Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Re: Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2021, 9:33 pm

that is a blessing as you get a next new one

VexXx Dogg wrote:I call blight on myself yes.

Alpha tanked after 14 months.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 29th, 2021, 12:35 am

So the criteria to keep your battery warranty (typically 18mths) is to have your vehicle’s battery/alternator checked every 3 or so months by the authorized reseller. Question is, how much of us actually do that?

Also point to note:

I understand when one acquires a new vehicle, the battery warranty is usually less than the actual vehicle warranty period. If the OEM battery fails after say 11 months and your battery warranty indicates that you got a 24 month period, it means the dealership supplied replacement battery under the terms of the warranty agreement, whilst new, will only have a warranty that is valid for the remaining initial period, ie. In this example, 13 months!

Open to corrections, thanks.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 29th, 2021, 1:27 am

I put a new Yuasa in November last year and the fella tell me come get it checked out in April. I should probably get that done this week.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 29th, 2021, 4:53 am

Powermaster, track and rocket for decent warranty and price.
supercharged turbo wrote:Looking for a relatively inexpensive battery for a bluebird(Z16 engine).Xspower and Optima out of the budget,what allyuh recommend?Seeing Alpha Ex,YUASA,MAC,Power Master,Track,Rocket etc

Postby *KRONIK* » April 29th, 2021, 4:54 am

Team2lo2flo on the forums here.

Fuzz: 784-4284

They not cheap, FYI
TrinbagoMan wrote:where sells XS batteries, and at what price?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 29th, 2021, 4:56 am

I does do it....as in follow up with checks.

It worked good for me once or twice when the battery failed before time and i got a replacement (with no warranty though)
agent007 wrote:So the criteria to keep your battery warranty (typically 18mths) is to have your vehicle’s battery/alternator checked every 3 or so months by the authorized reseller. Question is, how much of us actually do that?

Also point to note:

I understand when one acquires a new vehicle, the battery warranty is usually less than the actual vehicle warranty period. If the OEM battery fails after say 11 months and your battery warranty indicates that you got a 24 month period, it means the dealership supplied replacement battery under the terms of the warranty agreement, whilst new, will only have a warranty that is valid for the remaining initial period, ie. In this example, 13 months!

Open to corrections, thanks.

Postby SR » April 29th, 2021, 7:02 pm

Somthing to note

Not everyone selling batteries honor the warranty

Postby hover11 » April 29th, 2021, 7:31 pm

Which one is better optima or XS?

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 29th, 2021, 7:31 pm

well we need to light them up through social media and consumer affairs! Who are these unethical dealers? :evil:

Postby 88sins » April 29th, 2021, 7:52 pm

SR wrote:Somthing to note

Not everyone selling batteries honor the warranty

Glad you mentioned this. Not really a problem if you buying from suppliers, but you will more see this kinda thing when dealing with authorized agents and resellers. They eh like to take the hit, because the replacement battery they have to give you to honor the warranty is a unit they could have sold.

If you don't go for them to check that your alternator charging and the condition of the battery during their scheduled maintenance, some of them will say that you voided the warranty and they not liable.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 29th, 2021, 8:05 pm

Track has a very good warranty service with roadside assistance

Postby 88sins » April 30th, 2021, 8:50 am

rebound wrote:Track has a very good warranty service with roadside assistance

For a company that makes an extremely shiddy battery, yes their warranty is good & they usually honor it whether or not you go to them for the routine service

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2021, 9:23 am

Most of those batteries come from Turkey. The battery plant that was supposed to be opening don't think it ever did.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 30th, 2021, 11:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I call blight on myself yes.

Alpha tanked after 14 months.
Same people dealing the alpha is the same past atlas battery dealer that made up the german brand with website and thing to sell their cheapo chinese LEDs.... Do with that as you may..

Postby aaron17 » May 1st, 2021, 8:52 am

Question ...are battery covers good?

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2021, 10:22 am

In Trinidad, heat is the culprit for shortening battery life.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 1st, 2021, 5:32 pm

Tuners, how about we group batteries?

Eg.

Lange Trinidad - Track
Massy ACL - turbo2001
Laughlin and DeGannes - Rocket
Active General Traders - AC Delco
AM Marketing - Yuasa
Battery Depot - Exide
Kamus - Bosch

Also, let us know which are the same:

Eg. Atlas and Aurora are the same made by Hankook.

Of course, corrections would be appreciated if I got stuff wrong.

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2021, 5:55 pm

Miatsu - Chamco
Die Hard/Superior American - SGI
Everyready - Pricesmart

hindian

Postby hindian » May 1st, 2021, 7:21 pm

I used to use Interstate batteries a lil while ago and I was cool with their performance 3-4 years bit apparently it's off the market now, can anyone say?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 1st, 2021, 7:53 pm

Have a red top optima going around 7 or 8 years, bought from fens.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 2nd, 2021, 9:17 pm

Track from gayahs on cipero street , did 22months normal, started slowly twice and I replaced it.
using a powermaster now, a lot cheaper than the track.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 2nd, 2021, 10:56 pm

agent007 wrote:Tuners, how about we group batteries?

Eg.

Lange Trinidad - Track
Massy ACL - turbo2001
Laughlin and DeGannes - Rocket
Active General Traders - AC Delco
AM Marketing - Yuasa
Battery Depot - Exide
Kamus - Bosch

Also, let us know which are the same:

Eg. Atlas and Aurora are the same made by Hankook.

Of course, corrections would be appreciated if I got stuff wrong.

Massy are also the dealers for Optima

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 2nd, 2021, 11:35 pm

Great stuff guys! Can a mod create a modified pg1 to house all pertinent info in one spot? I can help by providing some prices so we can use this thread strictly to talk about experiences with what's available out there. That way we can make more informed decisions. Duane et al, it's up to you all.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 3rd, 2021, 8:24 am

AM Marketing-Green Energy
Team 2lo2flo-XS Power

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2021, 8:57 am

Dave wrote:Most of those batteries come from Turkey. The battery plant that was supposed to be opening don't think it ever did.

incorrect
Lange bought a turn-key battery manufacturing plant, and it's fully operational in O'meara
All raw materials come from the supplier of the plant
Besides supplying the local market, they export regionally as well

Postby Dizzy28 » May 3rd, 2021, 9:11 am

September (knock on my plastic table) would make 3 years for the ACL Powermaster battery in my current ride. Already is the longest I ever got from an aftermarket battery. In my previous vehicle, a Lancer from the firm I got 3 years and 1 month with the battery that came with it.

In my first vehicle I replaced the original battery with Rocket twice and in each instance it lasted maybe two weeks after the 18 month warranty period ended. Ended up putting in an ACL battery which at that time offered 30 months warranty maybe about 3 months before selling the vehicle.

My father had a Powermaster in his car that gave him 6+ years. I would highly recommend ACL just based on my small sample size of data points.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » May 3rd, 2021, 9:16 am

I'm using an XS battery for my van an it going in 5 years the last XS battery gave me 5 years exact an failed its abit expensive but no issues at all

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2021, 9:39 am

Dave wrote:Most of those batteries come from Turkey. The battery plant that was supposed to be opening don't think it ever did.

incorrect
Lange bought a turn-key battery manufacturing plant, and it's fully operational in O'meara
Last two track batteries I had lasted inside the warranty period. They replaced the first time, no problem and I went with I different brand after the second failed.

Their warranty was good. But I wanted more reliability. This was last 3 years or so. So it seemed like I got two from the same bad batch, or design or manufacture technique.

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2021, 9:54 am

sMASH wrote:

incorrect
Last two track batteries I had lasted inside the warranty period. They replaced the first time, no problem and I went with I different brand after the second failed.

Their warranty was good. But I wanted more reliability. This was last 3 years or so. So it seemed like I got two from the same bad batch, or design or manufacture technique.

Over the years, I've bought Track, Power Master, Stinger and Eveready (Price Smart)
All gave god service. No matter the battery, any brand can fail, due to the inherent nature of lead acid batteries. As SR said, after-sales / warranty is more important than brand. That roadside delivery thing that Track offered made my wife a lifetime customer some years ago. Her battery died (Power master). She called Lange, and a rep came to her place of work and installed a new battery for her.
Me? I cheap as fk so all my cars have DIN batteries from Price Smart, and one has a Stinger because it needs a deep cycle battery.

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2021, 9:56 am

Dave wrote:In Trinidad, heat is the culprit for shortening battery life.

location has a lot to d with it as well. Cars with the battery mounted on the same side as the exhaust manifold for example, get more heat