Re: Drivers permit renewal

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2022, 2:19 pm

October 2022:

BlackZC32S

Postby BlackZC32S » September 27th, 2022, 5:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinidad & Tobago Drivers Permit / License Renewal service fees 2022

a74e441f-b936-4b2d-aa40-258503b68eb6.jpg
The website needs to be corrected as it displays the wrong fee on 5yr and 10yr license renewals...thankful this is one thing that hasn't gone up...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2022, 10:55 am

f3b45f9b-252f-41e0-a34d-cff53d48aa2c.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2022, 5:05 pm

Effective November 21, 2022 appointments will no longer be required for certain transactions at the Licensing Office.

The Ministry of Works and Transport advised that walk-in services will be facilitated for the following transactions:

Vehicle Transfer
Vehicle Changes (colour, engine)
Vehicle Reclassification
Vehicle Inspections

The appointment-based system will continue for the following transactions: Driver’s Licence Renewals, Driver’s Licence Changes (name, address), Endorsement, Provisional (learner’s) Permit, Regulations Examinations, Driving Test.

Those seeking to conduct these transactions can do so via the online scheduling appointment portal.

The Ministry advised customers to look at all available time-slots at licensing locations nationally if their preferred location is unavailable.

A proof of address (utility bill no older than three months) is required to complete a licensing transaction.

The accepted forms of proof of address include a cable bill, home internet bill, electricity bill (T&TEC), OR water bill (WASA). In the event a customer does not have a utility bill in their name, they’re required to produce a letter of authorisation from the owner and a copy of their national identification.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/appoint ... ansactions

Postby paid_influencer » November 17th, 2022, 5:35 pm

"A proof of address (utility bill no older than three months) is required to complete a licensing transaction."

so... we hadda walk with that whole stack (utility bill+letter+copy of id) every time we go licensing office.

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2022, 5:55 pm

why we doh have online renewals yet :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » November 17th, 2022, 6:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:why we doh have online renewals yet :roll:

dais d first step towards automation, which is the first step towards job redundancy.

we making progress though. a lil while back I had to get a duplicate permit (lost/stolen dp). Got all the info and form I needed online via the MoWT webpages, filled out and printed the form on US Legal paper (double sided), went license office with the docs and it was completely straight-foward. It did take a while waiting at the licensing office itself to GT, but not that bad actually.

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2022, 6:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:"A proof of address (utility bill no older than three months) is required to complete a licensing transaction."

so... we hadda walk with that whole stack (utility bill+letter+copy of id) every time we go licensing office.
Thus is the norm to do any business in any government office and even private sector , banks, when you apply for a loan or mortgage ...NIB , BIR , immigration office, how many times the immigration officers send ppl back to fix their documents in order to receive their passports, US embassy we do it. Have your ducks in a row if you want your transaction to run as smoothly as possible. Remember it is business we are going to conduct and they need to verify the information that you are giving them.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » November 18th, 2022, 2:56 pm

Renewed today in Guaico, in and out in less than 10 mins. Quickest driver's licence transaction yet.

Postby K74T » December 2nd, 2022, 11:50 am

FB_IMG_1669996188836.jpg

Postby j.o.e » December 2nd, 2022, 12:58 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1669996188836.jpg

Moving backwards

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2022, 1:22 pm

Appointment system for Licensing was the best ever.
Both renewal and transfers was super easy and quick.

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2022, 1:32 pm

with the license office bus visiting soo many out of the way areas as well as having the option for a 10 year license

i doubt people mobbing or rushing license office for renewals these days

should just be able to walk in and get through easily by now?

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2022, 3:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:with the license office bus visiting soo many out of the way areas as well as having the option for a 10 year license

i doubt people mobbing or rushing license office for renewals these days

should just be able to walk in and get through easily by now?

last wk i try dat security tell meh come back from d 5th dec ...

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2022, 3:08 pm

Dave wrote:Appointment system for Licensing was the best ever.
Both renewal and transfers was super easy and quick.

after the appt date finally reach u mean- which could be weeks. imagine u just realize your permit expire, or u lost it.

before u could have gone in same day and get it- tho u would spend a half day.

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2022, 9:33 am

They still extended till Jan 2023 for expired permits?

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2022, 9:39 am

nervewrecker wrote:They still extended till Jan 2023 for expired permits?
Still in effect but that will be the last extension

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2022, 3:54 pm

You allowed to drive meanwhile?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » December 5th, 2022, 1:38 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You allowed to drive meanwhile?

yes nerve

Postby redmanjp » December 5th, 2022, 8:07 pm

j.o.e wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1669996188836.jpg

Moving backwards

the appointment system was really a pandemic measure to reduce crowds- nothing permanent. but what should become the norm is online renewal.

Postby j.o.e » December 5th, 2022, 9:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Moving backwards

the appointment system was really a pandemic measure to reduce crowds- nothing permanent. but what should become the norm is online renewal.

Exactly, covid should have allowed for the gradual use of technology to move the system forward. Why must I print a form to fill out to bring to licensing. Give me an online form to fill out, verify the info and I present myself at any office for a photo and to collect. Let this option be an express service to incentivize using the tech.

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2022, 10:22 pm

j.o.e wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Moving backwards

Exactly, covid should have allowed for the gradual use of technology to move the system forward. Why must I print a form to fill out to bring to licensing. Give me an online form to fill out, verify the info and I present myself at any office for a photo and to collect. Let this option be an express service to incentivize using the tech.

sounds like an opportunity for contractor bobol tbh.

just print the form. you can type in the form when you open it. just click where you want to type. I've done it and went licensing office with it after and GT no problem.

Postby hover11 » December 6th, 2022, 6:42 am

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Moving backwards

Trinis can't work with appointments because they can't be on time for anything, however , what I will say is appointments create order and gives an overview for the day than simply take a number and wait. We do it for when we beg for a visa at the embassies what's the problem....

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 6th, 2022, 8:21 am

lic_ren.png
lic_ren.png (15.24 KiB) Viewed 1627 times

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 6th, 2022, 9:13 am

shaneelal wrote:
lic_ren.png

Too much people flock to Caroni, at other locations Ive seen elderly persons be pulled ahead

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » December 6th, 2022, 11:51 am

arima i does go.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 6th, 2022, 3:31 pm

I've been trying to get an appointment since October. No dates were available.
So I decided to try the walk-in service today at caroni.

Arrived at 1pm, now leaving at 3:30pm.
Had to stand in line outside for an hour and 45 minutes. The crowd was so large, they even using 2 mobile units outside.

Please make sure you have all your documents in order. A lot of people had to be turned away because of this.

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2022, 7:32 pm

Mercenary wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:You allowed to drive meanwhile?

yes nerve

i wish they had an extension for my expired inspection sticker :roll: i have some spots where paint coming off and the inspection station have to take pics so cant pass inspection with that. so i travelling for now.

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2022, 7:40 pm

it could be the backlog cause by covid causing this delay- everyone who had an appointment for the next few weeks now doing walk-ins instead- hopefully once this backlog is cleared the time should reduce.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2022, 3:12 pm

Ministry decided to go back to online appointments.