Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Re: Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2022, 4:41 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: this is so amusing, nobody understands what kind of beating a dead donkey crusade "thiz" man even trying. Is like even he own family fed up of he sheit during family prayers and Christmas time so he preaching here to......not sure why really......but it is amusing! We have a few others like that who are the backbone of the Trinituner fires, so keep going man. Duane need thread bump income ah hear he wuh bring down ah Tesla Cybertruck next year.

Let me just requote myself from earlier, and see if he reply "thiz" time. And not with YouTube opinion videos of people who never study "thiz" stuff in their lives eh, actual data and papers.

maj. tom wrote:
Cornell University:
More than 99.9% of studies agree: Humans caused climate change.
https://news.cornell.edu/stories/2021/10/more-999-studies-agree-humans-caused-climate-change

‘Case closed’: 99.9% of scientists agree climate emergency caused by humans
Trawl of 90,000 studies finds consensus, leading to call for Facebook and Twitter to curb disinformation
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2021/oct/19/case-closed-999-of-scientists-agree-climate-emergency-caused-by-humans

Well I guess we have a 0.1% Global Warming expert scientist on Trinituner then. Rel bigshot Donkey avatar gracing we here yes. Would like to read his published studies on the subject.
Please share your DOIs. e.g. https://doi.org/10.1007/s41060-022-00311-6

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 27th, 2022, 5:04 pm

Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

What defines a dataset?
A data set is a collection of data. The data is usually presented in a table form. The data can be numerical or categorical. The data can be two variables, multiple variables and the the variable can have different relationships.

What are the different types of data sets?
There are different types of data sets One type is numerical. It has data represented with numbers instead of words. Categorical data set is another and it displays data based on characteristics or qualities of an item. Bivariate data sets consist of two variable that have a relationship. Multivariate data sets have three or more variables that all depend on each other. Correlation data sets are data that have have 1 of 3 relationships. Positive relationships happen when the variables change in the same direction. Negative relationships happen when the variables change in opposite directions. No or zero relationships occur when the variable have no affect on each other.

What is meant by data set?
A data set is a collection data presented usually in a table. The data can have a relationship where both variables change in the same direction. The data can have a relationship where the variable change in opposite directions. And some times the data have no relationship at all.

What is a data set example?
A data set can contain data comparing time of day to the number customers. A data set can also contain data regarding an individual's income, expenses, savings and how the three affect each other.

What is the purpose of dataset?
The purpose of a data set is organize the collected data so that is easier to understand. The data set places the data into columns and rows for comparison.

https://study.com/learn/lesson/data-set ... mples.html

Horsey you swinging from mango tree branch to chenet tree branch.

Apparently you doh unnderstand how the pseudo scientific arm of global warming propaganda works. Whether the data sets are single or multivariate...discrete or stochastic...organized into a table, matrix, or other configuration...iz irrelevant.

So lemhih splain yuh one more time. i go make it large:

Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

@Miktay. Dude. Honestly, you're sounding like an undergrad who just started Intro to Statistics at SAMs or something. You're embarrassing yourself and your country.

Here, let me help you.

You need to start by looking up panel and longitudinal data, and their associated statistical methods (very different from the baby stats you're learning). You're not impressing anyone because you know the words multivariate and categorical. THEN, take a few postgrad econometrics courses and learn to use eviews stata mathlab or r or something. THEN, go start and complete a mphil or phd in environmental engineering or env. sciences.

After all that, you come here with whatever climate-change-isn't-real-shtick you're on about, so I can (only then) tell you respectfully, to sod off.

Edit: Added "@Miktay" for clarity;
Last edited by FrankChag on September 27th, 2022, 5:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2022, 5:11 pm

Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

tho

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2022, 5:26 pm

When you collect massive data over a long period and analyze it to find patterns and correlations, aren't those showing something that is repeated and predictable over the range? So scientists only collect data to make a computer simulation? It didn't have data collection in anything before 1946?

Data collection and analysis is the core part of a valid and repeatable scientific experiment under the Results and Discussion. Some allyuh in here ever even do a science in yuh life? Or understand the Scientific Method? Why you talking so much sheit?

The scientific method at work
How does the scientific method work in the real world of climate science? Let’s take NASA’s Oceans Melting Greenland (OMG) campaign, a multi-year survey of Greenland’s ice melt that’s paving the way for improved sea level rise estimates, as an example.

Form a hypothesis
OMG hypothesizes that the oceans are playing a major role in Greenland ice loss.

Make observations
Over a five-year period, OMG will survey Greenland by air and ship to collect ocean temperature and salinity (saltiness) data and take ice thinning measurements to help climate scientists better understand how the ice and warming ocean interact with each other. OMG will also collect data on the sea floor’s shape and depth, which determines how much warm water can reach any given glacier.

Analyze and interpret data
As the OMG crew and scientists collect data around 27,000 miles (over 43,000 kilometers) of Greenland coastline over that five-year period, each year scientists will analyze the data to see how much the oceans warmed or cooled and how the ice changed in response.
Draw conclusions
In one OMG study, scientists discovered that many Greenland glaciers extend deeper (some around 1,000 feet, or about 300 meters) beneath the ocean’s surface than once thought, making them quite vulnerable to the warming ocean. They also discovered that Greenland’s west coast is generally more vulnerable than its east coast.

Publish results
Scientists like Willis write up the results, send in the paper for peer review (a process in which other experts in the field anonymously critique the submission), and then those peers determine whether the information is correct and valuable enough to be published in an academic journal, such as Nature or Earth and Planetary Science Letters. Then it becomes another contribution to the well-substantiated body of climate change knowledge, which evolves and grows stronger as scientists gather and confirm more evidence. Other scientists can take that information further by conducting their own studies to better understand sea level rise.

All in all, the scientific method is “a way of going from observations to answers,” NASA terrestrial ecosystem scientist Erika Podest, based at JPL, said. It adds clarity to our way of thinking and shows that scientific knowledge is always evolving.

https://climate.nasa.gov/news/2743/the-scientific-method-and-climate-change-how-scientists-know/

I eh know what allyuh donkey will come up with next. Everybody in the world stupid except you right? You see allyuh live in this bubble of stupid where you make up sheit and nobody does contest your idiocy. So you start on a narcissistic trend of stupidity and validating yourself by watching sheit video sources and stupid opinions posted on facebook. Nobody telling you otherwise and you can't read and interpret science properly, so you have to rely only on what your untrained brain has the capability to process. When other people trying to direct you to the correct thing, no allyuh suddenly know better and it's a conspiracy because of your stupid IQ echo chamber. Rather than say oh....i didn't know, well that's how science works and we learn. That's the narcissism. If you reflect you realize that even your family ostracized you because of your nutjob preaching everywhere.

But it's all quite entertaining too.

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2022, 5:35 pm

Oceans Melting Greenland (OMG) campaign

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 5:40 pm

FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

What defines a dataset?
A data set is a collection of data. The data is usually presented in a table form. The data can be numerical or categorical. The data can be two variables, multiple variables and the the variable can have different relationships.

There are different types of data sets One type is numerical. It has data represented with numbers instead of words. Categorical data set is another and it displays data based on characteristics or qualities of an item. Bivariate data sets consist of two variable that have a relationship. Multivariate data sets have three or more variables that all depend on each other. Correlation data sets are data that have have 1 of 3 relationships. Positive relationships happen when the variables change in the same direction. Negative relationships happen when the variables change in opposite directions. No or zero relationships occur when the variable have no affect on each other.

A data set is a collection data presented usually in a table. The data can have a relationship where both variables change in the same direction. The data can have a relationship where the variable change in opposite directions. And some times the data have no relationship at all.

A data set can contain data comparing time of day to the number customers. A data set can also contain data regarding an individual's income, expenses, savings and how the three affect each other.

The purpose of a data set is organize the collected data so that is easier to understand. The data set places the data into columns and rows for comparison.

Apparently you doh unnderstand how the pseudo scientific arm of global warming propaganda works. Whether the data sets are single or multivariate...discrete or stochastic...organized into a table, matrix, or other configuration...iz irrelevant.

Dude. Honestly, you're sounding like an undergrad who just started Intro to Statistics at SAMs or something. You're embarrassing yourself and your country.

Here, let me help you.

You need to start by looking up panel and longitudinal data, and their associated statistical methods (very different from the baby stats you're learning). You're not impressing anyone because you know the words multivariate and categorical. THEN, take a few postgrad econometrics courses and learn to use eviews stata mathlab or r or something. THEN, go start and complete a mphil or phd in environmental engineering or env. sciences.

After all that, you come here with whatever climate-change-shtick you're on about, so I can (only then) tell you respectfully, to sod off.

Big man…citing the econometrics thing iza dead giveaway, eh.

It’s a last resort for pseudo intellectual people who want to sound like they know what they talking bout but don’t have a clue. Its only good for impressing smallies at a cocktail party.

But doh let that stop yuh. Carry on bussing lyrics… :D

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 27th, 2022, 5:44 pm

Miktay wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Dude. Honestly, you're sounding like an undergrad who just started Intro to Statistics at SAMs or something. You're embarrassing yourself and your country.

Here, let me help you.

After all that, you come here with whatever climate-change-shtick you're on about, so I can (only then) tell you respectfully, to sod off.

It’s a last resort for pseudo intellectual people who want to sound like they know what they talking bout but don’t have a clue. Its only good for impressing clueless smallies at a cocktail party.

Seems like I hit a nerve there.

This right here is why I believe that only people with at least a bachelor's degree should be allowed to vote.

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2022, 5:46 pm

FrankChag wrote:Seems like I hit a nerve there.

This right here is why I believe that only people with at least a bachelor's degree should be allowed to vote.

why bachelors tho why not masters

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 27th, 2022, 5:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
FrankChag wrote:Seems like I hit a nerve there.

why bachelors tho why not masters

A Bachelor's means you have proven with some consistency that you're at least capable of critical, high-level thinking.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 5:51 pm

adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Collected data is tabulated as a historical record. That is a data set. The historical record shows an increase.

Try harder.

Orhor. So a dataset iz not a scientific experiment it’s a historical record.

Ok we getting somewhere.

Does a historical increase automatically translate to future increases? Or does the earth’s climate go thru cyclical periods of warming and cooling as it has for thousands of years?

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2022, 5:53 pm

bill gates dropped out of college and he runs the world

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 27th, 2022, 5:56 pm

Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Collected data is tabulated as a historical record. That is a data set. The historical record shows an increase.

Try harder.

Ok we getting somewhere.

Does a historical increase automatically translate to future increases? Or does the earth’s climate go thru cyclical periods of warming and cooling as it has for thousands of years?

Where's your scientific evidence for this statement?
And, your scientific proof that the current accelerating changes are also, in your words, "cyclical periods of warming and cooling"?

All the current scientific studies have shown, with significant validity, that the root cause of the current extreme events is human activity. Where's your scientific proof that negates these studies?

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2022, 5:58 pm

can the science tell us how long it is until the biosphere collapses

when will it collapse i need to plan

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 5:59 pm

FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Here, let me help you.

It’s a last resort for pseudo intellectual people who want to sound like they know what they talking bout but don’t have a clue. Its only good for impressing clueless smallies at a cocktail party.

Seems like I hit a nerve there.

Again with the pseudo intellectual you-must-have-a-degree-to-unnerstand-thiz -stuff.

That’s a tactic the Big Climate lobby uses: Trust us. We know better.

And of course itz the same approach every con man in history has used.

Just trust me. Everything will be ok. :D

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 6:01 pm

FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Try harder.

Ok we getting somewhere.

And, your scientific proof that the current accelerating changes are also, in your words, "cyclical periods of warming and cooling"?

All the current scientific studies have shown, with significant validity, that the root cause of the current extreme events is human activity. Where's your scientific proof that negates these studies?

Get it right Chaguanas. That statement needs no scientific evidence. It’s in the historical datasets :D :D

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 27th, 2022, 6:11 pm

Miktay wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Try harder.

Ok we getting somewhere.

Get it right Chaguanas. That statement needs no scientific evidence. It’s in the historical datasets :D :D

It's clear you've reached your intellectual limit and have no legs to stand on, so you're just fronting.

Bring some real evidence.

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2022, 9:32 pm

A more apt avatar, 2NR never had. :lol:

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2022, 12:44 pm

A new study shows that Switzerland’s glaciers have lost more than half their volume in less than 100 years, and this year's long hot summer has accelerated the loss of ice. The glaciers attract skiers and climbers – but they are also essential to Europe’s water supply.

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2022, 1:15 pm

Miktay wrote:
timelapse wrote:That video was a very fancy way of him saying he doesn't know a thing about climate change.
Lemme break it down for you.
Global:relating to the whole world
Warming: make or become warm

Earth's temperature has risen by 0.14° Fahrenheit (0.08° Celsius) per decade since 1880, but the rate of warming since 1981 is more than twice that: 0.32° F (0.18° C) per decade. 2021 was the sixth-warmest year on record based on NOAA's temperature data.

Thats basic English.
People have been measuring it and the data is there.The globe has been warming up.
[Nobody asked about ideal temperature or equilibrium temperature.Do you realize if we fail at this,there is no going back?

You are somewhat correct…but also incorrect. It’s true he iz saying he does not know…but he iz also saying that NO ONE knows.

Becuz in order to state whether or not the the earth’s temperature iz too hot you need to state what too hot iz in comparison to something else. That iza standard comparative English language common usage required for scientific inquiry.

Nobody asked about ideal temperature or equilibrium temperature.Do you realize if we fail at this,there is no going back?

I’ve been hearing and reading that for the last 40 years: The catastrophe theory from the Big Climate lobby. There iz absolutely no proof for that. None whatsoever. Lotsa conjecture, speculation, simulations, newspaper fear mongering and social media panic.

Plenty rum shop ole talk. Where iz the body of scientific experiments that demonstrate the catastrophe theory of Global Warming?
How do you propose that anybody tests it without destructive means? Its not like we have a spare Earth lying around.
The point at which it gets too hot will only be made apparent when it is too late.
All that theory while real world events are happening is for people that out of touch with reality.Information overload that does absolutely nothing practical.
Lemme guess,if your house was on fire,you'd want the theoretical best temperature of water to put it out and try to 'educate' the firemen that in fact, the fire doesn't exist?

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2022, 11:36 am

Climate change once seemed a distant threat. No more. We now know its face, and all too well. We see it in every hurricane, torrential rainstorm, flood, heatwave, wildfire and drought. It’s even detectable in our daily weather. Climate disruption has changed the background conditions in which all weather occurs: the oceans and air are warmer, there’s more water vapor in the atmosphere and sea levels are higher. Hurricane Ian is the latest example.

Ian made landfall as one of the five most powerful hurricanes in recorded history to strike the US, and with its 150 mile per hour winds at landfall, it tied with 2004’s Hurricane Charley as the strongest to ever hit the west coast of Florida. In isolation, that might seem like something we could dismiss as an anomaly or fluke. But it’s not – it’s part of a larger pattern of stronger hurricanes, typhoons and superstorms that have emerged as the oceans continue to set record levels of warmth.

Human-caused warming is not just heating the surface of the oceans; the warmth is diffusing down into the depths of the ocean, leading to year after year of record ocean heat content. That means that storms are less likely to churn up colder waters from below, inhibiting one of the natural mechanisms that dampen strengthening. It also leads to the sort of rapid intensification we increasingly see with these storms, where they balloon into major hurricanes in a matter of hours.

Too often we still hear, even from government scientists, the old saw that we cannot link individual hurricanes to climate change. There was a time when climate scientists believed that to be true. But they don’t anymore. We have developed powerful tools to attribute the degree to which global warming affects extreme events. One study found, for example, that the devastating flooding from Hurricane Florence as it made landfall in North Carolina four years ago was as much as 50% greater and 80 km (50 miles) larger due to the warmer ocean.

We can also draw upon basic physics, as we explained in Scientific American in 2017. Warmer oceans mean more fuel to strengthen hurricanes, with an average increase in wind speeds of major hurricanes of about 18 mph for each 1C (1.8F) of ocean surface warming, a roughly 13% increase. Since the power of the storm increases roughly the wind speed not only squared but raised to the third power, that amounts to a roughly 44% increase in the destructive potential of these storms.

There is also evidence that human-caused warming is increasing the size of these storms. All else being equal, larger storms pile up greater amounts of water, leading to larger storm surges like the 12 to 18 feet estimated for Ian in some locations. Add sea level rise, and that’s the better part of foot of additional coastal flooding baked into every single storm surge. If humanity continues to warm the planet, and destabilize the Greenland and west Antarctic ice sheets, we could see yards, not feet, of eventual sea-level rise. Think of that as a perpetual coastal flooding event.

Then there is the flooding rainfall, like the 20 inches (50cm) of it we’re seeing across a large swath of Florida with Ian. Simple physics tells us that the amount of moisture that evaporates off the ocean into the atmosphere increases about 7% for each 1C of ocean surface warming. That means 7% more moisture to turn into flooding rains. But that’s not the whole story. Stronger storms can entrain more moisture into them – a double whammy that produced the record flooding we saw in Philadelphia a year ago with Hurricane Ida, and the flooding we saw with Harvey in Texas in 2017 and Florence in the Carolinas in 2018, the two worst flooding events on record in the US.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... e-powerful

one eye

Postby one eye » September 30th, 2022, 12:40 pm

Jesus Christ is coming very soon.

Blame it on global warming.

Blame it on climate change.

These events are to bring about His return.

Believe it or not.

Postby maj. tom » September 30th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Jesus already came 66 million years ago.

At that time there was catastrophic doom befallen onto the entire planet.

Dinosaurs at the time blamed it on an asteroid from space.

Jesus was a Utahraptor.

Nowhere in the bible does it say that Jesus was not a Raptor.

Believe it or not.

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2022, 1:42 pm

Raptor rapture? That's new. :D

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 2:28 pm

we are in a death spiral, places that didnt used to get super hot(europe) are now getting heatwaves every year
most of those places never used aircon, only winter heating.

you can be sure they are installing aircon these days, only consolation is those countries may already have high reliance on renewable electricity but aircons still emit heat, so it is a losing zero sum game
there is a cost for everything

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2022, 3:30 pm

one eye wrote:Jesus Christ is coming very soon.

Blame it on global warming.

Blame it on climate change.

These events are to bring about His return.

Believe it or not.
If he's taking this long to come,I recommend that he checks Dr Raj

Postby paid_influencer » September 30th, 2022, 5:50 pm

pugboy wrote:we are in a death spiral, places that didnt used to get super hot(europe) are now getting heatwaves every year

you can be sure they are installing aircon these days, only consolation is those countries may already have high reliance on renewable electricity but aircons still emit heat, so it is a losing zero sum game

this guy gets it

capitalism demands natural resources be exploited to the fullest extent possible as quickly as possible

is this sustainable for the biosphere? no

will the biosphere collapse? yes

the only question is when

Postby redmanjp » September 30th, 2022, 5:57 pm

pugboy wrote:we are in a death spiral, places that didnt used to get super hot(europe) are now getting heatwaves every year

more like remove heat from inside. but they ironically contribute to global warming & climate change as they use a lot of power.

installing insulation works- however for a hot climate like ours a radiant barrier which reflects the suns heat away from the building is the way to go.

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 8:47 pm

removing heat and moving it outside comes at a cost of operating the fans and compressors
this energy cost plus the fact that the conversion process is not 100% efficient is what results in a net energy wastage ie resultant heat added

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2022, 10:17 am

Turns out that it's not like they didn't know. It's not like they couldn't take action when it mattered at the time of this hearing and report almost 40 years ago. It's not like they couldn't start switching major energy production at that time from fossil fuels to wind and nuclear, the technology certainly existed at that time. Much more federal funding could have been invested in solar rather than invading other countries. The Boomers, and coal and oil greed and burning significant natural gas as waste just left the mess for us and the next and the next.

Carl Sagan starts speaking at about 00:45.

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2022, 5:30 pm

Climate change: UN warns key warming threshold slipping from sight

There is "no credible pathway" to keep the rise in global temperatures below the key threshold of 1.5C, according to a bleak new UN assessment.

Scientists believe that going beyond 1.5C would see dangerous impacts for people all over the world.

The report says that since COP26 last year, governments carbon cutting plans have been "woefully inadequate".

Only an urgent transformation of society will avoid disaster, the study says.

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-63407459

NYT:

1yzda8k.png

also seeing this floating around on twitter

Peter Kalmus
@ClimateHuman
·
Follow
You are about to die because the room is overheating. You've tried everything to get them to turn down the heat but for whatever reason the people monitoring the cameras aren't doing anything. You have a can of soup and there's a famous painting protected by glass

6:02 PM · Oct 23, 2022