Starbucks opens in St Augustine now.. (is wah... SIXTEEN Branches now?)

Re: Juan P Sant opens Trincity Plaza (and EIGHT Starbucks..)

Postby goalpost » August 14th, 2019, 9:48 am

Plenty stores close down in Trincity Mall. I saw even Asian Buffet buss it. Their food was good.

Zim

Postby Zim » August 14th, 2019, 10:02 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:Trinidadians still don't know how to use a roundabout. You don't wait until it's clear before exiting....All cars on your right have the right of way and when you enter a roundabout, you enter on the outside, not the inside.

D way men is jive on dem waiting til its clear is mandatory, unless u hv lotta soare oarts for yuh car. Also some of them are constructed in a way u hv to pick ur inner lane to head to ir destination else u gonna baddrive rell men n possibly bongce d car

Postby Dizzy28 » August 14th, 2019, 11:04 am

Their sign says they moving to Maraval though.
goalpost wrote:Plenty stores close down in Trincity Mall. I saw even Asian Buffet buss it. Their food was good.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 14th, 2019, 11:16 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Their sign says they moving to Maraval though.
goalpost wrote:Plenty stores close down in Trincity Mall. I saw even Asian Buffet buss it. Their food was good.

Didn't even realize they closed their doors, then again, haven't been on that side of the mall in so long. One thing to note, the mall higher up by Superpharm is moving full speed ahead (rumored to be a "Juan" production). What's going to stop them from whispering sweet nothings in the current tenants' ears in TCM and they ride out and set up shop there? Also, suppose chinee cinema guy gets a deal and brings towne of movies there? Seeing they have all corners of trini covered except the east

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2019, 7:43 pm

pablo_tt wrote:

Didn't even realize they closed their doors, then again, haven't been on that side of the mall in so long. One thing to note, the mall higher up by Superpharm is moving full speed ahead (rumored to be a "Juan" production). What's going to stop them from whispering sweet nothings in the current tenants' ears in TCM and they ride out and set up shop there? Also, suppose chinee cinema guy gets a deal and brings towne of movies there? Seeing they have all corners of trini covered except the east

yerp...Mouttet..... i see the Raheal's also putting up a NEXT building to Briar Place...

BTW...as the ninth one open...

coova.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2019, 7:45 pm

opened today on Maraval Road.... sampled them..opening business goodness....lol...

Re: Juan P Sant opens Couva (and NINTH Starbucks..Oh word?!)

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2019, 7:47 pm

Who putting up the mall further north trincity?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2019, 8:03 pm

pugboy wrote:Who putting up the mall further north trincity?

if is the one near to Superpharm that Pablo speaks of?..Mouttet....not sure of the one by the roundabout...heard it was Bhagwansingh...*shrugs...

Postby goalpost » August 14th, 2019, 8:23 pm

The one by the roundabout is Bhagwansinghs. Saw an ad for tenant rental on fb.

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2019, 8:30 pm

Pizza Hut and Starbucks

Couva really turn into Couver

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2019, 9:18 pm

K74T wrote:Pizza Hut and Starbucks

With a superpharm over the road to boot?

The Couvoolies with the oxcents, oversized sunglasses and luggage purses are pleased.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 14th, 2019, 9:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

The Couvoolies with the oxcents, oversized sunglasses and luggage purses are pleased.

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 9:37 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Wham kwame cah drink a lil latte too

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 9:57 pm

Real racial overtones in this ched.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2019, 9:58 pm

Me eh know about nobody, but self-deprecating satirical humour is not necessarily racism.

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 10:02 pm

Nah, it don't bother me, but them mods banning for them thing.

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2019, 10:02 pm

George Aboud and sons

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 10:05 pm

eliteauto wrote:
George Aboud and sons

The one on O'meara Rd too?

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2019, 10:15 pm

rspann wrote:Real racial overtones in this ched.
Well it wasn't me.

I stll on Hong Wing coffee me ant have $50 for no coffee

wheelbarrow

Juan P Sant opens Couva (and NINTH Starbucks..Oh word?!)

Postby wheelbarrow » August 14th, 2019, 10:21 pm

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2019, 12:23 am

eliteauto wrote:
George Aboud and sons
Isn't Omar Hadeed a partner in that mall as well?

Postby Les Bain » August 15th, 2019, 7:07 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Real Kwame's like dey coffee black and strong.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 15th, 2019, 7:11 am

De Gentrification of Trinidad go backfire in due time...

Like building mall and franchising foriegn food is all some people could do.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2019, 7:22 am

vaiostation wrote:De Gentrification of Trinidad go backfire in due time...

Gentrification is needed especially in getto areas but at the same time all yuh support local nah.

Stop spending your money at 1% places, these people ship their money out and put very little back in.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 15th, 2019, 9:15 am

Gentrification is needed especially in getto areas but at the same time all yuh support local nah.

Stop spending your money at 1% places, these people ship their money out and put very little back in.

I'm liking the trend of small family owned cafes opening up though. And 9 times out of 10 they really know their thing and actually give you great service. Had a place near ASJA in charlieville that used to have some real nice fresh home made cheese cakes and french pressed coffee. Sadly I think they closed down now though.

I never saw the big deal with Rituals and Starbucks. People acting as though starbucks coffee is the best and the majority of them drowning it in sugar and milk. Lol, all coffee gonna basically taste the same by then.

Plus, a good small cafe is much more intimate than one of those frachised public feeding troughs. As long as your girl not highfalutin she would know this though.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2019, 9:36 am

Les Bain wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Real Kwame's like dey coffee black and strong.

real rajin too, probably more. :D :D :D

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2019, 10:02 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

I'm liking the trend of small family owned cafes opening up though. And 9 times out of 10 they really know their thing and actually give you great service. Had a place near ASJA in charlieville that used to have some real nice fresh home made cheese cakes and french pressed coffee. Sadly I think they closed down now though.

I never saw the big deal with Rituals and Starbucks. People acting as though starbucks coffee is the best and the majority of them drowning it in sugar and milk. Lol, all coffee gonna basically taste the same by then.

Plus, a good small cafe is much more intimate than one of those frachised public feeding troughs. As long as your girl not highfalutin she would know this though.

Yep support local bro, Locals need the business

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 15th, 2019, 11:18 am

Yup, I prefer the small shops - found some real gems over the years just randomly stopping on the road.
Sadly some of them are hit and miss with the offerings, and customer service varies from Hoggish to outright angelic.
Chains have some consistency, SOMETIMES - at least with the product. Same issue of service might apply here too.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2019, 12:24 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Yup, I prefer the small shops - found some real gems over the years just randomly stopping on the road.
Sadly some of them are hit and miss with the offerings, and customer service varies from Hoggish to outright angelic.
Chains have some consistency, SOMETIMES - at least with the product. Same issue of service might apply here too.
Yep true

But when you stick with a small establish over time you get to build a certain relationship and you get much better service than a chain bussiness

Postby Slartibartfast » August 16th, 2019, 2:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Yup, I prefer the small shops - found some real gems over the years just randomly stopping on the road.
Yep true

But when you stick with a small establish over time you get to build a certain relationship and you get much better service than a chain bussiness
Plus there is a sense of adventure going somewhere and not knowing what to expect. I've tried some local places and had horrible experiences but my wife and I still laugh looking back on it. It also makes it that much better when you find a place thats really good. It feels like it was made just for you.

Off the top of my head I could say the cafe by twin walls (next to rig in Sando) is worth it. There is also a nice cafe somewhere near curepe junction (some of the workers were trained in TTHTI so food was amazing). Kazaa on Couva main road is great as well. Peche on Caroni Savannah road has good food but too crowded so we don't go there anymore. There is a small cafe opposite Chaits bar in Couva that sells some tasty pastries but ambience isnt all that good so we just buy our stuff to go there. They have some good local wines and products though and really friendly service. Somebody should start a small cafe thread.

We normally just stop off by random small cafes when we see them if we happen to be hungry and on the road.