Cichlids fish

iarmd1

Cichlids fish

Postby iarmd1 » October 2nd, 2017, 8:27 am

Good day anyone knows where I can get some cichlids fishes to buy looking for about 1” in size of mix colours. Chai only had big ones looking to start over my aquarium so want smaller once to avoid fighting

Re: Cichlids fish

Postby meccalli » October 2nd, 2017, 8:35 am

They're very territorial, regardless of the starting size, if overstocked and there isn't ample spots for them to claim- they will fight eventually.

nivek

Postby nivek » October 2nd, 2017, 9:17 am

It have a pet shop in couva....believe it's pet boys..they have a wide variety...got a pair of cichlids there abt 3wks ago

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2017, 9:33 am

Yip very territorial....had six smallish ones in a 30 gallon tank. One of the blue ones killed the other five. Bought a second 5 to maintain 6 he did the same thing. I have enough spaces/caves/rocks for everyone but he still killed everyone else. And hes particular in the way he kills them. He always eats the eyes and a hole through the bellies.

Decided to get two Oscars bigger than him, with the intention that if they eat him he deserved it. Mofo killed the oscars in the same way as everybody else. Now he rules the tank by himself and I decided not to waste money until he dies.

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » October 2nd, 2017, 10:05 am

Well I have before it’s a 3 ft tank with enough rocks only putting about 20 to hopefully not have to much fighting and I know they are territorial but sometimes size and amount plays a big factor

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » October 2nd, 2017, 10:06 am

And where in couva exactly closer to the church? By the tyre shop

Postby Redman » October 2nd, 2017, 10:34 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Yip very territorial....had six smallish ones in a 30 gallon tank. One of the blue ones killed the other five. Bought a second 5 to maintain 6 he did the same thing. I have enough spaces/caves/rocks for everyone but he still killed everyone else. And hes particular in the way he kills them. He always eats the eyes and a hole through the bellies.

Decided to get two Oscars bigger than him, with the intention that if they eat him he deserved it. Mofo killed the oscars in the same way as everybody else. Now he rules the tank by himself and I decided not to waste money until he dies.

Yeah cichlids crazy like that.

Like a bad ghetto woman.....pretty for so....until they vex

Postby meccalli » October 2nd, 2017, 10:35 am

Start off with 10- 12 and see what happens, add progressively. 20 might be overstocked, they don't school.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » October 2nd, 2017, 12:09 pm

If yuh looking for lagoon fish check meh, flat head cascadoo and ting.

Average

Postby Average » October 2nd, 2017, 6:12 pm

iarmd1 wrote:Good day anyone knows where I can get some cichlids fishes to buy looking for about 1” in size of mix colours. Chai only had big ones looking to start over my aquarium so want smaller once to avoid fighting

I had a tank with 12 at one time. From small to when they started fighting each other and I had to separate ALL. Real pain. I'm surprised Chai only has large ones. Fascinating to watch them build they little territories.

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » October 2nd, 2017, 6:54 pm

Most of the small ones sell quickly

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 2nd, 2017, 7:06 pm

Talipia. Look nice. Eat nice.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » October 3rd, 2017, 8:08 pm

It have a pet store in couva, close to roops junction next to a tire shop, they have plenty. I have a blue striped one in my 4 ft goldfish/koi tank along with guppies angelfish neon tetra etc, he have lil temper & territorial in his corner, but he never kill or attempted to.

lostboys crew

Cichlids fish

Postby lostboys crew » October 3rd, 2017, 8:49 pm

Why don't you try German Rams.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2017, 7:57 am

Curtms wrote:Talipia. Look nice. Eat nice.

And it's a cichlid!!!!

Postby RedVEVO » October 4th, 2017, 8:01 am

QuietGiant wrote:It have a pet store in couva, close to roops junction next to a tire shop, they have plenty. I have a blue striped one in my 4 ft goldfish/koi tank along with guppies angelfish neon tetra etc, he have lil temper & territorial in his corner, but he never kill or attempted to.

Take him to KFC ..

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 4th, 2017, 11:43 am

30gal is too small for 6 cichlids

cichlids are crazy fish

you will start with alot and end up with one

Have one flowerhorn by itself..will eat or kill anything smaller

tried the mix cichlid tank and one by one they were killed by the strongest( bought all at the same time from the same tank in the petstore) they even kill the crayfish

best is to leave an open tank and keep changing around the items so they never settle in a territory

Check nature world in san fernando or call then 652- 1234 or petshop boys on mucarapo street san fernando

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » October 4th, 2017, 10:04 pm

lostboys crew wrote:Why don't you try German Rams.

Where can I get these ?

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » October 5th, 2017, 8:51 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
QuietGiant wrote:It have a pet store in couva, close to roops junction next to a tire shop, they have plenty. I have a blue striped one in my 4 ft goldfish/koi tank along with guppies angelfish neon tetra etc, he have lil temper & territorial in his corner, but he never kill or attempted to.

Take him to KFC ..

Nuh yet, i waitin patiently on him to start he bacchanal first. For now he behavin nice lol

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » October 5th, 2017, 9:37 pm

Fishy Biz Farm by Trincity , Spectrum Fish by Malabar or Pet Boys by Couva