Sperry and Polo thread check-in

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 2:35 pm

Does any one here dress like this or know anyone that does?
Were talking Sperrys with polo (tennis) shirt, Loafers with chinos and button down shirts. Preppy ivy league style.

Typical yachtclub "douchebags"

Arnold on the left chatting up the lady with sperrys on.

Sarah Vickers and KJP note the "go to hell" pants the preppy belt and the button down shirt

Lily Pulitzer dress

Good example of what im talking about the style applies to men as well.

Watch the vid if you want living moving examples of what im talking about because its more than just a style of dress. *note the Gucci horsebit loafers and blue gingham shirt.

importzxtt

Re: Sperry and Polo thread check-in

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 2:38 pm

Anyway for those who dont dress like this what are your immediate thought on this style? Hes going places in life, Is he gay? etc

Postby rspann » February 7th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Op, if you want to dress like that, do it. You don't need anybody's feedback or approval. Create your own identity.

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 2:50 pm

Only recently has my inner prep come out :lol: Just curious how you all find this style is and if anyone here is into it as well.

Postby SMc » February 7th, 2017, 2:51 pm

I wear 'Polo' shirts quite often, for work I have branded ones which help cement the brand/company I work depending on what I am doing... on a personal level when I'm travelling I wear 'Polo shirt' as it means I can wear the same shirt during the day and into the evening if required which helps when having to pack for a vacation...I dont have chinos though I did wear some Dockers yesterday for a customer meeting

Reality is your market research is toots and nobody wants to buy your knockoff clothing...BTW who upset you?

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 3:05 pm

SMc wrote:I wear 'Polo' shirts quite often, for work I have branded ones which help cement the brand/company I work depending on what I am doing... on a personal level when I'm travelling I wear 'Polo shirt' as it means I can wear the same shirt during the day and into the evening if required which helps when having to pack for a vacation...I dont have chinos though I did wear some Dockers yesterday for a customer meeting

Reality is your market research is toots and nobody wants to buy your knockoff clothing...BTW who upset you?

Took me about 5 times to understand your last sentence lol Trust me, no offence, if i was to open my own line of clothing/brand my target audience would not be Trinidadians but the well to do americans who aspire for the good things in life, the ones who have expensive hobbies like yachting and go to ivy league universities.

Postby MaxPower » February 7th, 2017, 3:33 pm

"Typical yachtclub douchbags" making more money than you and your family can ever dream of...and bullin your girl and moms easy easy

Postby K74T » February 7th, 2017, 3:53 pm

Buh we yacht club "douchebags" doh even wear dem ting.

Board shorts and ah Salt Life juzzy and yuh on.

lickmyballs

Postby lickmyballs » February 7th, 2017, 4:00 pm

yuppie.....lives on

Postby eliteauto » February 7th, 2017, 4:00 pm

OP typical WASP dress has been here since the 80's, you seem to be brand focussed but a polo, yarmouth, T shirts, shorts, chinos and deck shoes are standard for a lot of ppl, it's usually lifestyle/taste influenced and tbh most ppl who do dress like that don't really care about brands, they wear what's comfortable and utilitarian plus...

MaxPower wrote:"Typical yachtclub douchbags" making more money than you and your family can ever dream of...

ppl going the full Ralph/Tommy/Gucci/Sperry/ Jack Purcells while shopping in Tru Valu tend to look like posers

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 4:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:"Typical yachtclub douchbags" making more money than you and your family can ever dream of...and bullin your girl and moms easy easy

:lol: who vex you boi? who say i living in trini like you? Trust me palo my family dont live among other west indians here.

Also you say it as if this is something you can never hope to achieve yourself so why bother trying? Typical small world Trinidadian mentality.

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 4:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:OP typical WASP dress has been here since the 80's, you seem to be brand focussed but a polo, yarmouth, T shirts, shorts, chinos and deck shoes are standard for a lot of ppl, it's usually lifestyle/taste influenced and tbh most ppl who do dress like that don't really care about brands, they wear what's comfortable and utilitarian plus...

MaxPower wrote:"Typical yachtclub douchbags" making more money than you and your family can ever dream of...

ppl going the full Ralph/Tommy/Gucci/Sperry/ Jack Purcells while shopping in Tru Valu tend to look like posers

Thank you for your first statement thats what i was asking about.
Maybe by my first post you assumed im brand focused, not so, im more focused on the overall aesthetic of the style/lifestyle. I understand why each brand is iconic to the lifestyle for example Rene Lacoste invented the tennis shirt or brooks brothers attended a polo match and noticed how the players had button down collars.. Gucci were the first to come out with the horsebit loafers. I agree they wear whats comfortable they dont buy it for the brand they buy it because its a quality piece and thats what they feel comfortable wearing as it portrays the type of person/lifestyle they lead.

Postby MaxPower » February 7th, 2017, 4:51 pm

Who said anything about where you or your family lives?

I smell a false ripe yankee...Do you fear deportation?

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 5:05 pm

MaxPower wrote:Who said anything about where you or your family lives?

I smell a false ripe yankee...Do you fear deportation?

I shouldnt entertain your comment but ill play, actually im a US citizen and am glad we have a president like Trump. You stated the typical yachty makes more money than me or my family could even imagine i wonder why we live among them here, or why my family owns a home that cost more than your entire family could save in their lifetime where in a half mile radius ill see at least 5 new model 991's like its no scene. but keep saving your tt dollars because maybe sometime after Trumps reign youll get to come across and purchase new appliances for your home.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 7th, 2017, 6:20 pm

#triggered

Postby mero » February 7th, 2017, 6:40 pm

Poser wars

Postby MaxPower » February 7th, 2017, 7:47 pm

Lol just because you live away from the yatchers doesnt mean you're better off...ketch ass with 2 jobs?

And remember...its your family's money u boast about...not yours

That house you more than likely beg to spend weekends in.....not yours

Those 991s u drooling over.....not yours...

Who gyul the yatchie gettin sucky from?.....yours

Dont get ahead of yourself and coast on things you dont have or never worked hard for.

Get a job

MP Out

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 7:56 pm

"Ketch ass" with two jobs you're funny.
Family assets mine but not yours, The house yes its ours not yours, The 991 not mine.. yet
What ever makes you feel better bro
Keep working hard though maybe one day you can buy a tiida and a plot of land to build your house and raise another generation with the same goals. Those are your goals right? sorry is that too real?
Last edited by importzxtt on February 7th, 2017, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2017, 9:06 pm

Sperry Top Sider loafers, Express chinos and Lacoste polo checking in. Comfy clothes.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 7th, 2017, 9:13 pm

i wear whatever in d clearance section.. Final clearance in sperry actually

Postby eliteauto » February 7th, 2017, 9:24 pm

Miguel Moses polos, Detour khakis, Clarks boat shoes/ Jack Purcell wearer . Hadda balance off Duane's awesomeness

Postby meccalli » February 7th, 2017, 9:26 pm

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » February 7th, 2017, 10:31 pm

Jack Purcells arent very popular here so im suprised you all know about it! I like.

Duane, I like your style.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » February 8th, 2017, 7:35 am

Not one person here realising the de- masculinization of men with dis feminine style of clothing , 6-7 years ago if u were even caught looking in the direction of those kinda clothes ppl would start to raise an eyebrow at u in fear that u might be a sick homosexually perverted pedophile/battocrat waiting to pounce on anything that moves , and yet now years later there's a thread talking about garments that are now by popular demand commonly being worn amongst the new breed of Trini's "chin-ease" i call dem ,cuz yuh kno Trini like tuh follow everything except Jesus" , and apparently now the fashionable bullamantry statement of the preppy style , #faggitryontheriseintrini
#asitwasinthedaysofnoah
#soshallitbeintheend

Postby Les Bain » February 8th, 2017, 8:41 am

Who's that standing between Arnold and Stallone?

Postby meccalli » February 8th, 2017, 8:49 am

Franco.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2017, 9:21 am

wagonon20's wrote:Not one person here realising the de- masculinization of men with dis feminine style of clothing , 6-7 years ago if u were even caught looking in the direction of those kinda clothes ppl would start to raise an eyebrow at u in fear that u might be a sick homosexually perverted pedophile/battocrat waiting to pounce on anything that moves
every decade has its own style. In the 70's when men had long hair and wore tight pants with bell bottoms or in the 80s when studded leather jackets and pants were a style, I'm sure conservatives complained then too.

What about the very conservative 17th and 18th century male dress suit?

If you are secure in your masculinity then wearing a pink shirt won't bother you.

Postby K74T » February 8th, 2017, 9:36 am

#shwag

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 8th, 2017, 9:37 am

Where in Rattans have these polos you speak off?

Average

Postby Average » February 8th, 2017, 9:44 am

wagonon20's wrote:Not one person here realising the de- masculinization of men with dis feminine style of clothing , 6-7 years ago if u were even caught looking in the direction of those kinda clothes ppl would start to raise an eyebrow at u in fear that u might be a sick homosexually perverted pedophile/battocrat waiting to pounce on anything that moves
every decade has its own style. In the 70's when men had long hair and wore tight pants with bell bottoms or in the 80s when studded leather jackets and pants were a style, I'm sure conservatives complained then too.

What about the very conservative 17th and 18th century male dress suit?

If you are secure in your masculinity then wearing a pink shirt won't bother you.

I have always heard this comment and laughed on the inside because saying that is like saying if a man is so "secure" he might wear a dress. Pink is a feminine colour in my opinion and I can't really see men who think they so masculine, go looking for a pink polo/shirt and think they is more man than the next guy. That....does not make sense...to me anyway.
Also, what the guy on 20's is saying is true. I mean what you stated about style and the time is also true eh. We living in a time of women right now. Men blatantly go out and buy women's jeans because of the fit. Being gay now is almost like an IN thing it seems.