Certificate of good character

Re: Certificate of good character

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2022, 12:49 pm

hover11 wrote:No revolution needed let the government continue taking us for c@nts

Shady procurement and mismanagement....typical government process
But yuh is a big big beneficiary of that...u not allowed to hate or complain

Postby hover11 » October 19th, 2022, 12:58 pm

Acting commissioner of police DCP Erla Christopher has said applicants for a certificate of character (CoC) will have to wait about three weeks to receive the documents.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 19th, 2022, 1:45 pm

I got the update last week that the consultant would be in the country this week repairing the machines. So seems they pushing. POS one back online. Chaguanas CID should be back on by Fri.

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2022, 1:53 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:I got the update last week that the consultant would be in the country this week repairing the machines. So seems they pushing. POS one back online. Chaguanas CID should be back on by Fri.

its really 1 server that the workstations connect to that had issues and i heard that its back up - not sure if the machines at the various stations have any issues.

Postby K74T » October 19th, 2022, 4:52 pm

TTPS: Certificate of Character Service Resumes

The processing of applications for the Certificate of Character (CoC) Service has resumed today, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) confirms.

The resumption comes on the heels of a disruption in service over the past few weeks which was caused by a system malfunction.

The TTPS is advising the public that there is currently a backlog of CoC applications which is engaging the attention of the Criminal Records Office to be cleared in the soonest possible timeframe.

New applications, however, are not expected to be impacted and should be processed within a three-week period.

Applicants are reminded that the application process begins online via the TTPS’ Website at www.ttps.gov.tt where appointment dates, times and stations are selected to facilitate the process.

The suspension of the walk-in service, which was discontinued prior to the height of the COVID-19 Pandemic, remains in effect.

The TTPS expresses its appreciation to the public who exercised patience and understanding as it resolved the disruption.

Corporate Communications Unit
October 19th, 2022

END

Postby hover11 » February 14th, 2023, 9:32 am

February 14th, 2023
MEDIA RELEASE

TTPS Certificate of Character Disruption

The Trinidad and Tobago Police (TTPS) wishes to inform members of the public that applications for Certificate of Character (CoC) services cannot be facilitated at this time, due to a system malfunction.

The TTPS is working to restore the system at this time to its optimal function.

The public will be updated as to when the CoC system is repaired.

The TTPS apologises for all inconveniences for the disruption in service and assures that all possible efforts are being made to remedy the situation in the shortest possible timeframe.

Corporate Communications Unit
February 14th, 2023

END

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2023, 9:38 am

dead CoC

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2023, 10:11 am

can you pay a “processing fee” to get expedite like ful?

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2023, 10:12 am

ful coc

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 6:48 am

While businesses complain about hiring people blindly as people cannot access Certificates of Character (CoC), the T&T Police Service (TTPS) says employers can use their area police stations to access referrals.

Read more...
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/dcp-emp ... 8c38e2320b

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 10th, 2023, 7:10 am

hover11 wrote:While businesses complain about hiring people blindly as people cannot access Certificates of Character (CoC), the T&T Police Service (TTPS) says employers can use their area police stations to access referrals.

Read more...
Like the fat affecting his brains because he is making no sense. How can an officer who doesnt know you recommend you. He feel is 1940 awah

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2023, 7:21 am

doh study that

rowlee on the golf course

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 7:30 am

Amazing we had hundreds of millions to spend on carnival but things that require the country to function we can't see the urgency to rectify but don't worry next year carnival budget allocation secured....

Postby Chimera » March 10th, 2023, 7:39 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
hover11 wrote:While businesses complain about hiring people blindly as people cannot access Certificates of Character (CoC), the T&T Police Service (TTPS) says employers can use their area police stations to access referrals.

Read more...
Like the fat affecting his brains because he is making no sense. How can an officer who doesnt know you recommend you. He feel is 1940 awah
I eh read the link but can't they type in your name or Id number and see if you have a record?

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2023, 8:29 am

a coc by definition probably requires a primal form of id
ie fingerprints

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 8:42 am

pugboy wrote:a coc by definition probably requires a primal form of id
ie fingerprints
Why isn't this fully computerized though, why ppl still have to roll their fingerprints in ink and wait two weeks

Postby adnj » March 10th, 2023, 8:47 am

Most countries don't fingerprint their citizens until they either apply for a passport or are taken into police custody.

That CoC looks like it's just a way for TTPS to build a database of fingerprints for everyone that has ever filled out an application in Trinidad.

Background checks are done by name and address. Fingerprints just assist in preventing applicants from using forged ID.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 10th, 2023, 9:18 am

adnj wrote:Most countries don't fingerprint their citizens until they either apply for a passport or are taken into police custody.

That CoC looks like it's just a way for TTPS to build a database of fingerprints for everyone that has ever filled out an application in Trinidad.

Background checks are done by name and address. Fingerprints just assist in preventing applicants from using forged ID.
But EVERYTIME you go for a COC is the same procedure
Either scan on the machine or ink & roll

I doh understand why, if they scanning your hand and taking your ID info, why they cant just store it
So next time you want a COC, they can pull up your name and check the record and givw you the COC 1 time

Postby Chimera » March 10th, 2023, 9:56 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:Most countries don't fingerprint their citizens until they either apply for a passport or are taken into police custody.

I doh understand why, if they scanning your hand and taking your ID info, why they cant just store it
So next time you want a COC, they can pull up your name and check the record and givw you the COC 1 time
Is the record "live" or up to date thought?

Do all random stations have access to the same database they have in pos? They probably need to do a revamp like what license office doing.

Postby sMASH » March 10th, 2023, 10:04 am

I had assumed that years ago, when they transitioned to electronic finger print scanning, they was moving to an electronic data base.

That might have been so, but as is normal, it wasnt maintained because the people in charge don't understand how to do that.

So. It devolved back the manual process, as they knew how to do that.

Basically an IT problem being managed by 3cxc level Mentality.

What the WHOLLLLLLLE govt need to do, is off load allllllll lol data processing and storage to database specialists. And let them manage how to store and access any data.

Leave the 3cxc people to merely make requests but have no input it to how it runs.

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 10:20 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Do all random stations have access to the same database they have in pos? They probably need to do a revamp like what license office doing.
The question is why aren't they doing this....not to say we don't have the money they just not spending it towards that. A COC is $50 if it has to be $100 to maintain a modern system where a COC can be processed in a day instead of two weeks.....why we not pushing for that

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2023, 10:25 am

there might be legal issues with letting a third party civilian handle fingerprinting

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 10:32 am

pugboy wrote:there might be legal issues with letting a third party civilian handle fingerprinting
Something hadda give because this is ppl livelihood , without a COC you can't get a job which requires it, you can't renew your taxi badge , the government can't recruit for the services because that is a requirement. Then they want to complain about crime

Postby adnj » March 10th, 2023, 10:37 am

hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

The question is why aren't they doing this....not to say we don't have the money they just not spending it towards that. A COC is $50 if it has to be $100 to maintain a modern system where a COC can be processed in a day instead of two weeks.....why we not pushing for that
What's the hurry with a CoC?

You need to file an (INSERT YOUR NEED OR APPLICATION NAME HERE).

You wait six weeks for the CoC to return.

Your application is made and now you need to wait four weeks for a response.
You check on your application and they say call back in four weeks.
You check on your application every four weeks and after six or eight months have passed, you find that a new CoC is required for the application.

The core issue is not the CoC process

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 10:40 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

You check on your application every four weeks and after six or eight months have passed, you find that a new CoC is required for the application.

Six weeks for a COC in 2023 and you comfortable with that

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2023, 10:43 am

nothing gives in govt service and far less authoritarian service like police

hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:there might be legal issues with letting a third party civilian handle fingerprinting
Something hadda give because this is ppl livelihood , without a COC you can't get a job which requires it, you can't renew your taxi badge , the government can't recruit for the services because that is a requirement. Then they want to complain about crime

Postby Chimera » March 10th, 2023, 10:50 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Fix it na.

Postby hover11 » March 10th, 2023, 10:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Fix it na.
That above my pay grade

Postby adnj » March 10th, 2023, 10:58 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

A US FBI background check requires five to six weeks.

With all the CoCs issued, crime is still highest in the world.
The CoC system isn't the core issue.

Postby Chimera » March 10th, 2023, 11:04 am

i guess realistically the amount of staff assigned to deal with COC isnt enough

because if you good with a police officer or two you could get a COC in 2 or 3 days