The Official Tropical Weather Thread 2022

dogg

Re: The Official Tropical Weather Thread 2022

Postby dogg » October 5th, 2022, 10:41 am

Blame the satellites for posting faked Russian storm images.

Some of allyuh dotish yes. :lol: :lol:

dogg

Postby dogg » October 5th, 2022, 10:41 am

Les Bain wrote:Neghborhood streets turn river lime. The worst I have ever seen but for me, it limited to the streets.
Sorry for the commute peeps today.

what area?

Postby gastly369 » October 5th, 2022, 10:41 am

Ah yes good time to ride a bicycle to work....

Postby pete » October 5th, 2022, 10:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Let's face it, we all know it's a hit and miss with met office. They themselves admit that their equipment is outdated and some essential stuff not working....so wah allyh expect

Is that what they say? Or that weather especially where Trinidad is located is fairly difficult to accurately predict. Seems they decided to err on the side of caution saying that unstable conditions may occur from midnight. At 5am it was very overcast in Diego Martin and there was signs that there was a light rain earlier.

Postby maj. tom » October 5th, 2022, 10:44 am

j.o.e wrote:
maj. tom wrote:i legit scared. rain wind lightning rel bad.

it's the lightning. i can smell it. i feeling the heat.

Wait what ?

I am smelling the lightning. Well the ozone and nitrogen dioxide it created. I can't describe that smell for you. There were a lot of hits near some trees close to me, but one blindingly purple flashed about 15-20 meters away outside and i felt the heat of the spark. It's a lot of energy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 10:51 am

pete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Let's face it, we all know it's a hit and miss with met office. They themselves admit that their equipment is outdated and some essential stuff not working....so wah allyh expect

Is that what they say? Or that weather especially where Trinidad is located is fairly difficult to accurately predict. Seems they decided to err on the side of caution saying that unstable conditions may occur from midnight. At 5am it was very overcast in Diego Martin and there was signs that there was a light rain earlier.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/30/inaccu ... et-office/

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/03/23/met-of ... ing-again/

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » October 5th, 2022, 10:58 am

maj. tom wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
maj. tom wrote:i legit scared. rain wind lightning rel bad.

it's the lightning. i can smell it. i feeling the heat.

Wait what ?

I am smelling the lightning. Well the ozone and nitrogen dioxide it created. I can't describe that smell for you. There were a lot of hits near some trees close to me, but one blindingly purple flashed about 15-20 meters away outside and i felt the heat of the spark. It's a lot of energy.

Ozone has a bleach/chlorine smell. A couple of lightning strikes within my immediate vicinity this morning had everyone worried, I think the rigs got hit twice. Not too sure what’s the nitrogen dioxide smell you’re describing.

Postby Les Bain » October 5th, 2022, 11:05 am

dogg wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Neghborhood streets turn river lime. The worst I have ever seen but for me, it limited to the streets.
Sorry for the commute peeps today.

what area?

Piarco. It's quickly subsiding though.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 5th, 2022, 11:19 am

gastly369 wrote:Ah yes good time to ride a bicycle to work....

Postby aaron17 » October 5th, 2022, 11:28 am

expect seein ah scene like this..but in brown
sea-1547609_1280.jpg
Last edited by aaron17 on October 5th, 2022, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » October 5th, 2022, 11:40 am

MET Office - 1

Armchair "experts" - 0

Dbu.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2022, 12:01 pm

The worst part of it seems to have passed us already

IMG_9781.JPG

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 5th, 2022, 1:47 pm

Had insane lightning and thunder down Waterloo earlier. My 10 year old dog, who accustomed to this (and kakahole fireworks) was bummed out and whimpering by my foot.
Power was knocked out for about 1.5 hr.

watercourses are high in the area, but that could be high tide as well.

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2022, 1:54 pm

ppl go definitely need this today- even on d road :roll:

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2022, 2:53 pm

UPDATE - ADVERSE WEATHER ALERT #3 - YELLOW LEVEL
Updated Issuance time #2 (local time)Wed, Oct 5, 2022 1:51 PM
Adverse Weather Alert - Yellow Level remains in effect until Fri, Oct 7, 2022 12:00 PM!
The axis of the tropical wave is now west of T&T, however the atmosphere remains significantly moist and unstable. Periods of rain and/or showers of varying intensities are still expected. There is also a 70% (high) chance of occasional heavy showers and thunderstorms that can produce intense rainfall in excess of 25mm.
Gusty winds in excess of 55 km/h may be experienced especially in the vicinity of heavy showers/thunderstorms.
Street/flash flooding and localized ponding are also likely in heavy downpours.
Landslides/landslips are also possible in areas so prone.
Instructions: Do not wade or drive through flood waters. Secure loose outdoor items and livestock. Persons are advised to monitor weather conditions and river levels. More information: www.metoffice.gov.tt; www.odpm.gov.tt
Area description: Trinidad and Tobago and surrounding marine areas.

Postby Gladiator » October 5th, 2022, 8:18 pm

Rain just buss down in Arima...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 9:27 pm

Light showers in and out since around 2000hrs.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2022, 9:32 pm

ground fully saturated
hope no high volume rain again

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2022, 9:58 pm

Gladiator wrote:Rain just buss down in Arima...

damn.
mora news network said that thursday itcz supposed to come up and be active till friday.
so, boots up.

Postby mero » October 5th, 2022, 11:20 pm

Constant light rain in town for the last hour. Sounding like it wanna buss down bad

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 5th, 2022, 11:22 pm

Pnm going to put children in danger tomorrow?

Postby Gladiator » October 5th, 2022, 11:40 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Pnm going to put children in danger tomorrow?
UWI didn't wait on government... They close campus for the rest of the week.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 6th, 2022, 2:03 am

2 cleansing from the bible is fire and water. we need more rain an flood to sweep thru the lagoon area as it did yesterday and clean the country from the vile, nasty and disgusting PNM. hardest area was the most nasty woman in the party. wash them away in jesus name.

Postby MaxPower » October 6th, 2022, 2:27 am

daring dragoon wrote:2 cleansing from the bible is fire and water. we need more rain an flood to sweep thru the lagoon area as it did yesterday and clean the country from the vile, nasty and disgusting PNM. hardest area was the most nasty woman in the party. wash them away in jesus name.

More like clean the country from nasty and disgusting Trinis who continue to litter and contribute to flooding.

Postby matr1x » October 6th, 2022, 4:22 am

daring dragoon wrote:2 cleansing from the bible is fire and water. we need more rain an flood to sweep thru the lagoon area as it did yesterday and clean the country from the vile, nasty and disgusting PNM. hardest area was the most nasty woman in the party. wash them away in jesus name.

More like clean the country from nasty and disgusting Trinis who continue to litter and contribute to flooding.

Including yourself?

Because many of your posts can be considered garbage

computercentral

Postby computercentral » October 6th, 2022, 5:12 am

Heavy rainfall in mcbean couva area ATM

Postby Chimera » October 6th, 2022, 5:12 am

Real hard in carlsen field. Reallllllll hard.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2022, 5:15 am

Rainy morning far east atm....at around 6am I'm gonna see how which streets are pasable to leave Grande

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » October 6th, 2022, 5:32 am

Heavy rain in San Fernando for a couple hours now.

Postby bluefete » October 6th, 2022, 6:08 am

Morning folks. Everyone be safe today.

Don't drive in flood waters.