Over 100 Dominican Pupils admitted to Trinidad's Prestige Schools

SergioP

Over 100 Dominican Pupils admitted to Trinidad's Prestige Schools

Postby SergioP » October 24th, 2017, 12:19 am

Education Minister Anthony Garcia yesterday confirmed that several school children from hurricane-ravaged Dominica are already in the T&T system receiving their education. Over the next few weeks several more are also expected, as principals and teachers have agreed to open up their classrooms.

“The numbers may be small still. Some of them (Dominica students) we have already placed in the school system and we expect many more through the Catholic church. Those who are here already, from the information I have received, the arrangement is working out well,” Garcia said.

In the latest move, through the Catholic Church, Holy Faith Convent in Couva have agreed to accommodate about 60 Dominican students (30 boys and 30 girls), although the logistics are still being worked out.

Speaking to the T&T Guardian yesterday, principal Sister Theresa Vialva said a teacher had agreed to make available her three-bedroom home, whilst a parent agreed to open up her six-bedroom home to the students.

“This arrangement is being made along with the Couva cluster – the Couva, Chaguanas and St Mary’s Parishes. Even a parishioner has extended a four-bedroom house. We are all in agreement along with Fatima College and the Holy Ghost Brothers to have these children,” Vialva said.

“One teacher said she is willing to accommodate as much as 15 of them in her subject class, while another, who rents a property for extra lessons on evenings, is willing to have it available for day classes (8 am to 2.30 am). The logistics are still being planned out though.”

The T&T Guardian understands Garcia held a meeting with principals from the Caroni district where most of them gave a favourable response to the initiative, which was sparked by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s recent call for Trinidadians to open their doors to Dominicans left homeless after the passage of Hurricane Maria.

Garcia yesterday said he has received tremendous support from principals and teachers and thanked them for opening up their classrooms.

Earlier this month, the Director of the Ensafe (Institution for Health, Safety and Counselling Training) and New Vision Learning Centre on Coffee Street, San Fernando, Hassim Ali, announced the school would offer scholarships to 10 Dominica students valued at $56,000.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-10- ... 0-students

Re: Over 100 Dominican Pupils admitted to Trinidad's Prestige Schools

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2017, 2:48 am

Prestige eh... none for Junior Sec or Senior Composite?

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2017, 4:06 am

Let the children get their education. At least give them a chance to elevate their standing.

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » October 24th, 2017, 4:28 am

Well if Trinbago children prefer to stay home, lime on the block and play de @ss why not give those who want the opportunity to learn the space? Let them learn and then return to help their island and people.

Postby j.o.e » October 24th, 2017, 5:02 am

Allyuh could tote bai

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » October 24th, 2017, 5:38 am

The_Honourable wrote:Prestige eh... none for Junior Sec or Senior Composite?

They don't exist anymore they are just secondary schools now simply

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 24th, 2017, 5:45 am

Good for them hope they succeed . hope trinidad students dont drag them down.
Most small island people are hard working the lazy one were already in trinidad, brought in by the nations father

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2017, 8:40 am

Hopefully they will teach the local students a thing or two

Average

Postby Average » October 24th, 2017, 9:08 am

So why prestige? With all that is being heard that there is such a monetary hullabaloo to actually get your child in one of these schools, why are foreigners being afforded this free, just because of a hurricane?

Postby MaxPower » October 24th, 2017, 9:09 am

“Prestige” schools done fak up already, allyuh nuggers really feel them 100 bantons can make it any worse? Lmao

Postby meccalli » October 24th, 2017, 9:13 am

Would gladly accept a trade.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2017, 9:16 am

Average wrote:So why prestige? With all that is being heard that there is such a monetary hullabaloo to actually get your child in one of these schools, why are foreigners being afforded this free, just because of a hurricane?

Does not Prestige Schools (denominational schools) have a certain level of autonomy according to the Concordat?
Hence its probably not even up to Woodsman to accept or decline the Dominicans into the prestige school system once Immigration gives them the entry visa.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 24th, 2017, 9:17 am

ras_elmo wrote:Well if Trinbago children prefer to stay home, lime on the block and play de @ss why not give those who want the opportunity to learn the space? Let them learn and then return to help their island and people.

And how this going to improve Trinbago? Dr. Lovell Francis informed the top 200 students that their education is not free. IIRC, he said it cost the state $100,000.00 per secondary school student (IMHO, his speech was far more relevant than the minister's). You are now saying that other islanders should get this rather than teach our own how not to play the @$$.

Drea

Postby Drea » October 24th, 2017, 9:25 am

These so called "prestige schools" have part autonomy from the gov't and their boards can make decisions like this. Most of the catholic ones I know are taking in students.

And its so funny to read the ignorant comments from people who claim their children "counldn't get in" but they have space for Dom students.. STEUPS
Trinis and their pride and bitterness will be the downfall of themselves.

Average

Postby Average » October 24th, 2017, 9:35 am

Average wrote:So why prestige? With all that is being heard that there is such a monetary hullabaloo to actually get your child in one of these schools, why are foreigners being afforded this free, just because of a hurricane?

Does not Prestige Schools (denominational schools) have a certain level of autonomy according to the Concordat?
Hence its probably not even up to Woodsman to accept or decline the Dominicans into the prestige school system once Immigration gives them the entry visa.

Would have to look further into that..I am just trying to hear some rationale into all this.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 24th, 2017, 9:49 am

WOWWWW my government is sooo caring. i Love dem.

Postby j.o.e » October 24th, 2017, 10:32 am

The boards of prestige schools have made the decision in conjunction with brother/sister schools in Dominica. Families in the various Catholic communities have also provided boarding for students, i have seen it myself.
Govt isn’t always required to get things done.

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2017, 10:46 am

Such a coincidence the religious boarded schools are the prestiger ones

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 24th, 2017, 10:47 am

A girls school should not be taking in boy students and vice versa.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 24th, 2017, 11:39 am

Some ah allyuh real sour boy. I mean is children, we don't have to be that way.

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2017, 11:40 am

must be toting against prestige schools
maybe they went a junior sec

PapaC wrote:Some ah allyuh real sour boy. I mean is children, we don't have to be that way.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 24th, 2017, 11:46 am

PapaC wrote: I mean is children.

Primary school maybe but when dem reach secondary, in many case is not 'children' anymore.

Postby 88sins » October 24th, 2017, 11:52 am

sickbad wrote:Great more niglets running around our country being taught lawlessness.

you know, not posting anything would have been infinitely better than this evidently dumb ass comment you've made

just saying

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » October 24th, 2017, 12:02 pm

sickbad wrote:Great more niglets running around our country being taught lawlessness.

you know, not posting anything would have been infinitely better than this evidently dumb ass comment you've made

just saying

the ignorance is real

airuma

Postby airuma » October 24th, 2017, 12:14 pm

So by March next year, we should be hearing that ALL of the Dominicans went back to their country right???? Or will it be argued that we can't disrupt them so close to exams?

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2017, 12:33 pm

j.o.e wrote:Allyuh could tote bai

I guess if Guyaness kids was in the same predicament you would have changed you views and there will be a massive out cry from PNM looking persons

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2017, 12:36 pm

allyuh hating on the foreigners getting access to education locally but 5 more days of rain in Trinidad and some of your kids and your friends kids might be in the same situation

cant believe people vex for children accessing education

the government burning money on all kinda other sheit, be happy they using some to educate kids in the Caribbean who need it

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 24th, 2017, 1:17 pm

are they living at the school as well?

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2017, 1:19 pm

teachers and parents opening up their homes to them

racedriverpro