Advice on importing a 4WD sedan

kaiza

Advice on importing a 4WD sedan

Postby kaiza » March 19th, 2017, 10:24 pm

Good evening fellow tuners,

Any advice on pros/cons of importing a 4WD Toyota Axio? Need an upgrade for work where I do a lot of driving.

Re: Advice on importing a 4WD sedan

Postby eliteauto » March 19th, 2017, 10:31 pm

why 4wd? There have been quite a bit of 4wd AD wagons, axio, fielders, B13, DX wagons etc locally, from what I've heard the transmissions not as easy to get as the 2wd counterparts. Personally I don't see the appeal

Postby A172 » March 20th, 2017, 7:27 pm

buy it
toyota 4wd good

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » March 21st, 2017, 6:41 am

most would advise against it. the maintenance cost are higher (fuel consum. tyre wear ect.) Parts are much harder to source. So unless you really need a 4wd car (Bad terrain, rallying ect.) you're better of with the 2wd.

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2017, 6:51 am

when you need to find parts, steering rack etc it will be wood

eliteauto wrote:why 4wd? There have been quite a bit of 4wd AD wagons, axio, fielders, B13, DX wagons etc locally, from what I've heard the transmissions not as easy to get as the 2wd counterparts. Personally I don't see the appeal

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 23rd, 2017, 7:27 pm

deh durable & cheaper

buy ting

Postby wagonrunner » March 23rd, 2017, 9:38 pm

eliteauto wrote:why 4wd? There have been quite a bit of 4wd AD wagons, axio, fielders, B13, DX wagons etc locally, from what I've heard the transmissions not as easy to get as the 2wd counterparts. Personally I don't see the appeal

transmissions, axles, hubs and wheel bearings, in some instances even brake pads.
worse gas mileage, higher tire and brake wear and will still get stuck if the opposite ends slip.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » March 24th, 2017, 12:10 am

Maybe get a Subaru if you've already made up your mind to get an AWD.
Most (not all) Subaru models are AWD.... So you may be better off with respect to replacement parts in the future.
There are as lot of good Subaru parts dealers on tuner as well

Postby adnj » March 24th, 2017, 7:40 am

When you actually use 4WD everyday, you don't ask these kinds of questions. ;)

4WD/AWD on a car is really designed to either give better snow traction or reduce understeer for high speed cornering (I owned an STi and S60R). Most of the time 4WD is not necessary in Trinidad unless you are travelling on steep, unimproved roads. If you are on a road like that, you probably need extra ground clearance that a car won't give you.

I would save the cost and complexity of 4WD/AWD and go with FWD for traction and economy, RWD for performance.

moti

Postby moti » March 24th, 2017, 8:06 am

OP, instead of buying the Axio 4WD....buy the better model also known as the Hilux.