What song are you listening to right now??

bamfo_dennis

Re: What song are you listening to right now??

Postby bamfo_dennis » July 12th, 2021, 11:15 pm

Walk away from love by Shirley Stewart from Barbados. Cannot be found on Google through lyrics only a set of other artists coming up for the title of this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJh28ljtJdQ

Another one my uncle had this on vinyl record in 1987

Boris Gardiner 'I Want To Wake Up With You'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdWeWQAcb1s

Postby shogun » July 13th, 2021, 12:10 am

Postby Les Bain » July 13th, 2021, 12:14 am

shogun wrote:As for the Willow Smith/Miley comparison...

I stand by my statement that I hate how the industry stagnates promising careers into ruin while giving others unlimited continues. One of them is a living participation medal that thinks it is profound and the other is just trashy and resorts to flaunting their raunchy sexuality when they want attention. I eh no prude, but the girl reminds me of uncooked chicken skin.

Postby Les Bain » July 13th, 2021, 12:15 am

Postby shogun » July 13th, 2021, 12:24 am

^Nice tune by the way.

Les Bain wrote:I eh no prude, but the girl reminds me of uncooked chicken skin.

What I can't stand is how the masses flock to "artists" that tick the contemporary boxes, even if the music is straight up tooz.

But it reinforces my theory that most people that claim to love music, don't. It's just another tool to help them fit into their desired social clique.

Postby Les Bain » July 13th, 2021, 12:42 am

Yep. I always wonder if the Josie & the Pussycats movie failed at the box office because it hurt too many industry feelings .

Postby timelapse » July 13th, 2021, 12:18 pm

Duane add a youtube thingy to the app nah boss in the bbc code.I don't ever get it to work from my phone

Postby timelapse » July 13th, 2021, 1:29 pm

https://youtu.be/16ptWIZ36F4
Somebody fix this for me please
Edit.it finally worked lol

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 13th, 2021, 1:54 pm

You have me feeling to grab a tanty and hold on yes :lol: Big tune.
bamfo_dennis wrote:Walk away from love by Shirley Stewart from Barbados. Cannot be found on Google through lyrics only a set of other artists coming up for the title of this.

Sisters of Mercy - Driven like the snow --- Yes.
Kamasi Washington - 'The Rhythm Changes' --- Pretty nice. Very loungy feel to it.
††† (Crosses) - The Epilogue --- never heard them before, sounds really good yo, enjoying it.
Django Django – Spirals (Studio Session) --- Helluva intro, cool tune.

Their name reminded me of another song....Dango Dango, from a show called Clannad, which ripped my soul from my body...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 13th, 2021, 2:31 pm

timelapse wrote:https://youtu.be/16ptWIZ36F4
Somebody fix this for me please
Edit.it finally worked lol

What your above post looks like:
tingz.jpg
tingz.jpg (19.47 KiB) Viewed 3842 times

What it's supposed to look like for successful embedding:
more tingz.jpg
more tingz.jpg (5.44 KiB) Viewed 3842 times

Just remove the underlined brown and blue parts, and use the YOUTUBE button (or just manually type it as you see in the pic) when hitting reply instead of the URL one and you orn.

Postby timelapse » July 13th, 2021, 2:56 pm

No YouTube button on the phone app

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 13th, 2021, 4:17 pm

timelapse wrote:No YouTube button on the phone app

Logged in on my phone thinking it working fine and proceeded to make the above post. But failure...logged in on chrome, not the app...lol. Now see what you mean. Should be an easy fix for Duane.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 15th, 2021, 12:19 pm

couple songs from Drive soundtrack...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 16th, 2021, 11:48 pm

recent addition to the playlist...

Postby shogun » July 17th, 2021, 12:58 am

Electric youth. Nice! Never heard that Mr.Kitty track before. Dig it.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 17th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Soundwave bro... I was obsessed with that Mr. Kitty song for a loooong time, lol. I love everything about the movie Drive but I don't think it was actually part of the OST. I got caught like that too, thinking the song was from the movie Career Opportunities, but saw it was just another fan made video like the Drive one that blew up. Ended up downloading some albums from Mr Kitty after that but he doesn't have any other song quite like After Dark.

If anyone hasn't seen Drive...the OST alone is worth the watch

That xx name is a distinct one. Remembered I had this remix of a choon

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 17th, 2021, 2:17 pm

yup, you're correct, and he really doesn't have anything close to after dark, I'm on an 80's binge these days and anything 80's sounding, the weeknd's blinding lights is 80'sish...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 17th, 2021, 2:20 pm

next one they did for Career Opportunities, love the song, heart Jennifer Connelly...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 17th, 2021, 2:46 pm

Soundwave wrote:next one they did for Career Opportunities, love the song, heart Jennifer Connelly...

Flock of Seagulls! Big tune there.

I enjoyed the song and editing of the Career Opportunities vid so much I had to check the movie out, but it was disappointing, lol. Jennifer Connelly though...lawd have mercy......

A vid from one of John Hughes' better movies, The Breakfast Club....with a lil slower 80s vibes
Last edited by Soul Collector on July 17th, 2021, 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » July 17th, 2021, 2:51 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:Walk away from love by Shirley Stewart from Barbados. Cannot be found on Google through lyrics only a set of other artists coming up for the title of this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJh28ljtJdQ

Another one my uncle had this on vinyl record in 1987

Boris Gardiner 'I Want To Wake Up With You'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdWeWQAcb1s

Check out - Boris Gardiner - So Nice To Be With You.

Postby Les Bain » July 17th, 2021, 9:03 pm

Postby shogun » July 17th, 2021, 9:47 pm

Soundwave wrote: I'm on an 80's binge these days

Not just you. 80's music is seeing quite the resurgence. The Weekend and others just riding the wave.

Warning: Song dope, but the video is a lil much.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 18th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Bain wdf bai. I hear the dog bark in that and I was ded, lol. Kinda remind me of some Misfits with them lyrics.

Eh know how to feel bout that Yves Tumor nuh :?

Sunday vibes...on air...drifting :scatter:

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 18th, 2021, 2:38 pm

2 eps in so far...

Postby Les Bain » July 20th, 2021, 10:05 pm

Postby shogun » July 21st, 2021, 1:53 am

Soul Collector wrote:Eh know how to feel bout that Yves Tumor nuh :?

Yeah, was pretty sure that wouldn't be your cup of tea. I digging it though. He's an interesting artist, his presentation a lil out there for me, but respect his moves from genre to genre. Definitely someone to watch.

Postby shogun » July 21st, 2021, 10:35 pm

Listening to both these songs for weeks now, but to finally see the vids is a trip.

Postby shogun » July 21st, 2021, 10:46 pm

Decent mashup here.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 22nd, 2021, 7:11 am

mcbaise - waterslide sounds like the beegees meets goldfrapp...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 22nd, 2021, 9:57 am

My Bloody Valentine - Soon :arrow: getting a serious "Big Country - In A Big Country" vibes with that guitar riff. If anything, that made me like it even more, lol. Playlisted! :mrgreen:

Ahh boi, Elise Trouw. That girl talented! This mash up real vibesy

New release off the upcoming EP representing their softer side... Bless this bunch of Finns