Large Appliance Advice

Nexus

Re: Large Appliance Advice

Postby Nexus » November 12th, 2017, 3:48 pm

NAh good ole lpg.
Is the stainless steel, 5 burner, caste iron grill and convection oven. Every appliance not white does cost more!

depravedmonk

Postby depravedmonk » December 5th, 2018, 3:42 pm

bump bump
Anyone try the indurama gas ranges yet? 5 burner and the oven has a proper convection, and rotisserie with broiler...courts has it for 6500. it looks good..

Postby redmanjp » December 5th, 2018, 3:57 pm

our GE fridge lasted over 10 years before the compressor stopped working- technician say just replace the compressor and you good to go rather than buying a new fridge as new ones eh good

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 14th, 2021, 8:28 pm

Reviving an old thread here. Anyone took advantage of the sale in standards running for today and tomorrow? What's your views?

Also any reviews on Samsung freestanding stoves? Interested in getting one from standards. Reviews welcomed.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 14th, 2021, 9:21 pm

Next door to TK and two buildings from the passport office street has a place, reputable appliances i think its called?

they bess. i was looking for a washing machine, paid 1000$ cheaper than anywhere else.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 15th, 2021, 9:54 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Next door to TK and two buildings from the passport office street has a place, reputable appliances i think its called?

they bess. i was looking for a washing machine, paid 1000$ cheaper than anywhere else.

What part of the country is that?

Postby timelapse » October 15th, 2021, 11:51 am

Keep the box.Large appliance boxes make good grow tents

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2021, 8:10 pm

Rofl. South. Cipero street

eitech

Large Appliance Advice

Postby eitech » October 18th, 2021, 5:37 pm

Last edited by eitech on October 18th, 2021, 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Large Appliance Advice

Postby eitech » October 19th, 2021, 10:44 am

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » October 10th, 2022, 9:32 pm

Fellas I looking to buy a new french door refrigerator. My two options are LG and Whirlpool. Which one is the safer bet?

matix

Postby matix » October 10th, 2022, 9:39 pm

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Fellas I looking to buy a new french door refrigerator. My two options are LG and Whirlpool. Which one is the safer bet?

Whirlpool

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 10th, 2022, 9:41 pm

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Fellas I looking to buy a new french door refrigerator. My two options are LG and Whirlpool. Which one is the safer bet?

Whirlpool is a poor quality brand at least from my experience, you should probably go with LG. If possible see if you can get GE.

Postby maj. tom » October 10th, 2022, 9:43 pm

Whirlpool. Before you buy fridge, you must call local repair places and see if they stock parts. Whirlpool and Frigidaire are well supported. LG, throw dat in the aripo river once a light bulb go out.

matix

Postby matix » October 10th, 2022, 9:57 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Whirlpool is a poor quality brand at least from my experience, you should probably go with LG. If possible see if you can get GE.

You’ve never purchased appliances have you?

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » October 10th, 2022, 10:02 pm

Why is Whirlpool a poor quality brand?

Brydens: LG - Model#: GS65BPGK
Courts: Whirlpool - Model#: WD5600S

For some clarity also thanks major

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 10:06 pm

some of the big name brands sold locally (whirlpool, ge etc) are not easy to get parts for as they may be for markets whose parts are not sold locally or by the parts suppliers here.
some say the mexican market ones are hard to find parts for, ymmv

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 10th, 2022, 10:11 pm

matix wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

You’ve never purchased appliances have you?

I have and that is my experience with them. Don't deny someone their own experiences just because you had something different happen to you.

Postby Dave » October 10th, 2022, 10:19 pm

Trinidad is considered Latin America and thus we get alot of the models intended for that market. Thus parts are almost impossible to source on your own.
Just like the famous TV brands that a major retailer sells. You will never find those models on Amazon or Ebay.
A client who imports for alot of the retailers once told me he will never use those digital models as the circuit boards are expensive to replace and their lifespan isn't as long as you would think.
LG isn't a brand you can easily source parts for but ppl insist on the brand so there is a demand so they are imported for resale.

All in all shop around!

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2022, 11:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:Whirlpool. Before you buy fridge, you must call local repair places and see if they stock parts. Whirlpool and Frigidaire are well supported. LG, throw dat in the aripo river once a light bulb go out.
True that

Real ppl does bounce their head on dem nice looking LG appliances that quickly develop problems and then can't find any parts

killercow

Postby killercow » October 11th, 2022, 12:42 am

maj. tom wrote:Whirlpool. Before you buy fridge, you must call local repair places and see if they stock parts. Whirlpool and Frigidaire are well supported. LG, throw dat in the aripo river once a light bulb go out.
Take this advice schoolboy. Yuh not getting no parts for LG. I had two LG ACs and rell bounce my head with them. Almost every single appliance I have (except for Samsung Microwave and Carrier ACs) is Whirlpool and I've gotten many years of service with no problems from each of them. Parts relatively easy to get also.

hindian

Postby hindian » October 11th, 2022, 4:39 am

Mabe is not bad either. I have an 11 cu ft going on 13 years now and all I’ve done is replace the defrost sensor twice. Apparently it’s a GE product so I’ll say check out the GE brand as well

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2022, 5:14 am

same thing for some of them samsung

ppl does fall for them silver appliances thinking they are better

killercow wrote:
Take this advice schoolboy. Yuh not getting no parts for LG. I had two LG ACs and rell bounce my head with them. Almost every single appliance I have (except for Samsung Microwave and Carrier ACs) is Whirlpool and I've gotten many years of service with no problems from each of them. Parts relatively easy to get also.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2022, 5:15 am

If yuh buying from courts make sure n pay for the extended supershield warranty.

And don't order from their website when it have sale. Their website is a ongoing scam

Postby Dave » October 11th, 2022, 6:44 am

I was getting some Lg ac units for a steal from someone who imports and installs for his clients that specify they want Lg's. The artist formerly known as the resident Ac expert said stay far away from them as there is no support if and when they need small stuff and retro fitting to them is almost impossible without changing all the insides.
killercow wrote:

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2022, 2:02 pm

fellas the best bet is to buy the simple appliances

Anything with a computer is more headache.....

Had to fix my 'smart ' washing machine infinitely more times than I had to fix my 'dumb' machine.

I Regret 'upgrading'.

Postby Chimera » October 21st, 2022, 2:20 pm

yup dem smart touch screen thing is epic headache

smallest power surge and you hadda look for a impossible to find board

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2022, 2:27 pm

the bells and whistles eh

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2022, 2:42 pm

dais a life lesson

When you progress too far, you end up regressing.

Horseshoe theory.

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2022, 2:45 pm

whirlpool has forever been a top brand so maybe somebody got a 1 in a million bad unit

our whirlpool washing machine gave about 20yrs good service

like already said on here : stick with d more basic models & not d fancy features bisnis ...