Racial,Cultural differences in Trinidad.

linton

Racial,Cultural differences in Trinidad.

Postby linton » July 23rd, 2017, 2:01 pm

Race talk always rears its head in Trinidad (and Trinituner), but what causes it? is it the differences in our cultures ?( Indo Afro, Asian) ,or is it the suspicion that was taught to us from parents while growing up? Some knowledge about the other races might have been fed to us subliminally ,hearing our relatives talking bout other races with contempt ,for example.
When Indos see an Afro trini they sometimes secure their purse or their jewellry. It also happens the other way around. What is the real cause of distrust between the races and what are the differences in culture that might cause it?
I personally see people who have a special plate or cup that they give to people of another race.
I feel it's time to explore this and deal with it openly. Maybe it's the only way to go forward. I for one would like to explore the differences between the races.

Sundar

Re: Racial,Cultural differences in Trinidad.

Postby Sundar » July 23rd, 2017, 2:39 pm

I think it is allot of factors to consider. Neighborhood plays a role in shaping mindset as well as parenting. My neighborhood is still kind of racist in mentality but that's the older folks. Their way of living is totally different.

Satra23

Postby Satra23 » July 23rd, 2017, 2:41 pm

this again...d hell

Satra23

Postby Satra23 » July 23rd, 2017, 2:44 pm

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 23rd, 2017, 3:48 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 23rd, 2017, 4:17 pm

We wuz kangs

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 23rd, 2017, 4:58 pm

Satra23 wrote:this again...d hell

Postby 88sins » July 23rd, 2017, 5:08 pm

Op, go ask Sat

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 23rd, 2017, 5:37 pm

Perhaps the British shouldn't have given us independence so quickly because we as a nation are not mature enough. The only reason we still surviving today is because of the systems left in place by England, but everyday little by little the politicians are eroding this system with their corruption until one day the system will collapse and we may go the way of Venezuela...

Also from the very first prime minister Eric Williams the concept of race politics was born in the nation. I mean didn't he say that he could put a frog and his supporters will still vote for it regardless... If the man who was entrusted with such power could start of a young nation by saying things like that, it was pretty clear where the nation was heading. I suppose in order to counteract this the Indians did the same and that is why the UNC and PNM no matter what they do still have a base. They are basically protected from criticism by their supporters.
The politicians know this and that is why usually before elections they bring up the race talk to rally support.

However if you look pretty clearly at the society you would notice that the majority of people don't really care what race you are. If you go to the doctor's office it doesn't matter what race the doctor is, if you slip an fall you don't care about the ethnicity of the person assisting you.
A lot of people are mature and have gotten sick of these scum politics and perhaps one day the nation may recover.

Average

Postby Average » July 23rd, 2017, 5:44 pm

I can see this thread going on a journey, a massive journey on the internet superhighway where :

1) it gets thousands of views and comments.
2) the insertion of politics bring forth an eruption of all out keyboard warfare
3) the use of personal information being thrown helter skelter for points
4) the banning of high profile users
5) the inevitable lock.

Quite a journey indeed.

Onwards!

Postby Redman » July 23rd, 2017, 6:42 pm

linton wrote:Race talk always rears its head in Trinidad (and Trinituner), but what causes it? is it the differences in our cultures ?( Indo Afro, Asian) ,or is it the suspicion that was taught to us from parents while growing up? Some knowledge about the other races might have been fed to us subliminally ,hearing our relatives talking bout other races with contempt ,for example.
When Indos see an Afro trini they sometimes secure their purse or their jewellry. It also happens the other way around. What is the real cause of distrust between the races and what are the differences in culture that might cause it?
I personally see people who have a special plate or cup that they give to people of another race.
I feel it's time to explore this and deal with it openly. Maybe it's the only way to go forward. I for one would like to explore the differences between the races.

We should understand that race and culture are 2 different things.

There are different cultures within the races.

For eg:
Most of the people I know, have the same view on:

Xyz till ah dead,
Drink,cuss and fight till we pass out,
Below the bamsee jeans and loud obnoxious music

All types of behaviour associated with different sub cultures.
But demonstrated by members of all races.

I don't think we have many Trinbagonians that hate simply based on skin color.

Postby 88sins » July 23rd, 2017, 7:22 pm

Redman wrote:

Not only based on skin color
Hair texture, last name, religious affiliation, & where you're perceived to live on the island all factor in to the equation

Sundar

Postby Sundar » July 23rd, 2017, 8:27 pm

What causes racism?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 23rd, 2017, 8:39 pm

Redman wrote:

I believe there is deep-rooted, as well as shallow-minded reasons for it. All of us accustomed to the political racialism whenever elections come around or this one bashing that one political party. It sad how we can't band together after so many years after Independence. It so easy to resort to 'tribal thinking', opposed to us ing an unbiased view... maybe some people just use the ostrich approach and hate-what-is-different.

Postby 88sins » July 23rd, 2017, 9:18 pm

Sundar wrote:What causes racism?

Basically, stupidity.
Though there are many ethnicities, there is only one race.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » July 23rd, 2017, 9:28 pm

Sometimes I think a grudge can also fan the flames.

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2017, 9:40 pm

A Space Oddity .

Postby zoom rader » July 24th, 2017, 1:48 am

Jah bless Sat Marajh

Postby Redman » July 24th, 2017, 4:40 am

viedcht wrote:
Redman wrote:

I believe there is deep-rooted, as well as shallow-minded reasons for it. All of us accustomed to the political racialism whenever elections come around or this one bashing that one political party. It sad how we can't band together after so many years after Independence. It so easy to resort to 'tribal thinking', opposed to us ing an unbiased view... maybe some people just use the ostrich approach and hate-what-is-different.

We are a multi colored society.
This ' thing ' that we have will always need to be worked on as like any other system...maintaining its equilibrium is an ongoing process.

Some on above said something about England etc...the reality is that all countries are faced with this in different ways.

Humans look for difference s to exploit.

We no different

Postby rollingstock » July 24th, 2017, 5:36 am

zoom rader wrote:Jah bless Sat Marajh

Amen

I like little girls too.

Postby De Dragon » July 24th, 2017, 7:50 am

Learned through teachings of parents and your environment. No child is born racist, and we play and interact with each other as schoolmates. Then the subtle influences of parents, economic situations, environment, and to a great degree, our politics, turn some of our minds to intolerance, if not outright racism.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 24th, 2017, 11:10 am

Learned through teachings of parents and your environment. No child is born racist, and we play and interact with each other as schoolmates. Then the subtle influences of parents, economic situations, environment, and to a great degree, our politics, turn some of our minds to intolerance, if not outright racism.

Agreed....

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2017, 2:37 pm

Since you're a Hindu/INdo-supremacist, i think yo're one of the biggest causes of any "racism" on this forum.

And i know you're Indo, from the pic of your dopey kids you posted way back...

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2017, 2:39 pm

Human nature causes racism.

Name a country with no evident social tensions, between class, race, ethnicity, gender, or religion? China has it, between the majority Han and minor ethnicities. The USA has racial, socio-economic and ethnic differences. Whites hate blacks in the USA, but there are also class hatreds, and even STILL after 150 years North/South. The South is still underdeveloped compared to the North/West.

Postby De Dragon » July 26th, 2017, 3:05 pm

desifemlove wrote:

Since you're a Hindu/INdo-supremacist, i think yo're one of the biggest causes of any "racism" on this forum.

I would ask that you keep your stink, dotish, man-bulling self away from commenting on my children. I don't reach to your family, so at least be less of the humungous kant that you already are, and have respect for something which you will never be able to produce with your limp dicked self.

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2017, 3:12 pm

desifemlove wrote:

I would ask that you keep your stink, dotish, man-bulling self away from commenting on my children. I don't reach to your family, so at least be less of the humungous kant that you already are, and have respect for something which you will never be able to produce with your limp dicked self.

I'm not limp...

but then you spend continual time cussing me, and making sheit up about me all the time. be a MAN and accept it back. or give me a reason why I need to "respect you"..Ms. man.

As for family, yes you do, continually. Don't be a poof, and not handle the heat back.

Postby Redman » July 26th, 2017, 3:21 pm

Oh the irony

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2017, 4:07 pm

haha...de man give me sheit all the time. he's a wimp who is middle-aged and cannot handle it back....no man is like that.

but both he and you are Hindu-supremacists, ent?

Postby De Dragon » July 26th, 2017, 4:24 pm

desifemlove wrote:haha...de man give me sheit all the time. he's a wimp who is middle-aged and cannot handle it back....no man is like that.

but both he and you are Hindu-supremacists, ent?

Arsewipe, show me one instance which I referred to your family in a disparaging(that means bad, btw) way.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 26th, 2017, 4:58 pm

fouljuice wrote:

While this was an amazing song 20 years ago, I wonder how people today would look at it?

People probably see this as a major insult now given the politically correct climate we live in. lol