Tobago Owners In Tears

Re: Tobago Owners In Tears

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 7th, 2018, 6:23 pm

Miktay wrote:
Baron Rothschild, an 18th-century British nobleman and member of the Rothschild banking family, is credited with saying that "the time to buy is when there's blood in the streets."

Not in TnT. Prices will double.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 7th, 2018, 10:28 pm

So...ostensibly sweet T&T is immune to the laws of supply and demand?

God iz truly a Trini...

Postby Redman » March 8th, 2018, 2:11 pm

toyolink wrote:The establishment of a viable business in Tobago has always been challenging with size of market, transportation logistic, infrastructural decay, limited support services and associated overhead costs.
Most of the investments targeted the capital and service requirements of the vacation/ holiday markets and to be fair, rate of returns never hit the levels hoped for. Today many who are holding on are trapped with sunken costs and are hoping and just hoping.
The obvious deterioration of the condition of the in-place vacation stock demonstrates that many owners/investors just don't have the capital for refurbishments and consequently the island's branding has fallen badly making this destination difficult to market.
The truth is that successive governments and assemblies have all dropped the ball and to address the slide will be no easy feat to achieve in under 5-10 years.
The investments made by Trinidad residents make them the biggest losers with Tobago residents bearing the pressures associated with the loss of jobs and income.

No state, country,island can progress/improve,expand if
-The state is dependent on a subvention-IE: is detached from the RESPONSIBILITY to generate revenue.
-Many if not Most of its citizens are paid by the state regardless of whether they create value.
The authority is not held accountable for its failure to improve the capital stock of the island.....

So THA waits on its cut of the national budget without a need to do better

Many Tobagonians collecting THA salary for nothing and this seriously impacts work ethic

Infrastructure/CAPEX by the THA is not connected to the vocalized plans for Tobago 2050.

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2018, 3:09 pm

I don't know who to bad talk now.
Tobago for wanting autonomy and now getting the opportunity to be financially autonomous, or the government for economically assassinating Tobago...

I guess I will troll with Tobago autonomy for now, all the time they want it, so work with what u have.

When election reach I will troll with pnm mash up Tobago so their padnahs could buy out the businesses and run with little competition.. Or could probably change it to trinidad and the island of sandals

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 8th, 2018, 3:22 pm

sMASH wrote:I don't know who to bad talk now.
Tobago for wanting autonomy and now getting the opportunity to be financially autonomous, or the government for economically assassinating Tobago...

I guess I will troll with Tobago autonomy for now, all the time they want it, so work with what u have.

When election reach I will troll with pnm mash up Tobago so their padnahs could buy out the businesses and run with little competition.. Or could probably change it to trinidad and the island of sandals

Unless the price of flying fish skyrockets...Tobagoh can never be financially autonomous.

Postby hydroep » March 8th, 2018, 3:34 pm

They could export Bene Balls and Sugar Cake...:|

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2018, 4:41 pm

^^ so imballs to charge OPT when i buy? fleck he!

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2018, 1:42 pm

1% plan seems to suffer bago businesses to sell so they can buy it up.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 9th, 2018, 2:06 pm

zoom rader wrote:1% plan seems to suffer bago businesses to sell so they can buy it up.

I tort u was chupid inno but good to see somebody else getting the picture.

But say what ppl will fight down a lil puja in tobago, talk bout pashaw

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2018, 8:29 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:1% plan seems to suffer bago businesses to sell so they can buy it up.

I tort u was chupid inno but good to see somebody else getting the picture.

But say what ppl will fight down a lil puja in tobago, talk bout pashaw
I saying this for years, but few take notice

Postby hydroep » March 12th, 2018, 7:19 am

Shutdown nah man, shutdown. Allyuh feel dat doing me anything?

Imbert: No need for a shutdown

MINISTER of Finance Colm Imbert is not confident that a two-day protest shutdown of Tobago, will result in any amicable outcomes.

On March 4, members of the business sector made a proposal for a two-day shutdown of businesses on the island, aimed at getting the Government to act on issues affecting the Tobago economy, most notably the broken inter-island transport system.

Responding to questions posed by reporters after a consultation for engineers hosted by the Association of Professional Engineers at the Magdalena Beach and Golf Resort in Lowlands on Friday, Imbert said he was uncertain of the issues in the Tobago space....:|

“I’m not sure what the issues are,” he said. “I gather the issue is transportation and the effect of the problems with transportation on businesses in Tobago, but why would that lead to a shutdown of businesses in Tobago, I don’t understand honestly.”

Further questioned as to if this action would bring forward any results, he responded in the negative.

“I don’t think so, but I don’t want to interfere in Tobago matters. I think that is more a matter for the (Tobago) House of Assembly and so on.”

Last Sunday, over 30 businessmen voted for the shutdown with a show of hands at a meeting hosted by the Tobago Division of the TT Chamber of Industry and Commerce.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/11/imbert-no-need-for-a-shutdown/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 12th, 2018, 7:04 pm

Pain continues according to 7pm news

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2018, 8:07 pm

The PNM prime minister says bago will have their own laws. Bill was laid in parliament.

First law is probably no Injuns allowed in bago anymore.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 12th, 2018, 8:47 pm

That is one law I would gladly obey

Postby mero » March 12th, 2018, 9:19 pm

Allyuh this sickening in real life?

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2018, 9:55 pm

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/10/rowley- ... -own-laws/

PNM new bill, plan coming in and all the dots lining up.

Postby The_Honourable » March 12th, 2018, 10:12 pm

Meanwhile... Shamfa gone Berlin

Tourism Minister Shamfa Cudjoe's trip to the International Trade Bourse in Berlin has come as a surprise to the Tobago Hotel and Tourism Association.

That's after the association was told that the country would not be represented at the tourism trade fair this year.

Watch here: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/tobago-touri ... erlin-trip

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2018, 11:21 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Meanwhile... Shamfa gone Berlin

Tourism Minister Shamfa Cudjoe's trip to the International Trade Bourse in Berlin has come as a surprise to the Tobago Hotel and Tourism Association.

That's after the association was told that the country would not be represented at the tourism trade fair this year.

Watch here: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/tobago-touri ... erlin-trip

Guess she gone to buy german weave with tax payers money

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2018, 5:25 am

mero wrote:Allyuh this sickening in real life?

Buh you know bagonians doh like trini ppl...so me a know wam to you...I have been to bago twice and me a going back...people doh know how to speak to people

Postby pete » March 13th, 2018, 8:03 am

If they're making their own laws I'm pretty sure one of the first ones will be decriminalizing/legalizing marijuana.

Postby Redman » March 13th, 2018, 8:34 am

One can only wonder

Postby meccalli » March 13th, 2018, 8:37 am

So the PM going mad? Seems like it's the cop out route to tell them handle their own stories since he can't manage what's happening. Same sentiments from Imbert who claims ignorance on matters in Tobago.

Postby tr1ad » March 13th, 2018, 8:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Buh you know bagonians doh like trini ppl...so me a know wam to you...I have been to bago twice and me a going back...people doh know how to speak to people

same can be said about Trinidadians...

been to Tobago at least twice every year for as long as i can remember, and never had an issue

Postby mero » March 13th, 2018, 8:43 am

Maybe you interacted with Tobagonians like how you normally speak about them on 2nr?

And not even trini ppl like Trini ppl.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2018, 9:14 am

Typically Tobagonians are like Canadians (polite, respectful) and Trinis are like Americans (brash, In your face and lacking manners).
There are the outliers (generally Politicians and Watson Duke) however most Tobagonians I met have been normal to respectful.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 13th, 2018, 9:36 am

Bagonians can be tribal but theyre a friendly ppl when yuh get to know them or one of them knows u. But they not gwan make nice with ppl just so...

Postby Redman » March 13th, 2018, 9:41 am

meccalli wrote:So the PM going mad? Seems like it's the cop out route to tell them handle their own stories since he can't manage what's happening. Same sentiments from Imbert who claims ignorance on matters in Tobago.

like the Marlene re hire....what can be so bad that they CHOOSE to take this licks?

Whats the motivation ???

Postby crazybalhead » March 13th, 2018, 10:54 am

Postby Rovin » March 13th, 2018, 11:20 am

donna hadad did a very good interview yesterday morning on morning edition on tv6 , u all shud look at it & post it here .....