Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

snatman

Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 9:47 am

ah man on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=724057&start=90
was incredulous that the very common dish of dhal and rice and smoke herring even existed as a meal.

He also was equally flabbergasted at the thought of aloo chokah with smoke herring mixed in.

lewwe hear some other food or food combination that other ppl didn't know or may not know of...

Erkz

Re: Dhal and rice and smoke herring? you mad breds?

Postby Erkz » March 20th, 2018, 9:56 am

Chips and Mayonnaise.

Ole (Ranch/BBQ Flavor), cheeese, sausage and Kiss Butter Bread.

Toast, Peanut Butter and Condensed Milk.

Crix in Milo.

Bread, Butter and Kuchela.

Instant ramen except you boil out the water and add milk and cheese.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 9:59 am

curry vienna sausage & roti

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2018, 10:08 am

Steamed Pumpkin with shrimp in it.
Curry Bodi with shrimp in it.
Curry egg and aloo.
Rice, pumpkin, and fried egg with a side of crunchy fried saltfish
Coconut bake with curry channa, buljol and a slice of zaboca inside.
BBQ chicken with curry powder in the rub/seasoning mix.
Dhalpuri with cheese (reheated leftovers on tawa)
Dhalpuri with fry egg and/or sausage (reuse of leftovers)
Dhalpuri and dhal. (NORMAL NORMAL)

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 10:13 am

Dhalpuri, but using ground pigeon peas instead of dhal.

Peaspuri?

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 10:14 am

Double fried chinese styled fried chicken

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2018, 10:15 am

snatman wrote:Dhalpuri, but using ground pigeon peas instead of dhal.

Peaspuri?

Yep. Peaspuri is nice when you use fresh pigeon peas, but I don't care for the texture too much.
It's also common for channapuri and blackeyepuri, but I go draw the line at red beans.

Postby crazybalhead » March 20th, 2018, 10:22 am

I send dhal and rice and smoke herring today for the kids yes.

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2018, 10:24 am

curry saheena

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 10:29 am

dhal and dumplin

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2018, 10:30 am

16 cycles wrote:curry saheena

curry corn

Postby black start » March 20th, 2018, 10:43 am

Curry cabbage and gizzard
Curry bodi and chicken
Curry egg and aloo
Fry bhaigan and saltfish

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2018, 10:53 am

88sins wrote:curry baigan and aloo with vienna sausage & roti

Fixed :) Sada variation is great too.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » March 20th, 2018, 10:55 am

hmm...this should be called the Vomit thread :-? ....I swear.

I'm not knocking peole's taste but...

Peaspuri?
Curry egg and aloo?

zorced

Postby zorced » March 20th, 2018, 11:17 am

snatman wrote:lewwe hear some other food or food combination that other ppl didn't know or may not know of...

A balanced diet? :fadein:

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2018, 11:19 am

thelem-again wrote:hmm...this should be called the Vomit thread :-? ....I swear.

Peaspuri?
Curry egg and aloo?

I hacked the egg-and-alloo concept and made tikka masala eggs a couple years ago.
It was epic had it with either jasmine or basmati rice, can't rem

Postby 16 cycles » March 20th, 2018, 11:22 am

thelem-again wrote:hmm...this should be called the Vomit thread :-? ....I swear.

Peaspuri?
Curry egg and aloo?

actually really good....srs

the egg and aloo is a money saver too....

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » March 20th, 2018, 11:24 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Peaspuri?
Curry egg and aloo?

I hacked the egg-and-alloo concept and made tikka masala eggs a couple years ago.
It was epic had it with either jasmine or basmati rice, can't rem

Wont lie...it looks good!!

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 11:34 am

with food, average personal enjoyability is basically 40% presentation, 30% smell & 30% taste
so it could be how weird or mundane, if it not looking nice & not smelling appealing, nobody eh go want to taste it much less eat it

Postby Rovin » March 20th, 2018, 11:36 am

peaspurri & aloo purri = taste bess

i eh know bout d curry vienne sausage or curry sahena , only last wk is d 1st time i eat fry egg in a dhalpurri - taste different good

traditional trini indian food in d morning is sada roti & some kinda talkery & u can put some saltfish or smoke herring in most of d talkery , it adds a nice flavor to d same ol boring stuff

dhal rice & smoke herring [or bhaji too] is a very common food especially for older heads , back then ppl only eat meat mostly on a sunday cause of hard times too so smoke herring & saltfish was used during d week .... not a fan of dhal rice & fry chicken , to me dat doh match up good

smoke herring is level bad breath so brush teeth or take a power mint after .... :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 11:47 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:peaspurri & aloo purri = taste bess

i eh know bout d curry vienne sausage or curry sahena , only last wk is d 1st time i eat fry egg in a dhalpurri - taste different good

traditional trini indian food in d morning is sada roti & some kinda talkery & u can put some saltfish or smoke herring in most of d talkery , it adds a nice flavor to d same ol boring stuff

dhal rice & smoke herring [or bhaji too] is a very common food especially for older heads , back then ppl only eat meat mostly on a sunday cause of hard times too so smoke herring & saltfish was used during d week .... not a fan of dhal rice & fry chicken , to me dat doh match up good

smoke herring is level bad breath so brush teeth or take a power mint after .... :lol:

& doh belch around ppl, cuz dey go kno is smoke herring yuh eat :lol:

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » March 20th, 2018, 12:02 pm

corned beef n rice with ketchup....growin up poor....
sada n condensed milk

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 12:15 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:corned beef n rice with ketchup....growin up poor....

got nuttn to do wit poor cuz.
& fyi, d dish is called fcukdat.
meaning, when kitchen stocks limited or yuh real hungry & just want to cook sumn filling, cheap & fast

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 20th, 2018, 12:18 pm

Fish pelau

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2018, 12:25 pm

Bonito makes good fish pelau, also the curry saheena is called fish sometimes. It's popular among vegetarians who make the rolled and sliced saheena variety, whereupon after frying is curried like you would regular fish steaks.

GameOver

Postby GameOver » March 20th, 2018, 12:28 pm

I'm always surprised whenever someone does not know of curry cornbeef

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2018, 12:32 pm

GameOver wrote:I'm always surprised whenever someone does not know of curry cornbeef

Some have never eaten beef

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » March 20th, 2018, 12:34 pm

dhal, rice & allo choka - Monday
dhal, rice & tomato choka - Tuesday
dhal, rice & fry bodi- Wednesday
dhal, rice & curry green papaya- Thursday
dhal, rice & fry saime/bodi- Thursday
rice & mackerel or Brunswick sardine - Saturday
rice and curry yard fowl - Sunday

had a few times as well, curry cassava with peas and sada roti

Postby hydroep » March 20th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:corned beef n rice with ketchup....growin up poor....
sada n condensed milk

I can empathize:

Macaroni and ketchup.
Melted margarine on boiled rice.
Flour dumplings in chocolate milk.

Postby Redman » March 20th, 2018, 1:07 pm

zorced wrote:
snatman wrote:lewwe hear some other food or food combination that other ppl didn't know or may not know of...

A balanced diet? :fadein:

oh the horror!!!!