WTK VTM CARD

cracker

WTK VTM CARD

Postby cracker » September 24th, 2018, 5:34 pm

Ebay and amazon are not accepting vtm cards anyone encountering the same issue. Btw I am using a rbl card.

Re: WTK VTM CARD

Postby ismithx » September 24th, 2018, 6:09 pm

lol what? you sure you have money on your card?

Postby black start » September 24th, 2018, 6:22 pm

Used mines like 2 days ago....

cracker

Postby cracker » September 25th, 2018, 6:06 am

ismithx wrote:lol what? you sure you have money on your card?

Yes, i the problem was rectified. The conversion rate from tt to usd is much higher that i thought E.g., if an item cost 2o usd, you have to load approximately 26 USD on the vtm.

Postby ismithx » September 25th, 2018, 11:58 am

remember RBL also charges a commission on vtm loading... was that where your money disappeared?

cracker

Postby cracker » September 25th, 2018, 6:36 pm

ismithx wrote:remember RBL also charges a commission on vtm loading... was that where your money disappeared?
Could be i will have to check

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2018, 6:59 pm

cracker wrote:
ismithx wrote:lol what? you sure you have money on your card?

Yes, i the problem was rectified. The conversion rate from tt to usd is much higher that i thought E.g., if an item cost 2o usd, you have to load approximately 26 USD on the vtm.

No that’s not conversion rate. That may be a bank fee.

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 12:18 pm

hey how much money can i get transferred to my VTM card, and how soon if i go in personally to a RBL branch? through the app the limit is only US$100 but i wanted to buy something for Cyber Monday.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2019, 12:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:hey how much money can i get transferred to my VTM card, and how soon if i go in personally to a RBL branch? through the app the limit is only US$100 but i wanted to buy something for Cyber Monday.

The Republic VTM card holds up to US$5000 I believe.
If you take US$5000 to the bank they will put it on for you, the issue is getting US$ to purchase.

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 1:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:hey how much money can i get transferred to my VTM card, and how soon if i go in personally to a RBL branch? through the app the limit is only US$100 but i wanted to buy something for Cyber Monday.

If you take US$5000 to the bank they will put it on for you, the issue is getting US$ to purchase.

yeah that's the thing -- don't have US so they would have to approve and that might not happen today :(

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 2nd, 2019, 3:59 pm

you can load the card online with 100usd per day, paying in ttd

so it will take patience, but you can load the max on the card without having to actually source the physical usd

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2019, 4:30 pm

If you take US$5000 to the bank they will put it on for you
, the issue is getting US$ to purchase.

You would think that, and any normal rational person would as well. But the bank ain't a normal rational person.
They will buy it from you @ 6.10:1, then sell it back to you @ 6.7993:1. So if you really want the entire USD $1000 on the card, be prepared to spend an additional TTD $699.3, and then another TTD $78 for their loading fee.

Better keep your USD cash for when you travel.

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 4:36 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:you can load the card online with 100usd per day, paying in ttd

so it will take patience, but you can load the max on the card without having to actually source the physical usd

yeah i realize but it wasn't enough for a new Dell laptop as i would have had to start loading $100 each day since 2 weeks ago :lol:

If Dell still have cyber monday discount for the rest of the week i might decide to walk in to a branch tomorrow

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 4:39 pm

You would think that, and any normal rational person would as well. But the bank ain't a normal rational person.
They will buy it from you @ 6.10:1, then sell it back to you @ 6.7993:1. So if you really want the entire USD $1000 on the card, be prepared to spend an additional TTD $699.3, and then another TTD $78 for their loading fee.

lol they actually buy it & sell it back to you? i cud understand the loading fee but not a double exchange rate- if this going on there ought to be an association to complain to

wingnut

Postby wingnut » December 2nd, 2019, 4:42 pm

Yup. Can confirm d bank and their follies

Went to do a wire transfer, had the US$ cash

Bank buys ur US at their buy rate and sell it back to u at their sell rate jus to do the transfer

Mind u if u go in try to buy the US to wire transfer they have none to sell u

WTK VTM CARD

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2019, 6:06 pm

^ first I’m hearing of that. If you have US$ in your account that’s what they transfer. They don’t buy it and sell it back to you afaik. Unless that’s what they do with cash? Never heard of that.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 2nd, 2019, 6:59 pm

Yea

They did that with me a few time

Took my US as their buy rate and i had to pay the difference on theirnsell rate + loading fee

RBL MC

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2019, 7:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ first I’m hearing of that. If you have US$ in your account that’s what they transfer. They don’t buy it and sell it back to you afaik. Unless that’s what they do with cash? Never heard of that.

maybe their account is a TT$ account, so they cannot put US$ directly into it for wire transfer or vtm loading. in this case.

question: how difficult is it to get a us$ account if i have no proof of us$ income.

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2019, 7:53 pm

Just get a letter from a relative abroad saying they send money for u to take care of granny every month. That wud solve the no source of us funds issue

Postby MaxPower » December 2nd, 2019, 7:58 pm

Cyber Monday making allyuh go crazy...and desperate...shaking n shivering n sheit....

Calm down my friends

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2019, 7:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ first I’m hearing of that. If you have US$ in your account that’s what they transfer. They don’t buy it and sell it back to you afaik. Unless that’s what they do with cash? Never heard of that.

maybe their account is a TT$ account, so they cannot put US$ directly into it for wire transfer or vtm loading. in this case.

question: how difficult is it to get a us$ account if i have no proof of us$ income.

Doesn't matter. Could be taking in USD cash to pay to the USD side of your credit card, same process.
Is just a easy way for the bank to make a profit, for doing literally nothing.

Like I said, keep your USD cash for when you travel.

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 10:21 pm

Can anyone confirm if Wal-Mart website takes VTM cards?

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2019, 10:27 pm

VTM cards still around?

I took out one some years ago to do online purchases. Bank declined me a credit card as I was temporary staff.

Years later they offered me a credit card when I come to put money on the VTM card. I use it to do online purchases and just pay the bill online in TTD. Less stress to line up and buy USD to put on card.
Last edited by nervewrecker on December 2nd, 2019, 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 2nd, 2019, 10:45 pm

they renewing, but stopped issuing new ones

not sure if they restarted issuing new VTM cards due to our ongoing forex scene

mine was expired for over a year and they kept nudging me to renew it whenever i went in the bank in person, so i just paid the 10usd and did it

no regrets tbh