Minister of Education bans phone cameras in schools. Why?!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2017, 7:44 pm

I disagree with this so much. banning camera phones is NOT addressing the problem of violence in schools, instead it seeks to hide it from public view.

In fact, schools should be outfitted with cameras in every location to ensure the bullies are caught and their parents made responsible.

Pirate

Re: Minister of Education bans phone cameras in schools

Postby Pirate » October 26th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Exactly!!!

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Minister has Cocoa in the sun

Postby bluefete » October 26th, 2017, 7:55 pm

The Minister only talked that talk because of what happened at Fatima.

If it was Mucurapo Sec or Barrackpore Sec or some such, he could give a damn.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 26th, 2017, 8:33 pm

Now I’m fully convinced our minister of education is a dotish a55hole and is absolutely clueless on how to deal with discipline and education in our country. lord help us, animals are being reared in our schools and this government is providing the necessary zoos for them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2017, 8:58 pm

bluefete wrote:The Minister only talked that talk because of what happened at Fatima.

If it was Mucurapo Sec or Barrackpore Sec or some such, he could give a damn.

he was calling for people to stop posting school fights on social media long before the Fatima incident. He said it made the country look bad.

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » October 26th, 2017, 9:02 pm

Oh lordy.
Let us ban the news papers because they show us the murders

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2017, 9:06 pm

Papers had the figure on the root page as a counter, and cop said to remove it

Sent from my SM-T280 using TriniTuner mobile app

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 26th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Bring back licks in school

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 26th, 2017, 9:26 pm

Seriously though schools should have CCTV installed as standard.

Mad Antz

Re: Minister of Education bans phone cameras in schools. Why?!

Postby Mad Antz » October 26th, 2017, 10:32 pm

You can't ban camera phones in schools because most of all phones even some metoos have cameras. So he just wasting his time and our tax money. Camera phones in schools has given the world a inside look as to what happens in school. This increases awareness. If they weren't camera phones the stupidness still happens without anyone knowing about it. Most schools have cctv cameras. But because of the laws concerning video evidence it tends to be just for show.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 26th, 2017, 11:12 pm

Minister seems desperate...
I guess he didn't think that he might have to do actually work and come up with solutions when he took the job...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 27th, 2017, 4:32 am

No evidence , no crime being committed, everybody lying

Postby Ted_v2 » October 27th, 2017, 7:56 am

Rofl, i remember a girl in school used to move with a decent cam and take pics with her and her friends.

they banned camera phones and eventually phones. she moving with a camera normal LOL. they couldnt say a word.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 8:14 am

wow this guy iss such a idiot.

He really embarrasing him self so bad its funny.

Which PNM Minister is next? Find out next time on Expriment Trinidad.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 27th, 2017, 8:25 am

To hide what happens and make him less accountable. Less the public know the better Garcia looks. If they could hide a rape they could hide a murder as well.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 8:27 am

i think is because they all so accustomed to playing "hide the black rotten banana" ewwww

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2017, 9:21 am

I don't see a problem, we couldn't even be in possession of a phone unless your parents made arrangements or something and that's just 6 years ago. Guys hid their phones in their shoes, pants and the wall sometimes. One dean would randomly walk around with bluetooth to find guys. The one time i carried an actual camera to school nearing the end of my time in hillview, it got seized and I had to get a letter to have it returned to me.

Postby hydroep » October 27th, 2017, 10:45 am

I guess it's for the same reason we weren't allowed to bring video games, radios, toys etc. It's a distraction - or in the case of this alleged boolaman scene causes students to create distractions.

The only valid reason to have phones during school hours is to contact your parents/guardians in case of emergency and that can be done via the main office or pay phone (if those still exist) when required.

Arrow

Postby Arrow » October 27th, 2017, 10:56 am

Garcia for Min of National Security!!! Ban the news and crime will cease to exist! Genius!!!

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2017, 10:56 am

hydroep wrote:The only valid reason to have phones during school hours is to contact your parents/guardians in case of emergency

This was the case for some students being allowed to carry a cellphone on their person, 100% of the time it was restricted to students who suffered a particular disease or subject to disabilities.
Why do students need phones on them during schooltime, porn and music? Those who insist they need them for whatever contact arrangements should surrender their phones for safe holding until school is over.
Last edited by meccalli on October 27th, 2017, 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 10:58 am

meccalli wrote:I don't see a problem, we couldn't even be in possession of a phone unless your parents made arrangements or something and that's just 6 years ago. Guys hid their phones in their shoes, pants and the wall sometimes. One dean would randomly walk around with bluetooth to find guys. The one time i carried an actual camera to school nearing the end of my time in hillview, it got seized and I had to get a letter to have it returned to me.

you cannot compare your time in school to present. That is a backward way of thinking.

presently kids need to have on them for their time outside of the school compound,
so this means that parents have to go buy another phone for them without a camera.

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2017, 11:00 am

See ^ amendment.

Postby skylinechild » October 27th, 2017, 11:02 am

hydroep wrote:I guess it's for the same reason we weren't allowed to bring video games, radios, toys etc. It's a distraction - or in the case of this alleged boolaman scene causes students to create distractions.

The only valid reason to have phones during school hours is to contact your parents/guardians in case of emergency and that can be done via the main office or pay phone (if those still exist) when required.

they actually suposed to exist - pay phones...some TATT operator law sayin they must provide at least 25 pay phones ofr public user per area...or was it 50... i can rem... but yea...they shud still exist.

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2017, 11:18 am

minister want to hide stuff going on in schools so that his govt wont look like they not doing their jobs & have to answer d public

however some schools already have a non-smartphone rule only non smart phones allowed in , d only way i cud see that being 100% implemented is if students pass thru a xray machine cause u know they gonna find 100 ways to smuggle it in ....

kstt

Postby kstt » October 27th, 2017, 11:19 am

Phones are important for evidence of being bullied or harassed as well. Imagine telling the teacher or principal you are being bullied, how serious would they take you on. Actually the only reason these bullying and fight cases are even getting attention is because they are making the news and people are aware and expressing their disgust.

Postby sMASH » October 27th, 2017, 11:56 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:minister want to hide stuff going on in schools so that his govt wont look like they not doing their jobs & have to answer d public

however some schools already have a non-smartphone rule only non smart phones allowed in , d only way i cud see that being 100% implemented is if students pass thru a xray machine cause u know they gonna find 100 ways to smuggle it in ....

If a school administration can achieve that, then make them the administration of the prisons too.

Me, i say the more cameras and recording devices we have, the better

Postby RedVEVO » October 27th, 2017, 12:04 pm

They want to protect Fatima ..

They want to hide illicit behavior ..

Trinidad is perfect .

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2017, 12:10 pm

Mad Antz wrote:You can't ban camera phones in schools because most of all phones even some metoos have cameras.

there use to be specially made smartphones without cameras for use in schools,companies that dont allow cameras etc

it had non camera blackberry 9930s,bolds, some samsung models etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2017, 12:17 pm

meccalli wrote:I don't see a problem, we couldn't even be in possession of a phone unless your parents made arrangements or something and that's just 6 years ago. Guys hid their phones in their shoes, pants and the wall sometimes. One dean would randomly walk around with bluetooth to find guys. The one time i carried an actual camera to school nearing the end of my time in hillview, it got seized and I had to get a letter to have it returned to me.

hydroep wrote:I guess it's for the same reason we weren't allowed to bring video games, radios, toys etc. It's a distraction - or in the case of this alleged boolaman scene causes students to create distractions.

I agree, phones are a distraction in class. However the Minister's reason is not for the distraction but rather to prevent these videos from reaching the public, that is what many citizens have a problem with.