Life without social media

Jahflame

Life without social media

Postby Jahflame » October 27th, 2017, 7:59 am

I left social media and all whatsapp groups about four months ago and apart from not being able to advertise my businesses I don't miss it at all. It started to feel like a job that doesn't pay to me. Everyday you have to check this thing, respond to this one, post this sheit and so on. Yes you could just be on it and ignore it, but I for one don't like to see notifications on my screen so I feel compelled to clear them. Also, what's the point of being on it if you don't use it?

Anyway, I would like to hear from y'all about your experience with social media. How does it benefit your life? Is it just a distraction? Are you on it and want to come off but just can't make yourself do it? Do you feel like you need it?...

This is just a lil ole talk for d friday eh...I not questioning to oppose, just to get different opinions

Me? I real good without social media quite possibly on a permanent basis and the only reason I would go back is for business, but then again is forward ever so screw that.

Bless up tuners!

Monkey Man

Re: Life without social media

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 8:17 am

bruhhh you on tuner. This is a from of social media.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 27th, 2017, 8:22 am

I never took part in any social media.
The last thing I want is for someone to feed my ego or for me to do the same for someone elses​.
This world is filled with enough narcissistic crybabies already.

It's sad to see people wasting their lives on things that don't matter. I mean, do people really need thousands of pictures of themselves? Or do you need to spend 24/7 talking crap? The world would be a better place if people learn that not everything that pops into their mind needs to be said. And that sometimes it's better to just shut your mouth and humble.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 27th, 2017, 8:29 am

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... ions-likes

that article inspired me to try to give it up but I also get a lot of useful information through social media

as with so many things, it down to how you use it

Postby Les Bain » October 27th, 2017, 8:52 am

Never really thought of Whatsapp as a social media platform. I get enough stories from people about the social media aspect of it and I good.
Facebook full of meme reciting asshats and constant reminders why you don't interact with your contacts IRL.
Twitter real good as a newsfeed and saves you the hassle of adding numerous news agency apps.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 27th, 2017, 9:09 am

Good sir

Did you know that this site, is a medium, in which you socialize?

:shock: :idea:

Postby Les Bain » October 27th, 2017, 9:34 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Good sir

Did you know that this site, is a medium, in which you socialize?

:shock: :idea:

I know many of you know each other IRL and go to various meetups, but it's pretty anonymous interaction for me. I don't see anonymous online interaction as socialization, honestly.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » October 27th, 2017, 9:39 am

social media
noun
websites and applications that enable users to create and share content or to participate in social networking.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 27th, 2017, 9:40 am

Every new technology brings benefits and costs.

The trick iz not to let it run u.

Who iz the slave and who iz massa?

Postby hydroep » October 27th, 2017, 10:21 am

Appreciate hearing/reading other people's point of view as it usually helps expand one's understanding of a topic even from those who come across as less than amiable. The nice thing about forums is that you can usually have your say once you stay within the parameters laid down by the service.

As a staunch Do-It-Yourself-er I've received lots of help from online platforms that has saved me both time and money.

Finally having current information at your fingertips like weather and traffic/accident updates helps with time management tremendously.

My only gripe with social media is not so much the gossip and opinion that masquerades as fact but the less than discerning individuals who spread the nonsense and wouldn't know the truth if it jumped up and bit them in the ass. Those individuals/groups tend to frequent certain platforms. No need to cut them off, just take what they say with a grain of salt and you should be ok.

Postby toyolink » October 27th, 2017, 10:42 am

Anything used in excess can become a problem. Control is the key.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 27th, 2017, 10:44 am

Not on it hardcore but I find it very useful in this modern day era we will live in terms of news, trends, events, business. It's a way of life now and while I can live without it, it makes things alot more convenient.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » October 27th, 2017, 10:47 am

I recently took an interest in Social media and the effects it has on the Mind and the relationships we have in the real world as oppose to the digital world.

Its really interesting the addictive qualities that Social Media possess and the lengths companies go to- by hiring behavioral experts to observe us and create more products to create that " Need".

I have recently started to exercise more conscious use of the platforms, maybe some of you all could try it out if your a heavy user

1. First thing in the morning, listen to something informative, speak to your spouse,sit down with your own thoughts, pray to your lord..basically anything that can add value to your life

2.Limit yourself during the course of the day the amount of time you actually go on FB and Instagram and the length of time you spend. ( I check it at the end of the day when I get home for maybe 45 mins- 1 Hour)

3.Dont check Watsapp every two minutes, if its really urgent i believe someone would call advising you of same

4.Carve out time to spend with real people/friends

5.Turn the phones off when going to social events/ only respond to emergencies

6.Actually communicate with people when you go out and dont take every opportunity to post a selfie/ or a picture
of your food/drink

I mean its part of life now and some of use it for business, but we have to take control of our actions and how we interact with these devices/services.

just my opinion(s)

Postby skylinechild » October 27th, 2017, 10:48 am

only social media i'm on is tuner. not on facebook or twitter etc...

i was on whatsapp but not anymore. my phone no longer supports whatsapp so it stopped working and i'll be damned if i hav to buy another smart phone just to use one app.

if someone needs to talk to me they can call....so far no one has :oops:

for me it just shows how the times have changed we no longer live a slow paced lifestyle...everything is here...now and in your face

Facebook and other types of social media at it just caters to the flam type of lifestyle.

Arrow

Postby Arrow » October 27th, 2017, 10:57 am

oooh the irony.....

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 11:01 am

is how men/women does get 'professional' photogs to take shots of them and they is post it up.... like what da fok. you is some kinda celebrity or wa?

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 27th, 2017, 11:18 am

I fall off facebook due to the heavy spying tactics by facebook mobile android app over a year now.
Because of this I use it way less, probably login once a month on desktop browser.

As a a result I use other forms of social media less, and YouTube i limit my usage to specific hours per day.
Other apps e.g. Whatsapp i disable notifications especially group chats (mute and hide notifications for a year), it makes a big difference in productivity.

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2017, 11:36 am

didnt join fb about 4-5yrs after it came out because i didnt want to get hooked but ended up signing on after friends kept begging me to join cause they were all on it , i dont post anything on fb about myself\my life i mostly share entertaining pics\memes\vids but no where near d amount other ppl do , fb is super effective if u have to sell or looking to buy though

instagram or whatsapp - NEVER joined it & NEVER will no matter when family begs me to or ppl say it good for business - no thanks i good ...... i seen other ppl using it & to me that is serious addiction , every time their phone make a sound they watching it , i eh able with this back\forth reply typing too though i have to do it sometimes for my ads in fb or here but i keep my typing short as possible

as for tuner - well oh goar i on here so long its a long time routine , i just check to see what interesting & if nothing good i gone , i hardly feel d need to post but i still on here daily to bump my ads & sometimes out of boredom :oops:

on a sunday though i dont go online & i give all internet a rest until in d night when im done with d days chores ... :|

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 27th, 2017, 11:44 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:didnt join fb about 4-5yrs after it came out

fun fact: Facebook came out in 2004

Postby sMASH » October 27th, 2017, 11:48 am

Watsap has transcended entertainment.

If u need a fone or Internet to do some stuff, then watsap is THE optimum platform.

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2017, 11:50 am

Monkey Man wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:didnt join fb about 4-5yrs after it came out

fun fact: Facebook came out in 2004

hmmm well look how i never even bother to check that , i think i signed up 6 maybe going into 7 yrs ago so look how long after it came out that i joined

forgot to mention i probably d only person with a smart phone who DO NOT use it for internet :oops: [really cant stand a lil screen & tiny touch operation] but for calls , taking pics & playing music via BT into my car deck - thats it , i use d net only on a desktop pc in my shop or laptop at home ... :|

Postby MaxPower » October 27th, 2017, 2:36 pm

OP i feel your pain.

Constant rejection from women can be a tad depressing and the automatic human reaction is to make yourself disappear.

Im sorry to tell you, but in most cases, hot chicks dont even notice ur gone, or even existed in the first place.

Come over here lemme hug u up

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2017, 5:04 pm

Allyuh , don't argue with op . tha is the fella who lorse he music and the thief end up ded ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 27th, 2017, 6:41 pm

How was remand opie

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » October 27th, 2017, 7:45 pm

Comparatively speaking I don't see trinituner as a social media site, but then again I don't really socialize here so I guess that's just my POV. It's more of a market place for me so while interaction is inevitable I wouldn't consider that socializing.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 27th, 2017, 10:08 pm

I really hope you all get something out of not being on social media. For me, i could do without it for a day or so, while working its not a thing where i stop doing what i am to check it,usually browse to see whats the latest with some people i used to communicate with daily, life change and you no longer meet people as you used too.