3 swine flu deaths confirmed

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2019, 2:09 pm

might be a good time to get flu shots especially for those with other health conditions

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/three-die-swine-flu-health-official-confirms

Three die from Swine Flu, health official confirms

Thursday, January 10, 2019 - 13:15

Ministry of Health officials have confirmed three deaths related to Swine Flu.

On Wednesday Guardian Media revealed that a 47-year-old Tabaquite woman died from the H1N1 virus.

Today, Director of Women's Health Dr Adesh Sirjusingh said there's no need for public alarm.

He said that at this time of year, the seasonal influenza is circulating.

He added that the flu is like the common cold but come as a more severe form of illness and in worst case scenarios, can result in death.

But Dr Sirjusingh explains that the latest flu vaccine helps reduce chances of contracting H1N1 virus.

He told CNC3 that the Health Ministry has launched a programme aimed at high-risk groups, which include pregnant women.

The doctor assures that all vaccines are safe and can be accessed at any health centre or public hospital.

Re: 3 swine flu deaths confirmed

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 10th, 2019, 3:16 pm

Abstract
Background
The majority of influenza transmission occurs in homes, schools and workplaces, where many frequently touched communal items are situated. However the importance of transmission via fomites is unclear since few data exist on the survival of virus on commonly touched surfaces. We therefore measured the viability over time of two H1N1 influenza strains applied to a variety of materials commonly found in households and workplaces.

Methodology and Principal Findings
Influenza A/PuertoRico/8/34 (PR8) or A/Cambridge/AHO4/2009 (pandemic H1N1) viruses were inoculated onto a wide range of surfaces used in home and work environments, then sampled at set times following incubation at stabilised temperature and humidity. Virus genome was measured by RT-PCR; plaque assay (for PR8) or fluorescent focus formation (for pandemic H1N1) was used to assess the survival of viable virus.

Conclusions/Significance
The genome of either virus could be detected on most surfaces 24 h after application with relatively little drop in copy number, with the exception of unsealed wood surfaces. In contrast, virus viability dropped much more rapidly. Live virus was recovered from most surfaces tested four hours after application and from some non-porous materials after nine hours, but had fallen below the level of detection from all surfaces at 24 h. We conclude that influenza A transmission via fomites is possible but unlikely to occur for long periods after surface contamination (unless re-inoculation occurs). In situations involving a high probability of influenza transmission, our data suggest a hierarchy of priorities for surface decontamination in the multi-surface environments of home and hospitals.

Just sharing from my research for work

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2019, 3:25 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Abstract
Background
The majority of influenza transmission occurs in homes, schools and workplaces, where many frequently touched communal items are situated. However the importance of transmission via fomites is unclear since few data exist on the survival of virus on commonly touched surfaces. We therefore measured the viability over time of two H1N1 influenza strains applied to a variety of materials commonly found in households and workplaces.

Methodology and Principal Findings
Influenza A/PuertoRico/8/34 (PR8) or A/Cambridge/AHO4/2009 (pandemic H1N1) viruses were inoculated onto a wide range of surfaces used in home and work environments, then sampled at set times following incubation at stabilised temperature and humidity. Virus genome was measured by RT-PCR; plaque assay (for PR8) or fluorescent focus formation (for pandemic H1N1) was used to assess the survival of viable virus.

Conclusions/Significance
The genome of either virus could be detected on most surfaces 24 h after application with relatively little drop in copy number, with the exception of unsealed wood surfaces. In contrast, virus viability dropped much more rapidly. Live virus was recovered from most surfaces tested four hours after application and from some non-porous materials after nine hours, but had fallen below the level of detection from all surfaces at 24 h. We conclude that influenza A transmission via fomites is possible but unlikely to occur for long periods after surface contamination (unless re-inoculation occurs). In situations involving a high probability of influenza transmission, our data suggest a hierarchy of priorities for surface decontamination in the multi-surface environments of home and hospitals.

Just sharing from my research for work

i guess bathroom sinks and door knobs would be some of those surfaces- and is now all of a sudden they stop providing soap in our bathroom at work

Postby maj. tom » January 10th, 2019, 3:42 pm

That's illegal if you're reporting correctly. Really it's in the OSHA Act. This is the number 1 way germs are spread. https://www.cdc.gov/features/handwashing/index.html

http://osha.gov.tt/Portals/0/welfareRegulations.pdf
Just show your employer this document.

There shall be provided and maintained for the use of
employed persons adequate and suitable facilities for
washing (including an adequate supply of soap, and
the facilities shall be conveniently accessible and shall
be kept in a clean orderly condition.

Or else, fix it.
http://osha.gov.tt/ContactUs.aspx

Postby zoom rader » January 10th, 2019, 3:50 pm

Health Minster will spin this around

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2019, 5:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:That's illegal if you're reporting correctly. Really it's in the OSHA Act. This is the number 1 way germs are spread. https://www.cdc.gov/features/handwashing/index.html

http://osha.gov.tt/Portals/0/welfareRegulations.pdf
Just show your employer this document.

There shall be provided and maintained for the use of
employed persons adequate and suitable facilities for
washing (including an adequate supply of soap, and
the facilities shall be conveniently accessible and shall
be kept in a clean orderly condition.

Or else, fix it.
http://osha.gov.tt/ContactUs.aspx

hmm, well govt breaking dey own laws as it's a govt office- although the welfare regs seems to only apply to factories, not offices
Last edited by redmanjp on January 11th, 2019, 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2019, 4:42 am

I was reading one of the ingrediant is formaldehyde that can cause cancer. Also is almost 50 % you can still get the flu even though you got the shot.So.... . Yeah

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 11th, 2019, 8:56 am

zoom rader wrote:Health Minster will spin this around

He will blame Kamla for not doing the hog puja!

Postby maj. tom » January 11th, 2019, 9:12 am

aaron17 wrote:I was reading one of the ingrediant is formaldehyde that can cause cancer. Also is almost 50 % you can still get the flu even though you got the shot.So.... . Yeah

I hope you only found this because you're also reading legitimate sources on the science of vaccines as well, and that you're applying some critical thinking. It's 100% up to you to be an idiot who has no clue, but don't spread misinformation on things you hardly know anything about.

However, to give you some leniency, vaccines and immunity are some of the most complicated science that man has ever discovered, and there's a whole lot more still to be discovered. If you don't understand the science, don't spread misinformation. It just makes you look stupid.

Answers to your formaldehyde query:
https://www.fda.gov/biologicsbloodvacci ... 187810.htm

https://mrc.ukri.org/news/browse/toxic- ... own-cells/

Answer to the occurrence of the flu even after taking the vaccine. (hint: viruses mutate)
https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/misconceptions.htm

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2019, 9:31 am

maj. tom wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I was reading one of the ingrediant is formaldehyde that can cause cancer. Also is almost 50 % you can still get the flu even though you got the shot.So.... . Yeah

I hope you only found this because you're also reading legitimate sources on the science of vaccines as well, and that you're applying some critical thinking. It's 100% up to you to be an idiot who has no clue, but don't spread misinformation on things you hardly know anything about.

However, to give you some leniency, vaccines and immunity are some of the most complicated science that man has ever discovered, and there's a whole lot more still to be discovered. If you don't understand the science, don't spread misinformation. It just makes you look stupid.

Answers to your formaldehyde query:
https://www.fda.gov/biologicsbloodvacci ... 187810.htm

https://mrc.ukri.org/news/browse/toxic- ... own-cells/

Answer to the occurrence of the flu even after taking the vaccine. (hint: viruses mutate)
https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/misconceptions.htm
Thanks.. like I said, I was reading.

Postby RedVEVO » January 13th, 2019, 12:39 am

Why is this so complicated ?

Get a Flu shot .

It's free.

Postby De Dragon » January 13th, 2019, 9:26 am

Deyalsingh should declare war on these things, not salt and sugar.

Postby K74T » January 13th, 2019, 9:56 am

Believe I read somewhere that 3 patients currently at SFGH are suspected of having it as well

Postby zoom rader » January 13th, 2019, 10:22 am

De Dragon wrote:Deyalsingh should declare war on these things, not salt and sugar.
Soon you will have to pay a tax or fine for getting sick

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » January 14th, 2019, 12:49 am

0.1mg formaldehyde for 0.5ml vaccine dose is the max.. do not think this would have any effect.

Postby 609 » January 14th, 2019, 5:59 am

time to start wearing

p3-virus-bacteria-filter-pro2-full-face-mask-[2]-216-p.jpg
p3-virus-bacteria-filter-pro2-full-face-mask-[2]-216-p.jpg (28.89 KiB) Viewed 5887 times

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 14th, 2019, 6:10 am

De Dragon wrote:Deyalsingh should declare war on these things, not salt and sugar.
Soon you will have to pay a tax or fine for getting sick

Anyone went to the health centres for the shot? Are they out of stock? Is there a long line of people waiting for the shot at the health centres?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2019, 7:51 am

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 14th, 2019, 8:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

I came here looking for this, specifically. Thanks for this.

Postby maj. tom » January 14th, 2019, 8:29 am

Postby 609 » January 14th, 2019, 11:44 am

was reading online there are side effects to this vaccine any1 can confirm this

Postby paid_influencer » January 16th, 2019, 9:02 pm

609 wrote:was reading online there are side effects to this vaccine any1 can confirm this

doctors have to go through 10 years of university and graduate level training to legally tell you about side effects.

but i will tell you here on trinituner for free:
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/vi ... s/flu.html

I had a really bad cold this time last year. It sucked. Did not want to get out of bed. Taking medication did not help. Felt absolutely awful for weeks.

Spread through my whole family. Even the small children. It was horrible to see them sick in bed, in pain, fever, not playing, not smiling, for weeks.

This year I getting that damn vaccine. not me and that hell again.

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 17th, 2019, 12:40 pm

vaccines outta stock @ my health center

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2019, 5:07 pm

What they hadda do is learn from the inspection sticker scenario. Set up a $5000 fine for anybody who don't get their flu vaccine. Real money gonna make.

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2019, 5:13 pm

I got it last month and no side effects yet
I saw the ad in the papers and stopped by the center as it is close, this was before the panic

609 wrote:was reading online there are side effects to this vaccine any1 can confirm this

pinkz

Postby pinkz » January 17th, 2019, 9:55 pm

Incase yall wana know the name/batch no. And details for reasearch..this is the flu shot being given by MoH
20190115_122626.jpeg
20190115_122624.jpeg
20190115_122622.jpeg

Postby Ben_spanna » November 11th, 2019, 7:45 am

So there is a "supposed" serious issue with cases of H1N1 cases in Trinidad that are currently NOT being reported by the health centers, so many cases that the ambulance service has been tied up with patients being taken to hospitals with cases of H1n1.
Yet there has been no serious mention of these cases...is the health ministry hiding a possible outbreak?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2019, 9:25 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So there is a "supposed" serious issue with cases of H1N1 cases in Trinidad that are currently NOT being reported by the health centers, so many cases that the ambulance service has been tied up with patients being taken to hospitals with cases of H1n1.
Yet there has been no serious mention of these cases...is the health ministry hiding a possible outbreak?

Trinidadians could hide anything?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 11th, 2019, 9:38 am

Ben_spanna wrote:..is the health ministry hiding a possible outbreak?

Well we wouldn't know until after 2023.

Ent Torrence say Kambla hid the stats from 2013-2015