What song are you listening to right now??

Soul Collector

Re: What song are you listening to right now??

Postby Soul Collector » June 22nd, 2021, 10:50 pm

Anyone came across Sigrid before? Saw she had a new song out. Fun music, even if it may have a subtle "fk u" inside there at times lol

Postby shogun » June 25th, 2021, 9:21 pm

^Never heard of her. So many new artists now that the middle-men (labels) kinda cut out of the equation.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 25th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Postby stev » June 25th, 2021, 9:50 pm

not autotuned

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 25th, 2021, 9:56 pm

https://youtu.be/uq-gYOrU8bA

https://youtu.be/PYD-DIggB2k

i hate this damn song but is the first song I learned to play, and it permanently stuck in my head... My guitar teacher liked to teach; S&G songs, and calypsos.

Postby shogun » June 29th, 2021, 12:16 am

Wish AmyL's verse was better. Still hard though.

The King Crimson is strong with this band.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2021, 9:05 am

Will vibes those songs later tonight and see what's up^^^

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 1st, 2021, 12:29 am

Postby shogun » July 1st, 2021, 9:43 pm

Postby shogun » July 2nd, 2021, 11:49 pm

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 4th, 2021, 12:16 am

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 4th, 2021, 9:53 pm

Postby shogun » July 4th, 2021, 10:44 pm

Raided some of the folks' record/CD collection and just got a lil time to start going through some of it.

Postby shogun » July 5th, 2021, 10:30 pm

stev wrote:not autotuned

^ Liking the legit Irish folk influence. Nice man.

Postby Les Bain » July 6th, 2021, 9:22 am

They quick to dismiss you as a hater, but while the music sleeping on these ladies, they praising yet another average Willow Smith reinvention.

Postby Les Bain » July 6th, 2021, 9:33 am

Made me remember a pardner who was real hype for discovering Glassjaw way back in the day. Said he would listen to more rock if the band looked like a bunch of normal dudes. He would have loved this.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 6th, 2021, 9:57 pm

^^ Broooo, those Howard Jones tracks! Yes!

That Big Joanie track legit. Digging that.
Never heard stuff from Willow so end up pulling up the "t r a n s p a r e n t s o u l ft. Travis Barker". You know how they say all fashion trends n stuff always repeats itself, just a matter of time? That felt like it's this generation's version of our 90's~ goth/rock/punk/indie scene.

Can't remember if I posted this before... but if you don't like metal, give this a go. One of my fav bands...

INSOMNIUM - Heart Like A Grave (think I now realize why killercow does this when he posts a song, lol)

Postby Les Bain » July 6th, 2021, 11:02 pm

Yeah, that's pretty good. My metal intake peaked in the era where it seemed like the drums were the lead instrument, lol. It kinda fell off after 2013 when I fell in with Subpop records and that type of music (shoegaze, ambient, diy) and 70's prog rock, but I still dig metal.

This is an example of drum centric metal. Thing to demolish a building to, lol.

This may be more up your alley. I forgot about Omnium Gatherum then discovered this album by mistake in 2013 when I was searching YouTube for Genesis' Watchers of the Skies. This song is the album closer and to this day still hits me like the first time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2021, 11:25 pm

shogun wrote:Raided some of the folks' record/CD collection and just got a lil time to start going through some of it.

Howard Jones YESSS!
the BIG 80's

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 7th, 2021, 2:44 pm

Man that Vader remind me of Cannibal Corpse and Bloodbath yes. That was the music self for some deathmatch back in the gaming days, just madness and brutality with pace! Funny enough, it was because of hearing the drums on Cradle of Filth's Dusk and Her Embrace and Amon Amarth's on their track Death in Fire that got me into metal. Those were my two turning points.

OG is another one of those mello death bands right up there for sure. The Unknowing was a fav track of mine but still haven't gone thru a lot of their stuff. Deep Cold sound realll good. Second half had me feeling like I was in an anime or something for a bit, lol. Love the how they are able to make such melodic and emotive metal songs man, a thing of beauty.

So as metal and shoegaze/ambient were brought up in the same convo, just dropping a few I feel you might like checking out

Light, approachable: Atmospheric, melodic kinda stoner metal. After the first track, you'll know if you love it or hate it.

Never liked Black Metal but when I discovered the fusion with shoegaze/atmospheric/ambient I was like hold up....
Bit heavy: Shoegaze/Black metal (female vocals on the lovely clean and harsh)

Grand sounding, symphonic: Ambient/Atmospheric Black Metal (more female vox) After the first track, you'll know if you love it or hate it.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 7th, 2021, 2:52 pm

Found 2 random shoegaze only tracks in one of my metal playlists...so, here they are, just becauze lol

Postby shogun » July 8th, 2021, 1:37 am

Les Bain wrote:They quick to dismiss you as a hater, but while the music sleeping on these ladies, they praising yet another average Willow Smith reinvention.

Dred, legit spit a tiny bit of my drink reading this. Christ, you like sh!t. Nice selection/band, as feminist punk rock goes. Good discussion to have too, juss not sure this is the right ched. Warn a brother next time nuh? :lol:

Postby Les Bain » July 8th, 2021, 12:33 pm

Love shoegaze and ambient for when I have long, sit down work sessions.

And i not sorry about the Willow Smith comment. A common theme in the "what happened to" vids on YouTube is the music industry slept on a lot of promising artists after their first album or whatever promotion that could be considered their public intro. Just put them in career limbo and tied up their releases and live performances with legalities.

My saltiness eh changing sh1t but i real fed up that as far as they concerned, Willow Smith and cover artist Miley Cyrus represent female talent.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 8th, 2021, 7:01 pm

Mhmmmm
Screenshot_20210708-185627.jpeg
Screenshot_20210708-185815.jpeg

Postby timelapse » July 9th, 2021, 9:36 am

Jah bless shoegaze.
Team Sleep is my fav.Actually, anything Chino touches

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 10th, 2021, 2:15 pm

Unreqvited - Balance
Country: Canada | Year: 2018 | Genre: Atmospheric Post-Black Metal / Post-Rock

Postby shogun » July 12th, 2021, 1:06 am

Les Bain wrote:And i not sorry about the Willow Smith comment. A common theme in the "what happened to" vids on YouTube is the music industry slept on a lot of promising artists after their first album or whatever promotion that could be considered their public intro. My saltiness eh changing sh1t but i real fed up that as far as they concerned, Willow Smith and cover artist Miley Cyrus represent female talent.

Whoa there hoss. :lol: No one asking you to be silent. Obviously you needed to get that sh!t off your chess. Thing is though, you can't put 100% of the blame on the industry, when because of social media, artists have a way to bypass the industry politics and reach an audience. Even the Big Joanie video only has 85k views (relatively small figure) even though it's was uploaded 3 years ago. And it can't be all because of promotion or lack thereof when many indie artists rake up millions of views with their music/videos.

As for the Willow Smith/Miley comparison, I think it's a little unfair. Look at the reaction vids below. Pay attention to what they say AFTER watching the vid. And even though I think the song is garbage (to me) and would never categorize it as "indie punk" their sentiment about her direction is close to mine. While Miley on the other hand prefers to go the "safer" route Willow seems to be willing to experiment. Pop artists tend to stick to the same lane to keep their audiences rather than take chances and alienate them. Thing is I don't know if you're saying they aren't capable of doing anything interesting BECAUSE they have name recognition and built in audiences with their famous parents, or you just can't stand THEM personally, or you're just not that into their offerings? More I could say but bruh, I didn't want to even type this much.

Postby shogun » July 12th, 2021, 1:19 am

Postby Les Bain » July 12th, 2021, 1:39 am

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » July 12th, 2021, 11:07 pm

new page
Last edited by bamfo_dennis on July 12th, 2021, 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.