Starbucks opens new branch... (is wah... SEVENTEEN Branches now?)

Re: Starbucks opens in Arima now.. (is wah... FIFTEEN Branch dey now?)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2024, 3:22 pm

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:heard they raised prices recently
is this correct?

1% reading 2NR:

What Uncle Keith say? Nothing wrong with the rich getting richer ...

https://guardian.co.tt/business/prestig ... 4251f7c5b2

Trinidadian patrons of Starbucks are now paying up to ten per cent more for their favourite drinks and sandwiches at the US coffee franchise.

Simon Hardy, chief executive officer of Prestige Holdings, which holds the franchise for Starbucks in Trinidad, said the price increase was as a result of the increase in the national minimum wage and higher input costs for the brand's premium ingredients.

The price increases took effect on January 2.

A blogger on Facebook posted on January 12 that Starbucks increased its prices by 25 per cent. This caused social media to buzz last week into this week as people were up in arms over the increase, with some saying that it did not sound accurate as 25 per cent is a huge jump in the grand scheme of things.

On Monday, Guardian Media reached out to Hardy, who categorically denied that prices at the coffee house had gone up by 25 per cent. But he did say that prices of all items had been increased across the board.

Hardy outlined that for the hot drinks - the Americano (i.e. a black coffee) for the grande size increased by $1.

For the Café Mocha (hot) the price increased by $2.

On the cold side - a grande caramel frappuccino (the blended cream-based drink) went up by $3. A grande Cookie and Crème went up by $2. A tall vanilla Chai Latte went up by $2.

He indicated that bakery items on average went up by $2, while sandwiches increased between $3 to $5.

Hardy said the price increases were partly due to input cost increases from Starbucks International, along with the $3 an hour increase in the minimum wage to $20.50 an hour, which took effect on January 1.

Hardy said the last increase at the local Starbuckks operations was February 2023, but he could not give a percentage figure or dollar value at the time.

$987million in sales in 9 months in T&T
impressive!

Postby MaxPower » January 17th, 2024, 6:57 pm

Raise the price of Starbucks again.

Trinis paying!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 17th, 2024, 6:59 pm

And they does complain about doubles price increasing but gladly accept Starbucks prices increase. smh

Postby MaxPower » January 17th, 2024, 7:02 pm

DMan7 wrote:And they does complain about doubles price increasing but gladly accept Starbucks prices increase. smh

Correct..

wing

Postby wing » January 17th, 2024, 7:10 pm

DMan7 wrote:And they does complain about doubles price increasing but gladly accept Starbucks prices increase. smh
Who's complaining? Only the tuner sufferers. If you can't afford, don't buy. In the meantime, focus on something important.

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2024, 9:02 pm

wing wrote:
Who's complaining? Only the tuner sufferers. If you can't afford, don't buy. In the meantime, focus on something important.

like the wealth gap between the rich and the poor

I had no idea starbucks employees were being paid minimum wage. I got kinda dumbfounded when I saw that being held out as a justification by Hardy for raising prices. The minimum wage is not a living wage. You try living on minimum wage and see how that works out. All the 'Prestige' people get from buying Starbucks, it hitting different when you know the workers handing you the coffee are not getting a living wage at the end of the day.

Yea people find another job, but look at it this way. If all the workers behind the counter stayed home. If everybody from janitor to warehouse attendant to truck driver stayed home. The shareholders will see how much value that labour really creates. The system set up to exploit people, to make them compete against each other, as labour becomes a commodity. To take the value of their labour and put it into the hands of the owners of capital. That billion dollars of Starbucks sold in T&T -- the workers are the ones that made that happen, not the shareholders.

Yesterday I listen to the UNC town hall and I hear a self-described trade unionist start with the "Comrades." Calling everybody "comrade" like he is a full communist. These local trade unionists have the wording down, but do they have the ideology? Something strange happen with these local trade unions. They represent specific branches of employment for people who have money and jobs making 'big' money. Government workers, Oil, Communication, all the big unions focused on areas where they can get big union dues. But the people on short-term contract, they have no representation. The entry-level people now outsourced, contracted, their labour brought down to the level of the commodity. "Comrades" singing 'we shall overcome', but not for those workers.

The workers at pennywise that get unilaterally removed a paid lunch hour, them have to go to facebook to get representation. Facebook and tiktok is the union rep nowadays. Let all them workers call in sick for a day and see how much bargaining power that gives them. They might get more than just a paid lunch hour back.

In the meantime, as wing said, focus on something important.
Last edited by paid_influencer on January 17th, 2024, 9:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby alfa » January 17th, 2024, 9:04 pm

Where's the lie?
1705539740688.jpg

Postby Les Bain » January 17th, 2024, 9:41 pm

^^Lie spotted.

Many years back, my employers at the time tried moving a popular service to accommodate central and south people. The main criers on social media looked like they'd be at home in a PNM blocko. The appreciative customers were mostly Indian, generally non african and high earning.

God damn though. Social coffee and a husky pup infers you manage money like a cnut. Its not a financial flex.

Postby gastly369 » January 17th, 2024, 9:42 pm

Diabetusss for doggos

Postby MaxPower » January 18th, 2024, 6:26 am

Neverseecomesees galore

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2024, 7:52 am

alfa wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Where's the lie?

isnt that a free pupcup of whipped cream you can request for your dog

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2024, 9:08 am

lol well look at that

i only ever see or hear about that on instagram and tiktok

only went starbucks once or twice in my life after i spend 6 months saving to try it out

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2024, 9:09 am

my post looking dotish because dizzy delete his post where hes pay $12 for a pupcup

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2024, 9:10 am

Chimera wrote:lol well look at that

i only ever see or hear about that on instagram and tiktok

only went starbucks once or twice in my life after i spend 6 months saving to try it out

I deleted my post.. Was looking for the price post I remember seeing but didn't find it. But afaik its not free except on World Pet Day.

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2024, 9:25 am

I've seen this false equivalence many times on social media. IMO this is a dumb argument, the number of persons buying, and the regularity of those purchases, and the accessibility of it impacts a far larger slice of the population than those purchasing Starbucks. Make it make sense nah

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2024, 9:59 am

eliteauto wrote:

I've seen this false equivalence many times on social media. IMO this is a dumb argument, the number of persons buying, and the regularity of those purchases, and the accessibility of it impacts a far larger slice of the population than those purchasing Starbucks. Make it make sense nah

i`m sure its specific users making most of the dumb arguments though

like it have probably 8 users making 95% of the dumb arguments

Postby Les Bain » January 18th, 2024, 10:21 am

Is Starbucks doing alright internationally though? Their rapid explosion here felt like when Foreigner and Air Supply had concerts here. It kinda sussy, as my fellow young people like to say.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2024, 10:43 am

Hope you all know that spending money in SB goes to killing Palestinians in Gaza and West bank

SB is also racist towards black people

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/starbucks- ... ia-coffee/

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2024, 11:00 am

Les Bain wrote:Is Starbucks doing alright internationally though? Their rapid explosion here felt like when Foreigner and Air Supply had concerts here. It kinda sussy, as my fellow young people like to say.

Aye, doh be on Foreigner and Air Supply.

I went to that Air Supply concert in the Oval. It was BESS!

REO Speedwagon in the Oval was a good concert as well.
Last edited by bluefete on January 18th, 2024, 11:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby The_Honourable » January 18th, 2024, 11:00 am

Les Bain wrote:Is Starbucks doing alright internationally though? Their rapid explosion here felt like when Foreigner and Air Supply had concerts here. It kinda sussy, as my fellow young people like to say.

If wall street has high expectations on starbucks, they will be disappointed, but they are doing well:

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/11/02/starbuc ... tting.html

zoom rader wrote:Hope you all know that spending money in SB goes to killing Palestinians in Gaza and West bank

Trinis don't business bout that, 17th location opening soon.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2024, 11:02 am

The_Honourable wrote:

If wall street has high expectations on starbucks, they will be disappointed, but they are doing well:

zoom rader wrote:Hope you all know that spending money in SB goes to killing Palestinians in Gaza and West bank

Most trinis are cowards and stand for nothing

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2024, 11:06 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Not true Zoomie. Trinis will stand for something if KFC charges them for condiments.

Postby The_Honourable » January 18th, 2024, 11:10 am

bluefete wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Not true Zoomie. Trinis will stand for something if KFC charges them for condiments.

KFC learnt their lesson, next time they will increase menu prices in general factoring in condiments. We will make noise on social media, talk about boycott (LOL) and then line up on a friday night.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2024, 11:11 am

The_Honourable wrote:
bluefete wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

KFC learnt their lesson, next time they will increase menu prices in general factoring in condiments. We will make noise on social media, talk about boycott (LOL) and then line up on a friday night.
Yup same people that vote PNM

Cowards

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2024, 11:12 am

^^^ Ent? LOL. So true.

Postby st7 » January 18th, 2024, 11:26 am

oh no, money goes to war.

in other news, tax money in trinidad goes to politicians' and politicians' friends pocket -- where the protest zoom? study local -- not other countries that dont affect you

death365

Postby death365 » January 18th, 2024, 12:28 pm

those were the good ole days that we we used to have actual bands coming in and not these cover - fake bands

bluefete wrote:

Aye, doh be on Foreigner and Air Supply.

I went to that Air Supply concert in the Oval. It was BESS!

REO Speedwagon in the Oval was a good concert as well.

Postby MaxPower » January 18th, 2024, 2:28 pm

Trinis really are the most dotish people on this planet.

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2024, 2:44 pm

Could never be.

Trump was president of America for years

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2024, 3:10 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis really are the most dotish people on this planet.
And cowards they stand for nothing.

An islands of idiots with no backbone