LF Dryer hose/duct

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2019, 11:31 am

I have a flexible foil type duct but now reading they might be a fire hazard. We just built a back room where the dryer used to be outside so we want to safely vent it outside. the new laundry room doesn't have it's own door and there's going to be a tv room close by so i don't want, heat, lint & moisture there. so any recommendations?
Last edited by redmanjp on February 18th, 2019, 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Re: LF Dryer hose/duct

Postby nick639v2 » February 18th, 2019, 11:39 am

Ours home is up against exiting wall and I used 40 schedule pvc..

Just keep it clean every couple of months and you will be ok, avoid 90 degree or sharper bends. But if you are still paranoid then

redmanjp wrote:I have a flexible foil type duct but now reading they might be a fire hazard. e just built a back room where the dryer used to be outside so we want to safely vent it outside. the new laundry room doesn't have it's own door and there's going to be a tv room close by. so any recommendations?
stencil.blog-post-feature-22-min.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2019, 11:46 am

so the semi-rigid can't bend 90 degrees? not sure how we placing the dryer yet but it might be position with the back towards the left instead of where the exterior wall is.

Also preferably one with a flap that would close when not in use to prevent insects, etc. from entering.
Last edited by redmanjp on February 18th, 2019, 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 18th, 2019, 11:49 am

redmanjp wrote:so the semi-rigid can't bend 90 degrees? not sure how we placing teh dryer yet but the back might be towards the left instead of the back where the exterior wall is
It could, but 90 degree bends usually accumulate lint faster, and when I had to get a ddi house inspected for insurance a time they make me change the angle of it because it was a bit sharper than 90

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » February 18th, 2019, 1:03 pm

Saw them selling in Bhagwansingh. Both the ducts and the vents.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 18th, 2019, 1:23 pm

yes Dansteel and Bhagwansingh carry it

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2019, 3:11 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:yes Dansteel and Bhagwansingh carry it

do they have one with a flap which closes when the dryer is not in use?

daron

Postby daron » February 18th, 2019, 3:22 pm

M&M Rampersad LTD 657 0354
Allied Home Center 652-6900

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 18th, 2019, 4:25 pm

Got mine at Modern electrical for a fraction what bhagwansingh had it for

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2019, 5:17 pm

daron wrote:M&M Rampersad LTD 657 0354

yes they will have what you need

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2019, 5:41 pm

daron wrote:M&M Rampersad LTD 657 0354
Allied Home Center 652-6900

they have any stores up North?

Postby 88sins » February 18th, 2019, 7:10 pm

try lewis appliances

Postby *KRONIK* » February 18th, 2019, 7:26 pm

Yea
Its just a small louvre system with the duct and clamps etc

Its around 300 for the kit
redmanjp wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:yes Dansteel and Bhagwansingh carry it

do they have one with a flap which closes when the dryer is not in use?

Postby Slartibartfast » February 19th, 2019, 4:37 pm

Check Parts World Limited if you in Sando.

Postby Kenjo » February 19th, 2019, 5:03 pm

Well that fire today in maraval was possibly due to a poorly cleaned duct system .they still have to finalize it but it’s being suspected

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 19th, 2019, 8:14 pm

Kenjo wrote:Well that fire today in maraval was possibly due to a poorly cleaned duct system .they still have to finalize it but it’s being suspected
Yeah that's what they saying, exhaust duct build up caught on fire... Usually there are fire arrestors right below the duct but I guess the employees couldn't deploy on time

Postby De Dragon » February 21st, 2019, 1:21 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:Well that fire today in maraval was possibly due to a poorly cleaned duct system .they still have to finalize it but it’s being suspected
Yeah that's what they saying, exhaust duct build up caught on fire... Usually there are fire arrestors right below the duct but I guess the employees couldn't deploy on time

If that is true, then that system is poorly designed. No critical fire suppression system should depend on manual activation of the fire extinguishing media.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 21st, 2019, 1:24 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

If that is true, then that system is poorly designed. No critical fire suppression system should depend on manual activation of the fire extinguishing media.
Older ones are. Which I give them the benefit of the doubt they have. Fire safety is mediocre sat best in most for places

Postby De Dragon » February 21st, 2019, 4:45 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

Older ones are. Which I give them the benefit of the doubt they have. Fire safety is mediocre sat best in most for places

That's why this country will never progress. Millions making, but to buy an automatic system, or to clean yuh MC ducts, yuh cyar do!

carluva

Postby carluva » August 19th, 2019, 12:04 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Ours home is up against exiting wall and I used 40 schedule pvc..

Just keep it clean every couple of months and you will be ok, avoid 90 degree or sharper bends. But if you are still paranoid then

redmanjp wrote:I have a flexible foil type duct but now reading they might be a fire hazard. e just built a back room where the dryer used to be outside so we want to safely vent it outside. the new laundry room doesn't have it's own door and there's going to be a tv room close by. so any recommendations?
stencil.blog-post-feature-22-min.jpeg

Resurrecting this thread because I had a question.

Anyone knows where I can get the hard metal ducting locally? I am redoing the vent for my dryer. Currently, I have the vent kit using the semi-rigid duct but am relocating the vent an additional 12 feet. My preference is to use the hard (or rigid) metal. Any idea where this could be sourced? The manual for the dryer (as well as many internet resources) do not recommend using the semi-rigid for more than 8 feet as lint buildup increases. PVC is also not recommended as this also contributes to lint buildup as well as static electricity which could be an increased hazard. Everything I have read suggests that the rigid metal is the way to go for what I have.

PS. Called Bhagwansingh's but the said they don't have it. I will visit them to see what they have as its on my way home. I also called Reliable Appliances, Partsworld, Lewis Appliances, M&M Rampersad and Peake's in Cocorite (guy had a stink attitude, but that is a different story).

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2019, 12:14 pm

AC installers like Peake should have it. You are looking for 4" smooth-rigid exhaust ducting.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 19th, 2019, 1:18 pm

adnj wrote:AC installers like Peake should have it. You are looking for 4" smooth-rigid exhaust ducting.

I did call Peakes air conditioning and they do not have this.

I call Maraj Air Conditioning as well and same story.

It seems as though many places have the semi rigid aluminium, i.e. the one that is like an accordion that can stretch out to 8 feet.

Not many people seem to know of the rigid ducting...

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2019, 2:25 pm

I did notice in your first post that you called.

4" smooth rigid is used for exhaust fan ducting and although they may not have it in stock, Peake has installed it when specified.

4" galvanized steel is also available and is used as exhaust ducting when installed inside of a wall. It is also used for range hood ducting and stove piping so perhaps a commercial kitchen supplier may carry it.

Of course you could also have a tinsmith fabricate it for you from aluminum or galvanized steel.