Delete

greedyspeedy

Delete

Postby greedyspeedy » April 24th, 2018, 1:28 am

Delete
Last edited by greedyspeedy on May 9th, 2019, 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Anyone ever accquire land by adverse possesion

Postby Les Bain » April 24th, 2018, 5:22 am

I thought you meant like killing family to get land.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 7:07 am

So Op ,you want the people land for free? Nice name tho.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 24th, 2018, 7:20 am

To my knowing, you could be living 100 years on D land, once a deed is presented, you cud get kicked Out

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 7:40 am

Adverse possession has to satisfy certain criteria. If any are not satisfied, then it's not adverse possession. The other side of the coin ,is that the owner feels he can get $6.8 m (80,000square ft @$85) ,what do you think someone can do to retain their property that has such a high value?

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2018, 7:42 am

Squatters eh. disgusting pests.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 7:48 am

nervewrecker wrote:Squatters eh. disgusting pests.

I agree. While other people working hard and paying for land. Others want to just take ,and bully the true owners for their property. Imagine op admits that there is an owner, know who he is ,and wants to still usurp the man's land. That's the reason you sometimes see people get killed and nobody knows why.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 24th, 2018, 7:51 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:To my knowing, you could be living 100 years on D land, once a deed is presented, you cud get kicked Out

not really, this country's stupid squatter's rights laws actually says that if someone living on land more than (I think the number is 7) 7 years (with or without the owner's knowledge), that they have some kind of entitlement. Cant remember the specific details, but I just remember that it is a VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY STUPID law. If I have my deed for my land, it should my land. Talk done.

Anyway OP, if the land does not belong to you, and the legal owner now has other plans for HIS OWN PROPERTY, it matters not how long you live on it, or how it affects your livelihood, that's your problem. He has his land and can sell it for a billion dollars, its his land talk done. During that 31 years you lived there you should have put things in place to get your own legal property, and if the owner never wanted, or never had intention of selling, you should have gone elsewhere. That's not his problem, its yours. You don't know by what means he acquired that land (family gift, worked hard and bought, etc.) so it is very unfair you try to force him to hand over/ sell you the land.
Anyway that's just my opinion.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 24th, 2018, 7:53 am

rspann wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Squatters eh. disgusting pests.

I agree. While other people working hard and paying for land. Others want to just take ,and bully the true owners for their property. Imagine op admits that there is an owner, know who he is ,and wants to still usurp the man's land. That's the reason you sometimes see people get killed and nobody knows why.

FYI OP name greedyspeedy........

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 8:14 am

Why you think I tell him I like the name in my first post?

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 8:16 am

If he was allowed there by the owner, he cannot claim adverse possession. I suspect if he knows who the owner is, he was allowed to use it. I'll post the laws in a while.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 24th, 2018, 9:45 am

What about living in caroni land (rental)?

Postby The_Honourable » April 24th, 2018, 11:05 am

greedyspeedy wrote:Good day all anyone ever accquire land by adverse possesion i need some advice ive been living on a 2acre agriculture property for 31 years but owner wants to sell for 85 per sq i dont know which drugs he on because a valuation was done by linden scott and accociates for 20 per sf agriculture is my main income hence i need the property i have need been served with any evictions so i decided to go to the courts which is pending if anyone ever was in similar situation and succeed any advice appreciated

OP do you know if he successfully re-purposed the land and got T&C approval? If so, that linden scott report would not matter anymore and a new valuation have to be done. How old is the report?

Adverse possession, commonly referred to as “squatters rights,” is a legal rule that allows the occupier of a piece of land to obtain ownership of it if they can prove uninterrupted and exclusive possession of the land of another for at least 16 years in. Since you was there for 31 years, you should have applied since 2003.

Adverse Possession not as easy as it once was. That law was abused to the point amendments had to be made in Parliament. Besides that, it will be even harder since you know who the owner is, he is very active on the land and both of you have a pending court matter.

You would not get that land juss so. You have to get a Surveyor's report, Witness declarations and Warden's office report. Even if you get thru there, the court will want a report from an appointed On Site Investigator and the Registrar General's Office. If the On Site Investigator bounce up with the owner, you're done and money waste. If the Registrar General finds any court matters relating to the property on their system like a recent Lis Pendens or Caveat, you're done.

Now let's say you lucky enough to get thru with all dem reports. Court will tell you to put up a notice on the property, serve the owner and advertise on two daily newspapers, 1 week for each. Since you know the owner, communicate with him and he's active on the land meaning you can serve him, you're done. If he or his family sees the notice on the land or in the newspapers, you're done. Doh play you lying in court documents because if the owners finds out and pursue the matter, you going to jail for perjury.

All i can say is that you should buy a lil 2 lots on and around your house from the owner, get a deed and humble yourself. The whole 2 acres you want? Then again allyuh going to court so that deal could be done there. If he not right in his head, expect a pile of ash when yuh come home one day.

Postby crazybalhead » April 24th, 2018, 11:41 am

Great response there.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 24th, 2018, 11:48 am

is either yall come to some agreement for the sale of the property you need or yuh bounce out of d man place. your choice

Postby The_Honourable » April 24th, 2018, 12:36 pm

Another thing, suppose the owner sells the land and the new owner is a facked up individual who have no time for you and court? One day you gone down d road and when you come back, a bulldozer on yuh roof.

You have money for attorney? Use that money and try to get a deed for a small 2 lots eh (subdivide)... or ride out.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 24th, 2018, 1:02 pm

Guys I don't think the OP can understand that what he is doing in unfair to the land owner. He clearly stated that Agriculture is his main source of income, so he 'NEEDS' the land (who cares what the rightful owner wants it for right?). Hence his mental justification. Being in a position to lose a lot, blocks your logical thought processes resulting in a unique medical condition called 'Dotish-itis'. A common condition found in squatter people.

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Id have bulldosed he mc property with him in it.

Postby Chimera » April 24th, 2018, 1:13 pm

watch this nasty muddac**t na

you living on a man land for 31 years, he now decide he want it back

and u outraged by this?
boy bounce yuh nasty BUGWAAANAAA from the man land eh

is to burn down allyuh house with everything inside one sunday morning when you go market

fight up in court to get back my land that this fcker using for 31 years....nah man

boxy

Postby boxy » April 24th, 2018, 1:40 pm

lol men getting real emotional on d scene.

Postby Chimera » April 24th, 2018, 1:48 pm

someone attempt that flabbergastery with us...for a piece of land in mayaro.....

not taking none of freaking that.

Anyone ever accquire land by adverse possesion

Postby MaxPower » April 24th, 2018, 1:59 pm

Greedyspeedy yuh nasty scum of a scamp...

U feel entitled ent? The land is yours ent? U are a disgusting squatter and you should be eradicated..

Boi when i think of people like you its to tie u to a grugrubef tree and beat yuh mc until u look like a roast tomato..

Yuh blasted pest yuh
Last edited by MaxPower on April 24th, 2018, 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 24th, 2018, 3:43 pm

You can't just thief ah man land just so, doh play dotish

Trying to bully people for their own thing isn't always going to work out for you because at some point the owner will snap and is bulldozer to yuh house. And even if yuh feel a bulldozer can't reach where the land located remember an Excavator going anywhere.

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2018, 3:54 pm

Tractor for rent

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Op,we yuh gorn. Like yuh don't want advice again? I would like somebody to put god out of their mind and squat on any land I own. They won't make thirty one days ,far less for thirty one years.

Postby The_Honourable » April 24th, 2018, 6:17 pm

Saw this on facebook! :D 8-)

SQUATTING - the act of individual/s unlawfully occupying another person’s land.

In Trinidad and Tobago, there are approximately 85,000 households squatting*. This number continues to grow as persons lose their land to squatters through adverse possession.

Is this happening to you?......What can be done?

L&S is capable of monitoring your land to indicate how long unwanted structures and crops were present.

In adverse possession, persons having land and even those living abroad owning land in Trinidad and Tobago can benefit from the solutions we have to offer. Learn more of how we can assist you.

#29 Harris Street, San Fernando
C: 868-483-0565 | T: 868-652-1314
Email: info@lssurvey.com
www.lssurvey.com

https://www.facebook.com/lssurvey/photo ... 318092188/
31131034_1885991324758854_313903835221327872_o.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2018, 6:19 pm

OPie one piece of advice
If you were paying any rent for the use of the property and have proof (receipts etc). There is an act in the "tenant law" allowing for the purchase of the property at half the market value of the land only. Thats probably the best deal you gonna get if the owner decides to sell.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 24th, 2018, 8:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Saw this on facebook! :D 8-)

SQUATTING - the act of individual/s unlawfully occupying another person’s land.

In Trinidad and Tobago, there are approximately 85,000 households squatting*. This number continues to grow as persons lose their land to squatters through adverse possession.

Is this happening to you?......What can be done?

L&S is capable of monitoring your land to indicate how long unwanted structures and crops were present.

In adverse possession, persons having land and even those living abroad owning land in Trinidad and Tobago can benefit from the solutions we have to offer. Learn more of how we can assist you.

#29 Harris Street, San Fernando
C: 868-483-0565 | T: 868-652-1314
Email: info@lssurvey.com
http://www.lssurvey.com

https://www.facebook.com/lssurvey/photo ... 318092188/

So you driving past the place once a year and writing them an eviction notice for how much thousands?

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » April 24th, 2018, 9:18 pm

Ok ok folks no need to get passionate about this..... any way guy who posted this, you must occupy the land for more than 16 years, you must be able to prove that you have been making use of the land and maintaining it of proper owners have not been looking after it, you must supply adequate proof for said period of time (i.e. Greater than 16 years). To further clarify, you must then apply for the property and note you still have to pay for it, it doesn't come free. Please consult a lawyer and don't rob anyone. NB if you have been asked to move from the property from the owners, you are trespassing illegally.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2018, 10:30 pm

Land Settlement can help because they have aerial photographs every couple of years, so they can verify how long a building or cultivation has been going on on any piece of land. So you can't just say you were there sixteen years when you now hitting three.