Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world

Re: Trinidad: Pothole capital of the world

Postby Ben_spanna » October 13th, 2020, 1:50 pm

thank god we have the pitch lake right here ent???, then again, talk is Chinese in control, and are selling it back to the govt here and sombuddy pocket getting full

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:thank god we have the pitch lake right here ent???, then again, talk is Chinese in control, and are selling it back to the govt here and sombuddy pocket getting full

asphalt isn't even the underlying problem
It's the manner in which we construct and repair roads

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2020, 2:29 pm

i hear pitch lake asphalt is not used for our roads

Postby aaron17 » October 13th, 2020, 7:22 pm

Saw it on tv...looks like when a man bathe in it ..it will get fixed fast.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 13th, 2020, 8:22 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:thank god we have the pitch lake right here ent???, then again, talk is Chinese in control, and are selling it back to the govt here and sombuddy pocket getting full

asphalt isn't even the underlying problem
It's the manner in which we construct and repair roads

Kinda like how they now build a new part of the crh and the blasted road have more waves than manzan

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 14th, 2020, 5:10 am

As we on potholes, golden grove road
IMG-20201013-WA0158.jpg
IMG-20201013-WA0159.jpg
IMG-20201013-WA0161.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2020, 5:58 am

total erosion under bridge

Postby maj. tom » October 14th, 2020, 9:41 am

looks like the pipe was leaking a while and eating away the foundation. Landslip.
WASA mc!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 14th, 2020, 9:43 am

Wasa need to start paying for that crap. Up by me have real potholes because of continued leaking mains from WASA.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2020, 10:32 pm

Anybody know if they ever intend to pave the left lane of the CRH that they milled maybe three to four weeks now between Pasea and UWI?

Or is it that it is just part of the grand plan to ensure we have 3rd world roads everywhere!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 23rd, 2020, 10:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Anybody know if they ever intend to pave the left lane of the CRH that they milled maybe three to four weeks now between Pasea and UWI?

Or is it that it is just part of the grand plan to ensure we have 3rd world roads everywhere!

They have to leave the foam bitumen stabilised layer to cure for a certain period. They will then test the "strength" of this layer to see if it has reached the required "strength" before installing the wearing course layer.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 24th, 2020, 12:48 am

They lucky it's relatively slow because of work from home and no school. 4+ weeks with the highway like that in regular times would have caused a sheit load of traffic further east.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Anybody know if they ever intend to pave the left lane of the CRH that they milled maybe three to four weeks now between Pasea and UWI?

They have to leave the foam bitumen stabilised layer to cure for a certain period. They will then test the "strength" of this layer to see if it has reached the required "strength" before installing the wearing course layer.

Postby RedVEVO » November 24th, 2020, 7:38 am

Dizzy28 wrote:They lucky it's relatively slow because of work from home and no school. 4+ weeks with the highway like that in regular times would have caused a sheit load of traffic further east.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

The penetration grade :D

Postby toyolink » November 24th, 2020, 10:49 am

Oil Sand is the goto material on many roads in central now-a-days especially since its up to private citizens to make efforts to deal with craters.

Postby aaron17 » September 12th, 2021, 3:20 pm

Does anybody know if tnt have a pothole app? I see waze has it put i guess it not popular to point out potholes on the road? I sure ppl would say it eh make sense cause this whole country is a pothole.
The only way if i have to drive on a new road is to drive on it on a sunny day and whenever i have to use that road.. i would have to memerize the potholes. U gotta save money bro. Anytime u go in ah pothole...i does hear cha ching.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 12th, 2021, 5:50 pm

Aaron17 it’s better they make an app to show good roads. It will be less work.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » September 14th, 2021, 10:42 am

"Potholes like flooding and crime is desirable and necessary" - Habit7's academic source probably.

Postby Rovin » September 14th, 2021, 10:56 am

gr8 is d pothole & it shall prevail ...

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 14th, 2021, 11:16 am

maj. tom wrote:looks like the pipe was leaking a while and eating away the foundation. Landslip.
WASA mc!

WTF we still have pipes running under the road ? A service corridor would remove pipes and wires and solve a lot of problems. We still in the dark ages?

Postby aaron17 » September 14th, 2021, 11:29 am

Postby zoom rader » September 14th, 2021, 11:32 am

Why complain about pot holes, you all wanted the red government

Trinidad take bull

Postby aaron17 » September 14th, 2021, 11:35 am

Memorizing potholes is key...at least for lessening the blow...but it still gonna take toll on ur suspension.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 14th, 2021, 1:52 pm

There are some minor holes developing Eastbound from Aranguez to Nestle.

All we need to do is full that with some material NOW before it expands.

I am pleading, please fill those holes someone. It will take like $500 in material max
Vs having to pave a whole section and have shitty transistions for 500million

Postby timelapse » September 14th, 2021, 2:28 pm

Rovin wrote:gr8 is d pothole & it shall prevail ...
Was thinking of painting 'Great is the PNM' by every pot hole.Anybody good with stencils?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2021, 5:51 am

2019: CAF approved a 200milli usd loan for roads
2021: 175 milli usd loan for roads...

Yet still our roads are the WORST!!!

Postby zoom rader » September 16th, 2021, 8:57 am

timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:gr8 is d pothole & it shall prevail ...
Was thinking of painting 'Great is the PNM' by every pot hole.Anybody good with stencils?
You should

Postby zoom rader » September 16th, 2021, 8:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:2019: CAF approved a 200milli usd loan for roads

But the Red government contractors are nice.

Ask eliteauto-tuntun his family is a road contractor

Postby Dizzy28 » September 16th, 2021, 9:11 am

It has to be that WASA has taken an official position that they are not repairing any holes they dig.
In my area at least none on the holes dug to repair lines have been fixed by WASA after repairs were complete. They merely throw back in the excavated material and then leave everything up to providence thereafter.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » September 16th, 2021, 9:24 am

:evil:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:2019: CAF approved a 200milli usd loan for roads

"Potholes are desirable and necessary" - Habit7's academic source probably.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 16th, 2021, 10:52 am

These potholes and their locations were designed in such a way, with safety of citizens in mind.

It keeps you awake since you constantly have to watch to see which hole got bigger or any new holes.
(If you fall asleep for a second, you will immediately be awakened)
Also helps keep drivers within the speed limit.
In case of bandit, they may be deterred after seeing the condition of their 'escape route' , or will help the police to catch them since they can't drive too fast without leaving back a trial of car parts.

A minor inconvenience for some, but the rewards are well worth it.