Local SJWs - Cross Rhodes TT

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2017, 4:05 pm

Trinidad Joins World Protests Against Columbus Day, Statue Defaced
Joining many cities in protest against the Oct. 9 Christopher Columbus Day, protestors in Port of Spain also took a stand and reached out to the mayor's office officially demanding the Columbus statue be removed from the capital city. The Italian's statue was splattered in blood-colored paint to reflect the "Genocidal Genovese Sailor" who "decimated the first peoples of the Americas destroyed their way of life then turned around and denied their humanity," a grassroots program, Cross Rhodes Freedom Project, CRFP, said on Facebook. .....https://www.telesurtv.net/english/news/ ... -0033.html

So there is a local organization called Cross RhodesTT who wants -
Columbus Statue removed from PoS and Moruga
Renaming Milner Hall, UWI
Change to the signage at Lopinot Estate to reflect and portray more prominently the fact that the Count Lopinot was a slave owner.
http://crossrhodestt.com/

Interesting to hear Tuner's thoughts on this!!

Re: Local SJWs - Cross Rhodes TT

Postby j.o.e » October 11th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Bandwagonists. That Columbus statue don’t bother any Trinis. Half of them didn’t even know there was a statue of ole Chris

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 11th, 2017, 4:20 pm

Thought this was another post about SJW (sarah jane waddell). +1 disappointment

whizzard

Postby whizzard » October 11th, 2017, 5:15 pm

Why not?

Postby hydroep » October 11th, 2017, 6:05 pm

"Donate Now"... the first thing that hit me when I clicked on the website... :|

Read an interesting article which alleges that modern "social justice movements" have devolved into nothing more than money making ventures. They take on these "emotionally charged issues" because they easily get the public's attention i.e. it's good marketing. The goal is to get funding from Governments and Big Business who unsurprisingly raise their own profile when they make huge donations to such "worthwhile" causes.

Some of these movements (like feminism) started off addressing legitimate concerns and for the most part have achieved their objectives (equality of the sexes). But those that invested in the cause (Universities, Professorships and other "non-profit" organizations) realised if they said the fight was over not only would they be rendered useless but more importantly the funding would dry up.

Consequently these movements eventually lose their moorings as their activists keep inventing dotishness "to keep up the fight" for no other reason than to keep the gravy train flowing or as in the case of the descendants of slavery who want reparations for "racial terrorism"....and perhaps Cross Rhodes TT's "racist statue fight"... to start one flowing.

The author ended by basically throwing out a challenge. Ask any of these numskulls to go into areas of the world where such issues are still serious concerns (like the Middle East, parts of Africa etc.) and fight for their cause nuh. Yuh go hear a canary fart.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 11th, 2017, 6:57 pm

All the liberals who claim we stole the land from the natives should lead by example, they should go and give their house and land to the closest thing that looks like a Native

Also they conveniently seem to ALWAYS leave out the part where Natives on this side of the world were actually enslaving eachother, murdering eachother for the same land long before the white man came here. Slavery also existed in Africa with tribes aswell but they never seem to mention that part even though it is well documented that African tribe leaders would sell their own people to the white man.

The Russians used to enslave white Europeans aswell. Finland is a prime example of this.

And if we manage to somehow make contact with another civilization somewhere in the universe one day I guarantee you they had slavery and theft of land at one point in their evolution.

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2017, 7:16 pm

so is only now is 2017 that they find out about the history of Columbus? Removing the statue will make him any less praised for discovering the New World and undo the cruel nature of the white man, nay, all men? ok and removing black people from the country would undo slavery then? yeah... ok

ignore and move along boys. That's all needs to be done with feminists and sjws.
but politicians always fail because... votes.

Average

Postby Average » October 11th, 2017, 7:50 pm

Me eh in for all de long talk. Tell dem to hull dey stinkin' MC!
Do something for the crime problem we facing instead nah....setta dotish MC.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 11th, 2017, 8:23 pm

I jus wanna see 10mil to restore come next month

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2017, 8:57 pm

Wait. Is d statue in trinidad dey deface? Wtf this madness reach here!

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2017, 9:26 pm

The headless statue in claxton bay is not pleased by these developments

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2017, 9:40 pm

Fcuk SJW’s

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2017, 10:11 pm

Very soon they will want to change the name of Columbus Bay in Icacos and Columbus Circle in Westmoorings.

SJW's get all emo and want to embarrass you in public or on social media when you disagree with them. Then when you ignore them to avoid that trap, they will accuse you of having nothing to say and that you are a "insert degenerate word" here.

Some of the male SJWs i shake my head at. A lot of them are doing it hoping to score with the girls or be in their good graces. Others want attention for those likes and comments on facebook.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2017, 6:06 am

Red Lives Matter.

Just saying.

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2017, 6:18 am

them kambons are career bandwagonists

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2017, 7:16 am

Why they don't ban churches too, didn't Coloumbus do all this with the blessings of the church.7They want to protest the white man and still follow the white man's religion.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 12th, 2017, 10:51 am

The_Honourable wrote:Very soon they will want to change the name of Columbus Bay in Icacos and Columbus Circle in Westmoorings.

SJW's get all emo and want to embarrass you in public or on social media when you disagree with them. Then when you ignore them to avoid that trap, they will accuse you of having nothing to say and that you are a "insert degenerate word" here.

Some of the male SJWs i shake my head at. A lot of them are doing it hoping to score with the girls or be in their good graces. Others want attention for those likes and comments on facebook.

Where does it end though -
Apart from the two places above there's Columbus Channel that separates us from Venezuela.
And most pertinently Columbus was responsible for Trinidad's current name? Do we also change it?

Then there are other equally reviled people such as Thomas Picton who as Governor of Trinidad was charged with such crimes including excessive cruelty in the detection and punishment of practitioners of obeah, severity to slaves, and of execution of suspects out of hand without due process. Picton Hill and Picton Street should also go.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 12th, 2017, 10:59 am

Columbus did bad things, we not praising that.

butttttt............. with out him i may have been a sorry soul in india/africa. i know i doh wanna live life there. it sucks over there.

poopin on the roads or fighting each other with sticks in the desert.

Postby The_Honourable » October 12th, 2017, 3:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Very soon they will want to change the name of Columbus Bay in Icacos and Columbus Circle in Westmoorings.

Where does it end though -
Apart from the two places above there's Columbus Channel that separates us from Venezuela.
And most pertinently Columbus was responsible for Trinidad's current name? Do we also change it?

Then there are other equally reviled people such as Thomas Picton who as Governor of Trinidad was charged with such crimes including excessive cruelty in the detection and punishment of practitioners of obeah, severity to slaves, and of execution of suspects out of hand without due process. Picton Hill and Picton Street should also go.

Exactly.

Also, we have bigger problems such as the drug trade, murder rate, corruption and now our economic position... but yuh studying Columbus? which most locals couldn't care less about?

BTW... the source for most of the anti-columbus talk is based on some documents that was discovered over a decade ago stating that Columbus was a tyrant and did outright evil stuff. When you dig deeper, you realize that those documents was written by Francisco de Bobadilla, Columbus's political rival back then and who wanted Columbus's position as Governor of the West Indies, which he eventually got.

That's like people finding documents from Basdeo Panday 500 years from now that Patrick Manning was an evil tyrant. The people would then use these said documents to remove anything that reminds them of Manning.

Am i defending Columbus? no. I don't think he is 100% innocent but not to the degree SJW's make him out to be. We must be very careful of revisionist historians.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 12th, 2017, 4:09 pm

Ppl have time to waste on dotishness.

But I glad they have these insignificant things to occupy their time.

Otherwise they might be causing real trouble.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2017, 9:18 pm

I don't agree with pulling down monuments....those are markers of OUR history.

Good and Bad.
These should be used to create dialogue ...in students mind...for them to learn that history is an amalgamation of stories...perspectives and experiences.
Demonstrating that opinions, moors, and behaviour change with time.

History is Not a unilateral story told by the victor.
Or to be rewritten by the newly offended secular interest.

Postby redmanjp » October 12th, 2017, 11:14 pm

Miktay wrote:Ppl have time to waste on dotishness.

But dey causing trouble in America already. Breaking glasses of stores and setting cars on fire and stuff in addition to pulling down statues. Next ting dey start dat sheit here too.

Postby The_Honourable » October 12th, 2017, 11:47 pm

Redman wrote:I don't agree with pulling down monuments....those are markers of OUR history.

Good and Bad.
These should be used to create dialogue ...in students mind...for them to learn that history is an amalgamation of stories...perspectives and experiences.
Demonstrating that opinions, moors, and behaviour change with time.

History is Not a unilateral story told by the victor.
Or to be rewritten by the newly offended secular interest.

Well said Redman!

redmanjp wrote:

But dey causing trouble in America already. Breaking glasses of stores and setting cars on fire and stuff in addition to pulling down statues. Next ting dey start dat sheit here too.

I think the riot police in trinidad are not going to be so nice like in the US. They chilling in d station watching family feud but you want to cause anarchy in Port of Spain, not for the corrupt politicians... not for the crime wave... but for Columbus?

Licks passing for sure.

Postby redmanjp » October 13th, 2017, 1:23 am

^ true. At least you dont hear of police standing down here unlike the US where the perpetrators themselves call on the police to stand down and they actually obey!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 13th, 2017, 11:16 am

redmanjp wrote:

Monkey know what tree to climb. They only doing that in certain areas and where store owners can't defend their property.

Postby De Dragon » October 13th, 2017, 11:18 am

So to protest racism and injustice, you name your group after one of the biggest racists in history? Sounds about right. Trinis will parrot anything they see coming out of the US.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2017, 1:29 pm

De Dragon wrote:So to protest racism and injustice, you name your group after one of the biggest racists in history? Sounds about right. Trinis will parrot anything they see coming out of the US.

Rhodes was British and the Rhodes must fall is a South African movement though. Nothing American there

Postby De Dragon » October 13th, 2017, 1:55 pm

De Dragon wrote:So to protest racism and injustice, you name your group after one of the biggest racists in history? Sounds about right. Trinis will parrot anything they see coming out of the US.

Rhodes was British and the Rhodes must fall is a South African movement though. Nothing American there

I am well aware of Cecil Rhodes legacy in Africa. The "American" part is the statue defacing/pulling down sheit.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2017, 5:45 pm

I find all the colored people who benefitted from Rhodes Scholarships should pay Oxford the full value of their education back to show they ent want nothing to do with that evil nasty man!!! Here's looking at you Rex NettleFord, vahni Capildeo and the family of Norman manley

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2017, 5:53 pm

is white a color?

Red Lives Matter