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Are there any alternatives to Amplia for internet and landline?
Digicel, Flow

Postby matr1x » March 19th, 2022, 12:05 pm

How dotish. Power goes out...no land line

Postby S_2NR » March 19th, 2022, 12:54 pm

matr1x wrote:How dotish. Power goes out...no land line

Some modems have battery backup. Maybe you can ask about that or get a ups then when power goes, your landline would still work.

Postby matr1x » March 19th, 2022, 4:04 pm

Still, the very idea of a system that before didn't need an electric input....now at the mercy of a power outtage. How dumb

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 20th, 2022, 2:49 pm

you sound like a bitter die-hard tstt customer
you never had a flow phone joe? they work with wall juice, same same.

matr1x wrote:Still, the very idea of a system that before didn't need an electric input....now at the mercy of a power outtage. How dumb

Postby matr1x » March 20th, 2022, 4:43 pm

I had flow

Watch, talk, stickkkkkkkk

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2022, 4:56 pm

Internet telephony doesn't work that way.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2022, 8:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:
matr1x wrote:How dotish. Power goes out...no land line

Some modems have battery backup. Maybe you can ask about that or get a ups then when power goes, your landline would still work.

Another issue is flows network having battery backup. If it doesn't then u could have ups u not getting a connection.

When I first had flow we would have connection during a power outage but after a few years it appeared the network connection itself went down with the outage

Postby matr1x » March 20th, 2022, 8:46 pm

Only chumps go with flow

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2022, 7:34 am

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » March 22nd, 2022, 10:58 am

Anyone with Bmobile not getting service on their cell? Seems to be down.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2022, 11:14 am

i getting

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2022, 11:25 am

they website down too. for days so thaz why they losing money. all disconnections suspended. although u can pay bills in d bank and other offline places

Postby hover11 » March 22nd, 2022, 11:35 am

CWU: TSTT haemorrhaging millions of dollars per day

TSTT’s online systems have crashed and it could be costing the state telecoms provider over 100 million dollars. That’s according to the Communication Workers Union which claims TSTT is haemorrhaging millions of dollars per day. This after some of its digital portals went down. With its website offline, TSTT has suspended all bill payments. But while it may spell good news for customers, as Akash Samaroo tells us workers are now afraid that the losses will give the company more leverage for retrenchment.

TAGSCommunication Workers Union (CWU)retrenchmentTSTT

Previous article
Body found in Maracas identified as Zephaniah
Next article
Cross-discipline team to address violence in schools

Newsdesk

TRENDING

T&TEC planned maintenance to affect parts of T&T Tuesday 22 March
News Newsdesk - March 21, 20220
Tucker Energy shocked and saddened by passing of colleague
News CNC3 Editor - March 21, 20220

Jamaicans shun UK royal visit, demand slavery reparations
News CNC3 Editor - March 21, 20220

Chinese airliner crashes with 132 aboard in country’s south
News Newsdesk - March 21, 20220

As Mariupol hangs on, the extent of the horror not yet known
News News Desk - March 21, 20220

LATEST POSTS
All

EDITOR PICKS

TT Coast Guard gets maritime ops training from Canadians, UNODC
News March 22, 2022

Two more people die from COVID-19 in Tobago
COVID-19 March 22, 2022

T&TEC planned maintenance to affect South and Central Trinidad March 23
News March 22, 2022
POPULAR POSTS

Boy, 7, chokes to death while eating pholourie
News March 10, 2020
New Canadian COVID case ‘returned’ from T&T
COVID-19 March 10, 2020

From Morvant to Paris Runway
News March 9, 2020
POPULAR CATEGORY
News22292
COVID-192397
Business1635
7 PM News858
Opinion577
The Morning Brew570
Sports247
2020 General Elections136

ABOUT US
CNC3 TELEVISION Covering Your World Level 4, Guardian Building, 22-24 St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago, W.I. 2018-2019
Contact us: guardian.co.tt
FOLLOW US

Postby hover11 » March 22nd, 2022, 11:35 am

Why doesn't the government just sell TSTT , it clearly isn't profitable, they just like beating this dead horse

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 22nd, 2022, 1:42 pm

hover11 wrote:Why doesn't the government just sell TSTT , it clearly isn't profitable, they just like beating this dead horse

Should have been sold a long time ago.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 22nd, 2022, 2:52 pm

TSTT/bMobile is like every other Government backed "Monopoly". Pay "jook-out-yuh-eye" prices or go somewhere else. The thing is, is that there is choice Digicel in the case of TSTT/bMobile and a number of other airlines for Caribbean Airlines. But that mentality is so entrenched that even in the face of competition they don't be competitive.

Case in point, look at pay-as-you-go data. It's so insanely expensive, 99% of the revenue from pay-as-you-go data most likely comes from people leaving on data after their data package ends only to realise your $100 top-up was obliterated in 5 minutes of Internet use.
I speak from experience

If pay-as-you-go data was reasonable (like $10 per Gig), you know how many people would just leave it running and top up phonecards to pay for it. They'd sell a crapload more phonecards.
I would do that because it makes no sense paying hundreds of dollars for a data package for a connection between my Wifi at home and Wifi at the office, but I'd happily buy a phonecard every week or so to have at least a persistent Internet connection on the go.

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2022, 3:28 pm

^i just take a $15 data addon which gives me 2GB and last a month. only need it for when i not at home or work just like u and i only use it for streaming radio, websites and whatsapp no videos so i doh use up plenty.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 22nd, 2022, 4:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:^i just take a $15 data addon which gives me 2GB and last a month. only need it for when i not at home or work just like u and i only use it for streaming radio, websites and whatsapp no videos so i doh use up plenty.

I always thought that was an add-on to an existing package. Thanks mate.

I like bMobile again. :oops: :D

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2022, 4:52 pm

DTAC wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^i just take a $15 data addon which gives me 2GB and last a month. only need it for when i not at home or work just like u and i only use it for streaming radio, websites and whatsapp no videos so i doh use up plenty.

I always thought that was an add-on to an existing package. Thanks mate.

I like bMobile again. :oops: :D

that's one of the reasons i didnt port my number to digi even though they call me twice to encourage me to do it. for the same data i would have to take a plan with plenty minutes which i wont use much of plus take a data plan on top of it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2022, 2:28 pm

Anyone having problems when making or receiving calls on Bmobile?
After calling the number it doesn't ring - just silence
When answering calls there's just silence.
Calls not connecting
Works after a few tries

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 28th, 2022, 2:29 pm

For whatever reason roaming hasn't been working the last couple of days too.....no ringing or anything.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 28th, 2022, 2:58 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:For whatever reason roaming hasn't been working the last couple of days too.....no ringing or anything.

If you're in the U.S., AT&T and T-Mobile have shut down their 3G networks so unless you're connected to T-Mobile's limited 2G network you're not going to get calls or SMS to work until bmobile rolls out VoLTE in Trinidad and signs a VoLTE roaming agreement with either AT&T or T-Mobile. The same thing applies to Digicel as well.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 28th, 2022, 3:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone having problems when making or receiving calls on Bmobile?
Calls not connecting
Works after a few tries

A lot of cell sites are down for bmobile atm. I called customer care and they said that due to the recent retrenchment, they don't have anyone to go see what's wrong with the sites. Very disappointing imo.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2022, 3:01 pm

joshuarshah wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone having problems when making or receiving calls on Bmobile?
Calls not connecting
Works after a few tries

A lot of cell sites are down for bmobile atm. I called customer care and they said that due to the recent retrenchment, they don't have anyone to go see what's wrong with the sites. Very disappointing imo.

waw
thanks for the info

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 28th, 2022, 3:05 pm

joshuarshah wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:For whatever reason roaming hasn't been working the last couple of days too.....no ringing or anything.

If you're in the U.S., AT&T and T-Mobile have shut down their 3G networks so unless you're connected to T-Mobile's limited 2G network you're not going to get calls or SMS to work until bmobile rolls out VoLTE in Trinidad and signs a VoLTE roaming agreement with either AT&T or T-Mobile. The same thing applies to Digicel as well.

Ohhh then that makes sense. I really need a new 5G phone.

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2022, 3:11 pm

joshuarshah wrote:
Calls not connecting
Works after a few tries

This would explain why bmobile service went to sheit this yr. I'm surprised they still have customers tbh