Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 9:51 am

screwbash wrote:
Six­ty-eight em­ploy­ees of the Ch­aguara­mas De­vel­op­ment Au­thor­i­ty (CDA) will be sent home in the com­ing weeks as the au­thor­i­ty seeks to re­duce its ex­pen­di­ture and tack­le its $88 mil­lion debt.

how in gods name the people protest on monday for salary increase and on tuesday the going to fire 68 people, this looking like a case of victimization. they couldnt be happy they had a job i this economy and go with the flow but they choose to make noise and look at them now. this just sad.
You got what you voted for.

Think and use your vote wise next election

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2019, 11:45 am

how come at d top of d page d story saying it have 13k vacancies yet on d political platforms we hear we hadda fire ppl because of over staffing cause kamla dem did hire too much famaly\frens .....

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 1:06 pm

Rovin wrote:how come at d top of d page d story saying it have 13k vacancies yet on d political platforms we hear we hadda fire ppl because of over staffing cause kamla dem did hire too much famaly\frens .....
As i explained stop wasting your money buying those 1% newspapers

Postby toyolink » August 14th, 2019, 5:18 pm

Many organisations/companies have significant vacancies according to their 'approved' organization charts.
The reality is that vacancies are not being filled since the funds for salaries cant match payroll demands.
Only this week the story about the CDA having to let go staff since they cant pay the full complement.
NGC for instance isn't keen on filling vacancies when staff retire or get early separation and things internally seem a bit sketchy.
At times like these contract temporary employment is given preference to permanent jobs for obvious reasons on of which is the ease with which contract can be terminated.

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 8:49 pm

toyolink wrote:Many organisations/companies have significant vacancies according to their 'approved' organization charts.
The reality is that vacancies are not being filled since the funds for salaries cant match payroll demands.
Only this week the story about the CDA having to let go staff since they cant pay the full complement.
NGC for instance isn't keen on filling vacancies when staff retire or get early separation and things internally seem a bit sketchy.
At times like these contract temporary employment is given preference to permanent jobs for obvious reasons on of which is the ease with which contract can be terminated.
And the goverment is all happy about this.

Told you our labour laws only protect the employer.

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2019, 4:24 pm

OWTU: Unilever retrenchment ‘a tragedy’
Narissa Fraser

SOME 285 workers at Unilever Caribbean Ltd are to be retrenched. Some are calling it a tragedy.

The workers protested this morning outside the compound in Champs Fleurs.

Speaking with Newsday, branch president of the Oilfield Workers' Trade Union Neil McEachnie said the company made the announcement in June, and said it was going to shut down its manufacturing services.

Unilever manufactures products such as Breeze laundry detergent, Quix dishwashing liquid, Cif, Comfort, and Foods Plant products including Blue Band, Flora, I Can’t Believe its Not Butter, Cookeen and Golden Ray.

He said communication since then has been inconsistent.

"We have been dealing with a whole range of emotions: frustration, disappointment, anxiety. One should understand the psychological impact this will have on people.

"Up to this day, we are engaged in meetings with the management and their consultants, and up to half an hour ago, the company has still not provided full details. They have been giving various excuses," McEachnie said.

One worker told Newsday he believes this is a tragedy.

"If you look around to see what is taking place in the country, a lot of this is taking place. We watch it on TV and now it is in our own backyard. We have a lot of dedicated workers and for this to happen now..."

He added he is not fearful of his job safety, as he has "prepared for the worst."

McEachnie said the retrenchment process will consist of two phases. Phase one is the closure of the home care and warehouse divisions, while phase two will eliminate the manufacturing of products. He said when management was asked the cost of the process, it said the information was irrelevant.

He said, "We are a mature group of people. The OWTU is not unmindful of the challenges the company may face. As a matter of fact, because of that, we would have engaged with the company on many occasions seeking to have genuine discussions to improve the business performance."

He said the workers told management they are willing to renegotiate the terms and conditions of their contracts, but the feedback was: "Even if you work for free, we still want to close it down."

"We are your workers. We helped you create the billions of Euros you reported globally as your after-tax profit; we contributed. Your only responsibility is not only to your shareholders, it is to all of your stakeholders. We have built, we have sacrificed, therefore engage with us, meet with us."

He said the end point of the retrenchment process is June 2020.

Numerous phone requests to speak to company management were transferred to other departments and Newsday was unable to get a response.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/21/owtu-unilever-retrenchment-a-tragedy/

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 21st, 2019, 4:36 pm

^^^Moral of the story: Never be loyal to any company...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2019, 6:05 pm

Jennifer is pleased

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2019, 7:32 pm

Jenny brucking out in Carifesta... have time for allyuh workers?

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2019, 8:32 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^Moral of the story: Never be loyal to any company...
I keep telling folk this for years.

Employers dont give a damm about you.

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2019, 8:34 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Jenny brucking out in Carifesta... have time for allyuh workers?
Its the same workers that voted for this jack arse of a goverment.

They got what they voted for

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2019, 8:41 am

20190822_083444.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2019, 8:43 am

^^^ hope these people learn to use their votes wisely next election

Postby Dizzy28 » August 22nd, 2019, 9:52 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ hope these people learn to use their votes wisely next election

Not every business decision made is due to the political situation of the country

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 22nd, 2019, 10:10 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ hope these people learn to use their votes wisely next election

Not every business decision made is due to the political situation of the country

This had nothing to do with politics. Was a purely business decision due to inability to remain competitive at this plant ( labor issues and unions)

They did the same to the plant in Dominica

Postby Ben_spanna » August 22nd, 2019, 1:22 pm

surely you all realize by now that Everything that happens in this world for zoom is directly or indirectly due to what a Local Political party did. :roll:
If zoom woke up tomorrow and when he opened the pipe at home and saw a slight tinge of REd in his water- you know he go bawl- peenem trying to Infiltrate him from the inside out. :lol:

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2019, 1:25 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

surely you all realize by now that Everything that happens in this world for zoom is directly or indirectly due to what a Local Political party did. :roll:
If zoom woke up tomorrow and when he opened the pipe at home and saw a slight tinge of REd in his water- you know he go bawl- peenem trying to Infiltrate him from the inside out. :lol:

When u open the pipe its mauby colour water you get bro

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 22nd, 2019, 4:18 pm

yes i agree but how come under the panday unc govt courts and standards were selling out at christmas time as money was flowing an oil was $8 USD ah barrel, manning was given the prime ministership by dotish robbie and he bring in chinese to build massive buildings and overheat the construction industry where a load of gravel went from $1500 to $2500 a load and cement to $60 a bag. kamla UNC yuh aint hear a man loss dey wuk, bald head take over and OAS pull out, all construction shut down, petrotrin closed, la brea sell out , port sell out the only big project is a overpass less dan 3km from a next overpass which makes no sense. yuh hearing so much people firing employees or closing they business or downsizing and it have people who feel dey smart go still vote them back for a next 5 years. can anyone give me one good thing that happened in the last 4 years?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 22nd, 2019, 4:27 pm

screwbash wrote:

yes i agree but how come under the panday unc govt courts and standards were selling out at christmas time as money was flowing an oil was $8 USD ah barrel, manning was given the prime ministership by dotish robbie and he bring in chinese to build massive buildings and overheat the construction industry where a load of gravel went from $1500 to $2500 a load and cement to $60 a bag. kamla UNC yuh aint hear a man loss dey wuk, bald head take over and OAS pull out, all construction shut down, petrotrin closed, la brea sell out , port sell out the only big project is a overpass less dan 3km from a next overpass which makes no sense. yuh hearing so much people firing employees or closing they business or downsizing and it have people who feel dey smart go still vote them back for a next 5 years. can anyone give me one good thing that happened in the last 4 years?

US$8 dollar a barrel was a temporary aberration during Panday's tenure. The average annual price range for WTI was between $18 to US$30 during the period 1995 to 2001.

Also even then we derived lots of our revenue from methanol and ammonia and LNG whose 1st cargo was 1999.

Capture.JPG

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 22nd, 2019, 5:11 pm

Screwbash

The reason that we going through this now is that Growls doesn't seem interested in propping up the economy artificially like those in the past.

The economy has been on the decline since Manning days but what he did was use construction as a means to artificially prop up the economy hence the construction of white elephants all over. What she should have done is use that same construction and build cruise ship complex etc in pos and tobago as part of diversification via tourism.

Kamla was clueless so they would have happily misled the public all the way to the IMF just to save face. We never truly knew what was going on with the country cause she was entirely focused on pr. Which is why I could never support her as pm.

In Panday time we weren't really affected by global economy as we are now so life was less complicated.

Remember how when oil prices were sky high and airlines were closing down daily due to high fuel prices? Howcome CAL never seemed affected by high operational costs. That's because we as taxpayers absorbed those costs.

Government has been propping up companies and industries for decades here.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 22nd, 2019, 5:42 pm

Redress10 wrote:Screwbash

The reason that we going through this now is that Growls doesn't seem interested in propping up the economy artificially like those in the past.

The economy has been on the decline since Manning days but what he did was use construction as a means to artificially prop up the economy hence the construction of white elephants all over. What she should have done is use that same construction and build cruise ship complex etc in pos and tobago as part of diversification via tourism.

Kamla was clueless so they would have happily misled the public all the way to the IMF just to save face. We never truly knew what was going on with the country cause she was entirely focused on pr. Which is why I could never support her as pm.

In Panday time we weren't really affected by global economy as we are now so life was less complicated.

Remember how when oil prices were sky high and airlines were closing down daily due to high fuel prices? Howcome CAL never seemed affected by high operational costs. That's because we as taxpayers absorbed those costs.

prop up or not at them times nobody was under stress and despair. everyone complaining about high prices, lack of jobs and 40000 spanish adding to we stress. great is d pnm yes.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 23rd, 2019, 11:51 am

You might very well see that soon, as Alcoa is now privately owned and controlling interest happens to be someone in TOusirm now …………. wait for it..... im sure it may become the main port of entry for cruise ships!

Postby Dizzy28 » August 23rd, 2019, 12:53 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

You might very well see that soon, as Alcoa is now privately owned and controlling interest happens to be someone in TOusirm now …………. wait for it..... im sure it may become the main port of entry for cruise ships!

Jesus with the subterfuge...........................It's Pier 1 and Howard Chin Lee that got Alcoa Tembladora.
There was a public RFP for that property and anyhows Alcoa was never GORTT so what does it matter?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 23rd, 2019, 5:56 pm

If you guys know anyone.
Job Vacancy: Electrical Engineer – Construction Design and Supervision
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=746126

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 27th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Saw this company advertising on facebook recently just thought I'd share it.

Feel free to comment and add any info. about the company if you have any.

Jobs Page
https://www.eldoradooffshore.com/job.html

Home Page
https://www.eldoradooffshore.com/index.html

I believe I saw their Trinbagonian email as: recruitment.tt@eldoradooffshore.com

The Guyanese email is recruitment.gy@eldoradooffshore.com

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 30th, 2019, 2:28 pm

vaiostation wrote:OWTU: 199 UTT employees to lose jobs

OWTU president general Ancel Roget has said 199 University of TT (UTT) employees will be retrenched next week. He was addressing an emergency media conference at the entrance of UTT’s San Fernando campus yesterday. Comparing the retrenchment to what occurred at state-owned oil company Petrotrin last November, he said this seems to be the chief economic strategy of the ruling PNM.“Some 199 workers are listed to be sent home next week at UTT. They are going to send them home, if they are allowed to, and with the support of the government, certainly with the support of the ministers of finance and education. And that is the government’s economic model for running this country: send workers home.”He said the union had been told about the retrenchment plan at a recent meeting with UTT officials and that this number represented only some of the planned retrenchments at the university.“This is the first wave of major retrenchment in UTT and the people who are going to be impacted, going to be sent home, are not the top management, not the corporate staff, but people who are within the bargaining unit represented by the union.”He said these were non-academic staff such as administrative, IT, technical staff, engineering and maintenance workers.“When that occurs next week, if it is allowed to occur, what this means that in this holiday period, these workers would not be able to provide for their children to go to school."He said the government "can find money to retrench workers but they cannot find money to pay workers or to keep workers active.”

He said the union had a similar experience before the government left the oil and gas sector.“The process of consultation, like the process of consultation in the other entity with respect to sending workers home – I am referring to Petrotrin – they have abandoned that with a willingness and intent to send home workers, and they are picking and choosing the people they are sending home.”He said the union had identified a number of vacancies which could be filled with qualified workers, saying this would reduce the number who would be retrenched.“During the discussions we would have identified a number of vacancies at UTT, but their plan is to cut staff across the board while continuing to pay consultants huge sums of money.”He said one consultant was paid $3,000 an hour.Roget declined to say what action the union would take to prevent the mass retrenchment, except that it was calling on government to intervene in the situation.“This government has the unenviable distinction of sending home the most amount of workers in the shortest possible time and that is their legacy."There is an answer to all of this, but this morning is not the time for that answer. Ours is the call to the government to let good sense prevail, direct the university’s management, get your Minister of Education back in the discussions so that we can get some humanity and sense to what they call restructuring, which is really about sending workers home.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/07/20/owtu-1 ... _djJwo2QGA

199 UTT workers to get letters of separation today

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 3ad6d.html

Postby bluefete » August 30th, 2019, 2:31 pm

Real weeping going on in UTT right now.

Many hard working and genuine staff were sent home.

Great is the PNM and Tantie Kams who overstaffed the institution under her watch.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 30th, 2019, 3:02 pm

bluefete wrote:Real weeping going on in UTT right now.

Many hard working and genuine staff were sent home.

Great is the PNM and Tantie Kams who overstaffed the institution under her watch.

But just last week UTT had thier 2nd annual research symposium that Rowls attended and all the speakers spoke of the importance of the institution and its mandate to the country.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » August 30th, 2019, 3:04 pm

I still on going at UTT as we speak

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2019, 3:19 pm

Why all the weeping and gnashing of teeth?

Sh!tkickers and dem say we outta recession. All dem 1% businesses have vacancies they cyar fill — so much so they advertising in Spanish.

Swallow yuh pride, sign up and fry some chicken. At the end of the day yuh getting doggie bag to carry fuh de pickney and dem too. Just make sure to invest in a bullet proof vest...:|