Water pump

viedcht

Re: Water pump

Postby viedcht » June 30th, 2021, 7:52 pm

Thanks I feel is time I really hold ah wake for the Goulds. It soldier out ah 11yrs without any trouble.

By the way I got the name of the cheap water pump... LEO brand. Adams plumbing, Debe area has in stock hopefully

Postby Ted_v2 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:54 pm

how much it cost? i wanna setup a small rainwater catchment with a IBC tank and get a cheapo like a leo to handle the running, prefer it to have a pressure switch, but i could easily retrofit something.

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2021, 12:14 am

the INGCO 1hp smart head waterpump with 1 year warranty is like $750 as well

them goulds does last forever with simple maintenance though....

but now thing get real cheap

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2021, 6:27 am

boy when you look at the size of the motor windings on a goulds pump vs a pentax vs leo/ingco etc
there is a huge disparity hp for hp

Phone Surgeon wrote:the INGCO 1hp smart head waterpump with 1 year warranty is like $750 as well

Postby Ted_v2 » July 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

Nah that smart head thing isa scn, I doh like that at all. Gimme a pressure switch and I taking that all day.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 5th, 2021, 4:50 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:how much it cost? i wanna setup a small rainwater catchment with a IBC tank and get a cheapo like a leo to handle the running, prefer it to have a pressure switch, but i could easily retrofit something.
Honest boy Ted I gone peakes today and buy back same Goulds to replace... because is home I don't want to take chance.

The guy from Debe@ Adams place tell me a Leo 1hp should be able to comfortably replace a half hp Goulds. Quoted 1700.00 with everything needed to hook up using a pressure tank. The Leo half HP is around 950 but I didn't find out if is a package or just the pump

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 5th, 2021, 4:52 pm

https://youtu.be/LdDS0Md04cU

By the way I find this useful for troubleshooting,

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2021, 10:01 pm

I GT with a thing, Grandpa have 3 pumps rest down, one brand new, one used for a lil while and a horsehead goulds, i need to collect the tank and setup something soon.

the two pumps are from some local importer, its a well pump, very durable that they retrofitted with a pressure switch and a stainless tank with a replaceable bladder.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 7th, 2021, 6:18 am

Can you elaborate on this?.
Is it that you mean comparing a 1hp goulds with any other brand the goulds has windings which posess higher cross sectional area?
pugboy wrote:boy when you look at the size of the motor windings on a goulds pump vs a pentax vs leo/ingco etc

Phone Surgeon wrote:the INGCO 1hp smart head waterpump with 1 year warranty is like $750 as well

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2021, 7:02 am

look at them side by side and you will see for yourself

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Can you elaborate on this?.
Is it that you mean comparing a 1hp goulds with any other brand the goulds has windings which posess higher cross sectional area?
pugboy wrote:boy when you look at the size of the motor windings on a goulds pump vs a pentax vs leo/ingco etc

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 7th, 2021, 7:47 am

I don't have both to compare. I was not disputing your claim, but was asking for your observation.
pugboy wrote:look at them side by side and you will see for yourself

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2021, 7:48 am

well go to a hardware and see for yourself
a 1/2 hp goulds motor is twice the size of a 1/2hp pentax.......
i have a dead pentax somewhere, will post a pic later

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:I don't have both to compare. I was not disputing your claim, but was asking for your observation.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2021, 5:14 pm

pugboy wrote:well go to a hardware and see for yourself

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:I don't have both to compare. I was not disputing your claim, but was asking for your observation.

pugboy wrote:
[.

Hey dude can I ask for some free advice? (I have some Leffe Brun if you're into that)

I decide to put a water filter before the pump because I haven't cleaned them in about 2.5 years... Will some air in it do any major harm to the pump?

IMG_20210707_165912.jpeg
that's the amount of air in the filter

IMG_20210707_170618.jpeg
that's the area, the tank at top, filter, and pump location.
(I eh power wash in some months...)

Postby Dave » July 7th, 2021, 6:00 pm

Usually filters has an air purger on top for that reason. Does yours?
I don't see that amount of air causing any sort of harm once kept to a minimum.
Water also acts as a cooling to the pump.

Postby alfa » July 7th, 2021, 6:20 pm

Won't cause harm but if air gets into the pump it will reduce it's efficient and you'll have to bleed the system. Filter supposed to have a bleeder button on top as someone said

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » July 7th, 2021, 6:28 pm

New SmartHead.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2021, 7:03 pm

Had to put it lying down, air purger just spurting water because of it. I had to fill it with a jug then connect it. It just have a little air pocket.
Dave wrote:Usually filters has an air purger on top for that reason. Does yours?
I don't see that amount of air causing any sort of harm once kept to a minimum.
Water also acts as a cooling to the pump.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2021, 7:09 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:

New SmartHead.
Saw K. Ghany Ent. advertising this
resiboost.jpeg

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2021, 7:14 pm

https://www.facebook.com/thewatersource ... 6846455761

watersource has something similar for 605

It replaces the pressure tank, pressure-switch, check-valve and pressure gauge.
The Compact 2 is designed to control the operation of your water pump.

Features:
Adjustable cut in and cut out pressure
Reset Button
Replaceable circuit board
Fault Light
Small reserve against leaks in installation
Safety System - prevents pump burnout!
Automatic Reset Test function

Please note we remain CLOSED for business until further notice.
Feel free to send us a direct message for more information.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2021, 9:10 pm

I think I'll just flip the housing, the air bleeder on the mounting/ floor side.
alfa wrote:Won't cause harm but if air gets into the pump it will reduce it's efficient and you'll have to bleed the system. Filter supposed to have a bleeder button on top as someone said

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 7th, 2021, 9:16 pm

Just went through the thread... Didn't realise there was alot of info in it I never knew... By the way pugboy, I saw this photo of yours.... .
tapatalk_1625706724483.jpeg

I only used to the complete setup stores usually offer. This is advanced... Does it use 1 or 2 pressure switches?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 8th, 2021, 10:42 pm

I like the chain for the thief lol

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2021, 10:48 pm

Lol, my dad had put that chain on it, I only added the cycle stop valve later on.
It has normal pressure switch, just that I had it hung when testing the cycle stop valve,
Which works great for a high usage install.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 9th, 2021, 7:50 am

Okay I was wondering if two pressure switches make for more efficiency, and if having two will conflict with the pump.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 9th, 2021, 8:03 am

I see recommendations online for use of float switch, and pressure reduce valves. [wheelbarrow] mentioned float switch for warranty reasons, but I never used one till now and may not need it (erratic wasa supply have me checking tanks daily), but is the pressure valve really necessary?

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2021, 8:16 am

float switch is to prevent pump burning out of tank runs dry and pump runs endlessly dry

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 9th, 2021, 12:10 pm

Pentax 1/2 hp I have here going on about 11 years if my memory serves me right.
Not bad, the biggest issue was the smart head failure which happened 2-3 times, and once the bearings gave out which burned the motor, but I got a used coil for a couple hundred. That was my fault, because I just left it to make noise until the bearing finally seized.

I have no qualms going back with a pentax next time around. Plenty part support too, so that's good

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 9th, 2021, 10:29 pm

Postby Gladiator » July 9th, 2021, 11:35 pm

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:well go to a hardware and see for yourself

pugboy wrote:
[.

Hey dude can I ask for some free advice? (I have some Leffe Brun if you're into that)

I decide to put a water filter before the pump because I haven't cleaned them in about 2.5 years... Will some air in it do any major harm to the pump?

IMG_20210707_170618.jpeg that's the amount of air in the filter

IMG_20210707_165912.jpeg that's the area, the tank at top, filter, and pump location.
(I eh power wash in some months...)

As someone that manages 92 water pumps ranging from 1/2HP to 10HP please dont put a filter on the suction side of your water pump. It will restrict flow and cause your pump to cavitate reducing its lifespan tremendously.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 10th, 2021, 8:27 am

^Yeah I done pull it out arredy. Same evening it start causing problems. Organised with some help to drain and clean the tanks... Costing a grand in total, because I have 2 600gal on one side connected to each other, 3 450gal on other side of platform, and a reserve 450gal. Going to do some plumbing alterations and getting the area power washed for that fee.

To anybody who does neglect their household water system like mihself... Doh do like me; clean Yuh tanks dem often, even if you filtering your kitchen and shower plumbing. Filter wasa line instead.