Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world

wickedtuna

Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world

Postby wickedtuna » November 20th, 2018, 4:42 pm

People across Trinidad have been complaining that the roads have more craters than the moon.

The road linking San Fernando to Mayaro has deteriorated to the extent that it is near impassable in parts of Ste Madeleine, St Charles, Churkoo Village, St Julien, Hindustan, Rio Claro and Agostini Village.

Secondary roads are in even worse condition.

In and around Couva, the potholes and landslips are causing daily bumper-to-bumper traffic.

The South Trunk Road linking San Fernando to Point Fortin has deteriorated to the point where users have blockaded it with burning debris in an attempt to force the State to repair it.

The Old Southern Main Road has deteriorated in Claxton Bay.

The SS Erin Road is an obstacle course.

The road leading from St Helena to Piarco International Airport is in ruins.

Most of the roads opened and restored in south and central Trinidad during the People’s Partnership regimes are now almost impassable.

So why have so many of the roads across the country seem to have deteriorated all at once?

Minister of Works and Transport Rohan Sinanan says it’s poor maintenance and Mother Nature.

In a telephone interview yesterday, Sinanan said, “A lot of people don’t understand that not all potholes is the responsibility of the Ministry of Works. We are responsible for major roadways and the highways.

“Every area has road patching done. There are eight divisions. In each district the patching gang goes out every day and they patch,” he said

“What we have been doing is paving over and paving over. A lot of landslips have been caused by the inclement weather.”

He said that due to the large amount of work that needs to be done in several parts of Trinidad, the ministry will be looking to bring on private contractors to assist the ministry with the road patching programme.

Sinanan said, “We usually have 10 or 12 patching gangs….we are going to carry that up to 20. So we will have two and three gangs in some areas just doing road patching.”

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... f2094.html

wickedtuna

Re: Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world | Local News | trinidadexpress.com

Postby wickedtuna » November 20th, 2018, 4:43 pm

So true so true
IMG-20181116-WA0026.jpeg

abducted

Re: Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world

Postby abducted » November 20th, 2018, 5:32 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Minister Sinanan said that due to the large amount of work that needs to be done in several parts of Trinidad, the ministry will be looking to bring on private contractors to assist the ministry with the road patching programme.

In other words he has already lined up some of his contractor friends to get some Government contracts to secure some more valuable kickbacks.

Postby Rovin » November 20th, 2018, 5:49 pm

doh ask y we doh ha good roads & so mucha potholes - ask y d ppl who build these roads [& d authorities who supposed to be supervising what they doing] y they dont build it properly in d foss place like how all over d world a road is built to last 20yrs under constant traffic

y build it good so u eh geh no wuk again when u cud do it 1\2 assed & get wuk top fix it back every yr or at least every 5 yrs when election coming ....

rebound

Postby rebound » November 20th, 2018, 6:12 pm

Man cyar wait 20 years to pave again, how food go eat?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 20th, 2018, 6:21 pm

We currently in the longest possible gap time between any sort of nationwide elections, 3 full years, as 2016 and 2019 local elections are nestled perfectly between 2015 and 2020 general elections. Therefore it have zero incentive for them to be fixing road.

2025 gonna be good though, we getting road pave twice in the same year.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2018, 6:57 pm

South of uwi traffic lights towards freeman road real bad
Westbound from Kelly/st Helena to licensing office have a pothole every 50ft

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 20th, 2018, 7:09 pm

It have oil barrels inside potholes in grande...daz to warn drivers

Postby sMASH » November 20th, 2018, 7:27 pm

pugboy wrote:South of uwi traffic lights towards freeman road real bad
Westbound from Kelly/st Helena to licensing office have a pothole every 50ft

youtube, fb, ig, snapchat... do someting and lite dem up!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 20th, 2018, 7:30 pm

Well i going on a hunt in grande from tmrw
..allyuh go see thing....hopefully this ched reaches rohani...two failed roads for sure...grande to manzan...grande to toco...buh he billing highway...just fix d existing road

Postby Spitfir3 » November 20th, 2018, 9:40 pm

seems like all the main roads fallin apart

next time i need a tooth removed i'll just hit one of them craters along the cunupia main road

Postby De Dragon » November 20th, 2018, 10:48 pm

The roads in and around Couva are sickeningly bad now. Even on the main road there are craterous holes that cause Couva to have immense traffic jams for a town with no discernible cause for such.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 20th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Yup, infrastructure is deteriorating badly.
The thing about potholes is that they get really bad, really fast and then they are more expensive to repair.

So to fix all that mess now gonna be bajillions of dollars.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 21st, 2018, 12:01 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:doh ask y we doh ha good roads & so mucha potholes - ask y d ppl who build these roads [& d authorities who supposed to be supervising what they doing] y they dont build it properly in d foss place like how all over d world a road is built to last 20yrs under constant traffic

y build it good so u eh geh no wuk again when u cud do it 1\2 assed & get wuk top fix it back every yr or at least every 5 yrs when election coming ....
Contractors build what they are being paid to build. Sometimes they use one design for dozens of roads all of which have different design considerations. Sometimes the contractor is not to blame, sometimes the contractor tries to cut corners, sometimes nobody involved has the slightest idea what they are doing.

Short answer to your question.... Bobol (speaking from experience). Although we have the resources and skills locally to do it right (also speaking from experience)

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 21st, 2018, 12:28 am

With this age of any body commenting could end up in court. I frighten. But any body checking the quality of work which taking place. I went down Erin to buy fish and they paving a road, I doh want to call no name. The level of material on the road seen ah Lil bit thin. Remember me ain't have no microcrometer to measure and meh eye sight failing so I posting a disclaimer. But if u doing a job fo it correctly.

But true talk our roads have become the worse in recent years.
I went down in potholes today yhat could have drowned a man.
Penal never flood so bad in years, say what who want to say
Pp dredged that river 7 years ago and never a flooding since that.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » November 21st, 2018, 4:18 am

:drinking: Trini lifestyle under pnm :drinking:

Postby aaron17 » November 21st, 2018, 4:41 am

Can i paint the potholes in white to let ppl know? Then again , the entire road would be white.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » November 21st, 2018, 4:50 am

They increasing fines and claiming its to make the roads safer. Don't know how one can be when the vehicles have no roads and have to circumvent an obstacle course. When they get a lawsuit for damages or loss of life things may change.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 21st, 2018, 5:10 am

building dumarse pavements fall in this too?? Rspann know the type of pavements I speak of, EMR in Grande never flood before, they build some kinda pavement which causes flooding after 2 mins of rain...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 21st, 2018, 5:22 am

Postby hydroep » November 21st, 2018, 7:29 am

Steups... is the local elections next year and the general in 2020 that light a fire under their backside — of course they must start paving now. After suffering for the last 3 years any relief at this point will be will be welcomed and fresh on people's minds.

Politicking plain and simple.

Anyways, they need to look at the section of the South Trunk Road after the Interchange heading toward Gulf View. Driving on that is like trying to navigate a minefield.

Postby Les Bain » November 21st, 2018, 9:36 am

Seems as if the government getting money for their megaprojects by letting the country totally fall into a state of disrepair. They may just spruce up the areas immetiately surrounding Sandals and the Marina.

Yet another thing people would be jumping down the PP throat for but are silently content with under the Mills & Boons author from Tobago.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 21st, 2018, 9:39 am

La Romaine messy too. by gulf city and the scalextric overpass, lorddddddd. if yuh in a nissan or suzuki, yuh bearings gone

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 21st, 2018, 12:26 pm

Send a text message to 777-2824 with the location of the pothole. This number has been set up by the MOW&T to collect information on potholes that are to be repaired under the MEND programme.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 21st, 2018, 1:25 pm

Is like we don't have a pitch lake.......

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2018, 1:31 pm

If I go around painting arrows pointing to potholes and labeling them Growley's k@k@ hole, will anybody be opposed?

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 21st, 2018, 2:08 pm

timelapse wrote:If I go around painting arrows pointing to potholes and labeling them Growley's k@k@ hole, will anybody be opposed?

This is what we need to do!

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2018, 2:27 pm

timelapse wrote:If I go around painting arrows pointing to potholes and labeling them Growley's k@k@ hole, will anybody be opposed?

Probably the PNM's Woman's League

Postby maj. tom » November 21st, 2018, 4:28 pm

fix all yuh want, once WASA engineering pass through, is best the whole country just go back to gravel road.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » November 21st, 2018, 5:08 pm

scott street st. augustine.jpg
scott street st. augustine.jpg (42.74 KiB) Viewed 8155 times

evans street curepe.jpg

watts street curepe.jpg
watts street curepe.jpg (38.08 KiB) Viewed 8155 times

curepe.jpg
curepe.jpg (38.95 KiB) Viewed 8155 times

charlotte street st. joseph.jpg