RIP The Original De Fosto

fozzy2010

RIP The Original De Fosto

Postby fozzy2010 » November 2nd, 2018, 1:40 pm

Veteran Calypsonian The Original De Fosto (Winston Scarborough) has died.

He passed away on Friday morning.

In May 2017 DeFosto was taken to the Mt Hope Hospital, due to complications with his kidneys and high blood pressure.

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper
DeFosto, then 62, had asked the population, his fans and calypso fraternity to keep praying for him.

In June this year, a benefit concert was held at the Southern Academy for the Performing Arts.

De Fosto was well enough to perform this week at the funeral for Calypsonian legend Winston "Shadow" Bailey.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 903f8.html

Re: RIP The Original De Fosto

Postby sMASH » November 2nd, 2018, 1:42 pm

the original one?

hard luck there folks, everyone has a season, them, u, i... everyone.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » November 2nd, 2018, 2:53 pm

He gone, nah boy, RIP, ah cah vote for dat.... Really hit me inna special red place. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby K74T » November 2nd, 2018, 3:27 pm

Rest in Peace

Postby hydroep » November 2nd, 2018, 4:52 pm

De arse is dis boy., one after the next so?...:shock:

R.I.P.

Postby toyolink » November 2nd, 2018, 5:49 pm

Whilst being interviewed a few months back, this master informed that his heart was failing but this would not deter him from doing what he loves...…...he performed at his benefit.
You are never prepared for this loss.
Again T&T suffers a loss in our cultural stock.
RIP, your contributions will not be forgotten.

Postby shogun » November 2nd, 2018, 6:08 pm

Bracing myself for when all we have left is "count to four" and "jump, wave and wine"

We need promising younger Calypsonians like Kurt Allen/Skatey and others to pick up the mantle and run with it.

R.I.P to The Original De Fosto Himself.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » November 2nd, 2018, 8:37 pm

shogun wrote:Bracing myself for when all we have left is "count to four" and "jump, wave and wine"

We need promising younger Calypsonians like Kurt Allen/Skatey and others to pick up the mantle and run with it.

R.I.P to The Original De Fosto Himself.

No disrespect to the greats, but I for one way prefer modern soca to calypso.

Postby shogun » November 2nd, 2018, 8:58 pm

Nothing to prefer.... one is/was actually derivative of the other. Consider it a branch on the same tree. Some of those "Greats" actually successfully blurred both.

I appreciate the balance of having both. The intended social commentary of Calypso/Calypsonians is just as important to me personally.