Re: Drivers permit renewal

Postby st7 » March 28th, 2023, 11:50 am

h1tach1 wrote:
st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:they stamp it for you or tell you the same thing they tell me?

They stamped it.

now i questioning if the stamp mine! lol

Called Licence Office in Point Fortin, They said that once the bill has the company letterhead on it, you don't need a stamp. TSTT's online bill format is exactly the same as the mailed bill. So that was used, printed in black and white.

ah... letterhead. makes sense.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 28th, 2023, 4:37 pm

Ulyuh men come in clutch yes. Just get the reminder my renewal is Friday. Now I have to go stamp up my flow bill and clean forget I have to get a medical too

Postby Chimera » March 28th, 2023, 4:53 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Ulyuh men come in clutch yes. Just get the reminder my renewal is Friday. Now I have to go stamp up my flow bill and clean forget I have to get a medical too
Yuh does get the medical outside the license office for a lil $100

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2023, 6:28 pm

equal2zero wrote:Made an appointment for my wife today...made appointment successfully but decided to cancel it to try and book a different time...now I am barred from making any appointments for her permit for 24 hours because of the cancellation. What? Struggling to see the reasoning for this.
You can't make 2 appointment apparently.

Had the same issue and they referred me to caroni to have it rectified.

nick639v2

Drivers permit renewal

Postby nick639v2 » March 31st, 2023, 11:52 am

Gt Caroni this morning.

Appointment 9:15
arrived 8:45 Self check in with fancy touch screen ting
Desk call and cashier 9:12
Waiting room for picture 9:12-9:45
Left premises 9:55

Watch na I have whole of today free now you know. I don’t even know how to act, i just come home to sleep and avoid getting in trouble

Postby maj. tom » March 31st, 2023, 12:16 pm

like yuh get a Baptist blessings yesterday boy.

Postby Dave » March 31st, 2023, 12:22 pm

Haha was there for regs this morning too. Not the same but one hr turnaround.
nick639v2 wrote:Gt Caroni this morning.

Appointment 9:15
arrived 8:45 Self check in with fancy touch screen ting
Desk call and cashier 9:12
Waiting room for picture 9:12-9:45
Left premises 9:55

Watch na I have whole of today free now you know. I don’t even know how to act, i just come home to sleep and avoid getting in trouble

Postby Chimera » March 31st, 2023, 1:12 pm

I went town Wednesday to transfer a vehicle and spend from 10am to 330 pm lol

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 31st, 2023, 1:39 pm

Permit renewal at ptown recently was an hour max. They took pic and signature and said come back for it cause printer down.

Went back a few days later and got it as i walked in.

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2023, 12:33 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I went town Wednesday to transfer a vehicle and spend from 10am to 330 pm lol

Yeh Phone, it’s a hit and miss in these Govt department’s. All depends if they feel like working, present for duty or even know what their job description entails. One minute they working hard selectively, the next minute they faking sick to handle their personal engagements.

As usual, consistency and ethics lack.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2023, 3:36 pm

Downloadable Licensing Forms are Now Available Online!

Are you ready to conduct your licensing transactions?

Customers are encouraged to download, print and complete the respective forms and bring along the accompanying documents to complete their transactions at the Licensing Offices.

Click the link below to access the forms
http://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Transp ... sion/Forms

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 3:42 pm

^wish they would allow the FULL process online- just upload your current DP and email application and have the new one mailed

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2023, 5:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:^wish they would allow the FULL process online- just upload your current DP and email application and have the new one mailed

Monkey steps redo, monkey steps.

Give them a 10 years again for the kinda full process

Postby *KRONIK* » August 9th, 2023, 5:37 pm

I doh even understand why they pull the appointment system for transfers

That was actually one of the helpful things they implemented.

Now they back to "line up and wait like a jack@$$, yuh go get thru when yuh get thru"

Drivers permit renewal

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2023, 6:12 pm

Hear na allyuh LO people does stress my ass out with the backwardness.

Just tell me who i have to pay to get through fast. I have things to do and don’t have time to waste and be treated like a blasted mooks.

Buh thas Bribe? Boi hull allyuh mc eh that is what many citizens have resorted to.

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 6:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:^wish they would allow the FULL process online- just upload your current DP and email application and have the new one mailed

My mom's applied for her pension online and didn't have to go anywhere.

I doh know if it is with DP Renewal u have to take a photo why it can't be done online?

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » August 10th, 2023, 8:49 am

redmanjp wrote:

My mom's applied for her pension online and didn't have to go anywhere.

I doh know if it is with DP Renewal u have to take a photo why it can't be done online?

Same reason you hada renew ID in person and not online

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 12:06 pm

but then again my mom had to take a 'verification photo' where she takes a selfie holding her ID and include that in the email- so technically it could be done.

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 12:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:but then again my mom had to take a 'verification photo' where she takes a selfie holding her ID and include that in the email- so technically it could be done.

but even if it couldn't the in person process could still be shortened so that if u did an online application u just go straight to the photo section in LO to take your photo.

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2023, 12:18 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I doh even understand why they pull the appointment system for transfers

Now they back to "line up and wait like a jack@$$, yuh go get thru when yuh get thru"
The reason why, is reallllll people complain.
They complain cause they had appointment and still had to wait.
Cause although people had appointment, many people jumped the lines and they gt. So it became unfair.... Cause lo didn't stick to the appointment.

Prolly they should dedicate the mobile units to handle appointments. So u can have that option UNINCUMBERED by the line up and wait people

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 12:20 pm

^also it wasn't a same day thing- line up and wait means u GT same day whereas making an appointment meant u have to wait till the day of that appointment which could be weeks away- not too bad if u realized weeks in advance that your DP going to expire, but if u just realize it expiring in a few days means u not going to have a valid permit for a couple weeks.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 10th, 2023, 1:15 pm

sMASH wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:I doh even understand why they pull the appointment system for transfers

The reason why, is reallllll people complain.
They complain cause they had appointment and still had to wait.
Cause although people had appointment, many people jumped the lines and they gt. So it became unfair.... Cause lo didn't stick to the appointment.

Prolly they should dedicate the mobile units to handle appointments. So u can have that option UNINCUMBERED by the line up and wait people
Makes sense
But doesnt justify reinstating the chaos method of transfers

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » November 16th, 2023, 4:34 pm

Can anyone confirm that if you're over 65 years old and renewing your permit:
- you can walk in without appointment
- you don't pay unless permit is expired
- need application form, medical form, current permit and utility bill
- renewal is for 2 years only

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2023, 6:06 pm

2ndchance wrote:Can anyone confirm that if you're over 65 years old and renewing your permit:
- you can walk in without appointment
- you don't pay unless permit is expired
- need application form, medical form, current permit and utility bill
- renewal is for 2 years only
Best call or visit website

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2023, 3:44 pm

on the topic of elderly dp renewals - is it true that u can get a renewal if u can't see in 1 eye? mom's eye doctor told her that as she had a corneal transplant but her eye isnt showing any improvement- she cud barely see her fingers right in front of her.

Postby maj. tom » November 17th, 2023, 4:07 pm

Well driving with monocular vision causes quite a lot of accidents because proper depth perception is not very accurate. So it should be like that, but they do let persons with one eye drive.

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2023, 4:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Well driving with monocular vision causes quite a lot of accidents because proper depth perception is not very accurate. So it should be like that, but they do let persons with one eye drive.

yeah i told her about the risks - it's both depth perception and a huge blind spot as well on her left side as it's her left eye. she's wondering if she can retrain herself to drive at least short trips in the neighborhood. that might be OK but strictly no long trips or highway driving.

Postby maj. tom » November 17th, 2023, 4:29 pm

Sounds reasonable enough the local driving. No highway. And do as much as your mom wants in terms of travelling and groceries, etc. so she won't need to do much driving. When your parents are getting older you have to find yourself taking up a lot of tasks and responsibilities for them. And you owe them that because they did it for you when you were a kid. Our culture (generally) is not one where parents abandon their children to the world as soon as they turn 18, or then throw parents in a hospice care home once they retire. So it's our turn to take care of them. At least that's how I look at my family's life. And the day may come too when you have to wipe their ass and feed them, don't forget they did it for you when you were a baby. Reality and truths about life that we have to face.