Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Re: Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby aaron17 » July 13th, 2022, 2:51 pm

When i went to change my pops n/a car battery...i was surprised that it had Turbo in it.

Postby RedVEVO » July 14th, 2022, 2:08 am

Zalos wrote:I actually have some old batteries to sell.
Have a place buying in the west?

Call 742-8428

Batteries
Small $40
Medium $50
Large $60

https://www.facebook.com/pages/category ... 069742428/

Zalos

Postby Zalos » July 14th, 2022, 10:06 am

nice, thanks

Postby aaron17 » July 31st, 2022, 11:23 am

Since I put a new battery less than a month ago.. how long can it sit without starting vehicle? 2 weeks?
Nb.: I don't put on alarm

hindian

Postby hindian » July 31st, 2022, 12:26 pm

aaron17 wrote:Since I put a new battery less than a month ago.. how long can it sit without starting vehicle? 2 weeks?
Nb.: I don't put on alarm

I would say safely 2 weeks any longer than that I would invest in a trickle charger those 1amp slow charge types.

Postby 16 cycles » July 31st, 2022, 12:34 pm

AmpereHour rating of batt, current draw from circuit will help determine that.

I learnt there is a state of health metric for batteries as well and not all new batteries might have 100% SoH

State of Charge also...

Postby aaron17 » July 31st, 2022, 12:52 pm

ohhh.......

Postby maj. tom » September 6th, 2022, 9:01 pm

Car could not start this morning. Remote fob even couldn't unlock it. Had to use the cut key to open the driver door. Battery was a Honda Genuine and put in 2018 in Japan, so it had a good life. Reading was 8.8V

Called Track, man say $1090 for the Track brand battery.
Went to an auto supply shop about 3 km away with a maxi, PowerMaster $575. {steupssss at the Track price} A little bigger than the dead battery, but it fit perfect in the compartment. Starting nice. No problems so far. Lost a 10mm socket somewhere in the car though dunno where it fall nah, I spend a whole hour digging and couldn't even see a glint or hear it rattle. I finally buss two cuss and call that George yes.

Postby 88sins » September 7th, 2022, 12:46 am

You dodged a bullet there.
In my experience track is one of the worst batteries on the market. Used to use them, but when I had one fail after 8 months, and the replacement fail as well within the warranty period, and the next one fail as well again within the 18 month original warranty, I say to hell with them.

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2022, 5:09 am

88sins wrote:You dodged a bullet there.
In my experience track is one of the worst batteries on the market. Used to use them, but when I had one fail after 8 months, and the replacement fail as well within the warranty period, and the next one fail as well again within the 18 month original warranty, I say to hell with them.

They really went through a bad spell. I still like their after sales service the most. They not only stand by the warranty but they make things easy. Battery delivery etc.

Postby Dave » September 7th, 2022, 6:42 am

Miatsu or Power Master over Track in terms of Parts place battery.

If you have a subscription and can be inconvenienced Die Hard from Pricesmart.

Not sure what the views are on Alpha Ex, Mac and Ostin.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 7th, 2022, 6:48 am

I getting 3 and a half years from a Bosch S4 atm.(knocks on wood). Been hearing a lot of people complaining about warranty and after sales with these though. I put aside meh dinero for another already.

Postby gastly369 » September 7th, 2022, 6:52 am

Yellowtop making 7 years next year

Other vehicles have redtop between 1-5 years

5 year old red top pole was broken and friend repaired it... going strong 6 months like normal

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2022, 7:33 am

had a couple powermasters last over 2 years with high usage, they good and price decent.
massy is the dealer for them(shareholder here)

Postby Les Bain » September 7th, 2022, 9:16 am

A little TL;DR but it may help somebody.

Had a mystery power failure last year on the way to POS that had the garage and an auto electrician confused, especially as the battery was new at the time. By the time the wrecker brought my car to the garage, it making me look crazy cause the car turning on and running, no problem.

Exactly 1 year later, the problem indicators returned: power windows and wipers operating slowly, side mirrors folding and unfolding slowly, and one side partially unfolding. Also in the dash, the battery light wasn't turning off when the engine was running, and the emergency brake light wasn't turning off when the brake was disengaged. So I thought was the battery. Got a homie to buy one and bring it to me, then I went to the seller for them to check the installation and do the warranty. During the check they found something was off, and said I should get someone to check the alternator.

So I went back the same auto electrician who was stumped the year before, and it was the alternator. Luckily, it was a fix and not a replacement. So I want to see how the battery wear goes from now on, cause I used to get nearly 4 years then it seems this lingering alternator issue cut the lifespan by half.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 7th, 2022, 9:34 am

had a Die Hard in wife's corolla.
4+ years in and the reading on the battery tester was still rock solid.

I still swapped it out, didn't want it to die suddenly when she's parked in POS.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » September 7th, 2022, 10:11 am

Dave wrote:Miatsu or Power Master over Track in terms of Parts place battery.

If you have a subscription and can be inconvenienced Die Hard from Pricesmart.

Not sure what the views are on Alpha Ex, Mac and Ostin.
On a Alpha ex a few months now, so far so good, what sold me is the 24 month full replacement warranty everyone else was 12 or 18 months warranty

Replaced a Panasonic that came with the car from japan, almost throw it away when i got the car as it was weak and couldn't start the car, my old man take it out an charged it up, that battery lasted 5 years or so

Anyone know why we dont get those Panasonic batteries locally? I've never seen them selling anywhere

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 7th, 2022, 10:16 am

Think I had an alpha that took a crap after 11 months. Once cell just took a sheit on itself, so battery was only going up to 10v max.

Postby Gladiator » September 7th, 2022, 10:24 am

gastly369 wrote:Yellowtop making 7 years next year

Other vehicles have redtop between 1-5 years

5 year old red top pole was broken and friend repaired it... going strong 6 months like normal

Yeah... got 8 years on an optima yellow top also. Great battery...

Postby teems1 » September 7th, 2022, 11:02 am

BOSCH batteries work for exactly 36 months.

Postby Dave » September 7th, 2022, 11:15 am

I am trying a Red top and made a heat shield for it so will see if it was worth it.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 7th, 2022, 12:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I getting 3 and a half years from a Bosch S4 atm.(knocks on wood). Been hearing a lot of people complaining about warranty and after sales with these though. I put aside meh dinero for another already.

I had the same that lasted for 13 months. Talk about run around to get my battery even tho my document said it under warranty but kamus was saying differently. Ended up complaining to consumers affairs and kamus called soon after to tell me come for a replacement

Postby gastly369 » September 7th, 2022, 12:38 pm

Dave wrote:I am trying a Red top and made a heat shield for it so will see if it was worth it.
Have a heat shield on one of mines(very hot engine bay) but it's the newest one got so can't say yet...
battery eh make a year yet but working fine

Plans is to to. Battery relocation to trunk the proper way that is

Postby Dave » September 7th, 2022, 3:22 pm

I always heat shield for the most part ...every little counts I hope lol.

Postby redmanjp » September 7th, 2022, 7:13 pm

pugboy wrote:had a couple powermasters last over 2 years with high usage, they good and price decent.

do gas stations carry them? i work late often into the night and sometimes i wonder if my battery will go when everywhere close :roll:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 7th, 2022, 7:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:had a couple powermasters last over 2 years with high usage, they good and price decent.

do gas stations carry them? i work late often into the night and sometimes i wonder if my battery will go when everywhere close :roll:

I have seen some of the Quik Shoppes up north sell Power Master batteries.

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2022, 7:40 pm

you dont know the age of your battery ?
its pretty much a given that batteries last exactly on their warranty
so just get it load tested by any battery center a few months beforehand to get an idea.

redmanjp wrote:

Postby nervewrecker » September 9th, 2022, 5:57 am

5 years plus on my XS power D1200

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » November 15th, 2022, 2:25 am

I need to buy a battery. I was just going to buy a power master but I see Massy also sells Varta.

Anyone has experience with Varta?

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2022, 4:04 am

Varta not bad for a cheap battery. They ain't the best, be not the worst either.