WTK: Opinions on big name for profit events asking for government sponsorship to stay alive?

Energy0091

WTK: Opinions on big name for profit events asking for government sponsorship to stay alive?

Postby Energy0091 » January 24th, 2018, 6:03 pm

So far some of these events have stated that they can't stay alive unless the government increases amount allocated through sponsorship. Chutney Monarch and Kalypso Revue have been two such events.
I am just interested to hear stances from both those who are for and against this request.

Re: WTK: Opinions on big name for profit events asking for government sponsorship to stay alive?

Postby Rovin » January 24th, 2018, 10:48 pm

like ppl fraid to comment

my answer is no , if d event have enough offerings to draw ppl in that willing to pay for a service they actually want , then it d event shud be able to generate sufficient revenue to pay for itself like any other business venture , otherwise it come like taxpayers paying for their or somebody elses party\fete from their pockets via d govt intervention ....

Re: WTK: Opinions on big name for profit events asking for government sponsorship to stay alive?

Postby The_Honourable » January 25th, 2018, 12:08 am

Agreed with Rovin.

If you are running a business for 10, 20, 30+ years and it cannot generate revenue on its own, something is terribly wrong. Obviously it is management who is suffering from inertia as they got use to being sponsored mainly by the Government directly through the Ministry or indirectly through state-owned companies.

Although i'm not a fan of Carnival, it is a business and money can be made. Without government funding, I hope owners of tents and competitions can think outside the box. Personally I would not fund these events and instead, fund NGOs such as Childline, Lifeline, YMCA, Families in Action, Heroes Foundation the Rape Crisis Society to name a few since money will be more productive in those areas versus giving it away in prize money to events that promote immorality.

Of course some will say "that is we culture" but if you are really honest, carnival although a revenue generator has increasingly become toxic to society. BTW, if you are a businessperson that relies on the government for funding, especially year after year decade after decade, do not call yourself an entrepreneur, you are an opportunist.

Postby desifemlove » January 25th, 2018, 2:40 am

No. Free marrets win. I don't see why any body needs state funds if it can survive on private funds

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » January 25th, 2018, 12:31 pm

the kinda money you have to pay to go to these events, not to mention having to buy drinks etc, if they not making money then something obviously wrong. They getting money from government every year anything extra they make they taking for themselves apparently. people cant say that these events dont make money because people take out loans to fete and buy carnival costumes. this money can be put the better use like repairing the older hospitals of paving them damn potholes all over

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2018, 12:50 pm

cueball1990 wrote:the kinda money you have to pay to go to these events, not to mention having to buy drinks etc, if they not making money then something obviously wrong. They getting money from government every year anything extra they make they taking for themselves apparently. people cant say that these events dont make money because people take out loans to fete and buy carnival costumes. this money can be put the better use like repairing the older hospitals of paving them damn potholes all over
This is why we need to ban carnival

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 25th, 2018, 1:31 pm

promoters eating ah food for a long time yunno.

If you accustomed making 10 widgets for 500; are you willing to continue to make that 10 widgets for 150 instead?
the answer is no.

Postby Rovin » January 25th, 2018, 1:32 pm

or simply ignore it & find something else more productive to do with ur time

but u know some trinis go dead if they get dey crapnival ........ :|

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2018, 1:35 pm

Promoters have one interest......thier own. All these so called cultural events no better than CEPEP imo.

Postby paid_influencer » January 25th, 2018, 2:04 pm

completely unacceptable. Why should the country pay for the promoter's **private** event?? pssh, a bunch of leeches
Last edited by paid_influencer on January 25th, 2018, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 25th, 2018, 2:50 pm

cueball1990 wrote:the kinda money you have to pay to go to these events, not to mention having to buy drinks etc, if they not making money then something obviously wrong. They getting money from government every year anything extra they make they taking for themselves apparently. people cant say that these events dont make money because people take out loans to fete and buy carnival costumes. this money can be put the better use like repairing the older hospitals of paving them damn potholes all over
This is why we need to ban carnival

zoom..yuh looking fuh riot...

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2018, 3:30 pm

munro is the master of this bobol
every year is tears about dipping into his pocket for the culture

george singh look like he learnt well by riding the indo band wagon

the only aspect of carnival which is probably not profit making are those little sailor band and blue devils, maybe stick fighters
everything else is pure profit only

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2018, 6:27 pm

Promoters shouldn't receive any large amounts of GORTT funding if their shows are well run as a business, because make no mistake, it is a business to them.

Postby Les Bain » January 25th, 2018, 8:59 pm

I can see government sponsorship in Carnival going toward what some lament are dying aspects of traditional mas; not towards bikini mas and social fetes.
You can't be a fete promoter proudly bigging up yourself as an entrepreneur but when times hard you pulling your jeans pockets inside out and telling government to love up de culture. I rather that sponsorship money go towards subsidizing my cooking gas.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2018, 9:58 pm

sponsor a bed in sando hospital, or a medical test.

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 5:50 am

All goverment funding for carnival must stop.

Waste ah money better to pour that into youth community programs

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 26th, 2018, 8:10 am

I feel I wanna throw a Cooler lime and ask for state funding...

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2018, 8:13 am

ADONI wrote:I feel I wanna throw a Cooler lime and ask for state funding...
Nah boat ride dem PNM ppl like dem kinda thing

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 26th, 2018, 8:58 am

ADONI wrote:I feel I wanna throw a Cooler lime and ask for state funding...
Nah boat ride dem PNM ppl like dem kinda thing

Rite rite, I can try an attempt for the maiden voyage of the new sea bridge vessel, to be a boat ride, so as to get buy-in from the people. :mrgreen:

Postby desifemlove » January 27th, 2018, 6:03 am

If these feters want to apply for state funds, let them convert to charitable status.

questions must be asked, if they raise millions per year, how come they always saying dey skint and needs funds?? questions as in police inquiries, misappropriation, etc....

i like how this made to be a PNM ting. She expanded state funding, did nothing to prevent it.