Where to safely/legally Ride a Bicycle in this country?

AnthSmth

Re: Where to safely/legally Ride a Bicycle in this country?

Postby AnthSmth » October 30th, 2017, 9:26 am

Any savannah...otherwise nowhere really.

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2017, 11:35 am

There are loads of cycling clubs in trini and it's easy join what ever your skill level .
The best place to ride if you just want to ride with out any traffic is in Skinner park on evenings it's totally safe just wear a helmet. There Will be couple of clubs that train there so just on top the track.
If you prefer the road then that's is tricky as the behaviour of drivers are at an all time worst. If you want to ride on the road then ride in groups and wear bright clothes . You can ride anywhere except the highways unless you are in a group with police escort. Weekend clubs normally stage this

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 30th, 2017, 1:59 pm

Someone got knocked down at Macqueripe already even though the area has less vehicles.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-06-25/cyclist-mccloud-knocked-down-coast-guard-vehicle

The Savannah has times to ride, but i doubt many drivers give way to cyclist. I have seen cars driving in lanes blocked off with cones for 5k races around the Savannah. The y don`t care about other users of the road.

Best you learn BMX flatland (not really riding, more like trick riding) or migrate to Europe where you can ride in designated lanes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 31st, 2017, 1:15 am

shameemh wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ and which police man stopping a bike man on the highway? I see people do it constantly everybody does it everyday and there has never been a case of someone getting charged for riding a bike on the shoulder. Police pass me every time even in road blocks they just let me through.

Police in this country eh charging nobody on a bicycle. I really not about that mainroad las lomas riding where every minute I have to stop and jump off a cliff just to get a huge truck pass me on a narrow ass piece of road.

doh get me started about pavements in this country where every 10 seconds of riding you find a portion of it with a missing manhole cover where you can damage your bike or fall to your doom. Other countries have bike lanes, this country has none. Where then do they expect you to ride? most parks they don't allow bikes, and the ones that do you must find some idiot parking their vehicle on the lane. Also I eh wa ride in a circle to nowhere I want to ride the open world

The mainroad is also extremely dangerous, I not about that vehicle sometimes LONG ones passing 2 inches from me. Where just a small clip can have you under the tire, the highway shoulder is very safe in comparison.

It is also illegal to ride a bicycle on a pavement/ sidewalk. Same as on the highway, hence the sign "no bicyles, no animals, no pedestrians, no mopeds." Buy this is trinidad, the land of which u can get away with murder, literally. Chaguaramas has some really nice roads to ride on tho, like the one goin into maqerepe. (Forgive the spelling)

I agree it's illegal to ride on sidewalks or on the highway but nobody has ever been charged for doing so in the history of this country. I riding on sidewalks and highway all my life even through roadblocks with police and never even a warning. The only thing a police man ever mentioned to me was riding without lights on my bike. You can get away with anything in this country, they don't enforce litter laws but them go enforce a law against bikes on a highway?

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » October 31st, 2017, 6:45 am

Safely - in yuh house
Legally - within the boundaries of your home

BUG

Postby BUG » May 6th, 2021, 7:06 pm

zoom rader wrote:There are loads of cycling clubs in trini and it's easy join what ever your skill level .
The best place to ride if you just want to ride with out any traffic is in Skinner park on evenings it's totally safe just wear a helmet. There Will be couple of clubs that train there so just on top the track.
If you prefer the road then that's is tricky as the behaviour of drivers are at an all time worst. If you want to ride on the road then ride in groups and wear bright clothes . You can ride anywhere except the highways unless you are in a group with police escort. Weekend clubs normally stage this

Has the Skinner Park Cycling track upgrade been completed yet? Last I heard it was supposed to be finished in May 21

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 6th, 2021, 7:55 pm

This is trinidad my good sir.

No.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 6th, 2021, 8:08 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:This is trinidad my good sir.

No.

Haha! I was only optimistic about completion in May 21 because it's already been delayed from February 21!

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/06/skinne ... -may-2021/

axe

Postby axe » May 6th, 2021, 8:25 pm

It is not illegal to ride on the east to west highway.
There is also no stated law that backs up the signs against cyclist on the north to south highway.

But you ride at your own peril

VII

Postby VII » May 6th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Theres a separate and official bike lane in Chaguaramas and an official one around the Savannah..

BUG

Postby BUG » May 6th, 2021, 9:09 pm

VII wrote:Theres a separate and official bike lane in Chaguaramas and an official one around the Savannah..

I never see anyone using the Chaguaramas lane. I thought it might be because there's a million driveways entering and exiting off WMR that cross the bike lane making it pretty dangerous. Not an enjoyable ride checking over your shoulder every 10 seconds to make sure you're not about to tbone a car. I could be wrong though.

The Savannah lane is absolutely pointless. If it was separated or protected with a barrier it would be fine, but the way it is any cyclist is risking their life against traffic cycling around the Savannah.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 6th, 2021, 9:13 pm

VII wrote:Theres a separate and official bike lane in Chaguaramas and an official one around the Savannah..

I never see anyone using the Chaguaramas lane. I thought it might be because there's a million driveways entering and exiting off WMR that cross the bike lane making it pretty dangerous. Not an enjoyable ride checking over your shoulder every 10 seconds to make sure you're not about to tbone a car. I could be wrong though.

The Savannah lane is absolutely pointless. If it was separated or protected with a barrier it would be fine, but the way it is any cyclist is risking their life against traffic cycling around the Savannah. It's insane that the Savannah is basically empty 99% of the year. Build a crit track in there, it would be great!

Postby zoom rader » May 7th, 2021, 12:47 pm

axe wrote:It is not illegal to ride on the east to west highway.
There is also no stated law that backs up the signs against cyclist on the north to south highway.

This is true , a case was won years ago by a racing cyclist who trained on the North South Highway .

BUT we have police that dont know the law and they assume that a cycle sign is a law. They will often pull rank and harass cyclist from using the Highways.

However there is a cycle law that forbids under 16s from riding on major roads.

Also police can get you for not having lights at night , that's a charge. I think they can also charge for not having a bell fitted .

BUG

Postby BUG » May 7th, 2021, 1:26 pm

This is true , a case was won years ago by a racing cyclist who trained on the North South Highway .

BUT we have police that dont know the law and they assume that a cycle sign is a law. They will often pull rank and harass cyclist from using the Highways.

Also police can get you for not having lights at night , that's a charge. I think they can also charge for not having a bell fitted .

ZR, any advice on riding Arima Velodrome? With Skinner Park still closed can I just turn up at Arima on an evening and ride with no problems?

Postby zoom rader » May 7th, 2021, 1:57 pm

BUG wrote:

ZR, any advice on riding Arima Velodrome? With Skinner Park still closed can I just turn up at Arima on an evening and ride with no problems?
Yes you can ride in Arima, they normally have clubs that use it in the evenings. Just need to stay out of their way while they train.

You can also use the velodrome in siparia Irwin Park

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6LCQzmKGoWQ

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2021, 6:15 am

BUG wrote:

Yes you can ride in Arima, they normally have clubs that use it in the evenings. Just need to stay out of their way while they train.

You can also use the velodrome in siparia Irwin Park

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6LCQzmKGoWQ

Riding bicycles is a sporting activity - you cannot ride your bicycle in a sports facility .

Red Gov't Ms Cujokey say CLOSE for normal peeps . But if you training for the olympics it's OPEN for peeps.

Gov't Ms Cujokes saying ONLY if you are training for the Olympics will you get $$$

And she trying to FIND that $$ to sponsor the Olympics but she have to ask Papa Boi.

The only place to ride a bicycle is in the Gym .

But wait .. that CLOSE

AGAIN.

Postby nervewrecker » May 8th, 2021, 9:55 pm

You not far west enough.
Usually early morning too.
Unsure about late evenings.
They rather polite and we'll mannered on that side. Also they don't litter.
Now that traffic died down, if the hilux guy still wanna wager his lux, I'm game.
BUG wrote:

The Savannah lane is absolutely pointless. If it was separated or protected with a barrier it would be fine, but the way it is any cyclist is risking their life against traffic cycling around the Savannah. It's insane that the Savannah is basically empty 99% of the year. Build a crit track in there, it would be great!

Postby RedVEVO » May 9th, 2021, 8:04 am

MaxPower wrote:Firebun all ah allyuh blasted bmx...leave the dogs alone

Max, I think BMX is for children under 10 .

Anybody in T&T can ride the highways between 3 am to 5 am and enjoy anyplace in T&T .

Even in Sea Lots and East POS .

You do not need a gym or a bicycle lane or any of these special tingy .

Maybe then they will see ALL the Venes going to work with smiles and be inspired to work harder .

Or ride harder .

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2021, 8:09 am

1BB0C2D7-ECE1-4AC9-B3E1-4E89BEAED9A3.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » May 9th, 2021, 8:35 am

pugboy wrote:
1BB0C2D7-ECE1-4AC9-B3E1-4E89BEAED9A3.jpeg
That must be hell to ride but, I am seeing alot of those around..

Postby Dave » May 9th, 2021, 8:55 am

That's the thing now. My wife's cousin has one and also being a welder he also stretches the frame.
They have their own world and who's who in it.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 9th, 2021, 9:02 am

Dave wrote:That's the thing now. My wife's cousin is one and also being a welder he also stretches the frame.
Is there any specific purpose for stretching the bike?

rebound

Postby rebound » May 9th, 2021, 9:04 am

I saw some vids with them doing "burnouts". With the wheel so far down it would be easier I guess

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2021, 9:08 am

RedVEVO wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Firebun all ah allyuh blasted bmx...leave the dogs alone

Max, I think BMX is for children under 10 .

Anybody in T&T can ride the highways between 3 am to 5 am and enjoy anyplace in T&T .

Even in Sea Lots and East POS .

You do not need a gym or a bicycle lane or any of these special tingy .

Maybe then they will see ALL the Venes going to work with smiles and be inspired to work harder .

Or ride harder .
Nope , you wrong

There is a law that under 16s can't ride on major roads

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » May 9th, 2021, 9:19 am

nervewrecker wrote:You not far west enough.
Usually early morning too.
Unsure about late evenings.
They rather polite and we'll mannered on that side. Also they don't litter.
Now that traffic died down, if the hilux guy still wanna wager his lux, I'm game.
BUG wrote:

Every Sunday morning the Diego highway from kfc to diamond vale is closed off for cyclists

Postby Dave » May 9th, 2021, 9:29 am

I honestly can't say. Maybe equated to the low riders of days gone by?
They even weld up under the frame to give the appearance of a drop low look where they even scrape going along the road.
It's all out customizing and some of these guys have real fabricating skills and even load up lots of music giving many vehicles competition with sound.
killercow wrote:
Dave wrote:That's the thing now. My wife's cousin is one and also being a welder he also stretches the frame.
Is there any specific purpose for stretching the bike?

Postby timelapse » May 9th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Thats a stretch limousine..but for bikes

Postby MaxPower » May 9th, 2021, 3:23 pm

A thugs dream come true.

Postby Les Bain » May 9th, 2021, 4:03 pm

Just a guess but the extended lockdown combos inspired the youths to go old school and get biking again.
That fine and all, but real pest children into it as well, clogging up the roads with their bounce meh attitude. I wish people could start obliging them.

Postby MaxPower » May 9th, 2021, 4:06 pm

Imagine parking up the thugcycle and coming back to see it chop up.

Plenty scrap iron buying too.