New Drivers Permit from tomorrow?

Dragular

New Drivers Permit from tomorrow?

Postby Dragular » January 12th, 2017, 3:06 pm

Now heard on CNC3 news that we getting a new Driver's Permit, starting from Tomorrow.

What does this mean for people who renewed recently?
and have like 10 years. Do they have to pay again?

Sounds like another Govt scheme to make money
Last edited by Dragular on January 12th, 2017, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sundar

Re: New Drivers Permit from tomorrow?

Postby Sundar » January 12th, 2017, 3:09 pm

I'm not paying nothing. I renewed for 10yrs

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » January 12th, 2017, 3:14 pm

Dragular wrote:Now heard on CNC3 news that we getting a new Driver's Permit, starting from Tomorrow.

What does this mean for people who renewed recently?
and have like 10 years. Do they have to pay again?

Sounds like another Govt scheme to make money

I renewed just September. But more than likely, it just means that it would only apply to renewals. Old DP's would still be effective until the expire.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 12th, 2017, 3:17 pm

CNC3 wrote:A new driver’s permit will be launched tomorrow, Friday.

According to a release from the ministry of works and transport, the new permit comes with enhanced security features and is expected to greatly improve service delivery and procedures at the licensing divisions in the country.

At present drivers, licenses are renewed for five years.

It has not been stated what the cost of this new drivers license would be or whether there would be changes to the present issuance structure.

I renewed mine last Friday. So yea also don't expect a sudden need to re-renew.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2017, 3:25 pm

yup, as with the last change the old one will be valid until expiration.
Just got my 10 yr as well, so me eh beating up

Postby Slartibartfast » January 12th, 2017, 3:28 pm

My driver`s permit has a `valid until`date on it. If I see it change I will go in and renew my permit before that date. If not I am willing to accept cash payment of $1000 to do so. If not they could HDeyMC

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2017, 6:06 pm

Last time I renewed my permit it was for 5 years. My next renewal date is May 2017

So is it 10 years now? how much does it cost to renew for 10 years?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 12th, 2017, 6:09 pm

As of last Friday.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2017, 6:24 pm

Ooh ok cool maybe I will do 10 years when I go back. $1000 seems like a lot to jump out but say what...

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2017, 7:18 pm

why they changing it again? i remember the previous one look like it was fake but the current one seems OK

urbandilema

Re: RE: Re: New Drivers Permit from tomorrow?

Postby urbandilema » January 12th, 2017, 7:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:why they changing it again? i remember the previous one look like it was fake but the current one seems OK

To make money on us again

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » January 12th, 2017, 7:50 pm

$500 for 5 year renewal....$1000 for 10 years....With the current financial hardships, they could have allowed a driver to pay $100 per year so that he could renew according to what he can afford. :lol:

Postby 88sins » January 12th, 2017, 8:00 pm

2ndchance wrote:$500 for 5 year renewal....$1000 for 10 years....With the current financial hardships, they could have allowed a driver to pay $100 per year so that he could renew according to what he can afford. :lol:

Or according to how long you wish to drive for. Nobody know what can happen during the course if a decade, ppl get killed, disabled, circumstances change, migrate, etc. Annual renewal would be a nice option.

Postby j.o.e » January 12th, 2017, 8:07 pm

2ndchance wrote:$500 for 5 year renewal....$1000 for 10 years....With the current financial hardships, they could have allowed a driver to pay $100 per year so that he could renew according to what he can afford. :lol:

Or according to how long you wish to drive for. Nobody know what can happen during the course if a decade, ppl get killed, disabled, circumstances change, migrate, etc. Annual renewal would be a nice option.

Is everything allyuh want to buy piecemeal so? If you dead, disabled, migrate the money you pay licensing gonna bother you?

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2017, 8:15 pm

so who get the contract to supply the new card printing machines ?

will the machines be causing "systems problems" around midmorning and start back to work just before lunch ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2017, 8:56 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Is everything allyuh want to buy piecemeal so? If you dead, disabled, migrate the money you pay licensing gonna bother you?

i took the 10 year because
a. I doh want to see LO for another decade
b. price will go up in a another budget.

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2017, 9:26 pm

Damn I Hadda renew in about 3.months

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 12th, 2017, 9:39 pm

Me to , how long can you renew before actual date

Postby Monk BANzai » January 13th, 2017, 8:44 am

pugboy wrote:so who get the contract to supply the new card printing machines ?

will the machines be causing "systems problems" around midmorning and start back to work just before lunch ?

Aye aye!! Dou be taking food out meh mouth Dan..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 13th, 2017, 9:20 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Me to , how long can you renew before actual date

a month at last check

Postby teems1 » January 13th, 2017, 9:37 am

Sundar wrote:I'm not paying nothing. I renewed for 10yrs

Hate to be pedantic, but that is a double negative.

It means you are paying everything.

RoronoaZoro

Postby RoronoaZoro » January 13th, 2017, 12:03 pm

what is 1st duplicate?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2017, 12:12 pm

RoronoaZoro wrote:what is 1st duplicate?

If you lose you permit, you can request a duplicate. If u lose it again, you can get a 2nd one at a higher cost.
You need a police report and affidavit saying that you lose your permit and you need to know your permit number

RoronoaZoro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: New Drivers Permit from tomorrow?

Postby RoronoaZoro » January 13th, 2017, 12:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
RoronoaZoro wrote:what is 1st duplicate?

If you lose you permit, you can request a duplicate. If u lose it again, you can get a 2nd one at a higher cost.
You need a police report and affidavit saying that you lose your permit and you need to know your permit number

Ok thanks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 13th, 2017, 4:56 pm

TV6 wrote:The country will get a new driver’s permit system starting from Monday which will be launched in Tobago first.

It carries new security features aimed at tackling fraud. The technologically advanced permit is expected to result in a large reduction in the application time.

Video

So apparently now its Monday & starts in Tobago.

Postby De Dragon » January 14th, 2017, 12:19 pm

urbandilema wrote:
redmanjp wrote:why they changing it again? i remember the previous one look like it was fake but the current one seems OK

To make money on us again

Winner winner, chicken dinner!
Since this current crop of bobolists take over iz new birth certificate(even though the last one was fairly recently introduced), new marriage certificate and now new D.P.

Postby Morpheus » January 14th, 2017, 1:16 pm

Yet to see the problem.
Enlighten me...

Postby K74T » January 14th, 2017, 3:01 pm

Looks wise - no big difference to the previous permit, just added security features on the front and a barcode to the back.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2017, 3:08 pm

K74T wrote: security features on the front and a barcode to the back.

That barcode

Thats how they plan to get we.

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2017, 3:24 pm

How are they verifying the address ?
Many persons out false addresses and when they knock somebody down and police go to serve summons they find it is a fake address.
Happened to a friend of mine who got hit riding his motorbike.