Race and Crime

Re: Race and Crime

Postby maj. tom » April 28th, 2023, 11:53 am

You all should take in this same discussion on r/Trinidadandtobago

PNM propaganda over the last 30 years working good for GenZ now.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 28th, 2023, 12:20 pm

Which thread?
maj. tom wrote:You all should take in this same discussion on r/Trinidadandtobago

PNM propaganda over the last 30 years working good for GenZ now.

Postby maj. tom » April 28th, 2023, 12:55 pm

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 28th, 2023, 1:15 pm

mero wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
Is this why I start to feel uncomfortable when I see someone (any race) in public wearing a white vest, (3/4) jeans, bandana and expensive sneakers or clarks that even I can't afford?

Maybe it's not 100% about race.

Lol this is very sad. Imagine living a life where u get bummy soon as u see someone in a vest and a 3/4s. Bess u stay inside yes. Have some good series to recommend to kill some time
And you can't afford a Clarks?

*checks clarksusa.com* Huh. Epiphany... I guess I can afford Clarks. Growing up, Clarks was always outside our budget. As an adult, I guess I never really adjusted that mentally. Huh. Re the vest/jeans thing... I have young kids. If its me alone it doesn't bother me as much. But when you're liming with your family in Maracas and the 4 or 5 of the rowdy-vest-crew shows up, you start to think it's time to roll.

All I'm suggesting is that race is not a causal variable. Race is a latent factor, and causal variables are geo-socioeconomic.

For example in the States, racism caused geo-socioeconomic exclusion, which leads to crime.
Or perhaps here in TT, Politics causes geo-socio-economic exclusion, which leads to crime.

Postby MaxPower » April 28th, 2023, 1:42 pm

Research Asian hate crimes.

Alot of them don’t have it easy at all.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 28th, 2023, 2:44 pm

To be clear, sometimes ppl conflate these two very different terms:

RACE: The term race refers to the concept of dividing people into populations or groups on the basis of various sets of physical characteristics (which usually result from genetic ancestry). Race presumes shared biological or genetic traits, whether actual or asserted. In the early 19th century, racial differences were ascribed significance in areas of intelligence, health, and personality. There is no evidence validating these ideas.

vs.

ETHNICITY: An ethnic group or ethnicity is a population group whose members identify with each other on the basis of common nationality or shared cultural traditions. Ethnicity connotes shared cultural traits and a shared group history. Some ethnic groups also share linguistic or religious traits, while others share a common group history but not a common language or religion.

https://www.diffen.com/difference/Ethnicity_vs_Race

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2023, 3:54 pm

not sometimes, more like most of the times
a bandit choosing to pick on chinese is likely not a chinese race hate issue
but they will want to say why accuse the bandits of being racist
but the point is that the bandits are choosing targets and there is nothing wrong with pointing that out

Postby Chimera » April 28th, 2023, 4:20 pm

i think they targetting where they know it have money

and it more likely to get $$$ from a chinee or indian house hold

and less likely to collect bullets than robbing other families

Postby Dizzy28 » April 28th, 2023, 4:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i think they targetting where they know it have money

The last CSO Household Income Survey said Afro-Trini households earn more than Indo-Trini households.
Do bandits know this?

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2023, 5:11 pm

FrankChag wrote:
mero wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
Is this why I start to feel uncomfortable when I see someone (any race) in public wearing a white vest, (3/4) jeans, bandana and expensive sneakers or clarks that even I can't afford?

Lol this is very sad. Imagine living a life where u get bummy soon as u see someone in a vest and a 3/4s. Bess u stay inside yes. Have some good series to recommend to kill some time

*checks clarksusa.com* Huh. Epiphany... I guess I can afford Clarks. Growing up, Clarks was always outside our budget. As an adult, I guess I never really adjusted that mentally. Huh. Re the vest/jeans thing... I have young kids. If its me alone it doesn't bother me as much. But when you're liming with your family in Maracas and the 4 or 5 of the rowdy-vest-crew shows up, you start to think it's time to roll.

All I'm suggesting is that race is not a causal variable. Race is a latent factor, and causal variables are geo-socioeconomic.

For example in the States, racism caused geo-socioeconomic exclusion, which leads to crime.
Or perhaps here in TT, Politics causes geo-socio-economic exclusion, which leads to crime.

I know is nothing personal and not bad-mindedness on your part, but really it is wrong to do what you describe. it is culturally insensitive (or "racial" in the local vernacular). Plenty normal good people wear white vest and clarks. That mode of dress is a cultural norm, not a gang uniform.

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2023, 5:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i think they targetting where they know it have money

"soft" targets as the police say in the media conference yesterday

:drinking:

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 28th, 2023, 5:59 pm

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 28th, 2023, 6:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
mero wrote:
FrankChag wrote:

I know is nothing personal and not bad-mindedness on your part, but really it is wrong to do what you describe. it is culturally insensitive (or "racial" in the local vernacular). Plenty normal good people wear white vest and clarks. That mode of dress is a cultural norm, not a gang uniform.

You're probably mostly right.
I'll work on it. But I have a strong selection bias on this one.
Especially when all 5 (in the Maracas situation above) were wearing the same thing: white vest and 3/4 jeans with bandanas. Buying Bake and Shark.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/three-m ... i-gang-act

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/gary-warns-warring-gangs/

https://www.facebook.com/PoliceServiceT ... 8351447830

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/gangsters-threat ... rget-cops/

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2023, 6:22 pm

is not about me being right. is about affording every individual you meet an equitable chance free of prejudice.

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2023, 6:26 pm

the modern position in social justice is to acknowledge your own cultural biases and consciously correct for them.

Postby eliteauto » April 28th, 2023, 7:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the modern position in social justice is to acknowledge your own cultural biases and consciously correct for them.

Does the "modern position in social justice" also acknowledge self-preservation?

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2023, 8:23 pm

the vest and jeans don't scare me. when I see a setta gold chain and bling, then is time to run

Postby redmanjp » April 28th, 2023, 8:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:the modern position in social justice is to acknowledge your own cultural biases and consciously correct for them.

Does the "modern position in social justice" also acknowledge self-preservation?

nah. if u cross d street in fear of being robbed u racist :roll:

Postby The_Honourable » April 30th, 2023, 3:09 pm

Rebuttal by David Muhammad

Is it fair to say that African people are the biggest criminals in T&T? Let's examine the facts.

1. Boysie Singh - First notorious and only serial killer in T&T
2. Shazard Khan (Teddy Mice) - Big fish drug dealer from El Socorro in the 1980s.
3. Raffick "Puna" Mohammed (Shazard's uncle) - Major criminal empire
4. Naim Naya Ali - San Juan fruit king drug lord (Mentioned in the Scott Drug Report)
5. Nankissoon Boodram (Dole Chadee) - Most notorious drug criminal

Multiple top level east indian drug lords using african employees for their dirty work.

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1437243633692620/

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 30th, 2023, 4:23 pm

6ixx outside

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2023, 4:43 pm

Biggest Vs most prevalent are two different issues
The_Honourable wrote:Rebuttal by David Muhammad

Is it fair to say that African people are the biggest criminals in T&T? Let's examine the facts.

2. Shazard Khan (Teddy Mice) - Big fish drug dealer from El Socorro in the 1980s.
4. Naim Naya Ali - San Juan fruit king drug lord (Mentioned in the Scott Drug Report)

Multiple top level east indian drug lords using african employees for their dirty work.

Postby gastly369 » April 30th, 2023, 4:48 pm

Cantmis wrote:6ixx outside
6ixx ft under....

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2023, 5:03 pm

race debates starting to hot up

Postby paid_influencer » April 30th, 2023, 5:20 pm

pugboy wrote:race debates starting to hot up

think this is the goal for the pnm. reframe whole families getting kill out and homes getting invaded into a race issue. hadda support your side and keep them racist indian out of govt

Postby alfa » April 30th, 2023, 5:24 pm

If Dr David could still be blaming slavery for societal ills in 2023 I guess boysie Singh and teddy from just a few decades ago is fair game to :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » April 30th, 2023, 5:26 pm

kamla not equipped to deal with these issues. facts. UNC is a dead horse. 2025 will go just like 2020 and 2015 lewwe BE REAL BE REAL. we only hope is to replace kamla somebody more adept at dealing with the pnm's expertise is weaponizing race saddam could do it

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2023, 5:28 pm

govts love to have ppl divided

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:race debates starting to hot up

think this is the goal for the pnm. reframe whole families getting kill out and homes getting invaded into a race issue. hadda support your side and keep them racist indian out of govt

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2023, 6:10 pm

Any surprise a man who has a notorious anti semite in his profile picture has such shiddy takes?

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2023, 11:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:kamla not equipped to deal with these issues. facts. UNC is a dead horse. 2025 will go just like 2020 and 2015 lewwe BE REAL BE REAL. we only hope is to replace kamla somebody more adept at dealing with the pnm's expertise is weaponizing race saddam could do it

X3000

PNM 2025 inches closer and closer

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 1st, 2023, 8:34 am

Put Sheron in this list as well please..

But note something eh.....
These men were the heads. The top bosses. :lol:

even in crime, the less melanated seem to come out on top.

Even robocop couldn't compare. What colour was his lambo?
It's time for my Melanated brothers step up to the challenge, doh let these Channa Enthusiasts and Gyro/Textile Enthusiasts step over you, CLAIM THE TOP OF THE PYRAMID. You can do it :) We believe in you :)

Unrelatedpicture donotopen