Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 9:34 am

i seeing some used hd10+ 2021 for $95......

better i sell these two 2017 10" for small $$$ and get a hd10+ or two

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2023, 9:50 am

Try https://www.home-assistant.io/ - though I think you need a hub which can be a Raspberry Pi.
Or ActionTiles app on the Fire tablet - install PlayStore on the FireTablet

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2023, 9:52 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:i seeing some used hd10+ 2021 for $95......

better i sell these two 2017 10" for small $$$ and get a hd10+ or two

this would be the simplest as the built in Smart Home hub is nice and easy to use

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 9:55 am

yeah the wyze stuff really glitchy and annoying

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 19th, 2023, 12:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Yes they are

Most are Alexa devices and the rest are linked to smart life app.

Looking for functionality like this

https://youtu.be/ci1jWk5kL5Y

Many of the good ones are a paid monthly subscription. But the Fire Tablets and Echo Shows have a built in dashboard/home app for Alexa devices.

https://www.androidcentral.com/tablets/ ... -dashboard

i have a few 10 inch 2019 firetabs i trying to make into dashboards...but like they dont have that dashboard option?

any other advice?

i eh mind paying a subscription if it bess

For this you might want to look at homeassistant, below is a sample of what I have

Screenshot 2023-02-19 115819.png

Also its free, you can do anything, currently I am working on getting my pool chemistry and sprinklers in there. It goes beyond Alexa where you can actually do far more automations than alexa

And the best part is it work in conjunction with alexa or what ever smart assistant you use

Postby Chimera » February 19th, 2023, 3:16 pm

Thanks will check it out.
I ended up buying a refurbished Amazon 10 plus for 90 us with a wireless charger. Working good enuff to suit my purpose but want to personalize it more and easier

Postby st7 » February 26th, 2023, 7:29 pm

anyone know where I can get something like this switch locally?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07K9G28JK

recently, this brand has been giving me issues (i'm trying to reset it and add the device via the app but it hasn't been working) at the moment, the lights keep shutting off after 2 seconds because the app itself (or the switch) registered that setting.

1. it needs to be black
2. two gang
3. touch-buttons

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2023, 7:57 pm

st7 wrote:anyone know where I can get something like this switch locally?

recently, this brand has been giving me issues (i'm trying to reset it and add the device via the app but it hasn't been working) at the moment, the lights keep shutting off after 2 seconds because the app itself (or the switch) registered that setting.

1. it needs to be black
2. two gang
3. touch-buttons

Check these guys for a similar device
https://www.thecloudctrl.com/product-pa ... ches-black

Postby st7 » February 26th, 2023, 8:36 pm

oh thanks man... i'll check out the reviews. $220 isnt a bad price.

Postby st7 » March 4th, 2023, 10:27 am

st7 wrote:anyone know where I can get something like this switch locally?

1. it needs to be black
2. two gang
3. touch-buttons

Check these guys for a similar device
https://www.thecloudctrl.com/product-pa ... ches-black

i just try to call them on two numbers and 1 number not going thru while the other rings out. they still in business? lol

Postby st7 » March 4th, 2023, 12:02 pm

ok, got a call back. apparently they aren't open on weekends. they still open even due to lack of social media presence lol

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » March 6th, 2023, 10:26 am

I got mine from these guys:

https://www.facebook.com/Gadget.TTLTD/

Postby st7 » March 6th, 2023, 10:41 am

i got thru already and installed it. Cloud Ctrl had the 2-gang for $15 less

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2023, 2:54 pm

Mesh 3-pack eero 6 and adding an Echo Dot 5th gen (which is another eero mesh unit itself) on the way. I suddenly realized that I just fed up with a router and repeater and dropping to reconnect signals through the brick and concrete floors and walls.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2023, 10:26 pm

maj. tom wrote:Mesh 3-pack eero 6 and adding an Echo Dot 5th gen (which is another eero mesh unit itself) on the way. I suddenly realized that I just fed up with a router and repeater and dropping to reconnect signals through the brick and concrete floors and walls.

Just last week I switched out the 2 old Apple AirPort Extremes and 1 AirPort Express that I had set up as a mesh for a TP-Link X20 AX1800 Deco Wifi-6 3-pack. One is on ethernet backhaul from the main using an existing pull. Working great so far. Loving the app controls, parental controls and statistics.

shiv2111

Postby shiv2111 » March 22nd, 2023, 12:18 pm

If anyone is looking for a Sensibo alternative, which does not require a subscription and is cheaper. Try the link below.

Works really well, if you are looking for a smart thermostat that integrates with iOS, Android Alexa etc.

I honestly prefer this than an IR blaster, which is basically on/off.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MB ... =UTF8&th=1

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2023, 1:12 pm

shiv2111 wrote:If anyone is looking for a Sensibo alternative, which does not require a subscription and is cheaper. Try the link below.

Works really well, if you are looking for a smart thermostat that integrates with iOS, Android Alexa etc.

Thanks for this
Was looking for an alternative to Sensibo, Tado etc.
For some reason they are all pretty expensive.
Do you use this with an iPhone?
I see it does not have HomeKit integration but it has Siri Shortcuts integration - do you use that?

shiv2111

Postby shiv2111 » March 22nd, 2023, 1:23 pm

shiv2111 wrote:If anyone is looking for a Sensibo alternative, which does not require a subscription and is cheaper. Try the link below.

Thanks for this
Was looking for an alternative to Sensibo, Tado etc.
For some reason they are all pretty expensive.
Do you use this with an iPhone?
I see it does not have HomeKit integration but it has Siri Shortcuts integration - do you use that?

Sorry don't use iOs. I use Amazon devices (Echo Dot and FS) and Android phone.

Once integrated with Alexa, It works really good from routines or smart management.

I am sure you can find reviews online about it for iOs.

Postby j.o.e » March 22nd, 2023, 4:15 pm

Anyone has a HomeKit compatible garage opener that they can vouch for ? Want to pull the trigger on one but would love a local review before making a commitment

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2023, 5:48 pm

j.o.e wrote:Anyone has a HomeKit compatible garage opener that they can vouch for ? Want to pull the trigger on one but would love a local review before making a commitment

Hoss I was literally looking at those today

added this to the cart
Meross MSG200HK
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08JYSXXSK/

I was looking at this one at first
MSG100HK
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B084Z5QZR2
it's cheaper but the first one has a contact sensor to tell you if the door is open or closed

Both work with Alexa, Google Home and Apple HomeKit

I'm assuming these will work for a gate motor as well.

Postby j.o.e » March 23rd, 2023, 9:17 am

j.o.e wrote:Anyone has a HomeKit compatible garage opener that they can vouch for ? Want to pull the trigger on one but would love a local review before making a commitment

Hoss I was literally looking at those today

added this to the cart
Meross MSG200HK
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08JYSXXSK/

I was looking at this one at first
MSG100HK
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B084Z5QZR2
it's cheaper but the first one has a contact sensor to tell you if the door is open or closed

Both work with Alexa, Google Home and Apple HomeKit

I'm assuming these will work for a gate motor as well.

The Meross was on my list for consideration. Will look for some reviews on the other one. Thanks …will update when I buy and install ……. Somehow this decision has me most indecisive because this being unreliable will piss me off because I’ll feel like the hassle is bigger than the benefits but would be cool if it worked flawlessly

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 23rd, 2023, 4:20 pm

We have a meros for our gate here, it aight

Lots of features that we dont use but it aight.

(Kinda inaccurate with letting u know if it's open or closed tho, idk if thats a setting on our end)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2023, 7:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:We have a meros for our gate here, it aight

Lots of features that we dont use but it aight.

(Kinda inaccurate with letting u know if it's open or closed tho, idk if thats a setting on our end)

Which model do you have?
the MSG100 doesn't come with the contact sensors to let you know if it's open or closed but the MSG200 does

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2023, 11:17 am

Using the NFC in AirTags to automate smart home shortcuts - this is pretty nifty!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2023, 1:58 pm

Anyone here using HomeBridge?

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » July 10th, 2023, 4:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone here using HomeBridge?

I’d get back to you in 2 weeks. I’m actually actively looking on using this.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2023, 5:23 pm

thelem-again wrote:

I recently set up HomeBridge on a Raspberry Pi and it's super simple and pretty solid. Works very well.
I have Midea Air, Sensibo, Bond, Nest etc running on it.
Just having some issues with Tuya / SmartLife - not with HomeBridge itself, but Tuya requires a developer account to be created and a set of drama and I'm stuck at adding a device/app cause it won't let me choose any of the world servers to work with someone located in T&T, or at least I assume that's what's going on.
I asked here for HomeBridge since that seems to be the reason most ppl in T&T will get a Tuya dev account.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » July 10th, 2023, 7:16 pm

thelem-again wrote:

I recently set up HomeBridge on a Raspberry Pi and it's super simple and pretty solid. Works very well.
I have Midea Air, Sensibo, Bond, Nest etc running on it.
Just having some issues with Tuya / SmartLife - not with HomeBridge itself, but Tuya requires a developer account to be created and a set of drama and I'm stuck at adding a device/app cause it won't let me choose any of the world servers to work with someone located in T&T, or at least I assume that's what's going on.
I asked here for HomeBridge since that seems to be the reason most ppl in T&T will get a Tuya dev account.

It’s really funny and ironic you should mention Tuya/SmartLife because that was a stumbling block for me just Saturday. But I brushed it off with the expectation to cycle back to it in the future.

Good info to know. Will do some probing of my own by asking others.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2023, 8:38 pm

^ what part you stumbled at? Maybe I can help.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2023, 3:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Try https://www.home-assistant.io/ - though I think you need a hub which can be a Raspberry Pi.
Or ActionTiles app on the Fire tablet - install PlayStore on the FireTablet

I'm finally going to look at this and maybe run my own server to run home automation. Very disappointed with IFTTT and how my applets have all disappeared leaving just only 1 running. I've just read on the subreddit that the company is sinking and everyone is abandoning ship anyway. And I want to integrate many different brands of hardware for my home automation. I think I'll get an older used Intel NUC or Lenovo ThinkCentre or Dell Optiplex business machine with maybe an i5-4th gen and run the x86-64 OS. A steep learning curve for me to get past here. Gonna be asking ChatGPT for help with the coding. Hope I find some Home Assistant integration support for Tapo somewhere.