Police using sirens to bypass traffic but no emergency

stikid09

Police using sirens to bypass traffic but no emergency

Postby stikid09 » March 29th, 2018, 10:04 am

Charlotte Street. The shrill wail of a siren assails shoppers, motorists and pedestrians as a lone Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force vehicle bores a hole through the thick traffic, forcing drivers to hastily squeeze to the far edges of the road, making room where there is none.

I have experience of questionable use of the siren by politicians, both newbies and veterans alike. I have experience of police drivers going for doubles, siren on full blast. I have experience of Fire Service officers with civilians in their vehicles clearing a path with their sirens.

Photo: A police vehicle equipped with flashing lights and siren.

But this is my first experience of a vehicle with a TTDF license plate being driven in this manner. I had always thought that the TTDF did not engage in such shenanigans. The scales have finally been removed from my eyes.

Is this chaos desirable, I wonder, inevitable? How are drivers supposed to respond, especially in standstill traffic where there is really no room for them to make way?

How does a citizen know that the use of a siren is legitimate, justified? Where can (s)he find a listing of the conditions under which sirens are to be used? Does one exist? Is it merely at the discretion of the proud politician in the back seat or the peewat policeman, fireman or soldier who happens to be behind the wheel, uniformed or not?

If no such listing exists, are we not allowing—not to say encouraging—the blatant abuse now almost routinely visited on the road-using public?

I remain unconvinced that Monday’s Charlotte Street episode was necessary, legitimate or above suspicion. Well aware of the systemic necessity of what was happening across town at NAPA, as I viewed the tangle left in the wake of the siren-blaring TTDF vehicle, I found myself focused instead on the widespread systemic collapse we in T&T are experiencing.

Most—if not all—of our problems, have their roots, I heard myself thinking, either in the absence of appropriate systems, processes and procedures or in the shocking uncensored disregard for the ones that do in fact exist.

Photo: Newly sworn-in President Paula-Mae Weekes (right) is applauded by Prime Minister Keith Rowley (centre) as Chief Justice Ivor Archie looks on.

In general, citizens will follow where their leaders lead, will pattern their behaviour after the behaviour of their leaders. In Trinidad and Tobago, it appears, those in charge are blissfully unaware of the concept of leadership by example; they seem completely incapable of providing the good examples that our citizens desperately need.

It must be clear to all and sundry that, if the people you lead see you taking advantage of your position to enjoy some benefits, it becomes easier for the (wo)man-in-the-street to rationalise his own indiscretions, to decide that, in comparison to what the big boys are getting away with, what (s)he does is small potatoes, “small ting” and, therefore, okay.

And so we have the upward spiral, which sees the once minor indiscretions working their way consistently towards the top. And the instances of inappropriate behaviour are exacerbated by the absence of consequences; people are so convinced that nothing will come of any of their indiscretions that bandits no longer feel the need to conceal their features by wearing masks.

Even if we can’t arrest the perpetrators of these most heinous crimes we see ritually reported in the media, we might at least attempt to arrest the negative trends. The bandits, after all, are in the minority—still!—and the majority of the population is as hungry for positive change as we are for honest, decent governance in all spheres.

The dissemination of vital information is a good place to start and our leaders would do well to level the playing field and let us all know the rules of the game.

Photo: Minister of Communications and Public Administration Maxie Cuffie, about whose health challenges Government has not been very forthcoming with information.
(Courtesy Ministry of Communications)

So, I think I can safely say, on behalf of the road-using public that we will all welcome some clear guidelines about the use of sirens, whether they be on black official SUVs or TTDF vehicles or Fire Service appliances or police cars, marked or unmarked.

Not condemning, just commenting.

Source: https://wired868.com/2018/03/26/not-con ... d-society/

Re: Police using sirens to bypass traffic but no emergency

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2018, 10:15 am

perhaps the siren should be linked a a computer which logs all use of it, then a senior officer check regularly to see if there's any use and compare it to calls received over radio etc.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 29th, 2018, 10:17 am

People expect them to eat cold roti in the station??

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 29th, 2018, 10:44 am

same thing with the Ambulance

Postby Redman » March 29th, 2018, 11:00 am

redmanjp wrote:perhaps the siren should be linked a a computer which logs all use of it, then a senior officer check regularly to see if there's any use and compare it to calls received over radio etc.

well I would love to see a site called www.dotishpolicetnt.com
and let the genetically predisposed macco Trini with the ubiquitous camera phone put TTPS vehicles on blast.
Park up on the pavement,Lights to get through traffic, dark tint,dotish park,park by a bar.....just capture time,place and plates....force TTPS seniors to start answering-it will bleed down fast.

Social media is perfect for that.

The real answer is patrol car management systems that track what the vehicle is doing- but I feel most of the TTPS dont want that kinda transparency.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 29th, 2018, 12:31 pm

the only people I doh mind using the siren and beating traffic is fire...

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 29th, 2018, 12:54 pm

I have a question. If an emergency vehicle hit/makes contact with a private vehicle say your car, what's the procedure? Make a report to the police station and then what?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 29th, 2018, 1:11 pm

hope for the best^

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 29th, 2018, 2:06 pm

Ttdf vehicle......yet heading is ttps...i say ignore sirens, however dont complain when a relative or yourselves needs emergency response and they stuck in traffic. I just observed a fire truck struggling to turn into a street because a jackass decided to park too close to the corner

Postby 16 cycles » March 29th, 2018, 3:01 pm

Private vehicles of some LOs have lights and sirens and are used to bypass traffic...

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2018, 3:09 pm

An half ah allyuh does cut the doubles line??

Allyuh not always trying a smart shot somewhere? Any ah allyuh following the speed limit? Not littering? What about closing the mouth?? Allyuh could ever stand up in an orderly fashion?? Steups.

Hear that siren comin an just get the FO of the way.

Postby black start » March 29th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Welcome to sweet tnt

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 29th, 2018, 10:29 pm

Police using sirens to bypass traffic is something that would never be stopped...ttps have so much other problems than this...

Bottom line: ttps protected by to many laws hence the reason they could get away with anything...until men start getting instant dismissal as opposed to suspended with pay we just have to take it een

Bienvenidos a t&t

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 29th, 2018, 11:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:An half ah allyuh does cut the doubles line??

Allyuh not always trying a smart shot somewhere? Any ah allyuh following the speed limit? Not littering? What about closing the mouth?? Allyuh could ever stand up in an orderly fashion?? Steups.

Hear that siren comin an just get the FO of the way.
I do all off the above, so do others, just because you may do those things, don't mean other ppl do too buddy.

Postby rollingstock » March 31st, 2018, 2:47 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police using sirens to bypass traffic is something that would never be stopped...ttps have so much other problems than this...

Bottom line: ttps protected by to many laws hence the reason they could get away with anything...until men start getting instant dismissal as opposed to suspended with pay we just have to take it een

Bienvenidos a t&t

You're always harping on police on suspension
It's like a mantra with you.

Did a suspended police fcuk your gyul?
Or did he break your heart?

Postby rspann » March 31st, 2018, 4:02 am

A police vehicle should never be tied up in traffic. They should be always free to use the siren to get out and be free to be used for what they were intended for . Having a vehicle and an officer /officers tied up in traffic is wasting resources.
A fire services vehicle is the same. Imagine a fire tender stuck in traffic somewhere and an emergency call comes in.......

Postby skylinechild » March 31st, 2018, 8:57 am

rspann wrote:A police vehicle should never be tied up in traffic. They should be always free to use the siren to get out and be free to be used for what they were intended for . Having a vehicle and an officer /officers tied up in traffic is wasting resources.
A fire services vehicle is the same. Imagine a fire tender stuck in traffic somewhere and an emergency call comes in.......

agreed spann but the issue StiKid is trying to highlight is persons are misusing the siren without having an actual emergency

Postby rspann » March 31st, 2018, 9:05 am

I'm talking about when they not in an emergency. No need for them to be in traffic. They need to be back at base ,where they can be useful in case of an emergency.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 31st, 2018, 9:44 am

In Trinidad, officers belief they are the above the law and not "the law" so they are allowed to violate traffic laws at will. If traffic is too heavy use shoulder or they pull up to a long red light flip on emergency lights, blip the siren for a moment, then cruise through the light. There is a out cry about it but Why do they continue to do it? Because they think they can, although that's not a valid reason for it. There is a misguided sense of entitlement, or a basic misunderstanding of their authority as an officer. If the officer has a valid reason for disobeying the traffic light or other law, there's no problem. If the officer is doing so without a good reason, the officer could be reprimanded or sent back to barracks to be retrained. But like all other things in this country the law is not fully enforced but we know not to break them when we gone America. If these same officers went to work with a police service in the states they wont dare abuse their power. In the US, many states allow officers to violate traffic laws only when responding to a call for service or while pursuing an offender. If the officer is not responding to a call or chasing after an offender, s/he should be obeying traffic laws just like everyone else period.

Postby redmanjp » March 31st, 2018, 7:54 pm

rspann wrote:I'm talking about when they not in an emergency. No need for them to be in traffic. They need to be back at base ,where they can be useful in case of an emergency.

Stand still traffic is one thing but even when it moving they using it

Postby eliteauto » March 31st, 2018, 8:56 pm

epic salinity

Postby Redman » March 31st, 2018, 9:07 pm

rspann wrote:I'm talking about when they not in an emergency. No need for them to be in traffic. They need to be back at base ,where they can be useful in case of an emergency.

What are the guidelines or rules or standing order s that govern this behaviour.

Is traffic an acceptable reason to use the sirens?

Postby MaxPower » March 31st, 2018, 9:43 pm

Friends, i think we should at least try to remain calm in this matter..

Proceed

Postby rspann » March 31st, 2018, 9:49 pm

So they in the traffic waiting ,because it's not an emergency. The emergency call comes in to the station, but there are no units available. Also two or three officers idle in the traffic. Makes a lot of sense.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 31st, 2018, 9:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police using sirens to bypass traffic is something that would never be stopped...ttps have so much other problems than this...

Bienvenidos a t&t

It is exactly what the fck is wrong with ttps in the first place...daz the only sort of disciplinary action you all get...like it does something positive..

Postby rollingstock » March 31st, 2018, 10:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Bienvenidos a t&t

It is exactly what the fck is wrong with ttps in the first place...daz the only sort of disciplinary action you all get...like it does something positive..

You know this how?
Does the concept of justice escape you?
What do you suggest?
If an allegation of wrongdoing is made its must be investigated to prove whether it is genuine or not. In the meantime do you think it feasible or even advisable to leave the subject of an investigation on active duty where they may continue the offence or be allowed to use the privileges of their job?
If the allegation had merit depending on the severity there are suitable penalties.

But if course it's difficult to ask a question or use some common sense, makes more sense to bump your gum.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 31st, 2018, 11:47 pm

Be real rs...the system and laws protecting ttps is total bs...how much years men does on suspension with pay and still win the case because of some idiotic excuse...

The moment ttps adopt the fire on spot rule you would see how the game would change..admister a pg every 3 years, fail the pg and have an instant dismissal...I bet you corruption within ttps would slowly but surely come to an end..

Ask yourself...do you really make a difference with the work you doing? Or you just in it for the paycheck as at least 75% of the force....

Do you speak the "oh I love my country" line and I'm trying to do the best when in fact not one arse is being done....we just spinning top in mud and until the higher authority admit that ttps has a lot to do with our crime problem...we are going nowhere and going there very fast...

Postby rollingstock » April 1st, 2018, 12:36 am

You read that idiocy you type?

Fire on the spot? Is that fair or conducive to proper expending of justice? It should be the same both sides not so?
Police plant a firearm on you, no questions asked, 5 years hard labor. No investigation, no hearing, no bail.
You agree with that?
Of course not.

And being a police is a job like any other, fcuk away with your love of country boolchit, it's a dangerous thankless job.

You're just spewing a pack of ass and hoping you sound intelligent. Baffle someone else with your bull sheit.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » April 1st, 2018, 2:18 am

Shakes yuh cannot battle corruption with means like instant dismissal.. but I get what yuh trying to say.. phase out all the corrupted ones to clean out the ttps.. but those corrupted ones would have intel on the entire ttps and that would pose a security threat. When they just get dismissed like that they would retaliate... it would stir up trouble that we do not need right now. The recent officers would not have any idea of the things that go on in the country... so we actually need the corrupt ones in the ttps.. but they need to have a change of heart if we want to move forward...

They have the right to provide an explanation and be investigated by the seniors before they come to an agreement on what are the consequences.

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2018, 6:23 am

get evidence, carry it to court, judge the person based on the evidence, then lock them up.