LGBT celebrate High Court ruling- to be appealed

Miktay

Re: LGBT celebrate High Court ruling on Buggery Law- to be appealed

Postby Miktay » July 24th, 2018, 9:36 am

One of JPs finest moments...as he exposes UK liberal hypocrisy & idiocy...

"In order to be able to think you have to risk being offensive"

Postby maj. tom » July 24th, 2018, 9:53 am

lol@ "the right to not be offended." What the ass, these people not living on Earth?

Postby 88sins » July 24th, 2018, 10:36 am

maj. tom wrote:lol@ "the right to not be offended." What the ass, these people not living on Earth?

these people are our neighbors, yours, mine, everybody's :lol:

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2018, 7:22 pm

So it have a pride parade tomorrow?

Postby 88sins » July 27th, 2018, 8:31 pm

dat eh funny eh

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2018, 10:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:So it have a pride parade tomorrow?
Tuner will be fairly dead tomorrow then!!

Postby Les Bain » July 27th, 2018, 10:12 pm

Remember that fable "pleasing everybody" about the man who journied into town to sell their donkey? That's the practicality of the right to not be offended.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 28th, 2018, 11:44 am

This ....
FB_IMG_1531265426934.jpg

Daran

Postby Daran » July 28th, 2018, 11:52 am

Premchand1976 wrote:This ....FB_IMG_1531265426934.jpg

Trinis to a freaking T

Postby hydroep » July 29th, 2018, 7:38 am

Not to long ago there were certain members on this forum who claimed this case was about nothing more than equal rights for consenting adults. They insinuated that claims of it "leading to something more" was just fear mongering among backward thinking, homophobic, religious zealots.

Notice how all of dem backside gone quiet now...

‘We are part of TT’

LGBTQI community hosts country’s first gay pride parade
7 Hrs Ago Corey Connelly

Inspired by the ground-breaking Supreme Court ruling, in April, which deemed TTs sodomy law unconstitutional, members of the LGBTQI community yesterday took to the streets of Port-of-Spain in the country’s first-ever gay pride parade.

The parade, which was preceded by a health fair at Nelson Mandela Park, St Clair, attracted members of LGBTQI organisations and other civil society groups and individuals from throughout the country.

It culminated six weeks of activities organised by the TT Pride Arts Festival Committee to create a heightened awareness of issues affecting members of the community.

Activities were held at the Little Carib Theatre, Woodbrook, and other cultural spaces.

Colin Robinson, head of the Coalition Advocating for Inclusion of Sexual Orientation (CAISO), said the event was long overdue.

“We have Emancipation parade. We have all kinds of other parade. We’ve been celebrating pride for over 30 years,” he told Sunday Newsday.

“It (parade) has happened in Guyana and Barbados. It is not a novelty. It is not a spectacle any more. We are part of the nation. The laws and the Government need to catch up with us.”

Robinson said people felt encouraged by the High Court ruling, “People felt especially emboldened this year, I think, by the fact that the courts and the President (Paula-Mae Weekes) did something really bold to say that we are included in the nation, something the Equal Opportunity Commission and its chair have been saying for the past four years.”

Robinson said he was particularly impressed by the large number of young people at the event.

“Young people are telling the nation that they are part of it and that they are existing in this space to be a citizen like anybody else. It is really a generation imagining things my generation couldn’t.”

Asked what he hoped would be the message in the march, Robinson said: “Love.”

Kennedy Maharaj, chief administrative officer, Silver Lining Foundation, hailed the event as a watershed moment for the LGBTQI community.

“We have finally reached a point in our country where we can have an open LGBT pride event that speaks to how far we have come as a country, as a society and more so, as a people,” he said.

“That is what we value as success here, the fact that we can be out an open and have this kind of event, that is what we are banking on.

“The visibility we share here, today, is going to shine a light on the issues that LGBTI people face, that so many people want to stifle and keep us in the closet and don’t want to deal with to find the kind of solutions we are looking for.”

Chairman of the TT Pride Arts Festival Committee Rudolph Hanamji said he was delighted to be a part of the history-making event. He said members of the community simply wanted the same respect and acceptance accorded to other groups in the society.

“The main message is that the LGBTQI community is just like any other community in TT and we simply want to exist and enjoy our human rights and that we are here contributing to TT and that we are also supported by many allies who don’t belong to the community.

“So, we are hoping other people would see this and come on board, reflect upon it and not give in to feelings of fear and hate and prejudice and remove violence from their thoughts as well.”

Social activist Verna St Rose-Greaves and former UNC minister Stephen Cadiz attended the health fair at yesterday’s event.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/28/we-are-part-of-tt/

buscax

Postby buscax » July 29th, 2018, 9:04 am

This thread still active???
It's not that we went quiet...arguing with fools is like a dog returning to its vomit.
After the second admonition one should reject a divisive man for there is no profit to be gained.

Postby bluefete » July 29th, 2018, 1:20 pm

I confused.

(1) Does the sodomy law have to do exclusively with gay people?

(2) Or did it apply to men and women as well?

If (2), why all the celebrating from the alphabet people?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 29th, 2018, 4:51 pm

Because is Koko sharing, bumsee bunnin and no jailing

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » July 30th, 2018, 7:46 pm

K74T wrote:
[b][size=150]

ah kno some random weirdo gonna have a issue wit dis point eh,
allyuh eh find dat ting in d blue & yellow costume lookin a lil overly mannish for a supposed female model?

is probably the lack of hips, the one next to she look like Bescrete do she foundation.

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2018, 12:48 am

I hope the health fare told them about the high risks of anal sex

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2018, 6:11 am

QuietGiant wrote:
K74T wrote:
[size=150]

ah kno some random weirdo gonna have a issue wit dis point eh,
allyuh eh find [b]dat ting in d blue & yellow costume
lookin a lil overly mannish for a supposed female model?

is probably the lack of hips, the one next to she look like Bescrete do she foundation.

Avionne Mark, Ms T&T 2012.

Postby hydroep » July 31st, 2018, 10:04 am

It's heartening to see those against the normalization of these alternative lifestyles continue to speak out despite the less than cunning attempts to silence them. It's going to be an uphill battle since it appears that a growing number of influential persons (Judges et al) are becoming sympathetic to the movement.

Churches knock gay pride parade
8 Hrs Ago Vashtee Achibar

EVANGELICAL CHRISTIAN churches are calling Saturday’s gay pride parade in Port of Spain a serious wake up call for the churches. They are also warning that the gay lifestyle is a threat to the family structure and would eventually destroy the nation.

The various church leaders said they are not raising their voices in condemnation but speaking the truth in love. They said they are also open to ministering and counselling members of the LGBTQI+ community.

In sharp contrast was Roman Catholic Archbishop Jason Gordon who said the LGBTQI+ community has legitimate concerns which must be taken seriously by the country, the Government and people of TT. His response was shared via the Archdiocese of Port of Spain’s Facebook page yesterday.

On Saturday, for the first time in TT, scores of people from the LGBTQI+ community participated in a gay pride parade at the Nelson Mandela Park in Port of Spain .

President of the TT Evangelical Council of Churches, Rev Desmond Austin, which represents over 40 evangelical churches, says while freedom of expression is guaranteed under the Constitution a difference must be made between a right and a fundamental right. He called the parade part of a global cultural shift and said TT should not be surprised that it has come home.

He said he is concerned about the idea that people feel that they can use everything under the sun and feel that government, church and the people must bow to these rights .

“Now people want rights that are not fundamental and is based on orientation which basically is a choice, because there is no empirical evidence that backs up the notion of what is called sexual orientation, none whatsoever. The evidence is nowhere that people by nature are born that way.”

Agreeing with Austin was director of the Trinidad School of Preaching and Teaching, Dominic Dos Santos. He said the gay lifestyle is not appropriate and is a challenge to the Christian community.

He said there is no war between the churches and the LGBTQI+ community and that the parade is all about advertising and recruiting members because there cannot be any reproduction taking place in a gay lifestyle.

“That to me is the core of the war – they want us to accept it, that they alone are being infringed. They take up this position socially and isolate themselves that everybody is against them, but what they are practising is against normal social operations.”

Outspoken Seventh day Adventist pastor Clive Dottin called the parade “worrying” and said it is a sign for the churches to wake from their slumber to deal with the issue.

Dottin said the gay pride parade shows the church has taken too much for granted and must become more aggressive on what the Bible teaches.

Bishop Keith Ramdass of the Redemption Worship Centre in Chaguanas said while everyone has freedom to express themselves, the country as a whole has a right to determine the values it wants to promote and not a group such as the LGBTQI or any other group.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/31/churches-knock-gay-pride-parade/

Postby Dizzy28 » July 31st, 2018, 10:47 am

^ Evangelical churches are so full of sheit.

I would take them a little more seriously if they weren't always too concerned with saving the souls of non Christians from eternal damnation r.e. only study what other religions doing.

On Divali day Evangelical Churches in my area drop pamphlets decrying Hindus and I have been to funerals of family members who are evangelical where and essentially the pastor/prophet/apostle (whatever ther name they like to give to themselves) bashed Roman Catholics for their funeral rituals.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 31st, 2018, 11:40 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Evangelical churches are so full of sheit.

I would take them a little more seriously if they weren't always too concerned with saving the souls of non Christians from eternal damnation r.e. only study what other religions doing.

On Divali day Evangelical Churches in my area drop pamphlets decrying Hindus and I have been to funerals of family members who are evangelical where and essentially the pastor/prophet/apostle (whatever ther name they like to give to themselves) bashed Roman Catholics for their funeral rituals.
Sh!t I thought was only in my area that they did that crap too.Even more bold they use a loud speaker & rant & rave, calling hindus devil worshippers etc

Postby aaron17 » July 31st, 2018, 2:34 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:This ....
FB_IMG_1531265426934.jpg
You forgot the donkey riding them..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 31st, 2018, 4:09 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:This ....
FB_IMG_1531265426934.jpg
You forgot the donkey riding them..

And those who love the donkey as well as those who identify as donkeys

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 31st, 2018, 4:11 pm

Lol

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2018, 10:18 pm

Ent! Concentrate on your flock, not other people religion which precedes yours by centuries in some instances.

Postby The_Honourable » August 1st, 2018, 9:40 pm

Author and Islamic activist, David Muhammad, believes while those belonging to the LGBTQIA community are crying persecution for their lifestyle, people who openly take a heterosexual stance are also being persecuted for their position on homosexuality.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 1st, 2018, 9:48 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Author and Islamic activist, David Muhammad, believes while those belonging to the LGBTQIA community are crying persecution for their lifestyle, people who openly take a heterosexual stance are also being persecuted for their position on homosexuality.

Yes, of course everyone is free to have morally wrong beliefs, just don't use those beliefs to galvanize hate and prejudice for innocent people.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » August 2nd, 2018, 6:05 pm

Ent! Concentrate on your flock, not other people religion which precedes yours by centuries in some instances.

Some of them pastors (AND they brethren) can't even run they own damn household, have a shitty judgemental life, badmind against they OWN family members & not talking to some of them, yet they wanna preach peace & quick to point out where you lacking and what you 'need' in life. They own bible say to "Take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother's eye" yet the only thing they could remember is John 3:16.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 3rd, 2018, 7:25 am

reel pics circulating from that Parade- allyuh bess watch allyuh a55 literally, plenty past politishitians and outstanding business men apparently watching allyuh bamsea! one seta f@ggots roaming apparently.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 3rd, 2018, 1:39 pm

Study pedos adding themselves to ulyuh batty cause na

eitech

Postby eitech » August 3rd, 2018, 3:21 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Study pedos adding themselves to ulyuh batty cause na

https://www.facebook.com/stfnews/videos ... 094242725/

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2018, 5:31 pm

candieapple wrote:everybody shiuuld have rights

yep pedophiles are only 'minor attracted persons' who were born that way, give it 15-20 yrs see what go happen, same tactic that LGBT used- unless we stand up against it